Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toys that help with standing and coasting?

• 04-01-2015 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭

My little fella is mad for trying to pull himself up and coast but unfortunately, we don't really have any furniture that's at the right height and our couch and armchairs have stretchy fabric covers so he can't pull up on those either :( I've seen baby climbing frames that are supposed to help the baby stand and coast but I'm not sure how safe they are or if he would be too small for them (he'll be 1 next month) Can anyone recommend anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

for our daughters 1st christmas she got this: Walker

100463.jpg

we found it very sturdy as she leaned on it walking around, and she enjoyed the music and lights,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭bp

http://www.elc.co.uk/Light-and-Sounds-Activity-Table/130928,default,pd.html

Brilliant toy, available in mother care... Learning to stand, putting balls in holes etc

• Registered Users Posts: 7,729 ✭✭✭Millem

Our baby loved this :)http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/40104270/#/80104268
    We have it up against the wall and the couch and covered in clevamama foam!

We also have the vtech walker but tbh if you have wooden floors it is slippy and your baby will fall :( we also have a Vtech activity table against is slippy on wooden floors

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

hoodwinked wrote: »
    for our daughters 1st christmas she got this: Walker

100463.jpg

we found it very sturdy as she leaned on it walking around, and she enjoyed the music and lights,

We got this as a gift but I wouldn't recommend it, it's too "slippy" when they start cruising around. I would just let them roam with no socks on and make sure the environment is safe for them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

My 8 month old is using chairs,her bouncer her siblings anything that is static to pull herself up on and cruise.
    None of the others were so young crawling or standing.
    Once the item can't move when she pushes it then it is good to help her stand,then the vtech walkers are great once they are cruising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Yeah, we got a present of one of the vtech walkers and he LOVES it but he's still a bit small for it so can only use it when we are holding on to him. He tries pulling up on it but it moves so not ideal. I've heard of babies using upturned laundry baskets and boxes etc so might give that a go.

This is the kind of thing I had in mind but I'd be afraid that it would end up being another expensive unnecessary space taker-upper for me to be giving out about :o
    http://www.softplay2you.co.uk/product/play-gym/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

bp wrote: »
    http://www.elc.co.uk/Light-and-Sounds-Activity-Table/130928,default,pd.html

Brilliant toy, available in mother care... Learning to stand, putting balls in holes etc

This looks brilliant thanks, I love ELC toys! :)
    Millem wrote: »
    Our baby loved this :)http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/40104270/#/80104268
    We have it up against the wall and the couch and covered in clevamama foam!

This link isn't working for me :(

Edit: Link is working fine now thanks :)