Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How fat did Christmas make you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Malari wrote: »
    It's true they are all unique biscuits, but they do come from the same order (Jacobsula) and family (coconutidae) of biscuits and are in fact quite closely related.

This is like that whole argument about foxes being pretty much a type of dog that I keep finding myself inexplicably involved in.

Malari wrote: »
    It's true they are all unique biscuits, but they do come from the same order (Jacobsula) and family (coconutidae) of biscuits and are in fact quite closely related.

You are correct, however, I find that there are many people who are unaware that they are not in fact called "Kimberley Mikado" and well, to be completely honest.....

IT'S ONE OF MY PET HATES AND DOES MY HEAD IN :D

Oh it's jacobs that do them, i see

I still want kimberley and mikado anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

bluewolf wrote: »
    Oh it's jacobs that do them, i see

I still want kimberley and mikado anyway!

No coconut cream love? I reckon they are my favourites...

Yeh Coconut Creams are my favourite. Mmmmmmm.

I'll just sit here with my hummus and celery sticks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

whiskeyman wrote: »
    I ate a whole tray of those chocolate Mikados in one sitting :(

I never knew these existed!!!! http://www.valeofoods.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Elite-Chocolate-Mikado-500x500.png

I'm stopping at Tesco on the way home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

How fat did Christmas make you?

I was delighted with myself before Christmas, shifted that half stone I wanted gone. Three weeks later and I'm eight pounds heavier.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Weighed myself today and found I had lost weight.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I think I'm up a kg. I don't mind the weight gain, just need to turn it into toned weight gain.

I eated lots of chocolate, roast spuds and smelly cheeses, but I regret nothing. So its back on the wagon for me - pick up my running again and gonna try the shred. I'm 40 this year so need to get in shape before middle age sets in and I lose any muscle tone forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

not yet wrote: »
    Jaysus our turkey was bigger then that..

Look at ya all skinny like, coming on here showing your skinnyness off to everyone.

It is genetic in my opinion, mother's side of the family are skinny, my father never put on weight either.
    Once one is healthy that is the most important thing, whatever weight one is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

Weighed myself today and found I had lost weight.

double-check!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

I lost weight. Dunno how much, cos I dunno where the scales are, but the belt needed a new notch to keep up me trousers, and it's been said to me by several people.
    I don't know how tbh, Iv been ateing big dirty fryups every morning, sweets and biscuits all day, drinking myself stupid each night and always a kebab or pizza after pints.
    I'm in for some hop when this metabolism of mine slows down. 😩

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

TheFarrier wrote: »
    I lost weight. Dunno how much, cos I dunno where the scales are, but the belt needed a new notch to keep up me trousers, and it's been said to me by several people.
    I don't know how tbh, Iv been ateing big dirty fryups every morning, sweets and biscuits all day, drinking myself stupid each night and always a kebab or pizza after pints.
    I'm in for some hop when this metabolism of mine slows down. 😩
    Worms?
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Worms?
    :p

You may laugh, but I couldn't rule it out

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Lost weight! Replaced my normal diet with booze (I dont typically drink)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

About 2kg. Desperate! I've put on loads of weight this year. On a serious weight loss buzz now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I seem to have also lost weight over the Christmas as well, despite not stepping a foot inside the gym for the last 2 weeks, going out 5 or 6 times, having a few casual drinks the rest of the nights and pretty much only eating fast food. Seems to be a considerable amount too, the jeans I had that were a tight fit without a belt now fall down without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Piglet85

Nearly 2lbs. However, I'm submitting my PhD thesis this week, so between stress-eating and comfort eating over the fact that I've recently learned I won't even be able to use the title "Dr" without everyone thinking I'm a knob, I'll probably be adding to that pronto... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Christmas ended on Friday for me so spent the weekend studying and in the gym. So ya know....fcuk yis. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭TheBody

I put on 10lb's. Gonna starve myself until I get rid of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Have no idea how much weight I put on, but I lose it over the first 2 weeks of January anyway.

I do feel quite bloated between mince pies, turkey sandwiches, Danish Butter Cookies and many a can of ale.

Hate to weigh myself after Christmas, I take the bloatyness as I sign that I should skip snacking and eat more fibre and fruit and drink plenty of water and the weight will fall back to where I want it to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I've been eating badly since the start of December... I have about a stone on.

I ran today for the first time in ages. 5km took me 31 minutes and 44 seconds, meh, could be worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I eated all of Christmas. All of it.

I reckon I've but on a full stone, which is pretty disgusting :)

However, I'm back on track now.

Gonna get skinny and fabaliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I've been eating badly since the start of December... I have about a stone on.

I ran today for the first time in ages. 5km took me 31 minutes and 44 seconds, meh, could be worse.

http://youtu.be/VMnjF1O4eH0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Shenshen wrote: »
    Half a kilo. I've just made an effort in eating everything slowly, getting more satisfaction out of a little less. :)

If you farted you'd lose that!

I've about 4 or 5lbs on due to much over indulgence on sweets biscuits snd Ben & Jerries ice cream which was on offer before Christmas and we filled the freezer with it. I'll have it off again within 3 weeks, training started last night again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭xXxkorixXx

I don't care how much weight I put on I love my food and nighs in front of the telly sitting in my pyjamas and stuffing my face. So no - I never did care and don't care about how big I get. You only live once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I'm no good at guessing but I'd say I've out on a million pounds.

Realistically it's about 1 pound or so. Which isn't too bad, but I already had a pound or so that I wanted to lose. Gonna have to work quite a bit to get that off. Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels, right guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

I put on so much weight over Christmas, that today when I was out and received a text message, people jumped out of the way as they thought a truck was reversing.

Kimberlys and Coconut Creams are harmless enough by the way, but that Mikado fellow is an addictive little f**ker. The other two siblings are dry enough that you wouldn't really eat more than a dozen or so of them perhaps, but Christ in the nip I could inhale a box of those marshmallow blobbed, coconut covered, jam centered little devils so fecking fast that even Elvis would be saying 'Ah here, slow down there now ffs'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Cathy.C wrote: »
    I put on so much weight over Christmas, that today when I was out and received a text message, people jumped out of the way as they thought a truck was reversing.

Kimberlys and Coconut Creams are harmless enough by the way, but that Mikado fellow is an addictive little f**ker. The other two siblings are dry enough that you wouldn't really eat more than a dozen or so of them perhaps, but Christ in the nip I could inhale a box of those marshmallow blobbed, coconut covered, jam centered little devils so fecking fast that even Elvis would be saying Ah here, slow down there now ffs.

Yeah well I went swimming and the life guard called Greenpeace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

I lost half a stone in the past month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Overindulged drink-wise this christmas and definetely "feel" fatter if you get me. Went for my first jog of the new year earlier. Was dry retching along the route and fit to give up. Completed the course in a slower than usual time but it's a stepping stone to restoring myself to my usual fitness.

But.....I am fit for the bed and as stiff as a board now. How in the name of jaysus did Forrest Gump keep going for 3 years, 2 months, 14 days and 16 hours? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I don't seem to have put any on! I don't really go too mad with the food at Christmas but I did eat a bit more than usual, plus I did a lot more sitting and drinking than I would normally.

However, my skin is in absolute shíte, my sleep pattern is all over the place and I tried to go for my first proper walk in a couple of weeks today and it's shocking how much my fitness has deteriorated. I'll take half a stone off one of ye if anyone wants to swap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

17lbs from the 15th of december to the 2nd january.

And I'm still eating crap.. :o

But plan to get back into a healthy eating/exercise cycle tomorrow (was gonna start today but there are just a few too many sweeties still hanging around... I'm so weak... :o )

Your sir are a legend. 17lbs is seriously impressive
    Cathy.C wrote: »

Kimberlys and Coconut Creams are harmless enough by the way, but that Mikado fellow is an addictive little f**ker. The other two siblings are dry enough that you wouldn't really eat more than a dozen or so of them perhaps, but Christ in the nip I could inhale a box of those marshmallow blobbed, coconut covered, jam centered little devils so fecking fast that even Elvis would be saying 'Ah here, slow down there now ffs'.

Funniest thing Ive heard all year*

*I know the year is only 5 days old but fcuk it, still very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd guess 0.5kg of fat thanks to the festive season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I don't know. I thought I weighed near 9 and a half stone but I actually only weigh 9 stone nekkid so my belt must be very heavy or something.

However, my belly does look more...belly-like following the Christmas indulgence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭mad m

Fecking was good to a point, put on 3kgs.....bloody hard now to get rid of that now and back down to my normal 78kg weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

4 pounds and it's noticeable too hmm it was worth it though the porn that is pizza and selection boxes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Kas2010

Up 8lbs, absolutely raging with myself but my god I enjoyed it. All back to normal now, I've 14 weeks to lose 16lbs. Far easier to put it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Up four pounds the month of December. Was in the hospital today and I'm definitely down two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Lost 5 pounds. It baffles me as I literally have been eating 6 or 7 big meals a day plus constantly snacking on absolute junk. And the amount of drink consumed was sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭bladespin

Lots, about 7lbs, was 7lb or so over to begin with though, your mission should you choose to accept it ......

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Yeah well I went swimming and the life guard called Greenpeace.

Yeah well, when I was sitting on the beach people were trying to push me back into the sea and throwing buckets of water over me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I lost weight :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Two things I always dread having to do after Christmas holidays.

1, step on scales
    2, check online bank balance.....

Work slacks definitely felt a bit snugger around the middle this morning, was on the beer most nights, didn't go over board on the sweet stuff like the chocolates etc, but had a few chippers etc.

I'd say I went up a few pounds alright, back to healthy eating and exercise now, oh and signed up for "on the dry" for the Irish heart foundation.

No liquor for the month of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Only gained a pound but I had to let my belt one notch bigger :(

Actually, kind of amazing considering how many biscuits I ate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Out of curiosity, would weighing yourselves be something people here would do regularly? I don't own a scales in my flat and only weighed myself when I got home 2 weeks ago when I got to my parents' as I always do. I only weigh myself when I go home to Ireland. I prefer not to know my exact weight and to go on the feel of my clothes and appearance in the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I weigh myself every day. And keep an Excel file and graph it. I'm not obsessed, but spreadsheets are fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Every 1-2 weeks on the good scales at the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Out of curiosity, would weighing yourselves be something people here would do regularly? I don't own a scales in my flat and only weighed myself when I got home 2 weeks ago when I got to my parents' as I always do. I only weigh myself when I go home to Ireland. I prefer not to know my exact weight and to go on the feel of my clothes and appearance in the mirror.

Never weigh myself. I look in the mirror, if I see rolls, it's time for a cut. I see lots of rolls at the moment. :(