Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you retaliate if hit by a woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

gozunda wrote: »
    You can only use reasonable force under existing law. The law will also expect you to take evasive action if need be. You are more likely to end up in hospital if you get involved in a full on affray imo. But up to yourself if you wish to risk escalation of an affray and a conviction. Your choice.

What would you do if a guy hit you several times, with no end in sight?

Is there no limit to your inability to stand up for yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,762 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

And I envisage you getting dragged off by the Garda as they read you your rights and then indite you under the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997

As I said don't be a dick - let the instigator get the rap. Nothing stupid about that.

You have obviously never been attacked.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/reply/2054964870/post/51766554
    ]Irish law allows for the use of force in reasonable circumstances as a person believes them to be, as permitted by s.18 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act for protection of self, others or property
    Irish Common law allows for reasonable force to be used in self defence which would be in addition to these statutory provisions and would certainly cover when self defence results in homicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

This is why the country is ****ed up, why would you walk away after someone physically attacks you regardless of gender why wouldnt you have the right to throw a punch back to defend yourself, also if you did then the person who tried to defend themselve ends up being penalized heavily than the person started it.

Same story when a robber attacks your house and even the slightest bit of injury you cause to the robber will cause you facing heavier sanctions..

Didn't say it was always fair. But that's how it is. A simple assault can end up as a serious affray and ultimately a conviction. Sometimes there is no need to 'throw a punch back'. Especially when it's some prick looking for a fight in the first place. It's called being street smart but I see plenty of blokes that go out on a night looking for opportunities for a fight because they believe it's the things to do. Best avoid these dicks ime.

The onus of proof is the person who is being convicted if a criminal offence as in the case of assault. That level of proof is very very high. What maybe 'reasonable' to you is unlikely to meet the criteria of the courts in many cases. I would suggest you check up some case law to check how 'reasonable defence" actually works :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Hit, nope, I have had to restrain an ex once went she went postal after I talked to another girl.

She left pretty nasty nail marks in my head and tried to choke me, so I sat on her til she calmed down. Then I dumped her ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

So unlikely? lol...

Well then I know a few rhinos who'd be more than capable of beating the crap out of your average size lad.

You know rhinoceros exist right? The average person's odds of being attacked by one remain vanishingly small.

The onus of proof is the person who is being convicted if a criminal offence as in the case of assault. That level of proof is very very high. What maybe 'reasonable' to you is unlikely to meet the criteria of the courts in many cases. I would suggest you check up some case law to check how 'reasonable defence" actually works :rolleyes:

I have been in court 3 times charged with assault when i have actually defended myself, 3 times case dropped against me, i think i may have a bit more practical experience in this than you :rolleyes:

source wrote: »
    In Ireland you are permitted to use force to defend yourself.

From my former life as a Guard, I have a lot of experience of women acting in a violent manner, they can be absolutely vicious.

I have had to strike a woman, who was attacking me with shoes, I've had to push women to the ground and restrain them, I have also seen women use bottles, heels and keys to inflict damage on people (male and female) that they were having a go at.

I used to think I would never hit a woman, but the fact of the matter is, they are not all little princesses to be revered. I'm now of the opinion that if any person laid a hand on me, I would have no hesitation in retaliating to neutralise the that against me.

As a Guard? Garda? - I presume you would have had to restrain and immobilise both violent men and women. You should also be well aware of the possible consequences of your average punter getting into a punching matter with some female with drink taken etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

If a woman came at me I would first try to control the situation with blocking and grabbing her hands. If that still didn't work and I felt she was a threat I would hit her.

But, if I seen a woman go for my girlfriend, I'd drop a bitch no questions asked. I'd go straight mental mode to protect my loved ones. Even if that means hitting a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

eviltwin wrote: »
    How much of the "yeah I'd hit back" is about self defense and how much is about ego?

Ego??? But the thread is about retaliation. The woman hits first.

What right has the woman got to hit anyone in anyway???

And how much is it about, ah I can hit him/throw this drink in his face/ kick him in the manhood and not get anything in return because I am a Lady???

I have been in court 3 times charged with assault when i have actually defended myself, 3 times case dropped against me, i think i may have a bit more practical experience in this than you :rolleyes:

Seriously Three times charged? And you haven't learnt your lesson yet? Were all the assaults to do with wee women as well? Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Fudge You wrote: »
    But if I kicked the man in the video, who is huge in the balls, and then.....

You might want to re-assess where the comma should be there mate. :pac:

Saipanne wrote: »
    What would you do if a guy hit you several times, with no end in sight?

Is there no limit to your inability to stand up for yourself?

Thought we were referring to the ladies? No? This is a new scenario - want to start another thread on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

You might want to re-assess where the comma should be there mate. :pac:

Oooooooo sugar.
    Maybe he was huge in the balls though!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Hit, nope, I have had to restrain an ex once went she went postal after I talked to another girl.

She left pretty nasty nail marks in my head and tried to choke me, so I sat on her til she calmed down. Then I dumped her ass

I don't know if I'd even take the chance doing that. Some people are capable of anything these days, I've heard stories of a couple of men in similar situations ending up getting arrested on domestic abuse claims. Even though they didn't get charged it's still mind blowing that their partners who apparently love them and that they love would resort to doing something that fuked up. She could have bruises from you sitting on her which could be used as evidence. This is especially possible if you broke up with her straight away as she could look to get you back in any way possible, no matter how nasty.

Obviously it'd be extremely rare for a person to do this but for the few partners that are capable of lashing out at the person they love, they're capable of anything. Can't take any chances nowadays with some of the horror stories we hear about.

Thought we were referring to the ladies? No? This is a new scenario - want to start another thread on that?

No, now we're talking about self defence. Are you capable of defending yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

Restraining would be my priority if I was hit by a woman OR a man

If I couldn't sufficiently restrain them or they kept coming back for more after I released them, then they are getting a dig. I'm not going to let someone put me or a family member in danger, especially if I've already given them a warning

To the guys saying they wouldn't hit a woman in any circumstance because they are weaker etc. Would you have a problem hitting a small guy who is much smaller and weaker than you? For example if you're 6 foot and some little scrawny 5.5 foot scumbag comes up to you throwing punches? I bet 90% of men would have no bother hitting someone like that so the smaller,weaker argument doesn't hold up imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

The only special treatment I would offer a woman would be in the context of what others around would do after I pushed/hit her.
    Otherwise I'd just treat them like a weaker man.
    And since all it takes it one lucky punch, I wouldn't give either much leeway.

I would never attempt to restrain a woman either.
    That's an attempted sexual assault allegation waiting to happen.

That said once things kick off, and you get hit with a massive dose of adrenaline all bets are off as to what happens next.
    The semantic/legal arguments tend to go out the window at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Fudge You wrote: »
    Ego??? But the thread is about retaliation. The woman hits first.

What right has the woman got to hit anyone in anyway???

And how much is it about, ah I can hit him/throw this drink in his face/ kick him in the manhood and not get anything in return because I am a Lady???

I never said they did :confused:

There are two different kinds of an assault. A full on attack where you are in danger of serious injury is one thing. Of course you have to defend yourself. But a random slap from a stranger? Is it not better in that case to just walk away rather than retaliate and risk it becoming more serious?

No, now we're talking about self defence. Are you capable of defending yourself?

Ego ehh? The thread title btw is "Would you retaliate if hit by a woman?" That's not necessarily 'self defence' by any definition.

Yes I am more than capable, but I also have a brain and not just a dick. Getting involved in frequent fracas when your out? There seems to be a problem there...

Ego ehh? The thread title btw is "Would you retaliate if hit by a woman?" That's not necessarily 'self defence' by any definition.

Yes I am more than capable, but I also have a brain and not just a dick. Getting involved in frequent fracas when your out? There seems to be a problem there...

You asked a question, then answered it yourself.

Fascinating.

You asked a question, then answered it yourself.

Fascinating.

I believe your question (which you have apparently forgotton) was
    Saipanne wrote:

I answered ...

So do you have a point or are you just looking for a fight ;) goodnight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 194 ✭✭GalwayGuitar

Yes but only if I absolutely had because if you do you're going to be jailed or beaten up by other men.

Seriously Three times charged? And you haven't learnt your lesson yet? Were all the assaults to do with wee women as well? Lol

One woman 2 men over the space of 20 years, as i said it's obvious by your white knight stance of walk away no matter what that you have never been attacked before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

There's been a story doing the rounds over the past few days (some of you may have seen it) about a girl who pushed a guy to the ground and when he got up he punched her.

In this particular case I think he shouldn't have hit her but IMO she definately deserved a push back.

Thankfully I've never been in the situation where this has happened but I've seen men get hit in nightclubs by women, personally I'm of the opinion if you hit someone first expect one back.

I'd never hit a lady.

If a woman doesn't act like a lady, she won't be treated like one.

A moderate and proportionate response should be aimed for but I understand how some people - when provoked - only have one 'answer'.

One woman 2 men over the space of 20 years, as i said it's obvious by your white knight stance of walk away no matter what that you have never been attacked before.

Never had a conviction. That's the difference ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Susandublin

efb wrote: »
    No try to diffuse the situation

It depends on the situation and the person. Some people can't be reasoned with and if it's a scumbag then tgere is only one option!
    Act like a lady and be treated like a lady.
    From modern woman!!

Me either.

Getting involved in frequent fracas when your out? There seems to be a problem there...

Answering your own questions, Mr Chamberlain?

Your memory is fierce bad ...

But still on the stool, fisty ;) go on with yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

Any excuse to watch this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

I probably wouldn't unless I thought I was in danger. Honestly, if a girl is able to throw a punch then she should be able to take one. I imagine in the majority of circumstances there is some element of alcohol or drug abuse involved.

People automatically jump to the defense of the girl which will automatically give her more entitlement to throw her fists up in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

Originally Posted by gozunda viewpost.gif

I have never had so much as a parking ticket.

A criminal record will entail more than just convictions. I am not saying a charge equals a conviction. But for instance garda vetting will show up any charges, any prosecutions and convictions. You would not get clearance for nearly all volunteering organizations and a lot of jobs.

I am off the opinion self defense is the least force necessary. Most times actually retaliating causes more heat.

Hitting anyone for me ( I am female ) whether it be male or female is a gross act. I have been very angry before and never lost control of my hands or my mouth. I verbalize my grievances. I don't drink either I think that is key.

And believe me I have been provoked in the extreme.

I don't think you can predict how you will react. I think a lot men would react based off instinct.

I have seen two women lay into each other shamelessly and you're correct people don't know how to handle it.

I think Irish society should shame public disorder more so.

If someone attacks you they deserve what it takes to have them stop or for you to get away.

It's best to try and avoid the situation long before it kicks off. In a domestic however that is not so easy for men or women.

I would never behave in a way that would threaten or hurt anyone it's not in my nature. I avoid brawly types of people and situations. I avoid rough places. I am not saying this is going to 'save anyone' or anything though.

It should be publicly accepted that violence from anyone is not going to be tolerated.

On a side note. I know you were talking about a woman attacking a man. But also two women in a fight tends to attract less negative attention than two men. It's less serious somehow. But it's no less criminal.

If a man needs to defend himself then he does. It's unfortunate but everyone has the right to be safe. A woman has no right to hit a man or anyone.

To be honest the idea of a man DEFENDING himself never bothers me because I have no intentions whatsoever of hitting anyone male or female.

Work it off in the gym and punch a punch bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Being charged won't effect anything.... only convictions. Innocent people get charged all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Chloris

I've taken a few pucks for friends, I'll always jump in if there's trouble, instinctively... I think everyone should just stay the hell away from everyone else but if someone punches someone, appropriate retaliation measures should be taken. If I throw the first punch, it's no problem that I'm female, I get punched back. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

I honestly don't know, I haven't done in 32 years, and I've received a few slaps in the face (usually drunk aggro 'the fcuk did you say' situations), I did get a punchy one once(started as verbal abuse from her, which was fired back), but I got control of hands swept her feet and left her sitting on her arse while I walked away (to a further string of verbal abuse).
    I'm fairly sure if I was cornered and in serious danger I would do what I had to do, but at the same time I would try not to break a nose, cheek-bone or eye socket. I'm a big unit, so I don't ever envisage it happening, but you never know. I like to think I would use measured force and not go full force, but adrenalin is a very strange substance and I have scared myself before when my 'fight' reaction has been engaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I wouldn't, it's not because I think a man should never hit a woman it's what would happen after I hit her that I'd be weary of. White knights riding to aid the Damsel in distress are much more dangerous in most situations than a woman hitting you. Also if there isn't some decent evidence that it was self defense who knows what could happen in court.

I have never had so much as a parking ticket.

A criminal record will entail more than just convictions. I am not saying a charge equals a conviction. But for instance garda vetting will show up any charges, any prosecutions and convictions. You would not get clearance for nearly all volunteering organizations and a lot of jobs.

I am off the opinion self defense is the least force necessary. Most times actually retaliating causes more heat.

Hitting anyone for me ( I am female ) whether it be male or female is a gross act. I have been very angry before and never lost control of my hands or my mouth. I verbalize my grievances. I don't drink either I think that is key.

And believe me I have been provoked in the extreme.

I don't think you can predict how you will react. I think a lot men would react based off instinct.

I have seen two women lay into each other shamelessly and you're correct people don't know how to handle it.

I think Irish society should shame public disorder more so.

If someone attacks you they deserve what it takes to have them stop or for you to get away.

It's best to try and avoid the situation long before it kicks off. In a domestic however that is not so easy for men or women.

I would never behave in a way that would threaten or hurt anyone it's not in my nature. I avoid brawly types of people and situations. I avoid rough places. I am not saying this is going to 'save anyone' or anything though.

It should be publicly accepted that violence from anyone is not going to be tolerated.

On a side note. I know you were talking about a woman attacking a man. But also two women in a fight tends to attract less negative attention than two men. It's less serious somehow. But it's no less criminal.

If a man needs to defend himself then he does. It's unfortunate but everyone has the right to be safe. A woman has no right to hit a man or anyone.

To be honest the idea of a man DEFENDING himself never bothers me because I have no intentions whatsoever of hitting anyone male or female.

Work it off in the gym and punch a punch bag.

I believe you may have misunderstood or at least quoted out of context - btw that middle quote is not mine about the multiple charges btw just in case you got a little mixed up.

Anyway I was arguing against any form of retaliatory violence if you have a reread. My own belief is that my right to swing my fist ends at someone else's nose. That said if it was a life and death situation then who knows? Sometimes reaction does take over - but as far as retaliation goes absolutely never ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Assuming Wibbs is a man of average size and strength, that situation is so unlikely that you might as well be asking "if a rhinoceros attacked you what would you do?"

Really?

Ave height in this country would be around 5'7" and ave strenght would be pretty low all things considered. Some of the women ive seen in the gym do serious damage to an above ave man imo.

so if a rhino attacked you would you hit a woman back?

And I envisage you getting dragged off by the Garda as they read you your rights and then indite you under the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997

As I said don't be a dick - let the instigator get the rap. Nothing stupid about that.

I imagine you were the school punching back with that attitude!

The stupid thing is ending up in A&E with a cracked skull because the attackers mates took you not fighting back as their cue to do the riverdance on your head when standing up for yourself may have made them think twice

eviltwin wrote: »
    How much of the "yeah I'd hit back" is about self defense and how much is about ego?

For me its about the principal. Why should a woman be able to hit a man without getting one back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

nc19 wrote: »
    Really?

Ave height in this country would be around 5'7" and ave strenght would be pretty low all things considered. Some of the women ive seen in the gym do serious damage to an above ave man imo.

so if a rhino attacked you would you hit a woman back?

The beefed up women in the gym are not average.

They're also not particularly likely to attack you.

I'm 26 now. I think the last time someone hit me, i was about 7 years old.

If someone actually hit me, I think I'd just go into a fit of rage. If a woman came at me, I think I'd just instinctively push her by the tits/stomache and fire her across the room.

I'd have no sympathy, either, for any damage done to her, on her backwards travels. Hitting someone is, in my opinion, one of the lowest, scummiest things, anyone can do.

I can tell just from looking at myself that I'd be a lot stronger than most women. I'm pretty sure that the average woman would be able to figure that out, too, just from looking at me. If she still decides to attack me, then that's not my fault...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

There's been a story doing the rounds over the past few days (some of you may have seen it) about a girl who pushed a guy to the ground and when he got up he punched her.

In this particular case I think he shouldn't have hit her but IMO she definately deserved a push back.

Thankfully I've never been in the situation where this has happened but I've seen men get hit in nightclubs by women, personally I'm of the opinion if you hit someone first expect one back.
    ............................................................................................
    Call me old fashioned if you wish, I would not hit a woman.

As a child I was brought up never to hit a girl or a woman.

I don't care even if a woman were to hit me , nonetheless I would refrain from hitting back.

It may seem cowardly however, I would just walk away.:)

I imagine you were the school punching back with that attitude!

The stupid thing is ending up in A&E with a cracked skull because the attackers mates took you not fighting back as their cue to do the riverdance on your head when standing up for yourself may have made them think twice

Read much do ya? Listen the thread is about "would you retaliate if you were hit by a woman' We are not talking about some bunch of acne covered prepubescent little bully boys in the school yard ok?

This is an adult (hopefully) discussion in relation to retaliation following been hit by a woman.

The stupid thing to do would be to end up charged with assault and a criminal conviction.

If you are an adult and have any sense and don't wish to pick up a criminal record then I suggest you do the sensible adult thing too and let the perpetrator take the rap for their own actions. I am of course presume you haven't been beaten up by a group of girls anyway ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Wouldn't see an issue with a guy retaliating whatsoever. Although if she slaps him and he punches her, then he could do more damage. A slap followed by a slap though... don't dish it out if you can't take it.
    A guy would be highly likely to get grief for doing so though, despite being provoked.

"Don't hit a woman ever" is a really nice sentiment, which I appreciate hugely as a woman... but nah, feck them if they throw a slap - they don't deserve chivalry, particularly when they're exploiting it for their own ends.

For me its about the principal. Why should a woman be able to hit a man without getting one back?

Because you would be an idiot to start a fight because you 'want to get one back'. Life's too short to go around snacking idiots because you wish to retaliate. As explained the consequences for assault are potentially very serious so
    unless you reckon its a serious self defence scenario don't go there ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

............................................................................................
    Call me old fashioned if you wish, I would not hit a woman.

As a child I was brought up never to hit a girl or a woman.

I don't care even if a woman were to hit me , nonetheless I would refrain from hitting back.

It may seem cowardly however, I would just walk away.:)
    Lots of soft lads on this thread are picturing being 'hit by a woman' as a 'how dare you!' dramatic slap across the cheek by some soft-focused, watery-eyed 1940s Hollywood starlet instead of having your face torn at by some unwashed, tracksuited foaming at the mouth junkie on O'Connell bridge.

Just walk away indeed. Have none of you any street smarts at all?

You may have a point, however I am unlikely to be walking around O'Connell Street or indeed any other city where track suited foaming at the mouth junkies frequent.

You may think that is soft lad stuff, however I consider myself very street wise indeed.

Wouldn't see an issue with a guy retaliating whatsoever. Although if she slaps him and he punches her, then he could do more damage. A slap followed by a slap though... don't dish it out if you can't take it.
    A guy would be highly likely to get grief for doing so though, despite being provoked.

"Don't hit a woman ever" is a really nice sentiment, which I appreciate hugely as a woman... but nah, feck them if they throw a slap - they don't deserve chivalry, particularly when they're exploiting it for their own ends.

Interesting points. I think society in Ireland would definitely hit a new low if men were to hit women because they were provoked...:)