Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Junior Tour Trust Sportive - Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

devonp wrote: »
    weather wise....
    what are the odds it will go ahead? and if not will it be rescheduled?

Forecast looks good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Looks like it'll be cool but dry and with relatively low wind... Base layer required, but it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭devonp

Looks like it'll be cool but dry and with relatively low wind... Base layer required, but it'll be grand.
    base x2 for me and my cold old bones...looking forward to it, only 57km for me though
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭TripleMinor

Is anybody cycling out to this from dundrum area? Mind if I tag along?

Use a referral link when purchasing a Tesla and get free Supercharging KMs https://www.tesla.com/en_ie/referral/stephen958732

devonp wrote: »
    base x2 for me and my cold old bones...looking forward to it, only 57km for me though
    cheers

2 base layers :eek:
    A lot of my cycling mates wear layers upon layers I never understand how they don't overheat , even in very cold weather I wear a short sleeved baselayer a short sleeved jersey arm warmers and maybe a gilet , I have a gabba and only used it once , that was in minus didgets and I thought I was going to pass out with the heat .
    Looking forward to this event now , I think I'll be only doing the 57k myself as I need to be home early and with the 11 am start time the 112k would make the time tight , I'll prob cycle out to it from Leixlip with a few others tho , to warm the legs up and get the few extra kms in

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭GMCI

Pre entry closes at midnight tonight.
    To be in for the draw for the Focus Calebro 3 worth €1100, enter via : www.eventmaster.ie

Hopefully see you all (wrapped up well) on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Doc07

Is anybody cycling out to this from dundrum area? Mind if I tag along?

There will be a few leaving Joe Daly's cycles Dundrum at 930.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Booking this at the mo, signed up for the 50km and will cycle out and back from Dunshaughlin

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Hooray, thank you payday and OH owing favours, entered. See you all at the start line.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

CramCycle wrote: »
    thank you ... OH owing favours, entered.
    ... and you blew that on a bike ride:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Looking cold but clear for 11am and warming up - slightly - as the day goes on... ...

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B4ot08mdR0v7NDA5UFpGYUxaY0E/edit?usp=docslist_api

Anyone got dm idea of how many have signed up?

Is there a calendar or site anywhere with all the years sportives in one place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

ronoc wrote: »
    Is there a calendar or site anywhere with all the years sportives in one place?

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/page/events/leisure-events-calendar2

Probably a few more not on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

Just booked there. Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

sullzz wrote: »
    I'll prob cycle out to it from Leixlip with a few others tho , to warm the legs up and get the few extra kms in

I'll be cycling from Maynooth. Meet you in Celbridge and ride out together?

Orion wrote: »
    I'll be cycling from Maynooth. Meet you in Celbridge and ride out together?

No prob , are you out training in the morn

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Albag

Doh!!!!! Forgot to register. Does anyone know if you can pay on the day? Ta

I presume there is plenty of parking at the aerodrome?

Albag wrote: »
    Doh!!!!! Forgot to register. Does anyone know if you can pay on the day? Ta

Yes you can it's the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Enjoyable ride today, well organised - did the shorter one - struggled a bit, need to get out on the bike more!
    Tea and buns were nice afterwards at Baldonnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Did the shorter route and it was grand till Maynooth when the speed dropped in a big way while the lead car waited for any stragglers, took off on my own and a group of eight came across and we put the hammer down till the finish.

Well organised and the refreshments were great

Borderfox wrote: »
    Did the shorter route and it was grand till Maynooth when the speed dropped in a big way while the lead car waited for any stragglers, took off on my own and a group of eight came across and we put the hammer down till the finish.

Well organised and the refreshments were great

Nice to meet you today , was a good day , got a good chain going with Borderfox and a few others from rathcoffey on and worked well , I wasn't going to even do this as Im suffering with man flu at the moment , I'm glad I did now , happy enough with my average speed for the day it would be a bit better but we got stuck behind the lead car for a while after the 2 groups split .
    Great turn out overall , well done to all involved organizing it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭TripleMinor

Great day out. Was my first sportive and was very impressed.

Did the 112k route. Really nice route and well organised.

Got dropped by the lead group after about 70k. Stayed with a pretty strong group till the end picking up a few others along the way.

Saw a lot of people get punctures but luckily I got away without any.

strava[dot]com/activities/249102203/overview(cant post links :(

Bike badly needs a clean after it though

Use a referral link when purchasing a Tesla and get free Supercharging KMs https://www.tesla.com/en_ie/referral/stephen958732

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Well done to the organisers today. Great day.
    I did the long spin, longest so far, this year, and fastest by a big margin.
    That drag at about 100Km was a toughie.
    My average for the day was 32kph. Delighted with myself.

I think, I might have been in your finishing group TripleMinor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Did the heart good today to see the turnout and support for the Junior Tour.Lots of the usual suspects helping,and a fantastic turnout of riders.One chap who won a pair of oakleys in the raffle gave them back to be re raffled.
    Great to think that the race is safeguarded for at least this year.An post ras race director even helping with the raffle tickets.It was a real all hands on deck job.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,653 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

wav1 wrote: »
    Great to think that the race is safeguarded for at least this year.An post ras race director even helping with the raffle tickets.It was a real all hands on deck job.
    I think the reaction to this event as well as the wider appeal to support the Junior Tour has been truly remarkable. The volunteers behind this event and other initiatieves have done an incredible job. I would go so far as to say though that I would be amazed if the Trust Fund has not raised enough to secure the event for a number of years.

I am certainly not suggesting anyone should rest on their laurels here, and would add there are a number of other events on the race calendar, including one you are very closely involved in wav1, that are in a similarly perilous financial position (maybe not in absolute terms in all cases but certainly relative to the size of event). I would hope those events are not forgotten (and know that you and those behind the Junior Tour Trust fund are fully aware of some of the problems faced by other events)

Beasty wrote: »
    I think the reaction to this event as well as the wider appeal to support the Junior Tour has been truly remarkable. The volunteers behind this event and other initiatieves have done an incredible job. I would go so far as to say though that I would be amazed if the Trust Fund has not raised enough to secure the event for a number of years.

I am certainly not suggesting anyone should rest on their laurels here, and would add there are a number of other events on the race calendar, including one you are very closely involved in wav1, that are in a similarly perilous financial position (maybe not in absolute terms in all cases but certainly relative to the size of event). I would hope those events are not forgotten (and know that you and those behind the Junior Tour Trust fund are fully aware of some of the problems faced by other events)
    Something I forgot to mention earlier.Theres a guy call Peter Kay[Yes his name is Peter Kay]from the Manchester area of the Uk who brings over teams year after year to the JT,and is a real one man show,mechanic,manager,swanny etc.He came over on the ferry last night unannounced to help out today.Goes to show how much our little tour means to them across the pond.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭cornet

Thanks to the organisers for a super spin - the air base was a great starting point - plenty of parking and secure. Good to see lots of strong riders who worked well during the spin.

The road engineers around the area definitely like speed ramps ...

Had a lovely spin out today (until I decided to try and stick with the lead group when the pace picked up) fell out the back of the group on the over to carbury.

Lovely to meet Dathai and random other boardsie without a name...

Great day out and a great atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Something I forgot to mention earlier.Theres a guy call Peter Kay[Yes his name is Peter Kay]from the Manchester area of the Uk who brings over teams year after year to the JT,and is a real one man show,mechanic,manager,swanny etc.He came over on the ferry last night unannounced to help out today.Goes to show how much our little tour means to them across the pond.

Ah guess he was the lad with the English registered team car then eh ?

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Ah guess he was the lad with the English registered team car then eh ?
    That's him.He even was dishing out soup the last time I seen him earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

Had a lovely spin out today (until I decided to try and stick with the lead group when the pace picked up) fell out the back of the group on the over to carbury.

Lovely to meet Dathai and random other boardsie without a name...

Great day out and a great atmosphere.

Nice to meet you too Skrynesaver. Of all the days so far this year they could not have been luckier with the weather - some of the posted photos show it well.

The fact the main bunch stayed together until the wind blew it apart on the rise out of Carbury was impressive. It set a high standard now for the sportive year and great to have supported such a good cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭nilhg

Very enjoyable day out (with the possible exception of the last 20km), well organised, great venue to run it out of and a great turnout, well done to all concerned.

Did the 112 myself, was going handily enough till there was a bit of a split coming out if Kilshanroe, had to go into the red to get back on and was hanging on the back for a good while trying to recover a bit, when it kicked off upfront there was a split ahead of us, 4 or 5 of us tried to bridge back to the main group but even though we did a KM or two at an average speed of 45km/hr never made it. Joined forces with one of the Naas lads then and we made decent progress till Clane and picked up a few more there and made good progress to Ardclough, those hills were the finish of me though and made my way home solo as best as I could, a big shout out here to the chap who called me back in Newcastle when I missed the turn.

Met several boardsies, had a chat with Jimm, think I met wav1 briefly on the way for tea/buns at the finish, there was a chap in a green boards top standing beside me before the start, thought I recognised the face but was talking to someone else at the time and when I turned around to say hello he was gone, sorry about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

A few pictures up on the facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1570370859851868/

Great day out. Was my first sportive and was very impressed.

Did the 112k route. Really nice route and well organised.

Got dropped by the lead group after about 70k. Stayed with a pretty strong group till the end picking up a few others along the way.

Saw a lot of people get punctures but luckily I got away without any.

strava[dot]com/activities/249102203/overview(cant post links :(

Bike badly needs a clean after it though

Fair play to you, I was hanging onto the back but had to give up around 55km, then stopped for quick coffee with some nice lads from Naas CC, legs and chest were gone then really and couldn't follow them so did most of the last 40k solo apart from the short climb where there were a few of us.

Very good pace for the main group, they must have avg'd close to 35k. Time for lemsip now. Might see you at one of the Boards spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭evancunny95

Well done to organizers and everyone today, As someone who has ridden the JT twice in the last few years It really is a massively important race to not just the Irish Juniours but to Americans,Brits and Dutch who come over year after year.I did the shorter route today as I had to get back for work early. Thanks to the boardsies in the lead group who drove the pace home after a frustrating few km behind the lead car. My legs left me when it came to Boston,which was just hell.

I met a chap, today, who did the 112K, first time on a bike in 6 months, hasn't cycled seriously for years. He did the Junior Tour in '93 and'94. He turned out today simply to support the event.
    Fair play to him.

Well done to organizers and everyone today, As someone who has ridden the JT twice in the last few years It really is a massively important race to not just the Irish Juniours but to Americans,Brits and Dutch who come over year after year.I did the shorter route today as I had to get back for work early. Thanks to the boardsies in the lead group who drove the pace home after a frustrating few km behind the lead car. My legs left me when it came to Boston,which was just hell.
    At least you stayed out of trouble today and got to the finish,unlike nasty day leaving Sixmilebridge in 2013..Great to see you still on the bike and sorry I missed you today chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭evancunny95

At least you stayed out of trouble today and got to the finish,unlike nasty day leaving Sixmilebridge in 2013..Great to see you still on the bike and sorry I missed you today chap.

Its my first proper ride since that day. Ive gone in and out to work but I havent raced,or even done a proper spin since that Dutch guy came down and ruined my day. I enjoyed being back on the saddle though,was good to see some old faces. How did the longer spin go for you today.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Wow, what a crowd, great to see. Secondly, the marshalls deserve a round of applause, best I have seen.

Headed out with the front group and all was well, even lead of the front with another fixed gear rider for awhile. The announcers in the car were great, saying thanks to people and keeping the pace survivable. My rear wheel went soft at about 60km so I pulled off and changed but this two went soft after another while.

Tried to pump it up and RockWerchter like a gent pulled over and gave me an escort back. All was going nicely until I just bonked (the tube had gone soft again but I tried to keep going) so I pulled over and told RW to keep going. Checked my blood sugars 1.6mmol/L (not great to be honest), sat at the side of the road and munched through a pack of cookies but I was pretty much fecked, couldn't get much over 20kmph and couldn't get much pressure in it.

Pulled in for the last tube before home but my pump wasn't up to much but thankfully another gent (Anthony who is off to the Pyrennes for a spin over the summer) gave me a hand and a lend of his really good pump, I owe you big time. Speed picked up again with the pumped tube but the tube went down again in Tallaght on the way home.

Fantastic day, great pace, sorry I was unable to stick it to the end. Great to see such support for the event, well done to all the organisers.

135 km on the clock though, first time over 10km in 6 months.

First time doing this sportive and had a great time. The pace seemed to be quick from the get go it looked like a number of clubs were using it to flex their muscle and show off their new club gear. I came across a boardsie decked out in the new kit today about 14km in looked the part exchanged a few words before heading on. My fingers have just about thawed out. Absolutely stunning day but very cold. Soup at the end was very welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭DanDublin1982

Only did the short run but the hill towards the end killed me. Enjoyable spin but after about 4 months off the bike I wasn't in any real shape for it. Lots of work to be done ahead of other spins I'd like to do this year. :)

Its my first proper ride since that day. Ive gone in and out to work but I havent raced,or even done a proper spin since that Dutch guy came down and ruined my day. I enjoyed being back on the saddle though,was good to see some old faces. How did the longer spin go for you today.
    Went fine for me Evan..I just drive the car,drink cans of coke,and shout abuse at the riders.Just another normal day at the office really.:)

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    First time doing this sportive and had a great time. The pace seemed to be quick from the get go it looked like a number of clubs were using it to flex their muscle and show off their new club gear. I came across a boardsie decked out in the new kit today about 14km in looked the part exchanged a few words before heading on. My fingers have just about thawed out. Absolutely stunning day but very cold. Soup at the end was very welcome.

Were you in a PlanetX top?"Hi":"Oh ok then"

Nope all black with fluro gilet although had a planet x buff on so may well have been. :D First boardsie I've seen on the road.

I think, that was me. I had a black Planet X top, with red and blue stripes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Delighted the event went well financially. Had to peel off at Maynooth myself - pulled something in my back yesterday and struggled on the 20km to Baldonnel just to get to the start. Decided it more sensible to stop rather than do more damage. Tbh would have struggled to keep up with the overall pace anyway.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    I think, that was me. I had a black Planet X top, with red and blue stripes.

That was the top i saw, hi again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

nilhg wrote: »
    Very enjoyable day out (with the possible exception of the last 20km), well organised, great venue to run it out of and a great turnout, well done to all concerned.

Did the 112 myself, was going handily enough till there was a bit of a split coming out if Kilshanroe, had to go into the red to get back on and was hanging on the back for a good while trying to recover a bit, when it kicked off upfront there was a split ahead of us, 4 or 5 of us tried to bridge back to the main group but even though we did a KM or two at an average speed of 45km/hr never made it. Joined forces with one of the Naas lads then and we made decent progress till Clane and picked up a few more there and made good progress to Ardclough, those hills were the finish of me though and made my way home solo as best as I could, a big shout out here to the chap who called me back in Newcastle when I missed the turn.

Met several boardsies, had a chat with Jimm, think I met wav1 briefly on the way for tea/buns at the finish, there was a chap in a green boards top standing beside me before the start, thought I recognised the face but was talking to someone else at the time and when I turned around to say hello he was gone, sorry about that.

Good man; enjoyed meeting urself and ur clubmates again. Looking forward to another good season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Pie Eater

Was a good spin yesterday. Was with a friend and he could only consider the shorter route. Well organised day and a pleasure to participate. The cups of hot soup at the end were most welcome.