Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Building callouses and chasing goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

That's a huge jump in your DL, congratulations. And all your Weight-lifting PRs, all your hard work paying off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭EmcD123

ninamc wrote: »
    That's a huge jump in your DL, congratulations. And all your Weight-lifting PRs, all your hard work paying off :)
    Thank you so much :)
    I did have straps this time though. Ya it is all starting to pay off in the last while now ,theres been a huge amount of pr's lately with our entire group so I think its just been that the training is all being programmed really well.

Good session again tonight. Snatch technique was a little off but I still hit 90% successfully. Also more front squat pr's!! and I have it on video

Snatch+Overhead Squat
    (1,1)x2 50kg,55,60
    (1,1)x1 65
    Missed 67.5 twice

Jerk dip+Jerk
    (1,1)x2 67, 73, 77, 83
    (1,1)x1 87
    Missed 90 twice

Front squat
    4x4 100
    1x4 105 pr (matches my previous 3 rep max, but this time I did much more squat volume before attempting the pr compared to last time I squatted 105, also it was way way easier)

Push press
    3x5 40
    1x5 45
    1x4 47.5

Here's the front squat video,I think I got good depth and the technique looks fairly sound to me but if anyone here notices anything they could critique let me know

Forgot to post wednesdays session till now.
    So ya again it was another decent session. Im getting more consistent at the 95% range lifts every session.

Drop snatch
    2x4 40
    2x4 45
    1x4 50
    Getting a little better at these

Snatch
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    65x1
    67.5x1
    70xx
    Should have got 70,I pulled it really high and went too low so it crashed on my shoulders so I wasnt able to keep the lockout from the shock,but it was a really good rep

Clean and jerk
    60x3
    70x3
    80x2
    85x1
    90x1
    95xx
    Felt good, havent done cleans in ages so they felt really heavy,but my jerk technique is definitely improving

Snatch pulls
    4x5 80
    These felt really really good,technique was on point for them

Friday

These was a really good session, hit every snatch with only one miss and made a big squat pr again

Snatch Pull+Snatch (1,1)
    50x2
    55x2
    60x2
    62.5x1
    65x1
    67.5x1

Push press+Jerk step through (3,3 per set)
    40x1
    45x1
    50x1
    55x1

Jerk from rack
    Was way too tired for these after pushing the previous overhead complex
    67x3
    73x2
    77x1
    83xx

Back squats
    4x5 115
    1x3 115
    Massive volume PR, was just 2 reps short of getting 5x5 after coming up just short of 3 sets last week

Saturday
    Legs were in unbelivable agony this morning after yesterdays squats.Tokk almost an hour of warming up to manage a full squat

Power Snatches
    40x3
    45x3
    50x3
    55x2x2
    60x2x1(2 singles)
    COuldnt get the rest of the reps, these were a huge mess

Power clean+Push press+Jerk from head
    Go to max of (1,1,3):
    x40,45,50,52.5
    After that I couldnt hold the bar in place for jerks from head

Power clean+Push press
    Go to max of (1,3):
    x40,45,50,52.5,55,56,58pr
    Completely failed on 59, the squats completely wiped my leg drive for today so Im surprised I got the push press pr

Power clean
    To 3 rep max:
    x50,55,60,65,70,75
    Never done triples with this before, was really hard,thumbs are in bits at the moment so I could barely grip the bar

Couldnt seem to find a time where boards.ie was working right for me in the last few days so here my last 2 sessions

Monday

Snatch+Overhead Squat
    To max: managed to match my snatch pr 70 here
    Came unbeliveably close to 72.5 but lost it behind

Jerk dip +Jerk from rack
    to max: Only got to 85 here but still happy enough with it

Front squat
    5x4 105 Big pr here, got it as a 4 rep max last week and here I did it for 5 sets

Floor in the gym was really slippy and that why I missed the snatch,footing was really bad for jerks aswell because of it.

Wednesday
    Worst session Ive ever done I think, everything just went terrible

Drop Snatches
    2x3 40
    1x3 45
    2x3 50

Snatch
    to max: only got a really horrible 60, Missed more attempts that I got and missed a pile of snatches at 40 and 50.

Clean and jerk
    to max:Only went as far as 75 because the jerks were really hurting my shoulders and elbows

Snatch pulls
    5x3 80

Had a decent session today, much better than wednesday.
    Snatch Pull+Snatch
    To max:
    50x3
    55x2
    60x2
    65x1
    70x
    70x1
    72.5xx, Came really really close on the second attempt just didnt lock out hard enough

jerks from the rack
    60x2
    70x1
    75x1
    80x1
    85x1 These was a really solid rep
    90xx The first attempt I got a good split but the bar wasnt high enough so i didnt get locked out had to drop it then

Push press+Jerk step through
    (3,3) to max:
    40x1
    45x1
    50x1
    55xx Couldnt do all the push presses

Back squats
    was meant to be 5x5 ,But I lost my balance on one of the rack jerks and hurt my back a tiny bit and the squats were aggravating it. I dont mind too much though since my squatting has been pretty consistent
    So i ditched this after working up to 120x1

Had a really good session today. Powers and overhead work was on the program today and I made quite a lot of pr's

Power snatch
    to max: 67.5kg(5.5kg PR)
    Jumps: 40x2,45x2,50x2,55x1,60x2,65x1,67.5x1,70x
    Came really close to 70,I just lost it in front,

Snatch Balance
    to max: 85kg(15kg PR)
    Managed to lock out 90 over my head but couldnt hold the lockout for long enough

Power Clean+Push press+Jerk from head
    (1,1,3) to max: 52
    Cant actually hold anymore over my head safely for the jerks from head

Power Clean+Push Press
    To max: 65kg(5kg PR)

Power Clean
    To max: 85kg
    Didnt get 90 this time either,

Taper week all this week in the leadup to clubs on saturday, so today was a short easy enough session

Front squats
    Work up to a heavy single: 115kg(10kg PR)
    Its technically a pr but thats only because I havent maxed in ages, Was very easy, I probably have 120 possibly 125 in me at the moment

Power Snatch +Snatch
    Up to 90%: 65kg ,again smooth enough

Power Clean +Power Jerks
    Up to 90% again: 75kg
    Very tidy reps here, my power clean has improved a lot in the last 3 weeks

i was posting to go "jerk from head??" then i saw snatch balance +15kg PR

jaysus :D

bluewolf wrote: »
    i was posting to go "jerk from head??" then i saw snatch balance +15kg PR

jaysus :D

Jerk from head is a nasty assistance thing,you hold the bar just over your head,go up on your toes and then drive it up and split, Its supposed to quicken your split

Haha yes wasnt expecting that pr at all,I very nearly made it a +20kg PR:D

Last real session before the cop on saturday.
    Worked up to my opener on both lifts and then a single on front squats

Snatch:65x2

Clean and jerk:90x,85, Will lower my opener from 90 to 87

Front squat:105 with a short pause, the pause makes it a lot harder

Theres just a technique session now on friday to keep fresh

Load of mobility work first

Snatch: up to 60x1
    Very smooth and easy,was catching them better than I usually do

Clean and jerk: up to 80
    Again very easy

Very simple quick session before tomorrows comp,Im pretty excited for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

Hope today went well for you :)

Was an okay comp,little dissappointed but it really didnt go all that badly

Bodyweight: 66.3 heaviest i've weighed in yet

Snatch: 65 ,67 ,70x
    Lost 70 forward ,was a really dumb miss

Clean and jerk: 85, 87, 90x
    Threw the jerk forward on 90,held onto it because I thought I could save it but I ran out of platform

Have a lot more than that in me though but national juniors are in a month and thats when the performance matters I guess

Got an absolute monster of a programme this week. But Im done the first session and I have to admit I really enjoyed it

No hookgrip,No foot movement,No contact Snatches
    These were hard to do but once I got in on them they were good,and the snatches afterward were much better after doing these
    4x3 45

Snatches
    6x2 60
    These felt very good and solid

Jerk dip +Jerk
    (2,2) per set
    80x2
    75x2
    77.5x2
    These were really hard but I need to work on my jerk still

Deficit Clean Pulls
    5x5 105 with a pause at the top
    Im confident I could clean 100 now after doing these relatively easily

One arm row
    3x10 30
    Really hard,grip strength was very much tested here, ugh hate bodybuilding stuff

Felt drained tonight, there was just no power in my legs but I got through it
    Serious DOMS from mondays session were the cause

Snatch Balance+ Overhead Squat
    (1,2)x5 65
    This was pretty hard,elbow were already fatigued from monday so lockout wasnt the best

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    6x2 75
    These were pretty solid ,would have been to drained to go any higher anyway

Front squat
    Tried 110 for 5 but ended with
    110x3 for a new 3 rep max but i kinda regret trying it, just wasnt the day for it
    Then 100x3,100x5
    90 2x5
    Because of the 110 I wasted so much energy I couldnt even finish it at 100

Russian Twists
    3x20 12kg
    Was unsure what I could do here so kept the weight light

Got home and found out that my program also had press in split on it but I forgot to do it but my shoulders and elbows were too dead anyway

Friday night
    Snatch FAK
    Didn't get these at all
    60 2x2
    55x2
    50 2x2
    Clean and jerk
    77.5 4x2
    75 2x2
    These were good, jerks were kinda messy though
    Deficit Snatch pulls
    5x5 77.5
    Bench Press
    5x5 40
    My first time doing these, found it really hard

Saturday Morning

No hookgrip,No foot movement,no hookgrip snatches
    4x3 47.5
    Love these as a warmup for snatches
    Snatch
    6x2 62.5 really solid here,didn't miss a single rep
    Push Press
    55x4
    50 2x5
    50 2x3
    Back squats
    5x5 110
    Couldn't do any heavier today
    Glute ham raises
    3x10
    Romanian deadlifts
    2x10 60
    2x8 70
    Glute activation
    Crab walks with green resistance band

Awesome session tonight, im making some serious gains on this trianing cycle i'm on,I feel so strong

No hookgrip,No footmovement,No contact Snatches
    4x3 45
    There was a questionable amount of contact on some of them,but these are making my snatch smoother

Snatch
    Wasnt the best day for snatching,but I made all my reps,They were going forward on me quite a lot though
    3x2 60
    3x2 62.5
    Im getting better at doubles though

Jerk Dip+Jerk
    6x2 80 Big volume Pr
    Missed a load of light ones, lower weights felt really heavy,I got fed up,I got Angry, then I smashed every rep at 80!!:cool::cool: I'm still buzzing from it

Deficit Clean Pulls
    5x5 105 These were easy,had much more control at the top of the pull this week

One Arm Row
    3x10 25
    Made some sick gains here,much more control than last week

Absolutely destroyed this evenings session!!!!!

Snatch Blance+OverHead Squat
    (1,2)x5 70
    Elbows werent the best on the overhead squats but I got through it

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    The caffeine kicked in here lol
    7x2 80
    80 was a 2 rep max, and I did 7 set of it :cool::cool::cool: I feel like such a beast, was meant to be 6 doubles but I just missed a rep earlier on so I did an extra set

Front squat
    105x5
    105x3
    100x3x2
    90x5
    Legs were fine,they werent tired at all, but my lats and shoulders were so wasted from the power jerks that I couldnt hold my front rack position for the squats

Press in split
    5x5 30, Can't press for my life, these were more like split push presses

Russian twist
    3x20 15kg

Absolutely loving this training cycle!

And yet another really good session,Im really starting to feel confident in my lifting now. I also went out and buy myself a pair of lifting straps which I feel were long overdue,they really help with all this volume

Snatch Fak
    Improved a lot on these since the disaster of last week, got all the reps in at the right weight
    7x2 60, missed 2 reps along the way so did a 7th set to make up for it

Clean and Jerk
    6x2 82
    Clean has gone a little weak what with the lack of practice lately ,probably could have power cleaned these easier, Still got every rep ,Didnt miss a single one. Really happy with my clean and jerks. Although the split jerk is feeling harder than the power one at the moment aswell

Deficit Snatch Pull
    3x5 80
    Got 3 sets in and I got a tear in my hand, so decided to ditched the rest of the pulls because I have to train tomorrow and didnt want to make the tear worse

Bench Press
    40x5
    45x5 pr
    50x4 pr
    Was meant to do 5x5 but my shoulder was doing that thing it does where it doesnt lock out right when its too fatigued so left it at 50

And i'm going to be getting another week of this program :D

Good session today,felt fresh, the tear in my hand definitely held me back though. And got some serious squats in

No hookgrip,No foot movement,No contact snatch
    4x3 40

Snatch
    worked up to 60x1
    Wasnt going to be able to do the reps here today,tried to implement a technical overhaul which wasn't going to happen at 60, so dropped down to 50
    9x2 50
    Trying my best to stay over the bar for much longer because I pull back a lot in the extension and also trying to actively pull myself under the bar.
    In maybe the last 3 sets I was really getting in on it

Push Press
    5x5 40
    Couldnt hold onto any more with the pain in my hand

Pre-squat Glute activation
    Decided to try this out this week see if it would help with generating power out of the hole for my squat
    Crab walks with the green resistance band
    Squat with green resistance band around knees

Back squat
    5x5 115
    Matches my best 5x5 except this time it was really easy. One of my knee caves in too much though so I need to keep working on my drive

Glute ham raises
    3x10
    Doing the right this week and I still didnt feel anything so did RDL's aswell just to make sure the hamstrings were being hit hard enough

Romanian Deadlifts
    2x10 80

No hook,no footmovement,no contact snatch
    4x3 40

Snatch
    1x65
    6x1 60
    Was meant to get 6 singles at 65 but it wasnt going to happen
    I think its just im getting fatigued and muscles are tightening up from all the heavy squats and jerk in the last 2 weeks of training

Jerk Dip+Jerk
    4x2 85 ,85 is a new 2 rep max
    1x85
    Couldnt get anymore than that,the rerack was just way too hard to do and sucked all the energy out of me,I wish the gym had jerk blocks

Deficit Clean Pulls
    5x5 105,this weight is getting routine

One arm row
    3x10 25

Kind of an odd session tonight, was wrecked after going out on monday, was nearly dead after a long day of college, only for the heap of caffeine I drank right before training I wouldnt have even made it to the gym

Snatch Balance+ Overhead Squat
    (1,2)x5 70
    These were okay,wasnt driving up aggressively enough but thats fatigue for ya

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    6x2 70
    My left arm had shooting pin and needles,horrible mobility in it, and eventually went quite dead so these took absolutely ages, these were meant to be at 80kg but my left arm refused to lockout or even get under 80.
    These were very painful

Pre-squat glute activation
    Green band- Crab walks and squat
    Gonna keep doing these before squats,its really helping with the drive out of the hole

Front Squat
    5x5 100
    These were so easy,was surprised how simple they were, I was just about to get stuck into set of 5 at 105 when I reliased my lift home had been sitting outside the gym for half an hour already.
    These were originally meant to be done at 105 but in the last 2 week I just havent been able to match the front squat percentages so I pulled it back to try and get one good front squat session in

Didnt get to do presses but I dont mind because my arm had lost all feeling at that stage

Friday evening

Snatch Fak
    6x1 65, These were really solid,kept my technique that ive been working on now,pulling close and staying over the bar longer.
    I even managed to pause at the bottom here,which is something Im trying to drill into my snatch. Also there was very little twisting in the bottom position this time

Clean and jerk
    6x1 85
    These felt really heavy,especially the cleans,I missed 2 attempts on the cleans which is pretty unusual for me but I obviously retook them
    Jerks were going forward on me but my recovery game was on point and saved all of them

Bench Press
    40x5
    45x5
    50x4
    50x5
    50x2
    Getting better at this each week

Didnt have time to do snatch pulls

Saturday Morning

No hookgrip,No footmovement,No contact Snatches
    4x3 45
    Getting much better at these

Snatch
    6x1 65
    Technique was feeling really on point same as last night

Push press
    45x5
    47.5x5
    50x5
    52.5x5
    55x5

Pre-squat glute activation
    Same as previously

Back squats
    5x5 120 EASY!!!! 120 was a new 5 rep max by 5kg
    Legs feel like they're going to fall off now though,Im thinking its the glute activation thats leading to the squat gains in the last 2 weeks

Attached image was me on friday, I was all like,"I drank a pile caffeine but Im not feeling it"....5 minutes later I'm bouncing round the place like a lunatic right in time for clean and jerks

Will be getting a deload week next week,so just one more heavy one

No Hook,Not foot movement,No contact Snatch
    4x3 40
    Really getting the hang of these now

Snatch
    2x2 60
    2x1 65
    Was snatching really well but I just couldnt get the reps,was supposed to be 6x1 68. Am struggling with the timing at the moment since my technique has really improved suddenly with some changes I made and the bar is now at a different place at different times during the lift compared to before.
    Was working in with someone else and the jumps they took in warmups were just too large and quick for me so I dont think I was warmed up enough by the time I attempted my working weight

Jerks from rack
    85x1
    90x1
    80 4x1
    Arm was really tight and sore again so couldnt lift properly,Im falling forward on the dip every time though

Clean Pulls
    100x5
    105 4x5 very easy

Feeling really tired this week,im counting down the days until my deload
    My speed is pretty much gone at the moment, and the muscles are just too tight for doing stuff,only 2 more sessions left this week though. And pr squats !

last nights session
    Snatch Balance +Overhead Squat
    (2,1)x4 70
    (2,1)z1 75
    These actually felt really good,and really easy. These were some of the best overhead squat ive ever done

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    80x1
    83x
    75x1x4
    The bar was forward,I was going backward. Couldnt stop the bar moving at all

Front squats
    5x5 105 PR!
    this matches my best 5x4(5 sets of 4). They felt strong even on a day like yesterday which means I think I have more in me if I was properly rested

Press in split
    4x5 25
    1x5 35 (5kg Pr)

Russian twist
    3x20 15kg

Really surprising session this evening, felt like death going into the gym. Didnt even bother with caffeine because I thought nothing could help me

Took about an hour of stretching and another half hour of bar work to be able to move properly.
    But in the end I had a really good session

Snatch Fak
    2x1 65
    3x1 67.5
    Tiredness was the limiting factor here, was just to tired to pull properly

Clean and Jerk
    Biggest surprise of the evening, was going to drop percentages here, Each rep in the warmups was so slow and painful,then I hit an absolute beauty at 85 and decided to go 90 in the end
    6x1 90!!!:cool:
    Each clean and each jerk was just so painful in terms of speed and effort levels. The jerks felt like slow motion,dont know how they went up. Just focused on extending fully on the jerk drive

Deficit Snatch Pulls
    5x5 70
    Pulled back the weight on these,I was dusht at this stage

Bench Press
    40x5
    50x5
    55x3
    50x5
    40x5
    Absolutely hate bench press ,it just sucks so much

Cant wait for Back Squats tomorrow:p

Last session before the deload week was yesterday morning.
    It was a pretty terrible session where I was just too beat up to train properly,was pretty much forced into an early deload

Nonono snatch
    4x3 40 pretty sloppy and unbalanced

Snatch
    3x1 60
    2x1 65
    Again sloppy here, technique and strength kinda went out the window

Push Press
    40x5
    45x5
    48x3
    45x2x5
    Could barely get my arms over my head after fridays bench pressing

Back squats
    worked up to 125x2
    My back wasnt holding up well under it, There was a pretty serious amount of pain around my tailbone on the negative phase of the squat which was putting me in a bad position

5x3 100 was all I could manage,the weight felt routine but my back was liking it. Got my back cracked later on to remove a pile of compression there which instantly helped

Glute Ham Raises
    3x10

29/2

I can see this being a really hard deload...
    Sots press
    4x5 20kg
    The bar was almost moving in slow motion that show weak i am

Snatch Fak
    4x2 60
    Not too bad, need to pull my elbows up more aggressively

Clean +Paused Jerk
    These felt really odd at the start but I got the hang of them
    4/5x1 80
    Lost count on the sets here so I did either 4 or 5
    They were easy enough,last one was by far the best jerk

Clean Pulls
    5x5 110 pr
    Heaviest Ive ever clean pulled, last time I tried this I could hardly get the weight off the ground

Wide grip negative pullups
    Did 2 pullups and literally could not do another, so I had to stick to doing negatives instead
    10x2 negatives

Good session this evening,had a long day of college and was out last night so I wasnt sure how it would go but it was grand in the end

Drop Snatch
    4x4 45
    These are always kind of boring

Snatch
    4x1 62.5
    Was snatching well, technique is getting a lot better all the time now

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    4x1 75
    These were rough because my shoulder was really tight and sore after the pullups on monday so the jerks were quite painful,weight felt light though

Front Squat
    New 4 rep max here and I did 5 sets of it, also have a video!!
    5x4 107.5
    They werent actually too bad,not sure what to think of my technique on it from watching the video,im not sure what it should look like

Ab Rollouts
    So so difficult
    2x10
    1x5...just couldnt

Here's the front squat video,its the last set out of the 5 so I was really tired, any criticism of my form would be great if anyone reads this log and see's something that could be done better in my squat. Im a little worried about the arch in my back during the squat but theres no pain so I dont know...maybe its supposed to look like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,657 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

What arch in your back? Do you think you're too much in extension or what?

FWIW, to me it looks fine.

What arch in your back? Do you think you're too much in extension or what?

FWIW, to me it looks fine.

My back squats have been giving me a pain down near my tailbone as I start to reach paralell on the way down ,it could just be because ive been lifting heavy for a good few weeks in a row and im exhausted but I was worried it might have been from being in too much extension. from the back squat video(quality is too ba to upload) I got last week theres about the same amount of extension in this video of front squats as there is in my back squat so I was just wondering should the shape of my back be the way it is in this video?

More likely scenario is that its just that my hip flexors are too tight for back squats because I know someone who had a similar pain who said it was their hip flexibility that caused it

Do your knees come in much/at all when you're back squatting?

It's also possible, like you said, that you need to work on your hip mobility.

Do your knees come in much/at all when you're back squatting?

It's also possible, like you said, that you need to work on your hip mobility.

A little bit but im actively trying to push them out all the time,they do move in a bit on 90%+ weights but thats about it, and its happens a bit more on the last or second last set

get yourself a roller and lacrosse ball to torture yourself with at home. Will do wonders for your hips.

Edit: Check this guy out for a foam roller. They're indestructible and as cheap as, if not cheaper than, most foam rollers that are nowhere near as good. They take some abuse in the gym and still they're no worse.

Friday evening
    So the one of the russian national coaches and 1991 world champion came to our club training on friday evening, Ibrahim Samadov was his name.

Had an amazing session, and learned an absolute ton, My snatch improved immensely after just that one session and I got a load of things to think about and to try to implement in my jerk

Snatches were all at 50kg, repeatedly. I'd say I did close to 30-40 reps in total
    mostly made up of 3 and 4 rep sets, and a 6 rep set at the end.
    Was nearly dead after just the snatches

Then clean and jerks at 70,75 and 80kg
    Did them as a clean and 2 jerks. Was moving really well by the end but was too fatigued to try to do everything he said to do. Decided i'd work on them on sunday when I was rested

Saturday
    Got into the gym this morning feeling great and all fired up and left with a really good session

No contact snatches
    3x3 40 really smooth

Snatch
    4x1 62.5
    2x1 65
    1x1 67.5
    1x1 70
    xx75
    Hit my percentages at 62.5kg, but felt really good so kept going, hit my current max of 70 easily, and came really close to 75, I think with even a tiny bit of preparation I could hit 75kg pretty solidly

Front squat +Jerk
    4x1 80
    Pretty damn easy,was feeling tired and front squats were sapping my energy

Push Press
    40x5
    45x5
    50 2x5

Back Squats
    Made a few more technical changes this week, legs were drained but I still got all the reps in
    4x5 120

our guest coach was at training again tonight and will be again on Wednesday.
    He coached start to finish this evening.
    Had a really good session,feel really strong at the moment

Power Snatch + Snatch all from hip
    Did a load of doubles at 40,45,50
    Have a video of the final set, they look so so much better
    Could never do these properly so im pretty happy

Power Clean+Clean+Front Squat+Jerk
    Singles at 40,50,60,70,80

Clean+Front Squat+Jerk
    Singles at 90,95
    Matched my best clean and jerk @95 pretty easily,Pretty confident now I could do 100
    Have the video of the 95 too,Jerk was little unsteady but sure thats grand

Clean Pulls
    2x3 80
    3x3 90
    2x3 100
    Pulls were really easy

Back extensions
    2x12 very easy,didnt feel a thing

Here is the hip snatch,phone ran out of memory just at the end of the first snatch. Power snatch was caught forward on that rep, the power after this video ends was much better

This is the clean and jerk, the bar is forward on the jerk becasue I fall forward during the dip,I'm working hard on fixing that but still for a pretty maximal effort I think it looks good

Last session with coach Samadov was yesterday evening.
    Had a great sesion,hit 2 pr's,going on like 2 weeks now where i havent missed a snatch that wasnt a pr attempt. Have to say i'm feeling pretty good these days about it

Snatch warmup
    Muscle snatches up to 45kg
    Snatch groove pulls
    Snatch high Pulls

Snatch

40x5
    45x4
    50x2x3
    55x3
    60x3
    62.5x3
    65x3 (5kg PR)

60x2x3
    Snatch were feeling so fast and strong, legs were a bit dead though

Snatch Pulls
    60 2x3
    70 4x3

Back squats
    80 2x4
    90 2x4
    100x4

100x10 has got to be some kind of PR

Seated Strict Presses
    30 3x4
    40x6 Basically here I had to push up as much as I could and a spotter lifted it with as much pressure as was needed to get the rep, which meant most of the weight was from the spot lol I dont think I got one full rep myself

Overall I really enjoyed those few sessions with him ,and I feel i've really benifitted from it. Will have an easy session on friday, then a mock comp/max out saturday

Friday evening
    So I decided to have my mock comp on friday instead of saturday. Was really tired and relaly hungry so I initially started warming up for a light technique session but the lifts were all going up really well so I did a comp.

Bodyweight: 69.0kg heaviest Ive ever been, this was on the competition scales we use, The one in the gym though is definitely not calibrated right

Snatch: 70, 72, 74, 76(6 kg PR!!)
    Clean and Jerk: 90, 95, 100x

Ya i know I took 4 attempts on the snatch:rolleyes: but thats only becasue the 74 was so easy, the 76 was pretty easy too but when I caught it I was so surprised that I nearly dropped it, form was probably pretty ugly after 72kg but up till then It was looking great.

Was hoping to finally get triple digits on the clean and jerk but it wasnt to be, was just too tired and hungry. Had a really good pull on the clean but I was just too slow getting under it, I think I definitely would have jerked it if I'd stood up the clean

Saturday Morning
    Was feeling tired after yesterday and couldnt work up much speed, so did a load of lighter reps and some assistance excercises

Box Jumps
    Up to 1m, tried 1.15 but chickened out like 5 times

Muscle Snatch
    3x3 40
    2x2 45
    50x

Snatch
    3x4 40
    3x3 45
    2x3 50
    3x2 55
    2x1 60
    2x1 65
    Felt good up untill I tried 65, wasnt able to stay over the bar all that well and I was moving too slow

Strict Press
    30x10
    35x10
    40x2x2
    40x3
    40x4
    Almost every set was a pr!

Cant wait now to get back on a program

Monday Evening

So this session was pretty terrible, the gym was absolutely boiling and I was really tired, body is pretty messed up from fridays session and my college schedule ain't helping

Drop Snatch
    3x3 40
    1x3 45

Snatch
    40x4
    45x4
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    64x1
    69x1
    69 was meant to be for 3 singles but I only got 1, The snatches were technically good all the way along in the weights but they were just so slow that I didnt really have a hope of hitting the 69kg ones,now to try and get some speed into me again

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    40x3
    50x3
    60x3
    70x2
    75x1
    80x1x3
    These actually went really well ,hit all the reps comfortably enough

Front Squats
    These were horrible, they kicked my ass,I was struggling on easy weight,felt like I was going to be crushed
    3x3 100
    It was meant to be done at 115 but I failed the first rep at 115 so had to pull it back,As it was the 100's destroyed me

Easy weight, he says :pac:

hope next one goes better :)

Easy weight, he says :pac:

hope next one goes better :)

lol yeah,a year ago I never would have believed that I'd be describing 100kg as easy weight :P:D

Have a pile of sessions I didnt post until now.

Wednesday evening
    Power Snatch+Overhead Squat
    (3,1) x45kg,50kg,
    (2,1) x 55
    (1,1) x60,
    (1,1)x3 x62.5
    Was grand,felt tired, the last power snatch was more of a snatch than a power

Clean and Jerk
    65x3
    70x3
    75x2
    80x1
    85x1 x3
    These felt really good, once I got a little aggression going

Snatch Pulls
    3x3 82.5
    Feel like I'm getting a really good pull these days

Jerk with tiny dip
    5x5 40

Friday evening
    Im counting this session as a success, but the jerks were a disaster
    Snatch
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    65x1
    67.5x1 x3
    Felt really good,got all the reps easy enough,no misses

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    60x3
    65x3
    70x2
    75x1
    80x1
    Only got 1 set at 80,these were a bit of a trainwreck

Back Squat
    Had to work up to a 3 rep max,had 130 as a goal and I got it so im pretty happy with that
    Warmups were:
    60x5
    80x5
    90x4
    100x3
    110x2
    120x1
    125x3 pr
    Then 130x3 pr, these is 5kg more than I've ever done before, thought I was screwed halfway through the second rep when I hit my sticking point and didnt move for a whole like 5 seconds,same thing happened on the 3rd rep

Saturday Morning
    Power Snatch +Overhead Sqaut
    (3,1) x45kg,50kg,
    (2,1) x 55
    (1,1) x60,
    (1,1)x3 x62.5
    These were a lot better than the wednesday sessions
    Clean and Jerk
    Was probably a bit too early in the morning to be doing these but I got them done
    65x3
    70x3
    75x2
    80x1
    85x1 x3

Clean Pulls
    3x3 100
    Lost my straps last week, so I had to do these with the normal double overhand grip, Could barely hold on to the bar never mind pulling it fast
    Strict Press
    5x5 40
    Massive improvement in just 3 weeks now with these,
    Low-Bar Back Squat
    Started messing around with these with help from a friend who arrived into the gym who squats like this. Have to say i'm not impressed,it was really hard to do and super uncomfortable,the bar kept sitting on one bony bit on my shoulder
    Did 100x3, 120x1
    Unracking the bar was the hardest part, I was actually shaking under it on 120

EmcD123 wrote: »
    Low-Bar Back Squat
    Started messing around with these with help from a friend who arrived into the gym who squats like this. Have to say i'm not impressed,it was really hard to do and super uncomfortable,the bar kept sitting on one bony bit on my shoulder

It's a good way of finding out where your shoulder knots are!

Looking forward to doing it again though once I got the hang

It's a good way of finding out where your shoulder knots are!

Looking forward to doing it again though once I got the hang

Felt like I was fighting with the bar though, probably just because high bar has you in such an upright position and im still trying to get that when I was doing low bar.
    Back has a bruise on it now though where the bar was

Havent been very good for posting my session lately.
    This week was Max out week, I still have one more session to do today though. The week started out rough but its improved as it went on, hit a few pr's this week, missed some lifts I should have gotten but in general it's been going well. Im feeling good for the national juniors on April 2nd

Monday
    Most disappointing day of the week
    Drop Snatches
    3x3 40 boring
    Snatch
    40x4
    45x3
    50x2
    55x2
    60x1
    65x1
    70x1
    75xx No misses until 75, but I really should have hit at least 75
    Power Clean+ Power Jerk
    60x2
    70x1
    75x1
    80x1
    85x1
    90x1 (3 kg pr)
    94x missed the power clean, probably would have gotten it on a second attempt,but coach said to leave it
    Front Squat
    To a 3 rep max:
    Got 115 for 3 reps, 5kg pr
    Thought about trying 120 but again coach said not to bother, Glad I didnt ,my back is still fried form these, front squats really fatigue my back,few people have told me a belt would probably help with that problem but I really dont want to so thats that

Tuesday
    Lol horrible session today, was also pretty traumatising.
    PowerSnatch + OverHead Squat
    To max: Only hit 65, most of the the technical changes ive made to my snatch lately have been what gave me a pretty big power snatch so im not too mad about losing my power snatch numbers
    Clean and Jerk
    To max:
    60x1
    70x1
    80x1
    85x1
    90x1
    95x1
    100xx
    95 as usual was very easy so I went to try 100, caught the clean and the instant it landed on my shoulders I blacked out, vision gone and everything, just I jumped straight up and walked off the platform and passed out again,was all I could not to hit my face off the weight rack
    Was really freaked out,

Thursday
    Competition style session today
    Went really well,happy with this session

Body Weight: 67.2kg

Snatch
    Warmups: 40x3, 50x2, 60x1, 65x1, 70x1
    Attempts: 70, 74, 77(1kg pr)
    No misses ,felt really good

Clean and Jerk
    Warmups: 60x2, 70x1, 80x1, 85x1
    Attempts: 90, 94, 98x (3kg clean pr)
    Went I stood the clean up I was gone faint again,didnt even know which way was up,still attempted the jerk but just ended up making myself really faint and nearly falling over. Was pretty depressed after this but I got over it. Coach said its just that Im forgetting to breathe out during the lift so there isnt enough oxegyn

Back Squat
    To a 2 rep max, took me a while to be ready for these after the jerks, was still kinda disorientated when I was warming up. BUt I was squatting really well, technique was so on point this session
    Warmups: 60x6, 80x5, 90x3, 100x3, 110x2, 120x1, 130x1,
    2 rep max attmept: 135 nailed it!! Double Bodyweight finally!!!
    Then 140x
    Was hoping to finally squat the 3 plates but it wasnt to be today, was just too tired

Pretty mixed session today, power snatches were good but power clean and power jerks were a bit of a trainwreck but I think i'll be all right on the big day

Power Snatch+ OverHead Squat
    To max: 67.5
    My attempt at 70 turned into a full snatch

Power Clean+ Power Jerk
    To max: 80
    Was really messy ,even the warmups here felt really bad

Clean Pulls(No Straps)
    3x3 100
    Did the last set with hookgrip. My grip is improving

Monday
    My clock didnt go forward so I got the time wrong and didnt have enough time to do my session since the gym was closing early for the bank holiday, spent like a minute stretching and then ran through the session so things didnt work out as well as it should but im not worried ,i'll pull it off at the weekend. I'm really excited for the national juniors

Snatch
    1x2 70
    1x72
    Considering the way the session was ,im really glad I managed to lift these.
    Planning on opening on 72 at the weekend

Clean and Jerk
    85x1
    90x
    Just wasnt ready to do it, was too rushed and shoulders werent warmed up enough

Front Squat
    1x2 115
    1x115

Snatch
    Snatching very well, no misses at all,felt really fast and easy
    40x2x2
    50x2x2
    60x2
    60x1
    65x1
    70x1
    72x1

Clean and Jerk
    Wish I could say these went well but they were a disaster
    40x2
    50x2
    60x
    60x1
    70x1
    80x
    80x1
    85xx
    Was meant to hit an easy 85 today but I just sucked in every possible way

|Front squat
    Work up to a heavy single
    115x1

Also!
    I just found out i've been selected to represent Ireland at the european cup in Malta on the 5-8 may :P:P
    Cant believe i'm making my international debut soon:D