Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2015 RBS Six Nations General Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

sydthebeat wrote: »
    just for teh craic... since the 6 nations started, Irelands opening games

Italy 7 (4 away, 3 home)
    wales 4 (2 away, 2 home)
    France 2 (1 each)
    Scotland (1 each)
    England 1 away

Look at the 2016 and 2017 fixtures though. He says that this team with the easy run has one "the next two or three years". Forgetting for the moment that the fixtures have only been announced for the next 2 years here are the opening fixtures:

2016:
    France v Italy
    Scotland v England
    Ireland v Wales

Scotland v Ireland
    England v France
    Italy v Wales

The "lesser" teams are spread out fairly evenly there and there is literally nothing to complain about. England and France get them in 2016, Wales and Ireland in 2017.

Seriously this guy needs people to start calling him out on this crap in the press conferences themselves. It's pretty God awful nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

England
    If anything it's better to play Italy last so you know what you need against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

matthew8 wrote: »
    If anything it's better to play Italy last so you know what you need against them.
    They're usually gassed by then aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

England
    matthew8 wrote: »

I think this is a myth. We're lucky, Scotland have really suffered badly with backline injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

England
    Remember the last time we played Italy in round five? Ran up a cricket score IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,377 ✭✭✭✭phog

Remember the last time we played Italy in round five? Ran up a cricket score IIRC.

Don't think so, I think they beat us.

We played them in round 4 last season and gave them a hiding but played France in Rnd 5

Are you thinking of 2007? The last time was 2013 and they won.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

England
    Yeah, Ireland played Italy in round 5 in 2013 and Italy won. That was the game where Peter O'Mahony ended up on the wing.

England
    Just a little joke there lads.

England
    Went right over my head :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

England
    In fact in this situation I think it's huge for Wales to play Italy last. I'm terrified of what they might do to them, in great form and gung ho from the off.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

England
    Lopez is out of the France England game...

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

.ak wrote: »
    I loved the main pic and the caption below... He really doesn't come across as that bright...

You could almost compare his mental faculties to, say, a tub of flora....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

England
    Berticus wrote: »
    Lopez is out of the France England game...

So who will play 10 this time?

England
    vienne86 wrote: »
    So who will play 10 this time?

Jules Plisson!

Debaty also starts with Ben Arous injured.

FRANCE TEAM TO PLAY ENGLAND:

Spedding ; Huget, Fickou, Mermoz, Nakaitaci ; Plisson, Tillous-Borde ; Goujon, Le Roux, Dusautoir; Maestri, Flanquart ; Mas, Guirado, Debaty.

Kayser, Slimani, Atonio, Taofifenua, Chouly, Kockott, Tales, Bastareaud.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

England
    Thats actually a tasty enough backline, just worried they wouldnt have played much together

16th different half-back pairing Saint-Andre has picked in just over three years at the France helm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

.ak wrote: »
    So Ive heard some "opinions" that Barnes was paid to fix the game by the illuminati (tv companies) so it'd make the last set of game spike in viewers.

Thats some quality tin foil right there.

Jesus, some people are eejits. The TV companies paid Barnes off ? Anyone with a bit of sense knows it was the off licences and pizza delivery places. My local ones are rubbing their hands in glee in anticipation of many like me taking residency on the couch for the day with beer and pizza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Jules Plisson!

Debaty also starts with Ben Arous injured.

FRANCE TEAM TO PLAY ENGLAND:

Spedding ; Huget, Fickou, Mermoz, Nakaitaci ; Plisson, Tillous-Borde ; Goujon, Le Roux, Dusautoir; Maestri, Flanquart ; Mas, Guirado, Debaty.

Kayser, Slimani, Atonio, Taofifenua, Chouly, Kockott, Tales, Bastareaud.

Is Huget the only French back to have played all 5 matches?

I guess when PSA was spinning his Russian Roulette wheel, it just never ended up on Huget's name.

Scotland: Kockott, Lopez, Thomas, Fofana, Basta, Huget, Spedding
    Ireland: Kockott, Lopez, Thomas, Fofana, Basta, Huget, Spedding
    Wales: Parra, Lopez, Guitoune, Fofana, Lamerat, Huget, Dulin
    Italy: Tillouse-Borde, Lopez, Nakaitaci, Mermoz, Fickou, Huget, Spedding
    England: Tillouse-Borde, Pallison, Nakaitaci, Mermoz, Fickou, Huget, Spedding

He hasn't been that bad with the back line in general once you take into account injuries. Kockett was only ahead of Tillous-Borde through injury and Pallison has only gone to first choice 10 because of injury as well. So it seems that PSA knows his half-backs at least, i.e. Tillous-Borde and Lopez. There is a chance Parra is first choice scrum-half too I suppose but I'm not sure about that. His injury makes it hard to tell. Thomas was injured in the Ireland game too so that impacts the line-ups further. He's mucked around with the centres a bit and did give Dulin a start against Wales but Spedding has started the other games. So it's really just the centres he seems to be undecided on really.

England
    CAc3dBOW4AAmtV1.jpg

Parling starts, Easter on the bench, Attwood dropped completely.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,863 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

England
    Probably as strong as possible that england could have been this year, with the exception of barrett for burrell

No Parisse and Haimona starts again. Wales will almost certainly run up a very big score against this side. Not good. Castro back as well.

15 Luke MCLEAN (Sale Sharks, 67 caps)
    14 Leonardo SARTO (Zebre Rugby, 15 caps)
    13 Luca MORISI (Benetton Treviso, 13 caps)
    12 Andrea MASI (London Wasps, 90 caps)
    11 Giovambattista VENDITTI (Zebre Rugby, 26 caps)
    10 Kelly HAIMONA (Zebre Rugby, 6 caps)
    9 Edoardo GORI (Benetton Treviso, 41 caps)

8 Samuela VUNISA (Zebre Rugby, 4 caps)
    7 Mauro BERGAMASCO (Zebre Rugby, 101 caps)
    6 Francesco MINTO (Benetton Treviso, 15 caps)
    5 Joshua FURNO (Newcastle Falcons, 28 caps)
    4 George BIAGI (Zebre Rugby, 7 caps)
    3 Martin CASTROGIOVANNI (RT Toulon, 109 caps)
    2 Leonardo GHIRALDINI (Leicester Tigers, 74 caps) - Captain
    1 Michele RIZZO (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)

16 Andrea MANICI (Zebre Rugby, 10 caps)
    17 Alberto DE MARCHI (Sale Sharks, 27 caps)
    18 Dario CHISTOLINI (Zebre Rugby, 9 caps)
    19 Quintin GELDENHUYS (Zebre Rugby, 53 caps)
    20 Robert BARBIERI (Leicester Tigers, 38 caps)
    21 Guglielmo PALAZZANI (Zebre Rugby, 7 caps)
    22 Luciano ORQUERA (Zebre Rugby, 47 caps)
    23 Enrico BACCHIN (Benetton Treviso, 2 caps)

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

England
    Even if Italy do win some scrum penalties, Haimona's not going to kick the points. Really is a shocking out half.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Hopefully the scrum can keep Italy in the game as long as possible and sap Welsh momentum. But it's very difficult to stay in a game without a vaguely competent goal kicker.

timaru89 wrote: »
    Even if Italy do win some scrum penalties, Haimona's not going to kick the points. Really is a shocking out half.

Yeah he brings pretty much nothing to the game. I know Orquera isn't any great shakes either, but I'd select him over Haimona personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Parisse not playing is a massive boost for Wales.
    I can see them racking up a big score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

Parisse not playing is a massive boost for Wales.
    I can see them racking up a big score.

missing Parisse alone is probably worth 10 points to wales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Flipper22 wrote: »
    Hopefully the scrum can keep Italy in the game as long as possible and sap Welsh momentum. But it's very difficult to stay in a game without a vaguely competent goal kicker.

Knock on deliberately first play to set a marker early? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

France
    Me this morning:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

England
    At the Italy v Wales.

Come on da fcuk Italia :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,416 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

This O'Gara/Horgan double act isn't doing it for me. I thought Horgan was going to become a good pundit, but he seems to be almost going down the presenter role instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

Scotland
    Good luck all .......

Enjoy the ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

France
    Good luck all .......

Enjoy the ride.

My wife's gone to a wedding, I cried off as I want to watch the rugby..... There'll be no ride for me to enjoy tonight!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

France
    Sarto scored last minute Vs England last season aswell to dent their points difference, he may just become a patron saint!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

France
    Italian tackling ! Fair play to Wales though, they wore them down before cutting loose.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭b.gud

England
    Lads this day is not good for me nerves

England
    Everytime they say wrap (reach) around I giggle.

I'm so so drunk right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

England
    150 points scored in the last day of the tournament.

If Carlsberg did endings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Today is what rugby is all about. Thank god we won because it would have taken the shine off of a fantastic day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

b48636e7-5099-4e6a-a4a0-8a189d0bea23_zpsebt5xlnh.jpg~original

Fantastic!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

150 points scored in the last day of the tournament.

If Carlsberg did endings...
    221, actually!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

France
    This O'Gara/Horgan double act isn't doing it for me. I thought Horgan was going to become a good pundit, but he seems to be almost going down the presenter role instead.

Agreed. I think after today we'll see Pope move to the sidelines and either Rog/Horgan at the studio.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

A superb day, not ashamed to say I cried at the end as did others around me.

I consider myself privileged to see such a day

• Registered Users Posts: 22 lucky_luke

I agree an excellemt day of rugby. I'm glad the tournama,emt is as it is and not all three at teh same time. From a spectators perspective it made it all the more exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

England
    According to Eurosport News Ireland won the six nations toady after putting 61 points on Italy, at home, while England could only manage 55 against France. Jesus wept:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

France
    According to Eurosport News Ireland won the six nations toady after putting 61 points on Italy, at home, while England could only manage 55 against France. Jesus wept:).

Jack D'Arcy moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

England
    Nim wrote: »

I wouldn't pay €12 for one. Maybe €1.49. And I'd expect a free Garth Brooks Dublin 2014 cowboy hat thrown in for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

England
    I wouldn't pay €12 for one. Maybe €1.49. And I'd expect a free Garth Brooks Dublin 2014 cowboy hat thrown in for free.

And the Liverpool champions tee too