Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 RBS Six Nations General Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

England
    That's a very strong Welsh team. Is that their first choice in 1-15?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

.ak wrote: »
    Not with that team. He'd be mad not to play to it's strengths, which is very direct runners and try to wear England. He's picked some good ball distributors on the bench, so you'd imagine it'll be the typical Welsh display of over power the opposition and then move the ball around when they're tired.

If lancaster had any sense he will look at how ireland picked wales apart last year and gave them vey little ball to run back. Will be interesting to see englands team for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Very early to be announcing teams. Then again, not much video analysis to be done there.

Thought Anscombe might be on the bench to "lock" him into Welsh colours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

If Wales win their first 2 games I think they'll win the championship and potentially the GS. They'll be full of confidence and will travel to Paris next where they've a very good record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

shuffol wrote: »
    If Wales win their first 2 games I think they'll win the championship and potentially the GS. They'll be full of confidence and will travel to Paris next where they've a very good record.

It's a massive game for Wales: England have the excuse of injuries but that looks like a pretty much full strength wales and it's a home game.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Scotland
    Yeah we really want England to win here. A Welsh win would do wonders for their confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

England
    shuffol wrote: »

If Ireland win their first two games...:pac: Ireland have only managed this twice in 9 years and won the championship both times. In 05 & 03 Ireland managed it, but only beat Italy & Scotland on those occasions. '01 also but that was the foot and mouth year.
    Generally if you win your first 2 games in the 6 nations and beat one of Eng, Ire, Fra, Wal, you will be in the running for a championship/GS. Momentum is a huge thing in any sport.
    Yes Wales have a good record in France (in comparison to Ireland). But Ireland have a good record against England in Dublin and hold no fears of going to Cardiff.
    In Joe we trust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,108 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Scotland
    a draw in the wales england game would be good

i think the winner of this game will win the championship, i dont think anyone will win the grand slam

Ireland could finish 2nd or 3rd. I fear this Italy game (there a good improving team and at home there strong)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭George Hook

England
    PTH2009 wrote: »

Wouldn't that mean we would have to get a GS to win the thing since we would then be not allowed to lose any match?:pac:

Wales
    That's pretty much the British & Irish Lions team :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

England
    That's pretty much the British & Irish Welsh Lions team :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

France
    That's pretty much the British & Irish Lions team :eek:

Picked by the British & Irish Lions / Welsh coach?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

England
    Strong Welsh team alright. I'd have picked Scott Williams who is in sensational form, probably Liam Williams too, but Gatland was never going to drop Roberts and Halfpenny.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭cp

England
    Strong Welsh team alright. I'd have picked Scott Williams who is in sensational form, probably Liam Williams too, but Gatland was never going to drop Roberts and Halfpenny.

To be fair, Roberts was in flying form for Racing against Northampton as well..

Any word on Against the Head lads?

Is it not coming back for the 6N??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

England
    cp wrote: »
    To be fair, Roberts was in flying form for Racing against Northampton as well..

Any word on Against the Head lads?

Is it not coming back for the 6N??

On tonight on RTE Two at 7:00.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Yeah I've seen ads for Against the Head on RTE, actually it's on tonight at 7.

The ads had Stephen Ferris on it too.

England

I agree, Halfpenny is possibly a lucky boy to still be in. He hasn't been setting the world alight down in France and with Biggars kicking he shouldn't be getting in on that alone either.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Bridge93 wrote: »
    I agree, Halfpenny is possibly a lucky boy to still be in. He hasn't been setting the world alight down in France and with Biggars kicking he shouldn't be getting in on that alone either.

Didn't he play well against Ulster and Scarlets? Only saw in pieces so open to disagreement.

England
    its_phil wrote: »
    Didn't he play well against Ulster and Scarlets? Only saw in pieces so open to disagreement.

He's been solid from memory. Hasn't been standout or close to his 2013 self. Not bad but the form Liam Williams is in he can feel a bit aggrieved.

France
    It would be really unusual for Liam Williams to feel aggrieved in any way !

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

England
    RobbieRuns wrote: »
    It would be really unusual for Liam Williams to feel aggrieved in any way !

Ever since his big money move to Manchester City, he hasn't had too much to complain about!

Do we feel bad for Liam?

Do we?

Do we feel bad for Liam?

Do we?

He plays for wales, so i feel bad for wales :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Do we feel bad for Liam?

Do we?

Let's defer to jaco on this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

England
    #justiceforwilliamssometimes

serena or venus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭twinytwo

England
    The 12 is the big question, unless he sticks Robbie in there as he did when playing Payne, but Fitz I just do not see as a 12. Robbie has the bulk now to play that position whereas in the past I would not have said so ( I actually think that he needs to be careful not to get too big ). Fitz would be my first choice 13, gifted runner and he has the space out there. My worry with him is always fitness, the boy (and Luke Marshall) is a car crash. Just hope that he stays fit for a full season.

The sad part for me is that I would not have D'arcy involved at all. He is probably my fav player of the last 10 years, he has made Drico look so good over his career, he has been class in all that he has done, I am not saying that he can't do a job, just he is not the player of old. He is trying to get to that World Cup for sure and part of me hopes that he does, while other parts of me would love him to go out on a high. If he does not retire from international rugby after the 6N it is a given that he will after the RWC.

Say what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭twinytwo

England
    PTH2009 wrote: »

i think the winner of this game will win the championship, i dont think anyone will win the grand slam

Ireland could finish 2nd or 3rd. I fear this Italy game (there a good improving team and at home there strong)

Really?

Bar some sort of miricle and gatland changes his ways, wales will be up to their some old tricks.

England are beatable so long as you can hold their scrum.

I would go as far as to say if we can win in cardiff there is no reason we cant retain the title

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

Scotland
    twinytwo wrote: »
    Really?

Bar some sort of miricle and gatland changes his ways, wales will be up to their some old tricks.

England are beatable so long as you can hold their scrum.

I would go as far as to say if we can win in cardiff there is no reason we cant retain the title
    I would concur with your last thought .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

For me the Cardiff game is our biggest test this season. I think they'll preform, and they owe us.

England
    For me the Cardiff game is our biggest test this season. I think they'll preform, and they owe us.

Last year yeah, we hockey'd them - but the year before they only had themselves to blame for taking half the match to warm up.

Also 2011... need to at least get through the next world cup before were quits on that one.

Last year yeah, we hockey'd them - but the year before they only had themselves to blame for taking half the match to warm up.

Also 2011... need to at least get through the next world cup before were quits on that one.

and we got mugged in 2012 [Bradley Davies spearing Donnacha Ryan and Ferris yellow for a perfectly good tackle]

And we got mugged in cardiff in 2011 ..... ball into crowd etc.

England
    Some abrasive stuff even for Gatland!

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/six-nations/north-hibbard-recalled-as-gatland-makes-big-statement-30958533.html

Openly criticising North and saying team was 'easy to pick'. Maybe it's selective quoting but I'd be annoyed if Schmidt or MOC came out with stuff like this.

(Sorry for indo link)

http://www.donotlink.com/

This a good way to avoid them getting google click throughs

France
    twinytwo wrote: »
    Say what now?

He has helped Drico make the most of his talents for sure, I'd say that Drico himself would echo that sentiment ! Are they not the most capped centre combination in international rugby? I would say that Darcy has helped make Drico look good over the years. Sadly the years catch up with everyone.

France
    He has helped Drico make the most of his talents for sure, I'd say that Drico himself would echo that sentiment ! Are they not the most capped centre combination in international rugby? I would say that Darcy has helped make Drico look good over the years. Sadly the years catch up with everyone.

having a good center partner helps (and i do think darcy has been underrated at times) but drico was a world beater long before darcy came along

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

England
    i would say they both complimented each other... not one making the other look better.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,228 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The 12 position will be interesting as when you look at the candidates

Munster: Hurley, Dineen
    Connacht: McSharry
    Ulster: L. Marshall
    Leinster: Madigan, D'arcy

There's not a huge amount of choice really so unless we put a 13 into 12, like Henshaw, then I could defo see D'arcy starting.

He may not be a huge attacking threat anymore, or for the last while, but he is still a key player in defence.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    The 12 position will be interesting as when you look at the candidates

Munster: Hurley, Dineen
    Connacht: McSharry
    Ulster: L. Marshall
    Leinster: Madigan, D'arcy

There's not a huge amount of choice really so unless we put a 13 into 12, like Henshaw, then I could defo see D'arcy starting.

He may not be a huge attacking threat anymore, or for the last while, but he is still a key player in defence.

Henshaw had a great game against the boks at 12. For me D'Arcy's defence qualities alone isnt good enough anymore. We need more then a solid defender in midfield now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

England
    Lads, any decent Six Nations previews ala The Guardian et.al.?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

France
    Games on this weekend yeah?

Kinda snuck up without much talk in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

I see Sky Sports have won the rights to The Open Championship and are going to turn their attention to the Six Nations now.

After the 2012 Olympics and general budget cut backs it looks like BBC are taking less of an interest in sport so losing the Six Nations to Sky looks very likely.

They said it would never happen to golf but did, only a matter of time before the Six Nations is not on free to air TV I'm afraid.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/feb/03/sky-sports-buys-open-championship-golf-bbc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

England
    I see Sky Sports have won the rights to The Open Championship and are going to turn their attention to the Six Nations now.

After the 2012 Olympics and general budget cut backs it looks like BBC are taking less of an interest in sport so losing the Six Nations to Sky looks very likely.

They said it would never happen to golf but did, only a matter of time before the Six Nations is not on free to air TV I'm afraid.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/feb/03/sky-sports-buys-open-championship-golf-bbc

Aparently the money involved in the new Sky deal for the Open is not much more than that paid by the BBC. I think it's a very bad move by the R & A (the old crusts who make these big decisions for golf) - no wonder the numbers of youngsters taking up golf in the UK is well down on what it used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭George Hook

England
    vienne86 wrote: »
    Aparently the money involved in the new Sky deal for the Open is not much more than that paid by the BBC. I think it's a very bad move by the R & A (the old crusts who make these big decisions for golf) - no wonder the numbers of youngsters taking up golf in the UK is well down on what it used to be.

Apparently it's close £15M whereas the BBC deal was only £7M. (A year)

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/golf/article-2937880/BBC-lose-Open-Sky-Sports-agree-75m-deal-secure-golf-s-crown-jewel.html

Given the trend that as you say the numbers of young golfers is already down the R&A could argue that the BBC coverage hasn't been helpful/cost effective for the sport and the cash would be a better way to rebuild it.

While that might be their view I am certainly never in favour of PPV for any sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

England
    Given the trend that as you say the numbers of young golfers is already down the R&A could argue that the BBC coverage hasn't been helpful/cost effective for the sport and the cash would be a better way to rebuild it.

While that might be their view I am certainly never in favour of PPV for any sport.

I agree with you. It's the fans who suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

England
    England squad for Friday. Cipriani in line for the bench. Starting xv to be named tomorrow.

England squad (25)
    Forwards (14)
    Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
    Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)
    Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
    Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
    Nick Easter (Harlequins)
    Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
    James Haskell (Wasps)
    George Kruis (Saracens)
    Joe Marler (Harlequins)
    Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain)
    Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby)
    Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
    Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
    Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Backs (11)
    Mike Brown (Harlequins)
    Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
    Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
    George Ford (Bath Rugby)
    Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
    Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
    Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
    Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
    Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
    Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
    Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

England
    Is Danny Care injured or just out of favour?

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Is Danny Care injured or just out of favour?

Out of favour. I would say it seems a little harsh and counter-productive, but England's best chance lies in kicking the leather off of the ball, and Care's kicking is a weakness.

No Corbisiero and no specialist second row cover are both big calls that make me nervous about this match.

Wales
    Care was arguably the best scrum half of the tournament last year. That's bonkers