Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking across driveway ...

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

A very boring conclusion everyone:
    The "man of the house" came back (he works away from home). Turns out there was a set of keys in the house, (don't know why the mother was so un-concerned) he was most apologetic ... we're back in the driveway now. :)

A calm reasoned ending????

This will not satisfy AH,

OP, throw a petrol bomb through the window. Take it from there and get back to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

OP, throw a petrol bomb through the window. Take it from there and get back to us.

At the very least, send them a bullet in the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭sblythe

I haven't felt this let down since my Dad left us when I was 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

sblythe wrote: »

Or since " I found a safe " last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Do you have any other problems we need help with?

I feel we are owed a dramatic ending of some sort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Or since " I found a safe " last year

That was about 3/4 years ago.

It was last year

Ok 2 years. I still think I'm in 2014
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/83284149

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

eh.....what about the Dish Washer???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Ok 2 years. I still think I'm in 2014
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/83284149

Jaysus. Thought that was 2012 for some reason.

Smell of re reg off you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Someone PM the OP and tell her to GTF back here and update us!

If an admin could maybe lock her thread subscription and email notification in the ON position so she gets inundated with our posts until she comes back and finishes the story...that'd be great...ok bye thanks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Has anyonebody suggested putting a picture of the car up on Gumtree saying its for sale and giving the next door neighbours landline as the contact number?

ETA: See it's been resolved. Till the next time so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Calibos wrote: »
    Someone PM the OP and tell her to GTF back here and update us!

If an admin could maybe lock her thread subscription and email notification in the ON position so she gets inundated with our posts until she comes back and finishes the story...that'd be great...ok bye thanks....

The story was finished, page before this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Birneybau wrote: »
    The story was finished, page before this...

....and everyone lives happily ever after. Glad it got sorted amicably, but I'd still try and get my own back on the Ma next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

sblythe wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Would have been much more interesting if the man of the house had to move a partially burnt out car with Vaseline on the wind screen and flat tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Great story but the ending was better in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

The op has not being seen since she went to the neighbours house to complain, that is why there is no reply

Should we ring the guards???????????

lulu1 wrote: »
    The op has not being seen since she went to the neighbours house to complain, that is why there is no reply

Go back a page. The op did reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

The "man of the house" came back (he works away from home). Turns out there was a set of keys in the house, (don't know why the mother was so un-concerned) he was most apologetic ... we're back in the driveway now. :)

Please park across their driveway now so we can keep the after hours dream alive.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

conorh91 wrote: »
    That's both annoying and selfish, but plenty of things are both more annoying and more selfish. Your problem ranks alongside being forced to listen to other people's loud music on public transport, or having to put up with a tardy waiter in a wine bar.

It's Friday evening. I would try not let this kind of thing get me too worked up, if i were you.

No its not, its a right pain in the hole when you have to go out of your way to account for someone elses lack of consideration. The thing is, if you say nothing or make little of it, then it can just carry on. I always go with the civil (and nice) but not apologetic can you move it please approach, if it keeps happening, I make a point of not being polite about it.
    Don't bother giving her notice. Just called them or the clampers.
    Had it happen me a few years back, called the clampers who were more than happy to send a truck around.

Not sure clampers would be able to just come out and take a car blocking someones drive though?
    What an absolutely fantastic idea!
    VAseline, along with some dog **** under the handles for good measure.
    Lucky enough if they don't, there's provision in the RTA for the OP to break a window on the car, lift the handbrake and push the car out of the way.

Or, considering how windy it is lately... should the number plates be "blown off" the car, the gardaí or CoCo would have to remove the abandoned vehicle.

Now that is an interesting development, I did that once at a place I used to live, as some ****wit declined to move their car which wasnt in general use or even insured or taxed, it just seemed to move about to hold spaces for them, after repeated blockings, it mysteriously moved itself, a fly window had been "opened" they came to me and lost the rag and demanded payment for this heap of junk, I told them to go to the gardai but to mention they were blocking my drive/ins/tax, never heard anymore about it.
    conorh91 wrote: »
    I am aware of that. I was trying to point out to the OP that it's Friday evening, to suggest that she enjoy her Friday evening, and that her problem amounts to a handful of euros in stress, which isn't worth spoiling a Friday evening.
    Sometimes it isnt, but if its the kind of thing someone does repeatedly or as inconsiderately then it has to be dealt with, a former neighbour where I live, used the excuse, shure we always park there/that way and no one said anything, despite the obviousness.

My current neighbours did the same recently, was going post to enquire what the opinion of this was, I was civil with them, but they got in a bit of a huff even though asked nicely, I couldnt care less as I didnt have to say anything to them, Ive already brought this up with them a few times before, over Xmas they came bearing gifts, not sure how thats supposed to have worked out, but they arent blocking my driveway and better not as a few treats dont matter a damn, I never ate the things anyway and the dog didnt suffer anything for eating them.

Lucky enough if they don't, there's provision in the RTA for the OP to break a window on the car, lift the handbrake and push the car out of the way.

Or, considering how windy it is lately... should the number plates be "blown off" the car, the gardaí or CoCo would have to remove the abandoned vehicle.

Is that actually in any legislation? Im just wondering if I got had? :pac: even though Ive already done that, it'd be great if its actually backed up, that I would love to quote, or better still hand it on a little note to anyone that does that :D and tell them they have as long as it takes to get the keys to move it (or 2 minutes regardless if the keys aren't present) before I apply the law and a ball pein hammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Birneybau wrote: »
    Who the feck is this Gareth Brooks I heard so much about over the Summer? Any relation to GARTH!!!??!!!

I believe the misspelling was purposely done for comedy effect ......... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

lulu1 wrote: »

Look above! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnDx

Why did'nt they just park in front of u're ones house problem solved. Moans the lot of ya's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Go back a page. The op did reply

Oops :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

just dont ever

Are you allowed to have a bull bar on a car? grand for a little shunt, I have an inkling some subaru forresters did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Dishwasher update pleeeeeese ffs........