Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How strict are gardaí on L plates and qualified drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Stiggy917

yuloni wrote: »

yup.. but thats my risk to take... if i do take it at all :) sound :) but yeah i would be alright :) i can legally own it alright though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

I dnt see why he shouldnt have it, if he worked for it he can have it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Stiggy, I'm going to be very polite here. You seem to be more worried about running into the gardai or penalty points than the possibility of maiming or killing yourself or other people. Everyone knows someone who has been killed in a road accident. You probably do too.

Do you want to be the person taking someone's life away? Just do the decent thing, don't act the mickey and learn to drive properly. That's all I'm asking. Too many young people dying on the roads.

Conor556 wrote: »

sound :) a man talking sense :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

Lucena wrote: »
    Stiggy, I'm going to be very polite here. You seem to be more worried about running into the gardai or penalty points than the possibility of maiming or killing yourself or other people. Everyone knows someone who has been killed in a road accident. You probably do too.

Do you want to be the person taking someone's life away? Just do the decent thing, don't act the mickey and learn to drive properly. That's all I'm asking. Too many young people dying on the roads.

thats one thing i do agree with... no is the answer.... and yes there are way too many people killed on roads.. but all I'm saying is not all are due to speed or careless driving :) thanks :)

from the guards point of view, i do think it would be funny.. as if i had an accompanied driver .. i would be fully legal :P id love to see his face though :) thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Conor556 wrote: »
    Stiggy917 wrote: »
    sound :) a man talking sense :)

Yes and you have worked on passing your test you can drive it unaccompanied.
    (As long as it's taxed and insured of course)

Yes and you have worked on passing your test you can drive it unaccompanied.
    (As long as it's taxed and insured of course)

but am i legal to drive on all roads without an accompanied driver with N plates ?? :) yes the car is all legal :)

thats one thing i do agree with... no is the answer.... and yes there are way too many people killed on roads.. but all I'm saying is not all are due to speed or careless driving :) thanks :)

Appropriate speed and carefull driving will prevent most accidents, even some of those due to others carelessness.

im not that fond of speed anyway .. as speed does kill.. yes .. thats a fact :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

from the guards point of view, i do think it would be funny.. as if i had an accompanied driver .. i would be fully legal :P id love to see his face though :) thanks

Get over yourself.
    Other people have cars worth 8000 too :o

mfergus wrote: »
    Get over yourself.
    Other people have cars worth 8000 too :o

yes but to see a local guard in my local area that i may no ... :) sorry actually.. thats what i meant like :)

i was only wondering as i would like to be driving to school myself and few other places... there getting wayy too strict on it ..

Will you be parking on school property? If so, you may find that they won't allow you! They cannot be seen to be agreeing with students breaking the Law. Your insurance would most likely be void should you have an accident. As other posters have said, learn the Rules of the Road, take your lessons and get your licence.
    Happy motoring.

Will you be parking on school property? If so, you may find that they won't allow you! They cannot be seen to be agreeing with students breaking the Law. Your insurance would most likely be void should you have an accident. As other posters have said, learn the Rules of the Road, take your lessons and get your licence.
    Happy motoring.

now theres a point i didn't even think of :) this idea of driving unaccompanied is gone i think :) too big a risk :) thanks for your point .. you too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

Shocked by this thread!

I mean, I know Irish drivers think they're all that and all but wow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I find all these learners complaining that it's impossible to learn to drive without driving illegally unaccompanied. Such a load of ****e. I learned when I was living in the centre of Dublin, hundreds of miles from Mammy and Daddy and with no car.I manned up and learned to drive in an instructor's car. When I was ready, I applied for my test and got insured on my mother's car for a month to do the test.

All these people moaning about how are they supposed to get to college or whatever, how the hell did you get there before you had the car? Do what a normal person would so and get public transport or move closer to college/work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

McGaggs wrote: »
    I find all these learners complaining that it's impossible to learn to drive without driving illegally unaccompanied. Such a load of ****e. I learned when I was living in the centre of Dublin, hundreds of miles from Mammy and Daddy and with no car.I manned up and learned to drive in an instructor's car. When I was ready, I applied for my test and got insured on my mother's car for a month to do the test.

All these people moaning about how are they supposed to get to college or whatever, how the hell did you get there before you had the car? Do what a normal person would so and get public transport or move closer to college/work.

I think Mammy and Daddy in this case are encouraging his attitude by not insisting on lessons, when they're paying the bill for the insurance.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92488711&postcount=4
    Originally Posted by Stiggy917
    thanks for the post lads.
    I didnt even think of the rx-8 so will have a look around maybe
    but im not certain whether I want a manual or an automatic but i would like to be able to do some drifting and burnouts ect. (on private roads ) tbh the running costs dont really mean alot to me and as for the insurance, it will be in my parents insuance under a family garage so insurance is easily gotten those are probably my 3 favourite cars so i will be looking more into them aswell thanks a mil. keep the posts coming ! ---- ALSO ---- --- Manual vs automatic transmission ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Pete123456

I dunno is it even worth mentioning but if you learn and sit the test in an automatic, that's all you are licensed to drive. If you want to drive a manual at any stage then you must re do the test in a manual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭heinervb

any chance of a picture of this merc cls?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭harrymagina

It seems like your going to do it anyway but do some lessons and don't drive on your own until the instructor feels you are ready for the test. Thats what I did and gained great expierence before the test for three months. This was a few years ago before the whole 10 lesson thing.
    Last thing you want is to be stopped on a hill and not able to do a hill start and the car starts rolling backwards down a hill or causing an accident by not observing or checking your mirrors.

Edited: from looking at the the thread posted in the last post kindly stay off the ****in road if going to be doing burnouts and be speeding. Your an idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

How the hell are you insuring a CLS on a provisional?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

DakarVert wrote: »
    How the hell are you insuring a CLS on a provisional?

Family garage insurance smells a bit like fronting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Stheno wrote: »
    Family garage insurance smells a bit like fronting

Yeah, But still must be costing a few €K ?

Also I know most garage policy's don't take on people in Provisionals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

So a guy without a drivers license (a provisional is not a drivers license in my book) is going to drive around in a cls?

Can you post it here in this thread every time you go out and where you go?
    People might want to know that in order to avoid you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Happy motoring.

Ah don't be silly, schools up and down the country have no problem letting their students park on the grounds if there is space for them.

If you are confident in your own driving to drive on your own do so, if not don't do so. I drove on my own before I passed the test too. My driving instructor advised me to do so, reckoned it would help me.

I was pulled over a few times by the Gardai, who often asked to look at my licence but never mentioned that I should have a driver accompanying me. Some laws don't seem to apply in practice at all.

I know of one person who got a court summons for driving on his own, but the judge struck it out on the day. It's a small risk you take being caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Rezident

Any learner who thinks they know how to drive well enough to drive unaccompanied should do the test and pass it, then they can drive unaccompanied legally.

But now you have to pay hundreds of euro for lessons which are superfluous for those of us who have been driving safely for years, just to be allowed to do the test! I learnt to drive years ago but I cannot afford €600 or whatever it is to pay for unnecessary lessons just to take a test. It's not an option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Rezident wrote: »
    But now you have to pay hundreds of euro for lessons which are superfluous for those of us who have been driving safely for years, just to be allowed to do the test! I learnt to drive years ago but I cannot afford €600 or whatever it is to pay for unnecessary lessons just to take a test. It's not an option.

If you save €7.70 each week you would have the €400 by this time next year. No excuse really, if your driving years.

FrStone wrote: »
    Ah don't be silly, schools up and down the country have no problem letting their students park on the grounds if there is space for them.

If you are confident in your own driving to drive on your own do so, if not don't do so. I drove on my own before I passed the test too. My driving instructor advised me to do so, reckoned it would help me.

I was pulled over a few times by the Gardai, who often asked to look at my licence but never mentioned that I should have a driver accompanying me. Some laws don't seem to apply in practice at all.

I know of one person who got a court summons for driving on his own, but the judge struck it out on the day. It's a small risk you take being caught.

If they have a FULL licence. You will find that schools will not allow unaccompanied L drivers park on their grounds. They cannot stop them driving, but they have to be seen to uphold the Law.

If you have been driving for years you had ample opportunity to have taken and passed the test. And some of that time you have already been driving illegally!

If they have a FULL licence. You will find that schools will not allow unaccompanied L drivers park on their grounds. They cannot stop them driving, but they have to be seen to uphold the Law.

No, I'm on about those who have a learner permit. It's got nothing to do with the school to enforce traffic legislation. When I was in school there was never a problem parking. I've just asked my brother who goes to another school (than the one I went to) and plenty of L plate students park there. He actually said there is a teacher who is there doing her hdip and she told them she will be doing her test in a few weeks and she drives into the school with her L plates up too.

I can only speak from my own experience and schools our way will not allow it!

Madness! I suppose they have to park outside the school then.

This thread kinda reminds me of a woman I work with. She told me she has no driving licence at all! She had a provisional 10 years ago, did the test and failed. When I asked her, would she ever consider doing it now (seeing as she drives to work every day) she just said, "sure I have children now, I wouldn't have the time" :rolleyes: The funny thing was she was involved in a car accident last year (it wasn't her fault, or serious) but the Gardai were called etc and never realised she didn't have a licence.

It just goes to show that those who have the gall will get away with alot more than the rest of us.

Loads of people with L-plates driving unaccompanied, including a teacher? Guess that makes it ok then.

In other news, I saw some scumbag feck an empty cigarette packet out the window, so I've decided I'll do the same from now on. I mean, if someone else is doing it, it must be ok?!

Loads of people with L-plates driving unaccompanied, including a teacher? Guess that makes it ok then.

In other news, I saw some scumbag feck an empty cigarette packet out the window, so I've decided I'll do the same from now on. I mean, if someone else is doing it, it must be ok?!

I'm just saying it's one of those laws that most don't pay much heed to as many would not agree with it. I know there won't be many (if any) back me up in this forum but that's the nature of a learning to drive forum. I've never been one to do everything by the book and quite a lot of Irish people would be the same. I'm just saying what actually happens. It's up to the driver themselves to decide if they are ok with driving unaccompanied. Some like to take the risk of getting caught and punished into account so I decided to let them know my experiences as there is a certain bias in this forum which does not fully reflect reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

This thread kinda reminds me of a woman I work with. She told me she has no driving licence at all! She had a provisional 10 years ago, did the test and failed. When I asked her, would she ever consider doing it now (seeing as she drives to work every day) she just said, "sure I have children now, I wouldn't have the time" :rolleyes: The funny thing was she was involved in a car accident last year (it wasn't her fault, or serious) but the Gardai were called etc and never realised she didn't have a licence.

How does she have insurance without a licence? I've always been asked for a photocopy of my licence when I'm changing insurance companies.

I'm just saying it's one of those laws that most don't pay much heed to as many would not agree with it. I know there won't be many (if any) back me up in this forum but that's the nature of a learning to drive forum. I've never been one to do everything by the book and quite a lot of Irish people would be the same. I'm just saying what actually happens. It's up to the driver themselves to decide if they are ok with driving unaccompanied. Some like to take the risk of getting caught and punished into account so I decided to let them know my experiences as there is a certain bias in this forum which does not fully reflect reality.

Bias is probably a strong word, but yes, there are people out there driving unaccompanied on provisional licences, and maybe there is a woman out there driving with no licence, but you are taking a huge risk if anything happens.

However the people who are 'biased' on this thread are trying to warn against the fact that unaccompanied learner drivers are more dangerous than someone who drives accompanied, gets the lessions, sits the test and passes the test.

We also warning you about the fact that in an accident situation, if you are found to be driving on a provisional unaccompanied, or without a licence, there is every chance you will have the book thrown at you.

bee06 wrote: »
    How does she have insurance without a licence? I've always been asked for a photocopy of my licence when I'm changing insurance companies.

Well that's the problem! When I asked her that question she just told me "sure it's all in my fellas name, he passed the test years ago" :rolleyes:

Named driver's have to provide licence proof as well as far as I know. I did when my husband put me on his insurance anyway. Maybe some companies are less strict. Her husband/boyfriend is in serious trouble if his insurance company find out anyway.

However the people who are 'biased' on this thread are trying to warn against the fact that unaccompanied learner drivers are more dangerous than someone who drives accompanied, gets the lessions, sits the test and passes the test.

Oh I don't disagree with you there, but there are many on our roads who were able to apply for there licence in the post etc. It's a bit hypocritical when the head of the RSA never took a driving test.

However people will end up driving unaccompanied so I think they should be given honest information regarding the risks of being caught etc.
    We also warning you about the fact that in an accident situation, if you are found to be driving on a provisional unaccompanied, or without a licence, there is every chance you will have the book thrown at you.

Oh yes, I presume anyone taking the risk of driving understands if in an accident they caused they will probably get the book thrown at them. However, despite the oldwives tale, you will be covered by your insurance.

Named driver's have to provide licence proof as well as far as I know. I did when my husband put me on his insurance anyway. Maybe some companies are less strict. Her husband/boyfriend is in serious trouble if his insurance company find out anyway.

Well I wouldn't even be sure if she was insured to tell the truth! She has gotten away with it for 10 years though... :rolleyes:

At a guess, by using online quotes, they rarely look for much physical documentation. However in the event of a claim they will! Or else she doesn't change insurance companies.

AFAIK they must pay out third party claims regardless, but they then seek to reclaim what they can.
    I imagine if they can't you will never be able to afford insurance again. (That question "have you ever been refused insurance" must be there for some reason).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Why would the insurance even cover her would the policy not be void

Well I wouldn't even be sure if she was insured to tell the truth! She has gotten away with it for 10 years though... :rolleyes:

It would be possible that she's never been stopped by the guards in 10 years. I've been driving 10 years and never been stopped at a checkpoint, always get waved through. I must have an honest face. It's pretty depressing though.

JillyQ wrote: »
    Why would the insurance even cover her would the policy not be void

Absolutely that's why he'd be in serious trouble. He's essentially driving around uninsured as well.

Oh I don't disagree with you there, but there are many on our roads who were able to apply for there licence in the post etc. It's a bit hypocritical when the head of the RSA never took a driving test.

Even if that's true, your logic is faulty. It's like you're saying that stricter standards can never be introduced for anything because it's unfair to the people who have to do things under the stricter version of the rules.

By this reasoning, smoking should never have been banned in public places because some people involved in bringing in the legislation may have smoked in pubs at some stage.

TLDR: poster has been acting illegally for years and so should be allowed to continue to act illegally so as to continue their financial irresponsibility.

Madness! I suppose they have to park outside the school then.

It just goes to show that those who have the gall will get away with alot more than the rest of us.

Brilliant. It has been proved that she is not capable of driving to an acceptable standard and has been involved in an accident. Carry on driving your kids there missus.