Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Where do the crowds come from? I guess American fans would think nothing of driving from Milwaukee or wherever but it's still a fairly low-population catchment area. Fair play to them for keeping it local though. I was just looking at franchises who have moved and there's a team that went from Arizona to Winnipeg. Lunacy..

The waiting list for season tickets for the Packers has over 100,000 names on it. Fans will put their babies on the waiting list on the day they're born.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Where do the crowds come from? I guess American fans would think nothing of driving from Milwaukee or wherever but it's still a fairly low-population catchment area. Fair play to them for keeping it local though. I was just looking at franchises who have moved and there's a team that went from Arizona to Winnipeg. Lunacy..

They come from all over Wisconsin. They don't think much of driving several hours to a game.

The whole franchise thing in American sports is pretty weird. The Colts moved from Baltimore to Indianapolis literally overnight because the Maryland state senate was trying to stop them moving.
    After he got off the phone with Irsay, Hudnut called his neighbor and friend, John B. Smith, after the deal was finalized. Smith happened to also be the chief executive officer of Mayflower Transit, an Indiana-based moving company, and Hudnut asked him to assist the team in their move. Smith sent fifteen Mayflower trucks to Owings Mills and they arrived at the Colts' facility at 2:00 AM the following morning. The reasoning for the late hour of the move was out of fear that the Maryland House of Delegates would also approve the eminent domain bill the State Senate had, which would have resulted in the team being seized the next morning once Maryland Governor Harry Hughes signed the bill into law.[15] Workers loaded all of the team's belongings and the trucks left for Indianapolis. Within eight hours of the Mayflower trucks' arrival in Owings Mills, the Colts were completely gone from Baltimore.[20] Later that day, the House of Delegates indeed passed the bill by a count of 103–19 and Governor Hughes signed it, but by that time it was too late.[21]

All fifteen moving trucks took a different route to Indianapolis from Baltimore, done as a diversion tactic so the Maryland State Police could not enforce the eminent domain law that had just been signed (which they would have been able to act upon once it took effect to force the Colts back to Baltimore). Once a truck got to Indiana, the Indiana State Police would meet it and escort it to Indianapolis—a process repeated until all fifteen vans had reached the destination.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Pretty much what you said. They come from all over the state to watch the Packers. Fans think nothing of driving 2 hours from Milwaukee to go see them. The big factor is that NFL seasons are extremely short relative to other sports.

The nature of this means that places like Green Bay and Buffalo, neither which could sustain a team in MLB or NBA, can do so in the NFL.

Green Bay had 8 games in Lambeau Field this season. Fans are stepping over one another to get tickets. The waiting list for season tickets has over 100,000 names most of whom will never get them. Similar to the MCG in Melbourne, parents put the name of their newborn down as soon as they're born.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How much do they charge for tickets?

I'm just trying to imagine the reaction of a Rams fan in St. Louis who finally gets off the waiting list and receives an email offering him season tickets to 8 games in Los Angeles :D

They have a really weird system for season tickets, at least some of them do.

You pay a one-off up front fee for the rights to your seat, which they call a license. That's thousands of dollars and gives you the rights to site in that seat for however long you want. After that you pay an annual charge for the season pass, which lets you into the games to the seats. That annual charge would generally be less than we'd pay but you'd have to do it a long time before the price of the seat itself evened out.

Maybe there are many different systems, I just know the Buccaneers system.

Average ticket is around $90. The cost of tickets varies pretty largely from team to team. But that's face value and they're snapped up by ticketing companies, touts etc. instantaneously. Those tickets are sold way in advance when the schedule is announced around April.

Factoring in the secondary seller costs (which a lot of fans would need to use), the average Packers ticket costs are up to $300 each. Some teams go over $400 each. Keep in mind, season tickets are taking up the majority of seats.

Season ticket for the Packers, if you're fortunate to ever get one, is around $800 - 1k for the 8 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Well into the season when both teams were well out of contention, apparently you could get 49ers @ Browns tickets for $15.

Both out of contention......and both of those teams suck.

Hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I was seriously impressed by the Panthers last night. Unlike previous games where they endeavoured to almost cough up a big early lead, they didn't take their foot off the gas. Newton and Keuchly are both superstars. With that offensive line, Newton is unstoppable.

IMO in the Superbowl the defences will largely cancel each other out and the Panthers should win with their superior offence. It won't be quite like 2014 but I can see Carolina winning by two scores.

Broncos defense is possibly the best I've seen including the likes of the 2013 Seahawks. Panthers is excellent but I don't think they're quite in the same bracket. I don't think any other team could have done what they did last night to the Patriots and they're in the Superbowl pretty much entirely down to their defense.

I'd back the Panthers to win it simply because they're a better package and they've a QB who is having one of the greatest seasons of all time. Broncos don't have it in offense to trouble them enough. Manning's arm is a liability if he tries to put air on it especially against the likes of Norman covering Sanders who has been their big target this year. Their running backs have just not stepped up at all for them this season after a lot of hype coming into it.

Not sure if it's to do with the ongoing website issues but I had to change my password due to repeated failed login attempts.

Anyone else get this?

Not sure if it's to do with the ongoing website issues but I had to change my password due to repeated failed login attempts.

Anyone else get this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Are all you double posters posting from a tablet/mobile device?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Anyone else get this?

Yep, very strange

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

mfceiling wrote: »
    99% sure you can pay by card...They're almost similar to a bank in many ways.
    You can do your AIB banking at a post office, so they pretty much *are* a bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Anyone else get this?

Nope, just you. We asked admin to make it more difficult for you to post here. Must tell them to try harder... ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    Nope, just you. We asked admin to make it more difficult for you to post here. Must tell them to try harder... ;)

Hmmm.. well if I'm going to have fewer posts I'm going to have to concentrate more trolling into each one.

Off to talk about Ringrose in the Ulster team talk thread, chat ye all in a week!

Actually it's a widespread problem. I couldn't login yesterday evening at all til this morning. The DDOS attack has messed up the servers a bit apparently.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Actually it's a widespread problem. I couldn't login yesterday evening at all til this morning. The DDOS attack has messed up the servers a bit apparently.

Is it that or are the server admins on the dos... see what I did there?

They started using Cloudflare which is a flood prevention service of dubious quality (for lower end clients). Everything is being proxied now via them. I'd imagine the double-post issue is due to latency there or perhaps mod_cloudflare hasn't been compiled into Apache, or the application isn't aware of it, meaning it is seeing requests from different front-end IPs for the same post. Hopefully just a temporary solution while they find an infrastructure provider who can actually filter out the attacks at the edge of their network properly and they can get rid of it again.

54737020.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I'm finding the Quick reply is causing double posts. Stay away from that and it's fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I only understand one word in that...Apache

And that's cause I had a pizza from there last week...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think that's why we're getting Apache wifi signal at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

I get it ibf :-)

Venture, I got the same message but left It for a few hours and I was logged in as normal.

I think that's why we're getting Apache wifi signal at the minute.

Ba dum tish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

30 years ago. In the days when you had to turn on your cathode ray tube TV about 5 minutes beforehand to let it warm up, and adjust the rabbit's ears to get a decent signal.

Still remember it well.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

swiwi_ wrote: »

30 years ago. In the days when you had to turn on your cathode ray tube TV about 5 minutes beforehand to let it warm up, and adjust the rabbit's ears to get a decent signal.

Still remember it well.

Did you have running water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Watching Man City v Everton and for a second I thought Jack Carty was playing for Everton... Only realised then it was Tom Cleverly - fecking identical so they are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

stephen_n wrote: »

Up until 1981 I had an outside loo, an outside cold tap, and no bath or running water inside...all in the heart of Tralee :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

stephen_n wrote: »

He's from Canterbury, so no. Probably watched it in black and white too.

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Up until 1981 I had an outside loo, an outside cold tap, and no bath or running water inside...all in the heart of Tralee :)

And 35 years later, nothing's changed.

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    And 35 years later, nothing's changed.

We had a bucket in our room for... You know... nighttime business, and as the older brother it was up to me to carry it down stairs in the morning and dump it in the outside lav.
    All well and good until one day I tripped half way down the stairs while carrying the bucket!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Jesus it's no wonder you lot hate the dubs :pac:

In 1981 we had an outside toilet alright but thankfully had an inside one too and running water. With a TV that didn't take 5 mins to start up, so posh ;)

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We had a bucket in our room for... You know... nighttime business, and as the older brother it was up to me to carry it down stairs in the morning and dump it in the outside lav.
    All well and good until one day I tripped half way down the stairs while carrying the bucket!

In the 70s you had to piss in a bucket?

awec wrote: »
    In the 70s you had to piss in a bucket?

Up until 1981....and it wasn't always just piss :(

So you sat in the corner of your bedroom with the rest of your brothers lying sleeping and shat in a bucket, trying to be as quiet as possible?

Pffffftt....There were 12 of us in an 11 bedroom house!!

A mate of mine grew up in donegal. He said that because there were so many of them and the house had only one bedroom, the father used to put them to bed one at a time and when they went to sleep he would take them out and stand them against the wall and put the next one in bed. I think he was lying...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

This should bring a few of you down memory lane :D
    Bridget, where's the remote?
    Ah never mind he's here

awec wrote: »
    So you sat in the corner of your bedroom with the rest of your brothers lying sleeping and shat in a bucket, trying to be as quiet as possible?

1 brother, and yes ....happy memories.... Technically, we were squatting...and not just over the bucket

You tell people that these days and they wouldn't believe you

mfceiling wrote: »
    Pffffftt....There were 12 of us in an 11 bedroom house!!

Check out this flash ****er with a bedroom each while growing up!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

****e in a bucket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Is that a verse from The Awld Triagle?

I grew up in the past as well. It was really rough. I didn't even get a mobile phone until I was a teenager. That was a nokia, which is an old fashioned word we used, and it barely even had predictive text, I **** you not! We had to type out the words we wanted to send with our own fingers! And if you wanted to take a picture of something you had to actually bring a separate device called a "camera".

My Internet was barely quick enough to download music. I had to choose very carefully which Weird Al Yankovich song I wanted to download each day. Yes, believe it or not the Internet used to be so slow that when you opened an image you had to wait multiple seconds between seeing the top of it and the bottom of it. This led to a generation of breast-men, by necessity not choice. We were basically impoverished. Just a few years earlier the whole world had actually been in black and white, I believe.

It wasn't all bad though. You could basically make up any fact you want and noone could tell it was bollocks until they got home. Sergey Brin and the other nerd obviously took a disliking to that and ruined it for the rest of us.

Life used to be really hard.

I got my first mobile phone in 2000 at the ripe age of 25!! A gold hyundai flip phone with a pull out aerial...Form a queue there ladies!!

Growing up in a bungalow in rural tyrone that used to have frost on the inside of the single glazed windows!! Central heating? Yeah whenever the range is cleaned out, lit, sticks and coal on, back burner heated and asthmatic pump drives the hot water to the radiators...It's alright, it's 2 in the afternoon and I'm ready to head home from school now!!

Back in my day the Internet used to be in black and white. We'd all gather around and wear our Sunday best to use it. When we switched it off, we'd all stand up and sing the national anthem.

Wouldn't mind, but the local school was right beside my house, the dividing wall was only 3 feet high at one point, so If you were walking down the yard with bog roll in your hand, everyone passing by knew what you were up to, ah the memories :)

Did you wipe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Whats the best fantasy rugby for six nations? Want to setup one with some friends.