Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭b.gud

Sangre wrote: »
    Whats the best fantasy rugby for six nations? Want to setup one with some friends.

There are 3 main choices, in order of simplicity they are:

Irish Times
    ESPN
    fantasyrugger.co

Personally I think I'm going with the ESPN one this year as it's fairly solid and the fantasy rugger one, while more complex and presenting more of a challenge, is pretty prone to not getting scores updated or having problems if they have a lot of traffic. Though they say they should have some of these sorted this time around

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭Scythica

Thought I posted this but clearly not...

In London for the weekend meeting a .... mate

Anyone been recently and got any places worth going too beyond the obvious?

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Back in my day the Internet used to be in black and white. We'd all gather around and wear our Sunday best to use it. When we switched it off, we'd all stand up and sing the national anthem.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ii6KY87xwWI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Scythica wrote: »

Depends what you're looking for. I love the British and Natural History Museums. Well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

War Imperial Museum and Churchill Rooms are both meant to be very good. Science Museum (attached to Natural History Museum) is excellent and free (like most museums in London). National Gallery at Trafalger Square is also good.

If you're nearby, check out Hyde Park or Regent Park for a wander. A walk along Southbank to Burrow market is good as well.

Cheers fellas. Been to war museum and that before it is really cool.

Going to see wicked tonight, know nuttin about it but supposed to be wicked... buh dum chish

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Going to see wicked tonight, know nuttin about it but supposed to be wicked... buh dum chish

Never seen it either but my sister has been harping on about it for years. Says it's excellent. And I'd normally trust her in that department.

Saw it last year, missus dragged me along after a day of me dragging her around museums. It was excellent, and I normally hate musicals...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I normally like musicals, but I didn't really like wicked.

But it'll be good craic in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Matilda the Musical is brilliant - Can't recommend it enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Book of Mormon is great craic, been to see it a few times now. Have been dragged along to almost every musical in the city now, the only one I haven't seen is Wicked actually, as I wasn't deemed worthy of a seat that particular night.

Wouldn't be a musical fan at all. Although Avenue Q was excellent. I actually have some of the songs on the iPhone.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Wouldn't be a musical fan at all. Although Avenue Q was excellent. I actually have some of the songs on the iPhone.

Book of Mormon is a collaboration between one of the Avenue Q guys and the South Park guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

For something non-obvious, the Horniman Museum in Forest Hill is nowhere near as famous (or likely to be rammed...) as the big ones up in central London, but there's a pretty interesting mix of instruments, stuffed animals and African artefacts. Has a big-gish park attached to it too.

If you're going to the Science/History museums, there's a good gastropub type affair called the Abingdon about twenty minutes walk away (does very good Sticky Toffee Pudding).

If you're having a day more central, you'll find good food at Borough Market (dodge it at lunchtime), but if I was in that part of the world and willing to spend a bit more and sit down, I'd get myself to the Soho/Covent Garden area. Particularly like the Smoking Goat on Denmark Street on a weekday lunchtime (as it's the only time you'll definitely get in...), if you like Thai. Also highly recommend Barrafina for Tapas. If you're happy to sit down and eat something good and don't want to shell for it being amazing, Byron Burger is my current hole of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Book of Mormon is great craic, been to see it a few times now. Have been dragged along to almost every musical in the city now, the only one I haven't seen is Wicked actually, as I wasn't deemed worthy of a seat that particular night.

I have the soundtrack which is brilliant - was sold out when I was in London so haven't seen it yet

....the Horniman Museum in Forest Hill....
    .....less likely to be rammed...

Sure... sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I fcuking hate musicals with a passion. Here's a movie....dialogue, dialogue, dialogue, SINGING AND DANCING, dialogue, dialogue. Sorry what are you doing?

I've been to London a good few times and each time she asks "will we go to a musical"? I only have to give her my "seriously"? look.

mfceiling wrote: »
    I fcuking hate musicals with a passion. Here's a movie....dialogue, dialogue, dialogue, SINGING AND DANCING, dialogue, dialogue. Sorry what are you doing?

I've been to London a good few times and each time she asks "will we go to a musical"? I only have to give her my "seriously"? look.

Avenue Q is worth a look. It's a more grown up homage to Sesame St with the Porn Monster rather than the Cookie Monster. One of the Bert and Ernie characters is gay but won't admit it leading to the song "If You Were Gay". All the muppets have a surname of Monster leading to one of the human characters to ask if they were all related. That kicked off the "Everyones A Little Bit Racist" song. There is also muppet sex a la Team America.

So not exactly your average musical.

Avenue Q is worth a look. It's a more grown up homage to Sesame St...

Hipster 'O' Meter

|<
    X-->|

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭kuang1

I'd be with you on this. But brought my daughter to see Stomp* in exchange for me getting a pass to see Nz v Oz last Oct and I must say...I didn't have a terrible time!

*no singing OR dialogue in Stomp!

Book of Mormon is a collaboration between one of the Avenue Q guys and the South Park guys.

Yeah, I've heard a lot about that one too. Must get to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

Anything to be said for "Seven brides for Seven brothers"?

Avenue Q is worth a look. It's a more grown up homage to Sesame St with the Porn Monster rather than the Cookie Monster. One of the Bert and Ernie characters is gay but won't admit it leading to the song "If You Were Gay". All the muppets have a surname of Monster leading to one of the human characters to ask if they were all related. That kicked off the "Everyones A Little Bit Racist" song. There is also muppet sex a la Team America.

So not exactly your average musical.

*gives molloyjh his "seriously" look*

We are all sitting about 10 metres from the front door of the job we are doing today. The rain is coming down sideways and the wind would blow you over. We are all looking at each other out the windows of the cars/vans. Lot of head shaking going on...It's like a battle scene...just need one poor unfortunate to make a run for the door.

*it's not going to be me*

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We are all sitting about 10 metres from the front door of the job we are doing today. The rain is coming down sideways and the wind would blow you over. We are all looking at each other out the windows of the cars/vans. Lot of head shaking going on...It's like a battle scene...just need one poor unfortunate to make a run for the door.

At 7:30am?

Sure that's practically a night shift!

awec wrote: »
    At 7:30am?

Sure that's practically a night shift!

You lazy git!! Early start early finish...out the gate at 2!!

No point robbing the post office til they open the safe at 10... good idea arriving early to spot any filth on surveillance though. Fair play!

Zzippy wrote: »
    No point robbing the post office til they open the safe at 10... good idea arriving early to spot any filth on surveillance though. Fair play!

*lifts up balaclava*

Huh?

OK so wicked I definitely recommend add that to the list of shows that's alright to go too.

Currently in the porterhouse in Covent Garden, is just as good as I remember it although its strange being here when it isn't full of rugby people's

OK so wicked I definitely recommend add that to the list of shows that's alright to go too.

Currently in the porterhouse in Covent Garden, is just as good as I remember it although its strange being here when it isn't full of rugby people's

Hows your ..... mate?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭b.gud

The past 3 times I've been to the airport I've been selected for "random screening", maybe I should stop wearing a balaclava :)

Spotted flights on skyskanner for Dublin - Hong Kong €300 return..... Beers anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Venjur, I can't see the like or quote button at the moment for whatever reason, but thumbs up anyway for that one.

Book of Mormon is a serious giggle. I can't say I'd recommend going to musicals, but sometimes there's nothing for it but to give in and let the better half have her way - at which point you're better off going to Book of Mormon than most.

If Donald Trump was a rugby player, he'd play for Saracens

But, but, he just lost a pool match...! Sarries only lose finals ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    But, but, he just lost a pool match...! Sarries only lose finals ;)

Don't the Clinton's have ancestors from Ulster? Doesn't bode well...

Could you imagine Trump was president. Idiocracy would become an reality. I would love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Could you imagine Trump was president. Idiocracy would become an reality. I would love it.

To be honest I find it alarming the level of support he's managed to build for himself with a slew of completely idiotic policies and overt bigotry and hate towards sections of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭LostArt

12622281_10153913319741941_2136530655528931877_o.jpg

LostArt wrote: »
    12622281_10153913319741941_2136530655528931877_o.jpg

That's remarkably accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

I've seen that picture but only up to SF (Frank Scorpio is an excellent representation of them), but Frank Grimes for the SD's is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

The Fianna Fail one is glorious.

I like the way Snrub thinks

Pink Fairy wrote: »

molloyjh
    mfceiling
    jacothelad
    Zzippy
    dregin
    Pudsy33
    bilston
    bluewolf
    Synode
    Dravokivich
    P_1

Hey molloyjh... ;););)

I recall this was based on who thanked your post most often.

.ak is a slut

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I recall this was based on who thanked your post most often.

.ak is a slut

A serious slut.

Though apparently he hates awec

Yeah, he's top of my love list by quite a bit... Feckin manwhore that he is! :)

I am near sure .ak used to be top of my list!

.ak man, what happened? :(