Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tralee Marathon 2015 15/03/2015

• 12-01-2015 2:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭

I have decided to do this as my first marathon. I had initially thought Barcelona might be a better fit but have decided to keep it in Ireland.

Does anyone have any information on any of the following;

1. The number of participants anticipated
    2. Will there be pacers? If so, for what times?
    3. What is the course like? I see from their website that it has a number of hills but how much more difficult/easier would it be versus a flatter route?

Many Thanks

Joe

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Numbers last year: 572

http://munsterrunning.blogspot.ie/2013/03/results-of-tralee-half-and-full.html

The course this year has changed, apparently making it flatter (someone with more info might clarify). The infamous Barrow Hill was been omitted. The course is fairly challenging but fair. It's a well run race and the night out in Tralee is a good one. There is a nice amount of on-course support but don't expect a big city marathon feeling.

Would I recommend? Yes. It's not the quickest course but the scenery makes it worthwhile.

There are pacers. I think every half an hour 3.00, 3.30 etc. Not entirely sure how many and what times though.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Have decided to do the half in Tralee instead of Connemara this year. Bit of a novelty factor for me as it's my home town.

Rumours are that the Barrow hill section on return from Fenit is to be removed for the full but don't think it's officially confirmed just yet.

Best of luck with the training!

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭chavezychavez

Go to here for details of the new route. Barrow and feint pier are not part of the run this year.
    http://runthekingdom.ie/events-calendar/march-tralee-international-full-half-marathon/

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭averagejoe123

Cheers for the info guys, delighted to see the course is going to be a bit flatter this year. Hopefully the wind behaves itself and it gets a decent turnout.

Will be looking at accomadation over the weekend so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Joe

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

What type of accommodation are you looking for? Hotel or b&b? In the town or out of it? And of course budget!

Probably going to have a crack at the half as well.

I'm all about the convenience. If its a couple of quid extra to get a hotel near enough the start/finish i'm happy to pay...had budgeted for the Barcelona marathon so saving a decent bit doing Tralee. Plenty left in the kitty for pints after.

I'm trying to rope a few people in to running also. Have 2 lined up for the half but no one for the full as of yet, I need to work on my persuasion techniques.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭opus

Go to here for details of the new route. Barrow and feint pier are not part of the run this year.
    http://runthekingdom.ie/events-calendar/march-tralee-international-full-half-marathon/

I'm in myself for it as well. Too bad about Barrow hill, that was fun although not sorry to see the end of the run up & down the pier.

If you want to be close to town and the start/ finish lines have a look at the Grand Hotel or the Imperial Hotel on Denny Street. If there is a few there is Finnegans Hostel on Denny Street too. Any of these will have you only 100 meters from both the start and finish lines, and very close to all areas for socialising after!

http://www.grandhoteltralee.com/?gclid=CP_1tMO7mMMCFWSK2wodGKEARg

http://www.imperialhoteltralee.com/

http://www.finnegans.hostel.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

JohnDozer wrote: »
    If you want to be close to town and the start/ finish lines have a look at the Grand Hotel or the Imperial Hotel on Denny Street. If there is a few there is Finnegans Hostel on Denny Street too. Any of these will have you only 100 meters from both the start and finish lines, and very close to all areas for socialising after!

http://www.grandhoteltralee.com/?gclid=CP_1tMO7mMMCFWSK2wodGKEARg

http://www.imperialhoteltralee.com/

http://www.finnegans.hostel.com/

All good options as mentioned above. Also available is Tralee townhouse if looking at the budget end or Fels Point Hotel is a bit of a stroll but a nice hotel for about 90 quid!

Hope you manage to convince a few to join you. Looking forward to the session that night already myself!

I was only thinking afterwards yesterday, if you do want a hotel with a gym and a swimming pool, either the Brandon Hotel or Fels Point mentioned above would be good options, and still have you less than 10 minutes walk from all the action.

Thanks for the recommendations folks, much appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭quinlivan

I've signed up for the full. Really looking forward to it but really need to get my training in gear. 7 weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭acorn

Any update on pacers ? Can't find info online

Not sure but going by last years thread there was pacers for 3.15 and 3.30 so I would imagine there was pacers for other times. I'm not allowed to post URLs but just search Tralee marathon and the 2014 is first one. I have never really used pacers before in races but followed one today in the Trim 10 miler and he was brilliant so hopefully there will be a few in Tralee.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 running coach pacer

acorn wrote: »
    Any update on pacers ? Can't find info online

Sub 3 / 3.15 / 3.30/ 3.45 / 4.00 / 4.15 / 4.30 / 5.00

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Sub 3 / 3.15 / 3.30/ 3.45 / 4.00 / 4.15 / 4.30 / 5.00

Sub 3:00:09 / 3.15 / 3.30/ 3.45 / 4.00 / 4.15 / 4.30 / 5.00 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Run and Jump

Start and finish lines have been moved, as per a post by the organisers on their Facebook page, because of the need to avoid traffic congestion with the Kerry-Donegal match on in Tralee also that afternoon.

Start will move back around the corner to the North Circular Road (near Dunnes Stores). Finish is no longer down Denny Street but on The Mall, the street just before turning into Denny Street.

(I had been looking forward to that finish straight down Denny Street. Oh well.)

Will this have a big impact on the course elevation? Don't think they have updates the route on the website yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Will this have a big impact on the course elevation?

None whatsoever

Start and finish lines have been moved, as per a post by the organisers on their Facebook page, because of the need to avoid traffic congestion with the Kerry-Donegal match on in Tralee also that afternoon.

Start will move back around the corner to the North Circular Road (near Dunnes Stores). Finish is no longer down Denny Street but on The Mall, the street just before turning into Denny Street.

(I had been looking forward to that finish straight down Denny Street. Oh well.)

Just realised that there are now 2 famous marathons that finish on The Mall: London and Tralee! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭acorn

Anyone know if there will be toilets somewhere on the route, first marathon, could be a long time out there !!

acorn wrote: »
    Anyone know if there will be toilets somewhere on the route, first marathon, could be a long time out there !!

Toilets at the start and at miles 6, 15, 18 and 22, says the course map just posted today.

17 days to go... Bloody hell!

Anyone know what the expected Full numbers are?

The registration closes on the 8th so I would say full numbers will be announced then.

Any one know the craic with gels/isotonic drinks and if they will be given out at any of the water stations? I can't see any info on it.

How is everyone set for Sunday? :)

quinlivan wrote: »
    How is everyone set for Sunday? :)

Rearing to go! Spent the morning looking up the 7 day weather forecast for Tralee....It's looking OK, Max temp 13 with moderate winds from the south east, v low change of rain. I won't be reading too much into this but good to see that there are no extreme weather conditions on course.....for now!

Have changed my pace plan several times already today so god only knows what i'll be like come Saturday night. Fairly sure i'll head out with the 3.30 pacer and reassess in the 2nd half.

How are you fixed?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭opus

Looking forward to it now that Ballycotton is out of the way, must stop myself checking the weather 'til later in the week :)

I'm as ready as I'm going to be. Would love to come in under 4:00 but don't know. Think I'm having taper-doubts but I'll see how it goes on the day.

I'm excited. This will be Marathon #3 for me. Not too nervous about the course profile - have ye done it before. Any tips?

quinlivan wrote: »
    I'm as ready as I'm going to be. Would love to come in under 4:00 but don't know. Think I'm having taper-doubts but I'll see how it goes on the day.

I'm excited. This will be Marathon #3 for me. Not too nervous about the course profile - have ye done it before. Any tips?

This will be my first marathon so I'm the one looking for tips! Have trained for another 2 but this will be the 1st time I'll make it to the start line....fingers crossed.

Course looks fair enough, I'm use to training on hills so hopefully these won't be too bad. I'm going to try and get down early enough on Saturday to watch the Ireland game and then i'll go for a 26.2 mile drive to see whats in store.

Can't believe you are going to drive it first. I'd rather not know whats instore :)
    It'll all be new then on Sunday