Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal loan to start company?

Options
  • 14-01-2015 4:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭

Anybody any advice.

In 2007 I went to the bank to enquire about borrowing €25,000 over 10 years to start a small company, I had to submit a business plan etc. The loan was approved and I started trading as a ltd company, in 2010 the company closed, I paid all suppliers, the only outstanding debt being the bank. I went back to work as an employee and continued to pay the loan up until last year when I lost my job. I was paying interest only up until December 2014, now the bank want more or all and wont accept interest only.

The thing is, as I borrowed and started a limited company am I actually liable to pay off this debt? when I contacted the bank they said I received a personal loan! When I asked what was the purpose of the loan, they said personal expenses, €25,000 personal expenses!
    When I explained to the Woman that it was a business loan and that the company had an account under its name, she said "I see that" but its down as a personal loan"

Surely the loan should be gone with the company?

Thanks for any replies

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The company was formed after the loan was granted? I don't see how the loan could possibly have been taken out by the company so

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.