Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anton Savage Radio Thread [Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

So is he still going to be doing savage sunday too ?

may as well rebrand the station "anton FM" (with added matt cooper ! )

:D:D:D

while i like anton this just shows how bankrupt the profession is on the up and comer front. seriously if 8 lads in broadcasting all snuffed it in a bus crash half the countrys national radio stations would shut down.

and then the age of lottie ryan would begin !

No, he's not doing Savage Sunday anymore. It ends tomorrow.

And it's hardly indicative of the "bankruptcy" of the industry when someone who's been working their way up through the ranks at a station since the late '90s finally gets a shot at the top rated gig is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    No, he's not doing Savage Sunday anymore. It ends tomorrow.

And it's hardly indicative of the "bankruptcy" of the industry when someone who's been working their way up through the ranks at a station since the late '90s finally gets a shot at the top rated gig is it?

In media it appears they like to opt for continuity rather than make bold choices as far as new talent is concerned. Anton has been a good sub when called upon and so if he was willing to take on the role then it made sense and minimizes disruption for the listener, he is after all a familiar voice. My only misgiving is Anton is in my opinion better suited to The Last Word / Savage Sunday, both alot more cerebral than the mid morning show, my concern is he'd get bored, he seems like an incredibly intelligent guy, but I'm sure there's a big difference between subbing for a week and doing a job for 48 weeks a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    One of Willie O'Rielly last acts as head of Today FM was to sack Sam Smyth and replace him with Anton Savage. It just so happened that Anton's dad was chairman of the board of organisation O'Rielly left Today fm to join. Just one of lifes little coincidences.

No doubt some nepotism goes on in Irish broadcasting circles, but with such a small pool it's hardly a surprise. It only grates when someone with no discernible talent is parachuted in.

This isn't the case with Mr Savage imo. He has more than held his own in his various stand in roles over the years. He has a cheery disposition and seems quite intelligent. Therefore I have no problem with him being given a shot at the lead role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

well given what preceded him, he'll be a breath of fresh air if nothing else.
    don't know him or anything but he seems to have huge 'likeability' about him.
    I'd say he'll do very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭xMallx

Poor Tom Dunne is stuck in the Newstalk graveyard slot indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭griffin100

Aidric wrote: »
    This isn't the case with Mr Savage imo. He has more than held his own in his various stand in roles over the years. He has a cheery disposition and seems quite intelligent. Therefore I have no problem with him being given a shot at the lead role.

I wounder do the staff in Mammy's company consider him to have a cheery disposition. One certainly didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

griffin100 wrote: »
    I wounder do the staff in Mammy's company consider him to have a cheery disposition. One certainly didn't.

Different medium tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Didn't think I'd like Hector as much as I do, he's impressed me so far! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,088 ✭✭✭✭neris

Brendão wrote: »
    Didn't think I'd like Hector as much as I do, he's impressed me so far! :)

listened to the 1st hour of him. wasnt bad sounded alot better then on 2fm. Not acting the dopey gombeen culchie and seems to more himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Really think Today FM have missed an opportunity here, Anton is likeable and inoffensive but I still think Today FM should have taken a risk and gone for someone either unknown and given them a chance to grow or someone who is less safe than Anton. Anyway best of luck to him, probably Pat Kenny for me now in mid mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I'll give Anton a chance but I'll probably skip around the stations like I always do. I predict I'll stop at Today FM a bit longer than I have for the last couple of years, but probably not as long as I did in D'Arcy's earlier years (but then, Gerry Ryan was the main competition at that time)

I am a little underwhelmed but not surprised. I would have liked someone new. And I hope the incessant running topics doesn't just end up being replaced by incessant car talk instead. There should always be a place for every topic, including running and cars. Just not overdone.

I think a vital element of a key show on an independent station is the ability to be more independent than the state broadcaster and offer an alternative opinion/angle on current topics (something that’s important on Matt Cooper’s show too). Anton's true independence has been questioned. But he deserves the jury to stay out until he starts at least.

But the fact is, the guest list won't be hugely different than it ever was. It's a small country with a limited set of 'A' listers and even 'B' listers. Anton isn't gonna be able to pull new interesting people out of his arse and the music playlist will still mostly be the current hits just as it was under D'Arcy. But to make the show his own, he will need to get rid of D'Arcy's regular contributors and introduce his own. Bring in some new, fresh quirky items, out with E-Mail Bag etc and in with some new ideas. Even steal some idea's from the likes of Howard Stern or whoever (Grafton Street roaming mic). Who cares if it works!

As I said, I'll give him a chance but I'd have liked more of a risk as someone else said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭xMallx

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Really think Today FM have missed an opportunity here, Anton is likeable and inoffensive but I still think Today FM should have taken a risk and gone for someone either unknown and given them a chance to grow or someone who is less safe than Anton. Anyway best of luck to him, probably Pat Kenny for me now in mid mornings.

Today FM is a business not a fas scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭chicorytip

BBB - boring, bland, broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

I think they should have went for someone that's not on the today FM roster already, it didn't work out with K.C, it didn't work out with Louise Duffy and unfortunately I don't think it's gonna work out with Anton.
    They're almost getting as predictable now as 2fm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

I think they should have went for someone that's not on the today FM roster already, it didn't work out with K.C, it didn't work out with Louise Duffy and unfortunately I don't think it's gonna work out with Anton.

To be fair to KC I think he wanted to be close to his family in Cork

I don't think many conclusions can be drawn about KC's time on lunchtime tbh. He left pretty rapidly after taking over the slot to go back to Cork.

With Louise Duffy, I think it's clear with the benefit of hindsight that she was never getting that slot permanently. D&D were on the way, she was just a placeholder. Her cover show for Tony is actually very good to be fair, a much better fit to her style of presenting.

Don't get me wrong I love KC and listen to him every morning on Red Fm but he dropped some serious listener's after he took over Foley's show.
    I'm also not convinced that they didn't have a long term plan for Louise in that slot, do you remember all the promos and publicity they had around her taking over, the whole she's a diva thing.

xMallx wrote: »
    Today FM is a business not a fasSolas scheme

FYP;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 lynsey

I think it should be interesting when the JNLR's come into play. Personally I don't believe in them too much, but they will give an idea of Anton's performance, he is a talented broadcaster, who has in fairness worked his way through the ranks. So I for one am going to sit back and listen. And if it dosent work out, well then I will throw my hat into the ring, again.🎤📻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 874 ✭✭✭More Music

Anton was an unknown in radio terms a few years ago when they took a chance on him. They gave him him a chance to grow and now he's got a major gig in Irish broadcasting.

I remember Matt Cooper doing a Sunday morning business show on Today FM before he got his big break in radio.

Why should a business put jobs and profit at risk by employing an unknown talent in a major prime time slot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭colinod0806

More Music wrote: »
    Why should a business put jobs and profit at risk by employing an unknown talent in a major prime time slot.

I think you'll find that the people who say this are usually people with a degree in their pocket and a chip on their shoulder.

Anton was an unknown in radio terms a few years ago when they took a chance on him. They gave him him a chance to grow and now he's got a major gig in Irish broadcasting.

I remember Matt Cooper doing a Sunday morning business show on Today FM before he got his big break in radio.

Trouble is, you look across the Today FM schedule now, late night, Saturday evenings, Sunday mornings, and there doesn't seem to be anybody there now who you could think they're grooming to be the next big thing. The supply chain is running low!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,088 ✭✭✭✭neris

Hector didnt last long. Ian said delameres back today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

neris wrote: »
    Hector didnt last long. Ian said delameres back today

He was ment too be there for the week??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

xMallx wrote: »
    Err No, his 2fm ratings were a disaster. Not as bad as breakfast republic now but still a disaster

He was good! Maybe a little loud for the mornings but he had no one on with him, he was always destined to fail. Better than those 3 clowns they have now.

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Trouble is, you look across the Today FM schedule now, late night, Saturday evenings, Sunday mornings, and there doesn't seem to be anybody there now who you could think they're grooming to be the next big thing. The supply chain is running low!

I love Paula Macsweeney I think she's great on a Saturday evening and actually ran a better show that Louise for a week at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,411 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Gits_bone wrote: »
    He was good! Maybe a little loud for the mornings but he had no one on with him, he was always destined to fail. Better than those 3 clowns they have now.

He had very region-specific appeal - e.g. Galway. And pretty much only Galway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭PIORUN

what happened to Hector? that didn't last long...do they keep Neil Delamere in the attic just in case?

One problem with your argument, you are assuming everybody thinks Anton has grown into a top class Radio presenter I would disagree with this and I could be wrong but I think Today FMs mid morning listenership figures will take a significant hit which equally will have an impact on profit.

Surely he's far too serious for mid morning? I can't really see him being comfortable covering some of the things Ray did, like that love at first flight thing, for example.

L1011 wrote: »
    He had very region-specific appeal - e.g. Galway. And pretty much only Galway...
    Do you mean like every 2fm DJ is Region specific now ie nothing exists outside of Dublin? Or is that OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Id agree with that. I think his appeal was more to do with his filling in was a break from the norm, as he was quite different to both d'arcy and cooper, so the tone of the show was quite different to what we were used to. But I don't think that his approach is something that will be popular when you hear it every single day - very similar to the way it went with d'arcy actually. He has a manner with guests that can be quite dismissive, where he seems to think he knows as much on their subject as they do. Over time that could be quite grating, as well as probably getting him caught out badly more than once.

My question is, if it doesn't go as well as they thought, how long will he be kept there?

Moncrieff was the man for the job in my opinion.

Luckily, Communicorp have at least four other stations in Ireland to cultivate young talent. They don't need to give them a chance on the main stations before they've proven themselves. Dermot and Dave for example. Dara Quilty doing drive on 98. Lots of music DJs on the SPIN stations honing their craft. It's not as doom and gloom as you make it out to be at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

PIORUN wrote: »
    what happened to Hector? that didn't last long...do they keep Neil Delamere in the attic just in case?

They said "unforeseen circumstances".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Flange/Flanders

I love Paula Macsweeney I think she's great on a Saturday evening and actually ran a better show that Louise for a week at one stage.

I love paula full stop. You'd have craic with her.

She's a bit "forever young" no?

No I think she's just actually young.

She's in her 30's anyways.

She's 27 and a breath of fresh air and she would be a female in a primetime slot which is a rarity in Irish radio at the moment.

Don't be sexist.

Are you actually being for real? I'm stating facts about the lack of female radio presenters in primetime slots and saying that I'd love to see Paula Macsweeney given a shot and you're calling me sexist?!

That is clearly being sexist. You want a woman in a primetime slot because she's a woman!!!! Blatant sexism, it's sickening.

PIORUN wrote: »

Hectors mother passed away unexpectedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Hectors mother passed away unexpectedly.

all the lads slagging him off are gone pretty quiet now..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Frog Song

digzy wrote: »
    all the lads slagging him off are gone pretty quiet now..........

Why? It doesn't change the fact that I don't like to listen to him but that's very sad to hear, poor guy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/tony-fenton-on-course-to-get-back-on-the-air-after-cancer-battle-30924861.html

So the new lineup looks like Ian Dempsey, Anton Savage, Dermot&Dave, Tony Fenton, Last Word and Louise Duffy.

Not bad at all, i think.

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/tony-fenton-on-course-to-get-back-on-the-air-after-cancer-battle-30924861.html

So the new lineup looks like Ian Dempsey, Anton Savage, Dermot&Dave, Tony Fenton, Last Word and Louise Duffy.

Not bad at all, i think.

I'd much prefer Louise Duffy to stay where she is tbh.

"Ray usually came on with the paper review and brought everyone down with that, so Anton will not be doing that."

Oh good, so they were actually aware of this in there then. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Brendão wrote: »
    I'd much prefer Louise Duffy to stay where she is tbh.
    Yeah, i like her there too. I won't hear her much in that spot, unfortunately.
    "Ray usually came on with the paper review and brought everyone down with that, so Anton will not be doing that."

It seems they were. Or else they were following the thread on here:pac:

Missed that, who said that, Neil or Pam? :D:D

There was a lot made last week of what Anton said about no running on the show. It was mentioned in the news bulletin and a few of the staff tweeted it. Ray must really have been a pain in the arse. No wonder Foley said he had no sense of humour.

Neil had a good line this morning when someone said something about 'doing their best work when they're on edge', and Neil said, 'like Bono then'! :pac: