Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calgary

Options
  • 15-01-2015 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

Me and my boyfriend are looking to move to Calgary in summer 2016. I am an Accountant with experience working in PDVSA Oil company in Venezuela. My boyfriend is a Business Analyst who has worked on many projects but studying Accountancy aswell with the aim of becoming a chartered Accountant. We are both looking to move to Calgary to continue our professional careers there. So from experience can any of you guys who have lived/live and work in Calgary answer a few questions for us.

Is there many accounting/finance jobs available in Calgary?
    Is it a big oil company region?
    How is the standard of accommodation and price range?
    How is the cost of living?
    How is the standard of living? Healthcare etc
    What is the City itself like for recreation?
    How is the Calgary Nightlife? Clubs, Bars, Restaurants etc
    How is the climate?

And in general, is it good city to live or is it boring. We both 27, adventurous and looking to have a good time. Going out to restaurants and clubs at the weekends. Anything you feel like adding, throw it the info here.

We think there is a good possibility that this will be a long term move away from Ireland and looking for a fresh start. We are just starting the research now and this thread is our first step and hopefully we will apply for Visas next year.