Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laptop - Probably Dead - Need advice

Options
  • 15-01-2015 11:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭

Hi folks

My sister has a laptop - Hewlett Packard Easy Note. Its about 4 years old but has been used rarely.

Was working fine but suddenly - nothing happens. The screen is blank - absolutely nothing appears.

Power definitely reaching laptop because power light on the laptop lights up and the fan is working normal.

I don't think its a screen issue because I was unable to hook it up to an external screen (I was able to do this no problem with a different laptop)

I'm not an expert on computers but my fear is we are looking at a motherboard issue here - meaning that repair would most likely be uneconomical.

I don't know for sure but I strongly suspect that the graphics is integrated into the motherboard.

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Could just be the RAM. Try and reseat it, take and 1 stick and see if it boots (if there are 2 of course) and vice versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

You could try a hard reset, to remove any possible residual charge held in the capacitors (i.e.)

1. Disconnect charger
    2. Remove the battery
    3. Hold down the power button for at least 30 seconds.

Then, plug the charger back in (leave out the battery for now) and power on.

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF