Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

Right lets go win another trophy.....

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

COYG!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Right, I say start Walcott up front. He could win it early.

No point keeping him in the bench. If Villa get to 60 mins and we need a goal, they'll be sitting back and keeping it tight.

If we were playing a better, more defensive team, I'd be looking to start Giroud.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Giroud for me. Great article by Tim Stilman on Arseblog....Ramsey works way better with Giroud...And there can be little doubt that Rambo will start and it will be from the right.

Also noted that Theo will either win ya the game with an unbelievable performance like last Sunday or be anonymous. I think we can read way to much into a meaningless game against a team that didn't care last week.

Expecting another very tough day like Wigan, Hull and Reading. We can talk til the cows come home about hammering them twice this year and how we are way better but these occasions are one in a lifetime for a lot of these Villa players and it's going to be incredibly, incredibly difficult.

I hope Szcezny is in goal and think we will start the 'regular' team from the good run we were on.

Theo and Jack to have impact from the bench and hopefully the last sub is a luxury one.

Can't see us not scoring but we will concede also. 2-1...Giroud and Ramsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Giroud for me. Great article by Tim Stilman on Arseblog....Ramsey works way better with Giroud...And there can be little doubt that Rambo will start and it will be from the right.

Also noted that Theo will either win ya the game with an unbelievable performance like last Sunday or be anonymous. I think we can read way to much into a meaningless game against a team that didn't care last week.

Expecting another very tough day like Wigan, Hull and Reading. We can talk til the cows come home about hammering them twice this year and how we are way better but these occasions are one in a lifetime for a lot of these Villa players and it's going to be incredibly, incredibly difficult.

I hope Szcezny is in goal and think we will start the 'regular' team from the good run we were on.

Theo and Jack to have impact from the bench and hopefully the last sub is a luxury one.

Good summary! Exactly what I'm thinking.

Could be a disaster for me today, I may miss some of the match. Let's hope not

Come on the gunners!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Benteke to score first early on but Giroud to win it hopefully. Get the feeling there might be an unlikely hero somewhere for us today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

Getting excited now. She wore, she wore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Good luck to ye all today from all us over at the Villa thread. We're hoping to sneak it, or at least make it a great game.

Villa under Sherwood have an optimistic approach but are as equally capable of collapsing like the 6-1 to Southampton as to tearing Liverpool apart (which doesn't seem that much of a feat considering their finish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ospinna and Giroud would be my prediction.

Wenger dropped Synz after the keepers father had a go at the club last time so I reckon Wenger won't play him.

Same with Walcott, whatever lesson the manager is trying to teach him won't be changed by the fa cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Agree with much of what you say but it's a general take on it.

Today is the final and today, Giroud is bang out of form. We haven't scored any goals for a month that weren't the work of theo.

That said, our barren patch might be over, who knows?

Sh*tballs...

Have to be somewhere at 7.30 tonight. If it goes to ET/penos I'll miss them.

No way around it. I am tormented about what to do. Do I watch the match, knowing I could miss out on et/penos or just miss the whole thing and follow it on Arseblog? Can't even have my phone on after 7.30...

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

Off to a pub in Marleybone for pre match pints. In section 109. I'll be the pissed Old lad with an Irish flag.

Come on you goners!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Sh*tballs...

No way around it. I am tormented about what to do. Do I watch the match, knowing I could miss out on et/penos or just miss the whole thing and follow it on Arseblog? Can't even have my phone on after 7.30...

Watch it, and assume that we've learned our lesson from last year, and win it in the 90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Sh*tballs...

Just watch it. I'm confident that one way or the other there'll me no extra time. Enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,108 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

BBC's idea of coverage for an Aston Villa final versus Arsenal is interviewing Michael Owen regarding his goals that beat Arsenal in the final.

****. :mad:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

All right, I'm now in the mode where I have to leave this thread, getting too excited now, and reading anything about it is just going to stress me out!

See you all on the other side.

COYG!!

Quazzie wrote: »
    BBC's idea of coverage for an Aston Villa final versus Arsenal is interviewing Michael Owen regarding his goals that beat Arsenal in the final.

****. :mad:

Although overall...BBC's coverage today has been excellent. Really great to have the day dedicated to it again. And I guess ya can't fill 7 hours with all Arsenal and Villa stuff either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnPaOi6F4wc

For the day that's in it. Not going to be an easy game today. Think 2-1/3-1 would be a fair prediction. Can't believe that PaddyPower have Villa at 5/1! Anyway lets hope we get a comfortable victory in normal time as I don't think my heart would take extra time like last year!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Well lads, I won't be able to see it at all. Totally unavoidable, and I'm very p1553d off about it...

However, I am going to watch it in full tomorrow I hope. So to you all, enjoy it, roar them on for me... Hope I open this thread later tonight to see lots of smiley emoticons!

Come On You Gunners!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

https://twitter.com/GarethBale11/status/604604904997560320

This has wound a few people up :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Thought the road to the fa cup final with Gary Lineker was great, very well put together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Odd !?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

greendom wrote: »
    Odd !?

That must mean he is signing for us in the summer :pac:

People say the FA cup isnt important anymore but its a final and I cant wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Odd !?

Could understand him wishing Ramsey good luck, but Theo??

Southampton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Didn't they come through the youth system at Southampton together? They've probably stayed friends since.

Ahh, not so odd then ! Nerves really building now. Tried to keep busy during the morning but struggling now

If we can keep Benteke and Delph quiet we are sorted but easier said than done. Gabby against Per could be tough. Think Giroud has to start to cope with their aerial ability.

Imagine if they made it simple for us fans...imagine not being nervous after 60 mins of a big Arsenal game....imagine being 3 up at that mark....nope me either:)

BBC hats off....it's been a great days viewing so far.

Anyway...enjoy or bear this as best he can folks! Irrespective of what team lines out let's hope we are happy people come 8ish or so. Enjoy...COYG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Theo and Bale were roommates iirc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Invited my Spurs bestie and her Villa gf over for the match!

What did she wear?

She wore! She wore! She wore a yellow ribbon!
    She wore a yellow ribbon in the merry month of May,
    And when! I asked! Oh why she wore that ribbon!
    She said its for the Arsenal and we're going to Wembley!
    Wembley! Wembley!
    We're the famous Arsenal and we're going to Wembley.
    Wembley! Wembley!
    We're the famous Arsenal and we're going to Wembley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Bloody football.

I'm absolutely confident we'll win - all of our players and our manager are better than their's.

But I have a sick feeling in my stomach. Jesus, I really hope we don't do an Arsenal.

Szcz, Gibbs and Giroud all play?

We are going to do an Arsenal, aren't we? :-(

Edit: Just got that off Ger Gilroy, who then said it wasn't confirmed. :-D

@Arsenal: .@Arsenal team to play Villa: Szczesny, Bellerin, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Monreal, Coquelin, Cazorla, Ramsey, Ozil, Alexis, Walcott

Cant believe Walcott is playing, not in a bad way but thought he might have been loyal to Giroud.

efb wrote: »
    @Arsenal: .@Arsenal team to play Villa: Szczesny, Bellerin, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Monreal, Coquelin, Cazorla, Ramsey, Ozil, Alexis, Walcott

Happy for Ches! Thought he would go with Giroud...happy for Theo though too...light it up Theo...huge vote of confidence from the manager in him.

Giroud with an allergy ?

What's he allergic too ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Brave call from Wenger

Giroud with an allergy ?

What's he allergic too ?

Hayfever pollen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Giroud with an allergy ?

What's he allergic too ?

Unkept hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Wenger must be serious about developing walcott through the centre massive support from
    The boss startinb him today

That team is designed to score early, the longer we go without a goal, the more Walcott will frustrate. Giroud to win it from the bench.

Show us your tats Tim!

Standing to attention in heels to hail Queen Panti! :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

efb wrote: »
    Standing to attention I heels to hail Queen Panti! :-P

Feck off.

Feck off.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

COYG!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Stat from Opta via BBC: "Alexis Sánchez has been involved in 36 goals this season for Arsenal (all comps), a club-high since Van Persie in 2011/12 (42). Class."

What a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

25 years a gunner and I'm very very proud!!! COYG. Pride and delight for Arsene. Specialist in breaking records!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Top drawer stuff from Arsenal. Well done. A massive result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Congrats lads, sorry we offered so little our side.