Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish women hiding their beauty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

People say some dumb sh-t about her forehead though, it's not all high praise of her.

I agree though, while she is pretty - objectively a million miles from ugly, she's not as spectacular as is claimed by the tabloid media and whatnot.

Ah she's beautiful. Not a fan of her music or anything but I can definitely see why people find her attractive, she's very unique looking and (apart from the forehead :pac:) her face is very symmetrical and proportionate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Why do irish women wear makeup

I don't know, why do Irish women wear makeup?

I bet the punchline to your joke is crap...

beks101 wrote: »
    What about women who eat healthily, go to the gym and wear lots of makeup/fake tan? I know plenty of them.

Some people are healthy, beautiful and sadly, stupid.

You can't fix stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I hid my beauty when I was 12 and it hasn't been seen since.

Did you check behind the garden shed or in the bottom of the chest freezer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

feamainn wrote: »
    I'm an Irish girl, 18

I'm going to guess - 28 year old fat bloke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 feamainn

Many women would make themselves much more attractive and enjoy higher levels of self-confidence if they spent the time and money they invest on buying and putting on their make-up each day on a gym membership and regular attendance at it.

Might not be a popular statement, but I'm right. Eat, sleep and exercise properly and they'd be healthier in very sense and have less things to try to hide, from cellulite to poxy skin tone, wrinkles and spots.

I couldn't give a toss (ha ha) if you've nice make-up, your hair and nails are done and you're wearing some 'glow' if you're not looking after your body and mind first. I'd take a bare skinned, hair down, naturally healthy woman wearing a flecky track suit from Oxfam any day over a dolled up woman who tries to hide her couch sitting lazy assed ways behind a mask of war paint, manicure and expensive clothes.

No, makeup is only acceptable to accentuate your naturally attractive facial features. Using it to hide something you should be FIXING by living a healthy life is a con and a cop-out.

Healthy and attractive woman are just that, with or without make-up. Unhealthy (by choice, no excuses) women CAN'T magically become attractive just because they wear a facial (snigger) mask of cosmetic products.

I say skin care is important. it's mean and wrong to paint all overweight people as lazy. There's too much misinformation about nutrition out there especially about fats and carbohydrates. The diet industry is just a business that feed off of people's insecurity by telling them to eat food that won't satisfy their bodies which leads to them binging, gaining weight, becoming more insecure and then giving away more of their money. People nowadays don't kow what a truly healthy lifestyle is.

Why do irish women wear makeup

NO! I fecking wear the stuff myself.

I'm going to guess - 28 year old fat bloke?

Oh feck off. You can't have an unconventional opinion as a girl on the internet without being accused of being a man. Some girls think for themselves you know. Actually, most of us do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Oh feck off. You can't have an unconventional opinion as a girl on the internet without being accused of being a man. Some girls think for themselves you know. Actually, most of us do.

Oh stop it. You don't think that.

I say skin care is important. it's mean and wrong to paint all overweight people as lazy. There's too much misinformation about nutrition out there especially about fats and carbohydrates. The diet industry is just a business that feed off of people's insecurity by telling them to eat food that won't satisfy their bodies which leads to them binging, gaining weight, becoming more insecure and then giving away more of their money. People nowadays don't kow what a truly healthy lifestyle is.

And that right there is a typical excuse. Cut out processed foods, balance your calorific intake and ratios of fats, carbs and proteins, exercise regularly and most important of all, stop making and accepting excuses about why it's not your fault.

There. It's simple. It really is that simple. Don't dance around the issue, confront it. No doubt, some folks have a medical condition that poses additional obstacles, but most of the people who day they do, don't. They're lazy and they're lying to themselves. There are exceptions, but their reasons shouldn't be rolled out as the rule by tubby lazy people who can improve their health but rather make excuses.

An unnecessarily fat person wearing makeup is still fat. They're not fooling anyone. I'd rather someone was a plain jane 'big girl' and was at least making an honest attempt to lose weight and improve her health. That's be a lot sexier and attractive than a lazy excuse making woman who'll carry around an extra 10-20kgs for life for the ONLY reason that she's too lazy to cook, plan her shopping for ingredients and meals and exercise, yet still finds time to get her hair done and put on the filler each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Looking forward to reading this aggregated story in a future version of the Sunday Independent's Life magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Hmm. This thread is throwing up ads for skin lightening cream.

Oh adchoice you crazy bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

I don't know, why do Irish women wear makeup?

I bet the punchline to your joke is crap...
    The clue is in the post that I quoted ;)

The clue is in the post that I was quoted ;)

That's the worst punchline, ever.

And that right there is a typical excuse. Cut out processed foods, balance your calorific intake and ratios of fats, carbs and proteins, exercise regularly and most important of all, stop making and accepting excuses about why it's not your fault.

There. It's simple. It really is that simple. Don't dance around the issue, confront it. No doubt, some folks have a medical condition that poses additional obstacles, but most of the people who day they do, don't. They're lazy and they're lying to themselves. There are exceptions, but their reasons shouldn't be rolled out as the rule by tubby lazy people who can improve their health but rather make excuses.

An unnecessarily fat person wearing makeup is still fat. They're not fooling anyone. I'd rather someone was a plain jane 'big girl' and was at least making an honest attempt to lose weight and improve her health. That's be a lot sexier and attractive than a lazy excuse making woman who'll carry around an extra 10-20kgs for life for the ONLY reason that she's too lazy to cook, plan her shopping for ingredients and meals and exercise, yet still finds time to get her hair done and put on the filler each day.

Mmmm, I'm not overweight. I'm 5'4 and 103 lbs (very small frame). I'm just saying what my nutritionist tells me. I started going to her when I was recovering from anorexia. Now I eat healthily and am fit and slim. I eat a balanced diet, walk my dog everyday and do pilates. I do agree that there are some people who don't care about themselves but that's an indication that they have a problem. I used to think like you. In fact I used to despise fat people. I literally hated them. Now I know more. The only people I never have and never will have sympathy for are the people who inflict their harmful habits upon their children. Disgusts me.
    But yeah, you're ignorant.

Mmmm, I'm not overweight. I'm 5'4 and 103 lbs (very small frame). I'm just saying what my nutritionist tells me. I started going to her when I was recovering from anorexia. Now I eat healthily and am fit and slim. I eat a balanced diet, walk my dog everyday and do pilates. I do agree that there are some people who don't care about themselves but that's an indication that they have a problem. I used to think like you. In fact I used to despise fat people. I literally hated them. Now I know more. The only people I never have and never will have sympathy for are the people who inflict their harmful habits upon their children. Disgusts me.
    But yeah, you're ignorant.

I'm far from ignorant. I don't hate fat people. In fact, some of my very best friends are fat. I just don't agree with pretending that the majority of them are fat for no reason other than their own failure to look after themselves.

Your anorexia was down to you. There may have been external influencing factors, but you're the one who is responsible for being healthy in life. Bringing it up doesn't impact me in any way, nor does it lend additional value to your points. Why? Well, an ex (a wonderful girl in every way) struggled with Bulemia not long before I met her and my wife (a beautiful woman in every meaning of the word) did battle with Anorexia a long time ago. Both now live healthy lives, are careful about what they eat and look after themselves.

They are who they are despite previous eating disorders and the appalling impact these times had on their health, NOT because of it. I feel bad for someone who can't and I mean can't control their weight and live a full and healthy life. I have zero sympathy for someone who is fat and unhealthy when they could fix it. Those of you who have had close encounters with real eating disorders and managed to recover have dealt with much more than it would take these lazy excuse making tubby feckers to get healthy.

Makeup or not, laziness and total disregard for your own health and well being is unattractive. No amount of makeup can make up for being overweight because you eat TOO MUCH or don't exercise. Just like a nice shirt and expensive jeans or a rugby jersey doesn't hide the fact a guy is fat and need to exercise more and sort out what he's eating and drinking.

I'm far from ignorant. I don't hate fat people. In fact, some of my very best friends are fat. I just don't agree with pretending that the majority of them are fat for no reason other than their own failure to look after themselves.

Your anorexia was down to you. There may have been external influencing factors, but you're the one who is responsible for being healthy in life. Bringing it up doesn't impact me in any way, nor does it lend additional value to your points. Why? Well, an ex (a wonderful girl in every way) struggled with Bulemia not long before I met her and my wife (a beautiful woman in every meaning of the word) did battle with Anorexia a long time ago. Both now live healthy lives, are careful about what they eat and look after themselves.

They are who they are despite previous eating disorders and the appalling impact these times had on their health, NOT because of it. I feel bad for someone who can't and I mean can't control their weight and live a full and healthy life. I have zero sympathy for someone who is fat and unhealthy when they could fix it. Those of you who have had close encounters with real eating disorders and managed to recover have dealt with much more than it would take these lazy excuse making tubby feckers to get healthy.

Makeup or not, laziness and total disregard for your own health and well being is unattractive. No amount of makeup can make up for being overweight because you eat TOO MUCH or don't exercise. Just like a nice shirt and expensive jeans or a rugby jersey doesn't hide the fact a guy is fat and need to exercise more and sort out what he's eating and drinking.

I just don't see how me talking about how the diet industry contributes to obesity was "an excuse"? I'm not fat , never was and I agreed with your comment. All I did was add toit and then you implied that I was fat, so I told you that I'm not?:L
    Also , nobody chooses and eating disorder. You only choose to sort it out and I ,your ex and your wife did.

Well this thread was a massive fail. Wanted to talk about how Irish women should embrace their true beauty but that didn't happen lol. Sorry for my ****ty thread everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Well this thread was a massive fail. Wanted to talk about how Irish women should embrace their true beauty but that didn't happen lol. Sorry for my ****ty thread everyone!

You posted in AH, nothing is really taken seriously here! You may have got a better response in other forums on boards. Maybe you're just a troll...

I completely see your point though. Fake tan/orange makeup isn't very nice. However, some girls just like that look. And let them at it, no matter how ridiculous it looks.

I was getting the bus home from work the other night, and I was the only Irish person on the bus. I work for a multinational. The rest of the people were French and German. A few new French lads that just started were asked what they think of Irish girls. And they all just started laughing and started ranting on about how we all are fat and wear layers of makeup and fake tan, they actually said some pretty horrible things... :o I don't think they realised I was Irish..

I just don't see how me talking about how the diet industry contributes to obesity was "an excuse"? I'm not fat , never was and I agreed with your comment. All I did was add toit and then you implied that I was fat, so I told you that I'm not?:L
    Also , nobody chooses and eating disorder. You only choose to sort it out and I ,your ex and your wife did.

I didn't imply you're fat. You said i'm ignorant, I told you I'm not. Of course nobody chooses and eating disorder. What I'm saying is that in the same way one must choose to overcome an eating disorder, one must also choose to lose an unhealthy excess of body weight and in both situations, a totally honest self appraisal and accepting that your health and well being suffering is the first step.

People don't let their true beauty shine because they allow it to hide behind a layer of blubber, fake tan and makeup, because it's easier to do that and make excuses like 'it gives me confidence when I put my face on', than to be naturally beautiful and healthy.

It's all related. You asked, I answered. If you don't like that, sorry about ye.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    You posted in AH, nothing is really taken seriously here! You may have got a better response in other forums on boards. Maybe you're just a troll...

I completely see your point though. Fake tan/orange makeup isn't very nice. However, some girls just like that look. And let them at it, no matter how ridiculous it looks.

I was getting the bus home from work the other night, and I was the only Irish person on the bus. I work for a multinational. The rest of the people were French and German. A few new French lads that just started were asked what they think of Irish girls. And they all just started laughing and started ranting on about how we all are fat and wear layers of makeup and fake tan, they actually said some pretty horrible things... :o I don't think they realised I was Irish..

haha I promise I'm not a troll! They should go back to France then.

I didn't imply you're fat. You said i'm ignorant, I told you I'm not. Of course nobody chooses and eating disorder. What I'm saying is that in the same way one must choose to overcome an eating disorder, one must also choose to lose an unhealthy excess of body weight and in both situations, a totally honest self appraisal and accepting that your health and well being suffering is the first step.

People don't let their true beauty shine because they allow it to hide behind a layer of blubber, fake tan and makeup, because it's easier to do that and make excuses like 'it gives me confidence when I put my face on', than to be naturally beautiful and healthy.

It's all related. You asked, I answered. If you don't like that, sorry about ye.

Then my bad! Just didn't get the "typical excuse" thing. I agree with you fully.

haha I promise I'm not a troll! They should go back to France then.

They're right. They should stay.

French people look after themselves and it's clear to see they don't resort to crappy badly fitting clothes, a painted face and fake tan . I wish Irish women would do the same. Some Irish women are some of the best looking women in the world. It's the rest of them that are letting the side down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

You heard it here first - serious mental illness is a personal choice.

You're right, you are not ignorant, ignorance can be remedied.

You are stupid, and stupid is FOREVER.

B0jangles wrote: »
    You heard it here first - serious mental illness is a personal choice.

You're right, you are not ignorant, ignorance can be remedied.

You are stupid, and stupid is FOREVER.

Oh would you get real for a minute. The development of an eating disorder may have one or multiple causes depending on the individual, internal and/or external influencing factors come into play, but it is very much down to that individual whether or not they can overcome those factors and the cause of their illness or succumb to it in totality. It is very much down to that person.

So what's this, the suggestion that I'm stupid lends credibility to you making excuses for someone taking responsibility for their development of a 'serious mental illness', because they somehow aren't to answer for their skewed self image?

I never said it's a choice, but that doesn't mean the person who became ill isn't responsible at least in part. Recovery involves accepting that the way one views themselves and often others was wrong. It's not as though we're taught to despise fat people, to look on the mirror and hate ourselves. The person who does this is most often someone who develops these thoughts and feelings in and of themselves, DESPITE what they've been taught.

So, take your 'stupid' argument and go eat some pie.

Oh would you get real for a minute. The development of an eating disorder may have one or multiple causes depending on the individual, internal and/or external influencing factors come into play, but it is very much down to that individual whether or not they can overcome those factors and the cause of their illness or succumb to it in totality. It is very much down to that person.

So what's this, the suggestion that I'm stupid lends credibility to you making excuses for someone taking responsibility for their development of a 'serious mental illness', because they somehow aren't to answer for their skewed self image?

I never said it's a choice, but that doesn't mean the person who became ill isn't responsible at least in part. Recovery involves accepting that the way one views themselves and often others was wrong. It's not as though we're taught to despise fat people, to look on the mirror and hate ourselves. The person who does this is most often someone who develops these thoughts and feelings in and of themselves, DESPITE what they've been taught.

So, take your 'stupid' argument and go eat some pie.

How did you overcome the illness?

Tasden wrote: »
    How did you overcome the illness?

I ate a litre of ice-cream and decided I was a real catch.

We'll agree to disagree on that one

Fair enough.

Anyway, I'm off to throw away my wife's makeup compact and get her to parade around naked after her weekly weigh in....

....she's very unique looking and (apart from the forehead :pac:) her face is very symmetrical and proportionate.

There's the tell-tale right there.

The tell-tale?

That overly critical assessment of another persons physical characteristics. You can't just say something like "She's beautiful and has a unique look". It has to go as far as commenting on her forehead and how symmetrical and proportionate her face is.

Is it any wonder girls and young women look at themselves in such a critical manner? Is it any wonder the doubt forms and grows over time, that they latch onto individual 'flaws' which in turn feeds into body image related illness?

I look at a woman and think to myself that they are either healthy and attractive, or unhealthy and unattractive. That's how most men think. We don't think, yeah, she's alright but her left breast hangs lower, is bigger, her hips are disproportionate, her knees are knobbly or she has limp hair. Honestly, that's the crap that women go on with, not men.

FFS. Yet you want to get snotty with me because I say sometimes people need to accept that they allow themselves to become ill and yet, there it is, the pot calling the kettle black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'd say fake tan is one of those things like colouring your hair, in that once you start it's kind of hard to give up. In fairness, done right and not overdone, it does even skin tone and make limbs look longer. Irish complexions in Irish weather tend towards the mottled like, I can see how it got popular to wear for going out. It's not exactly uncommon in northern England or Scotland like, for the same reasons I'd imagine.

Personally I've never bothered and I'm fairly pale, couldn't give a ****e if anyone else wears it once I'm not sharing a bed with them. I wear make up and that if I have to be fancy, but no way would I go near tan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Isn't this like a girl with long hair asking why some girls cut their hair short and 'hide their beauty'?

It's a preference. Some people find lots of makeup attractive. Particularly if someone is unattractive or has bad skin. Fake tan isn't much different from a real tan, IMHO, slightly different shade, less risk of cancer....but it's all just a question of what shade you want to be.

That overly critical assessment of another persons physical characteristics. You can't just say something like "She's beautiful and has a unique look". It has to go as far as commenting on her forehead and how symmetrical and proportionate her face is.

Is it any wonder girls and young women look at themselves in such a critical manner? Is it any wonder the doubt forms and grows over time, that they latch onto individual 'flaws' which in turn feeds into body image related illness?

I look at a woman and think to myself that they are either healthy and attractive, or unhealthy and unattractive. That's how most men think. We don't think, yeah, she's alright but her left breast hangs lower, is bigger, her hips are disproportionate, her knees are knobbly or she has limp hair. Honestly, that's the crap that women go on with, not men.

FFS. Yet you want to get snotty with me because I say sometimes people need to accept that they allow themselves to become ill and yet, there it is, the pot calling the kettle black.

Somebody else mentioned her forehead, hence the smiley after it when I included it in my post. She is beautiful because her face is symmetrical and proportionate, her forehead isn't proportionate to the rest of her face, not once did I say that took away from her beauty or that its a flaw. That's what you took from my comment. Its exactly the same as saying beyonce/kim kardashian have a perfectly proportionate figure (apart from their huge bums) that I'd die for. They do have huge bums that aren't necessarily proportionate to their bodies. Do I consider that a flaw? **** no. But you know all this, you're just deliberately being pedantic.

Saying someone is beautiful because they have a unique look/ great bone structure/flawless skin/healthy physique is just the same as saying they are beautiful because their face is proportionate and symmetrical. Just because I chose to give a specific reason for why she's attractive it doesn't at all make me critical of her appearance- its just something I personally find attractive about her. Everybody deems people to be attractive because of certain physical traits, symmetry is usually one of the main factors in determining if someone is aesthetically pleasing or not. Its exactly the same as finding big eyes cute or a wide smile endearing.

But you go ahead and continue to take my comment out of context to make yourself feel better about your own comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Who cares as long as the girl in question feels good about themselves? I personally am not a fan of fake tan, it doesn't suit me, but I love wearing makeup and definately express myself using makeup. My oh doesn't like it. He loves the messy hair, the pale face, the just out of bed look. That's always when he tells me I look beautiful. I feel at my best and ready for the day when I have my hair done, my makeup done and I do that for myself. Not to make myself feel more beautiful, or not to impress anyone else.

Girls need to stop judging each other so much
    Best in what way? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Did you check down the back of the couch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

ALiasEX wrote: »
    Best in what way? :confused:

I feel good about myself. I have my eyebrows filled in, my eye makeup done and my red lipstick and I'm ready for anything. I feel confident, I feel groomed, just feel ready for the day. The same way as wearing heels makes me stand straighter, feel taller, and keep my head up.

I'm sure everyone has something that makes them feel good about themselves

Somebody else mentioned her forehead, hence the smiley after it when I included it in my post. She is beautiful because her face is symmetrical and proportionate, her forehead isn't proportionate to the rest of her face, not once did I say that took away from her beauty or that its a flaw. That's what you took from my comment. Its exactly the same as saying beyonce/kim kardashian have a perfectly proportionate figure (apart from their huge bums) that I'd die for. They do have huge bums that aren't necessarily proportionate to their bodies. Do I consider that a flaw? **** no. But you know all this, you're just deliberately being pedantic.

Saying someone is beautiful because they have a unique look/ great bone structure/flawless skin/healthy physique is just the same as saying they are beautiful because their face is proportionate and symmetrical. Just because I chose to give a specific reason for why she's attractive it doesn't at all make me critical of her appearance- its just something I personally find attractive about her. Everybody deems people to be attractive because of certain physical traits, symmetry is usually one of the main factors in determining if someone is aesthetically pleasing or not. Its exactly the same as finding big eyes cute or a wide smile endearing.

But you go ahead and continue to take my comment out of context to make yourself feel better about your own comments.

And again, you try to justify and excuse the very behaviour that triggers the physical evaluation of oneself by some people which in some cases leads to the development of an eating disorder. Don't lecture me on the importance of physical symmetry and it's bearing on attraction. Don't argue that it's okay to highlight particular features because you're saying nice things. Those are excuses. Y'all need to stop with the fickle practice of commenting on specific features. All it does is encourage other people to contrast their ass, tits, ears and elbows with some celebrity or other and identify and obsess about how they don't compare. Who cares? Women do. Men don't. Not in day to day real life, maybe when picking a pornstar for 10 minutes on the internet, but it hardly leads to your average girl reading bull**** online/daily/weekly crap from some dizzy dope who thinks it matters. Just as f'n well, isn't it?

Anyway, enough. You're going for the 'pedantic' rubbish and thanks-whoring now. Go watch some random brain dead TV or other. I'm going to tell my missus she looks great and I love her for all that she is, not what I think she could be if it wasn't for X, Y and Z.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

I feel good about myself. I have my eyebrows filled in, my eye makeup done and my red lipstick and I'm ready for anything. I feel confident, I feel groomed, just feel ready for the day. The same way as wearing heels makes me stand straighter, feel taller, and keep my head up.

I'm sure everyone has something that makes them feel good about themselves
    If it's not about beauty (as you say), how else can it make you feel more confident/feel good about yourself?

And again, you try to justify and excuse the very behaviour that triggers the physical evaluation of oneself by some people which in some cases leads to the development of an eating disorder. Don't lecture me on the importance of physical symmetry and it's bearing on attraction. Don't argue that it's okay to highlight particular features because you're saying nice things. Those are excuses. Y'all need to stop with the fickle practice of commenting on specific features. All it does is encourage other people to contrast their ass, tits, ears and elbows with some celebrity or other and identify and obsess about how they don't compare. Who cares? Women do. Men don't. Not in day to day real life, maybe when picking a pornstar for 10 minutes on the internet, but it hardly leads to your average girl reading bull**** online/daily/weekly crap from some dizzy dope who thinks it matters. Just as f'n well, isn't it?

Anyway, enough. You're going for the 'pedantic' rubbish and thanks-whoring now. Go watch some random brain dead TV or other. I'm going to tell my missus she looks great and I love her for all that she is, not what I think she could be if it wasn't for X, Y and Z.

Who actually said it matters? I said she was beautiful and gave reasons why I personally think she is. I never said anything about whether or not her looks "matter" or that other women should look like her.

And why on earth do you think women obsess and men don't care? I made a passing comment about the girl being beautiful because she is, you're the one obsessing here. And plenty men have stated their personal preference regarding physical appearance in this thread, yourself included, so men do care. Which is their prerogative. Its human nature to find certain things attractive.

The fact you think what I posted was a lecture is bizarre. And "thanks whoring"? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭route9

Hi everyone. I just wanted to get people's opinions. I'm an Irish girl, 18 so obviously I'm not saying we all do this (I definitely don't) but...
    Why do so many Irish women hide their beauty behind a mask of heavy make up and our apparently "best friend" (actually our worst enemy), fake tan? I know so many girls who are beautiful but then they decide to "look nice" and end up covering up their beauty. I really think it's sad because I know a lot of my friends do it out of insecurity.
    There was a girl in school who was absolutely stunning with snow white skin, long black hair and huge green kind of cat like (if that makes sense) eyes. We were all jealous and in awe of her but then one day meeting her outside of school we couldn't believe it. She had packed on the smidiú and fake tan and her looks were completely lost! We had told some lads about her and they were extremely underwhelmed but she really is completely beautiful! That's just one example that stands out for me.
    There are really so many gorgeous girls that just in my opinion, can't accept being Irish??? It's like they go around trying to look like Kim Kardashian or Beyoncé and it just does not work. Imagine Rihanna trying to look like a Scandinavian girl. She would look like ****e. Her beauty is hers. Think of the Irish women who are known internationally as beautiful, Saoirse Ronan, Sarah Bolger, Tara Lee, Katie Mcgrath or even the Scottish actress Karren Gillain. None of them try to look like something they're not. They all embrace and accentuate their Celtic beauty and that's why they're so gorgeous!
    Can't we at least boycott fake tan. Sometimes it's not too bad but it never,NEVER looks natural and everyone looks better without it. Even foreigners think it looks bad and our own men aren't fans either.
    I wear make up but never fake tan. My friends always say "Yeah but you can get away with pale!" What does that mean??? They're all lovely with it too and pale skin is NOT a bad thing that needs to be "gotten away with".

I'm not having a dig or saying us Irish are unattractive because nobody can ignore the tons of pretty girls but some of us need to stop hiding it away. Does anybody else agree?

I would have read your post if it came with paragraphs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

And "thanks whoring"? Seriously?
    People say that about absolutely anything they don't like reading now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

The fact you think what I posted was a lecture is bizarre. And "thanks whoring"? Seriously?

My bad :( Sorry for being your...what's the term, thanks pimp? Thanks john?

Who actually said it matters? I said she was beautiful and gave reasons why I personally think she is. I never said anything about whether or not her looks "matter" or that other women should look like her.

And why on earth do you think women obsess and men don't care? I made a passing comment about the girl being beautiful because she is, you're the one obsessing here. And plenty men have stated their personal preference regarding physical appearance in this thread, yourself included, so men do care. Which is their prerogative. Its human nature to find certain things attractive.

Really? Go on then, what's my personal preference? Go on! What, healthy? Sans le masque? What else? Go on.

And now we're onto 'bizarre' and 'seriously?'

We're done. Last word is yours miss. Have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

What one modern young man succinctly calls a POB

Pink clothes, Orange skin, Blonde hair.

Lots of 'em about. I agree with the OP, mostly, though I like a bit of make-up to brighten a look and bring out the best points of a face; those green eyes, with greeny smudgy colour to make them sparkle. The shiny nose damped down with a dab of powder, etc. The monobrow to be plucked, please!!!

But fake tan - if it is used at all - must be applied with a master hand and ultra discretion. That orange-all-over look is disaster and makes them all look the same, anyway, so whats the point?

The only time it's worth it, in my opinion, is after a long winter when pale Celtic skin just looks so grey and weary: then a very subtle dusting of warmth can possibly be justified if applied with maximum caution.

Just my tuppenceworth as a lifelong makeup fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yes they are hiding their natural beauty.

How to get that across to a women who has been caking and tanning themselves for years is quite hard though.

My bad :( Sorry for being your...what's the term, thanks pimp? Thanks john?

No, just a 'thanks whore'. Don't look too closely at it or your new friends won't be your friends any more due to your asymmetrical facial feature. Definitely not a good idea to cock your head or squint. And those reading glasses, take those off.

Don't forget to thank each other now. If you don't it's like failing to say goodnight and hug your teddy bears and baby jesus will cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

The ass-hurt and insecurity and paranoia a little button shaped like a thumbs-up engenders, is nothing short of bizarre and hilarious.