Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Off to Newstalk !

• Registered Users Posts: 39,853 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

He fecked up the first words of the show. I wonder how long it will be before he starts to rip into the lads trying to lose weight ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭goochy

had an idea that date woman on op. trans. went on wasn't going to end well !
    she comes across as a bit odd/ stand offish. say she would sooner spend rest of her life on her own unless someone met a 20 point check list.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

goochy wrote: »
    had an idea that date woman on op. trans. went on wasn't going to end well !
    she comes across as a bit odd/ stand offish. say she would sooner spend rest of her life on her own unless someone met a 20 point check list.

She's probably still holding out for George Clooney to knock at her door.

don't even think that wouldn't do ! think she might have aspergers or something - doesn't seem to be with it socially.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Had the misfortune to hear the part of the show the other day when his dad was on radio giving out his pancake recipe?

I mean. wtf???? And at the end it was all 'see you Da' 'see you Ray', it was like listening in to someones private phone call.

RTE need to wake up and get rid of this guy. He is embarrassingly bad.

But you have to remember the demographic tuning in is 45 years old and above, and they simply refuse to touch the dial. My granny detests Darcy since he moved back to RTE, she's a family woman obviously but resents the constant references to Jenny and the kids, but does she change station in protest? No. The radio in her house never moves from radio 1. Call it loyalty ,habit or deference to the national broadcaster but tense of 1000s of listeners all around the country are the same, no matter the quality of programme from rte, its listeners will tune in, and this is sadly very much evidenced in the latest jnlr.

I listen to Pat Kenny on newstalk , cant get the old man to change over from radio 1 - just keeps saying he forgets to give it a go. Pats show is good but his figures are terrible and its all for this reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

She's probably still holding out for George Clooney to knock at her door.

Jesus Harry, I was just thinking exactly that as I was listening to her on the motorway. Women these days are way too fussy, I think they've been watching too many Jennifer Aniston / Kate Winslet movies. She'd be better off if she did just like "Cupid Kelly" and just settle.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Jesus Harry, I was just thinking exactly that as I was listening to her on the motorway. Women these days are way too fussy, I think they've been watching too many Jennifer Aniston / Kate Winslet movies. She'd be better off if she did just like "Cupid Kelly" and just settle.

I think it might just be Irish women are more fussy than most.

Remember that TV show when it was a guy that had to pick from 20 or so women? If the women weren't interested they would turn out their light.

In the English version the guys had a good chance of keeping the lights on until they got to the later rounds. In the Irish version the women would be turning off the lights as the guy was walking out!! :D

Take me out. The Irish version didn't last long . Must have realised it was a waste of time with those women.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    In the English version the guys had a good chance of keeping the lights on until they got to the later rounds. In the Irish version the women would be turning off the lights as the guy was walking out!! :D

I would have loved a version with the sexes reversed.

One thing that was always an issue with that show for the lads, as soon as they walk out 6ft 4 Ray Foley stands beside them, and immediately half the women say "ohhh, he's too small" and they turn their light off. Even though they are usually half the height and twice the width of the guy they are rejecting. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

goochy wrote: »
    I listen to Pat Kenny on newstalk , cant get the old man to change over from radio 1 - just keeps saying he forgets to give it a go. Pats show is good but his figures are terrible and its all for this reason.

Listened to Pat on RTE for a long time. And a few times on Newstalk, but the crass commercialism that is necessary to carry that station just gets in the way. So don't bother anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

BarryD wrote: »
    Listened to Pat on RTE for a long time. And a few times on Newstalk, but the crass commercialism that is necessary to carry that station just gets in the way. So don't bother anymore.

Correct, standards just aren't there throughout the show.

That's being reflected by PK's falling listenership figures.

Sean O'Rourke has proven himself to be an all-round better broadcaster than the Plank.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I would have loved a version with the sexes reversed.

One thing that was always an issue with that show for the lads, as soon as they walk out 6ft 4 Ray Foley stands beside them, and immediately half the women say "ohhh, he's too small" and they turn their light off. Even though they are usually half the height and twice the width of the guy they are rejecting. :pac:

I think I remember Ray Foley saying at one point that a reverse version had been tested at one point in the UK, but they scrapped it because practically all the lads left their lights on for all the women. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

OFF.

When Ray is reading someone "moaning" about a commuting conundrum - I mean make up your own f*cking mind !! , how is Ray gonna help.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

another stolen phone. Lost property radio.

She had two years to move the stuff off the phone. If it was that important would you not move them on to a computer/hard drive??

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Newstalk or any other station in the world could afford advertising like this.....and they're getting it for free !!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Has Ray asked the hard question yet.

Who funds, or as Ray says, foonds, this fella to travel around the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

He does a bit of running. #didntknowthat

This Falvey guy really likes the sound of his own voice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

That Everest man sounds like a very arrogant person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

That Everest man sounds like a very arrogant person.

Full of himself and the hippy **** you would expect...

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Is he full of himself or is he just confident and in tune with his own life and needs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Johnnio13 wrote: »
    Is he full of himself or is he just confident and in tune with his own life and needs?

Lol ya exactly a hippy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Johnnio13 wrote: »

If its Pat Falvey he is a pompous prick.

Guest: "I dont know if you know about Moore's Law".
    Ray: "No"

Is there nothing that this man doesn't know about.

Ray has developed a theory. He's done a bit of psychology.

Ray doesnt ask questions, he makes statements that he thinks are right and asks the guests to agree or disagree. It's a bit like a survey, a very loaded survey.