Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

He's been "head of delegation" 5 times in all - jobs for the boys or what? What does he do the rest of the year to earn his salary I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Will Ray ask how much it all costs?...bet not...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,474 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

My track record isn't great says he.

Maybe it's time to get a new job buddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,341 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

How many people do they send over for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Pick a member from the canteen in RTE - Fact - LOL

M

"Limited budgets" lol and they have 3 producers for Liveline yet most days cover only 1 or 2 topics, today 1 topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

This lad has failed for 5 years yet he gets to have another go at it...:(

M

How is he getting another go at it next year when he was a flop this year and last year, the year before that and the year before that?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

D'Arcy's smart ar$e and cynical questioning really got on my wick as I was driving home. And he had hardly asked yer man a question before he rudely interrupted him with some other smart ar$e remark.

What really annoys me is that he comes out with this "holding people to account, searching for the truth" nonsense, and then comes out with absolute BS stories like this himself.

Ray D'Arcy had to 'coax' wife Jenny back to work : 'I told her I couldn't move to RTE without her'

Can you imagine if this story had been released by some other broadcaster, what cynical remarks he would be making.

D'Arcy's smart ar$e and cynical questioning really got on my wick as I was driving home. And he had hardly asked yer man a question before he rudely interrupted him with some other smart ar$e remark.

What really annoys me is that he comes out with this "holding people to account, searching for the truth" nonsense, and then comes out with absolute BS stories like this himself.

Ray D'Arcy had to 'coax' wife Jenny back to work : 'I told her I couldn't move to RTE without her'

Can you imagine if this story had been released by some other broadcaster, what cynical remarks he would be making.

What kind of sad arse feels so inadequate that they have to bring their spouse to work with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

What kind of sad arse feels so inadequate that they have to bring their spouse to work with them?

Reading the article you would think he was taking a job trekking through the mountains in Nepal, I'm so glad I don't have to listen to his pontification and ineptitude using his everyday equipment anymore. His show on Today FM was pure depression and the difference between then and now is huge with Anton being so upbeat. The only gripe I have now is that I have to contribute to this tools wage !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,743 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

vicwatson wrote: »
    This Eurovision clown trying to justify RTE entering Nicky Byrne into the Eurovision is laughable

Equally laughable is the fact that it took three people to write the song.

THREE!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Equally laughable is the fact that it took three people to write the song. THREE!!!

And that was another point that I thought "hero of the people" Ray D'Arcy should have asked. That Michael chap started saying "Nicky has sold 45 million records worldwide, x number ones, sold out y number of shows" as justification for picking him to represent Ireland. Why didnt D'Arcy point out to him that
    1. Nicky RARELY sang lead on any of those songs.
    2. Nicky did not write any of the Westlife songs, nor did any of the band. Most were covers (uptown girl, against all odds, seasons in the sun, you raise me up etc) or written by professional song writers.
    My point is that Nicky's only real contribution to the band was that he was a handsome chap and the management know that girls would buy the merchandise because they fancy him.

It's a huge stretch to start giving him credit for "45 million records sold etc etc" on the basis of his songwriting or singing talent. And I dont mean to be hard to Nicky, cos he seems like a really decent guy (as opposed to Bryan McFadden :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

More like: RAY DARCY TELLS WIFE HE CAN GET HER A JOB FOR LIFE AND NOW THEY ARE LAUGHING ALL THEWAY TO THE BANK>

• Registered Users Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭serfboard

His show on Today FM was pure depression and the difference between then and now is huge with Anton being so upbeat.
    Funny thing is though, if Anton is so great, how come he's lost 40,000 listeners from that slot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

serfboard wrote: »
    Funny thing is though, if Anton is so great, how come he's lost 40,000 listeners from that slot?

Why is Two and a Half Men still being made when much much funnier shows only get a couple of seasons before being cancelled?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

serfboard wrote:
    Funny thing is though, if Anton is so great, how come

serfboard wrote:
    listeners

I don't know

Reading the article you would think he was taking a job trekking through the mountains in Nepal, I'm so glad I don't have to listen to his pontification and ineptitude using his everyday equipment anymore. His show on Today FM was pure depression and the difference between then and now is huge with Anton being so upbeat. The only gripe I have now is that I have to contribute to this tools wage !

Sorry, don't agree there. His show had some downbeat segments but for the upmost had an extremely cheeful atmosphere and Ray was a very good host compared to now. He just seems to have morphed into the typical public service worker. He doesn't seem to have any ambition to improve his shows! Its like he has just given up and conceded defeat !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Sorry, don't agree there. His show had some downbeat segments but for the upmost had an extremely cheeful atmosphere and Ray was a very good host compared to now. He just seems to have morphed into the typical public service worker. He doesn't seem to have any ambition to improve his shows! Its like he has just given up and conceded defeat !!
    Yeah, just the bits between 9 and 12....

its easy to be negative on this thread when everyone has the same agenda! but darcy was deecent enough at today fm. and it wasnt a depressing show by any means

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

its easy to be negative on this thread when everyone has the same agenda! but darcy was deecent enough at today fm. and it wasnt a depressing show by any means
    No, not at the beginning. I enjoyed his show for years but towards the end there was nothing on but running, porridge, obesity and whatever Ray wanted to give out about on that particular day.

It was horrific, tbph.

Every day seemed an endless monologue about Ray being right and if we all did what Ray told us we would be happy eating our porridge while running (with obligatory egg on top) and listening to Anthony and the Johnsons on endless loop.

I haven't heard Anton preach what we have to believe once on his show, though admittedly it is early days.

It's a sheer pleasure to listen to the radio without all hope draining out of my soul and some interesting guests that Anton engages with without trying to browbeat them into submission with his superior viewpoint.

I'm glad Ray over on Radio 1, where I never have to listen to him again.

I say that as a former huge fan of his show.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ray was the best around for the first 7 or 8 years of his show. He was (by and large) cheerful and had the craic. When I would be off sick from school, or during holidays, I'd listen to his show every day.

But for the last 18 months on Today FM he turned a sharp corner towards the misery-porn. I was in an office where Today FM was the station of choice for the last 9 months of his show, and honestly, I dreaded it each day, and eventually took to listening to podcasts every morning to block him out before KC/Louise.

All the fun left the show. Sure, there were oases of fun (Fridays were generally alright), but by and large it was just D'Arcy on high-horses, sighing, complaining, giving out, covering the horrific "My father died, then the following week my mother died, then at my mother's funeral I got a call from my doctor saying I had cancer, then on my way to the hospital for cancer treatment I got six points on my licence, then 3 took €80 from my account. Can Conor Pope help me out?" type stories on what felt like an almost daily basis.

One of the reasons a lot of people here are so negative on Ray now is because we remember how good he used to be, and would dearly love to have that Ray back again.

(Of course, there are others who are just being negative for the sake of being negative, but you'd have that on Boards tbh)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I'd say I posted on the old thread but the first few years of the D'Arcy show on Today FM were great.

The team were young (bar D'Arcy), single and up for having a bit of craic. Fix it Friday was something to look forward to finish off the week. The first few single events were a bit of craic. And of course the country was awash with money and everybody was out having a great time spending money like there was no tomorrow. Jenny & Mairead would giggle away about spending €1k on a handbag and €800 on shoes two weeks after they came back from their all expenses paid trip to the Eurovision. Of course a lot of listeners were doing the same. Its was mostly light hearted fun and I would listen to nothing else.

But it all started to go downhill once D'Arcy and Jenny got together. Then Mairead had a kid and the going out stories began to be replaced by some baby stories. Then Jenny had a kid and the baby stories increased. Then the economy went belly-up and the "hard luck" stories became the order of the day. D'Arcy felt the need to tackle the mental health issues that prevailed with the downturn in the economy. On a daily basis. Then the fitness and healthy eating regime was stuffed down the throat of listeners hour after hour. Then anybody who disagreed with D'Arcy's opinion was belittled on-air. It didn't matter what the topic was, old man D'Arcy knew best. His pontificating was guaranteed every day.

I occasionally listen to bits of the Radio 1 slot and find it just brings me down so I usually listen to music or Moncrieff during that time slot.

The Anton Savage show is a return to the first few years of the D'Arcy show. Its now something I look forward to listening to as I enjoy the vast majority of it. As opposed to the last few years of the D'Arcy show when I listened to it so I could give out about it!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    One of the reasons a lot of people here are so negative on Ray now is because we remember how good he used to be, and would dearly love to have that Ray back again.

This

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

"no one out there finding young talent"

hint hint RAY !

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Probably not. I think Ray only takes The
    Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Wow. I'd forgotten why i didn't listen to his show again.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭neris

Doctor eva says feck all difference in calories between dark & milk chocolate... check the sugar check the sugar roars buzzkill in disgust

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Healthy eating FM