Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

There is no meaningful substance whatsoever to the embarrassing diddly Oirish cringe that briefly turned a village into a cheap theme park. One fella milked his tenuous link to Obama for all it was worth and he got all the cream. I passed through Moneygall myself last summer out of curiosity. The place is stone dead, a ghost town as you say, all that was missing was the tumbleweed.

Poor fookers have been bypassed years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

There is no meaningful substance whatsoever to the embarrassing diddly Oirish cringe that briefly turned a village into a cheap theme park. One fella milked his tenuous link to Obama for all it was worth and he got all the cream. I passed through Moneygall myself last summer out of curiosity. The place is stone dead, a ghost town as you say, all that was missing was the tumbleweed.

What about the Barack Obama Plaza? http://barackobamaplaza.ie

Obama_Plaza_main.jpg&w=504&h=214&zc=1&fltr%5B%5D=usm%7C30%7C1.0%7C3

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I'm originally from Toomevara, The next village to Monegal on the old N7. Even when the Dublin Limerick traffic was going through it, it had nothing going for it. I went out there for a few pints 5 years ago and the place was buzzing after Obamas visit. Bus tours and stag parties, etc. I was there two weeks ago and as someone said above, "Tumbleweed".
    Pity as there are some wonderful people living there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Del.Monte wrote: »
    What about the Barack Obama Plaza? http://barackobamaplaza.ie

Obama_Plaza_main.jpg&w=504&h=214&zc=1&fltr%5B%5D=usm%7C30%7C1.0%7C3

Ironically the glorified petrol station most likely sucked what life was left out of the family owned businesses in Moneygall, guaranteeing that the village would have no passing trade whatsoever. Some minimum wage dead end jobs in a chipper and a Spar, and that's about the sum of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

These places all have a finite financial existence. I doubt anybody goes to Ballyporeen any more because of its association with Ronald Regan - similarly New Ross with the Kennedy connection. The inhabitants make a few quid for a few years but the bandwagon moves swiftly on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

The inhabitants make a few quid for a few years but the bandwagon moves swiftly on.

It's usually one or two self appointed local chiefs that cash in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

BAI hearing adjudication being read out.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Great stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

ha ha ha ha ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

getting his paw slapped

Not a word about it when he comes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭liam7831

Ah jaasus not another one

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Does the thick even know ?.
    He lives in fukin La La Land

BAI hearing adjudication being read out.

By a computer generated voice

Chocolate biscuits? Ah now , Ray

• Registered Users Posts: 82,364 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

How come he doesn't read it out himself, instead some stooge does?

sligojoek wrote: »
    Not a word about it when he comes on.

yup.

should be a prerequiset that the fecker has to read it out himself to put manners on the fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lovelythings

lovelythingstobuy.com

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭liam7831

He is definitely over compensating on his happiness today as if to say it does not bother him so must do a lot

This is brilliant....PORRIDGE :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

'Be still my beating heart' yeah right. Be still my beating jocks morelike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

What was the apology about? Abortion?

The porridge eating championship.

Can I complain that nobody from the anti-porridge lobby was on?

porridge eating competion.

is the man mentally ill or something?

i thought you lads were messing about such stuff !

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Free Porridge across the Nation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

I intensely dislike the tactics of these 'prolife' groups trying to skew, distort and silence media coverage of abortion issues. Self appointed moral guardians, the valley of the squinting windows.

Porridge with an egg on top.

Double Bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Pretty standard tbh. By getting someone else to do it, it distances it from actual show. You'll get a lot of people who'll only half listen because they'll be like "Oh, just another ad, show hasn't started yet."

It's a good tactic to be fair.

TRUMP time.

:D:D:D :D:D

now i wonder how this will work out ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

It's been done a couple of times, but it's usually along the line of

"...eh..somebody just handed me...this..eh... no idea what it is...eh...I've been told to read it *sigh...eh..on behalf of RTE...we ...eh? ehat'd this word? apolo...apology...?? ...aplogise ..*sigh, harrumph...eh............for..what the hell is this?...nothing to do with me...anyway...apologise for an interview on July 23rd last...was I even here?...eh...."

(and so on and so forth)

Well that used to be the Joe Duffy special on it, heard Ray throwing a similar tantrum on Today FM as well back in the day. They get an intern/stooge/lackey to do it, so they can claim in future (very indignantly) that they never apologised for what they did, as it was never wrong in the first place as they are always right..[and so on].