Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Kinda odd how some ladies want 'equality' in everything now........ except things like separate jacks, men holding doors open for them, giving up seats, carrying bags etc. Surely equality is equality Brenda, you're welcome to the men's smelly jacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,616 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ffs, who gives a flying about Peppa Pig, it's not some irreplaceable item like a 1998 Dublin Millenium milk bottle.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Give up your auld technology, and listen to RTE radio indtead.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭goochy

Brenda has always annoyed me with her ' girlyness ' and fluffiness - her husband must be very easy going - she would drive me spare.
    she has pushed her kids to do Billy barry dance school and that - remember the producer on Mooney show made some remark about it - more or less said trying to make her kids famous whether they want to be or not

This guy's a fierce 'expert' on marriage for someone who's not married himself. Sounds like one of those fluffy 'celebs' RTE had on Op Transform.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,616 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I always just give cash, feck them, I will not be the subject of a conversation about "your voucher for x has expired, we already have a camera" etc etc etc, with cash they can make their own mess with it.

January birthdays and wedding presents. Hairdresser radio at its best

He's fairly flying through the bingo card today.

Vesta currys
    Pancakes (Understandably)
    Sugar
    Drink driving
    Rugby
    Psychology.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

And the one that he missed yesterday. Church Bashing.

wasn't Rays fathers funeral in a church ??

funny how he cant find someone with positive things to say about the church .
    that woman sounded a bit vile. would say she was no angel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

goochy wrote: »
    wasn't Rays fathers funeral in a church ??

funny how he cant find someone with positive things to say about the church .
    that woman sounded a bit vile. would say she was no angel.

she sounded like a tortured soul and in very bad nick, wasn't much talk of therapy and what could be done to bring her out on the other side, just hate filled bile. Sounds like she went through hell, but she sounded so damaged and deranged that she was in serious need of help...there's ways of doing these things, d'arcy is not the man to be interviewing somebody like that. entertaining enough radio though, mad yoke going off on one and as a listener not having a clue what was true or not. the level of detail leads me to believe a lot of it was PTSD and completely fabricated, true enough in her own mad head though.

"it was easy enough going in wasn't it, well it'll be like thorns on a thousand roses coming out"

okey dokey ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I know it was a serious topic but she sounded too much like Mrs Brown for me to take seriously.

mrs Brown ?? please explain ?

Brendan O'Carroll.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Laughing at the sound of spoken Chinese.

Classy Ray, classy.

I don't see how her life is like a comedy show ??

if Ray hates this country so much , why doesn't he leave ?

does he have anything positive to say ?
    he cant even present a radio show professionally , who is he to criticise anyone ?

I mean her voice not her life. That's why I said I know it's a serious topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

You are not legally supposed to do anything with the electrics. Does this man actually know anything? Ads on RTE only recently about only getting a qualified electrician to do work on your house, and he suggests doing it yourself.

Whinging about paying 60 quid to an electrician. How much per hour is he charging us?

Jaysus Ray, if you of most of us, can't afford €60 to pay a man to come out to you - I give up. I presume he can't be serious.

You are not legally supposed to do anything with the electrics.

Ah come on now. Who or where does it say that?

Imagine the havoc if Ray became an electrician.

"I'll put this wire in here and see what happens."

BANG

"Not my fault, Not my fault."

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

D'Arcy as an electrician? Electrical fires would increase 100fold in Ireland.

And he saying he's giving up the day job to be an electrician due to the fees he was charged for a job? There's NO electrician in Ireland Ray "earning" 500K a year for 2 hours "work" a day 9 months of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

feck off back to American then caller

Cancer, cancer, cancer.

Give it a rest Ray .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Nothing more satisfying in life fixing a bike...............says a lot. Not being a father etc :rolleyes:

What business is it of Ray's or mine or yours for that matter if kids want to send each other photos of themselves. There seems to be a growing chorus to prise phones and use of the internet from young people. Bit late methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

sligojoek wrote: »
    Whinging about paying 60 quid to an electrician. How much per hour is he charging us?

In fairness, I think he was just observing, that he felt that what the electrician did, that he might have been able to do himself, but just to be safe, he felt it better to get someone qualified to do it. I think the comment he made about the cost of the repair, was more about how quickly the repair was done. He mentioned that it took just over two minutes to repair.

It seems to me that it isn't certain that his salary is paid through the licence fee.

There are a number of items that suggest that he gets paid through money from advertising and sponsorship.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ray-darcy-rte-salary-1907437-Jan2015/

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/ray-d-arcy-s-salary-covered-by-sponsorship-rt%C3%A9-chair-says-1.2082698

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-refuses-to-reveal-details-of-darcys-salary-before-2017-30947136.html

It is stated in this article, that it is sponsorship money, that covers Ray D'Arcy's salary, rather than money from the licence fee.

http://www.thejournal.ie/rte-presenter-salaries-2088827-May2015/

In this item below, from 2013, it sounds like the salaries of the various radio presenters, are covered by the money from advertising and sponsorship, rather than from the licence fee. It also seems to be the case, that the more people who listen in, including people who don't like the presenters or the shows, the longer the shows can attract sponsorship and advertising, enabling the particular presenters to command such salaries.

Below is a transcript on the Broadsheet website - and the link to the audio - of an interview by Mary Wilson on the RTE Radio 1 Drivetime programme, with Mairead Ni Nuadhain RTE head of external relations, that was broadcast on Wednesday 27th March 2013.

Fergal Keane spoke on the show, discussing an item about the salaries of the various radio and TV presenters, and later in the show the interview with Mairead Ni Nuadhain, took place. The report by Fergal Keane occurs at the 1 hour 12 minute mark in the show, and the interview with Mairead Ni Nuadhain, is at the 1 hour 41 minute mark in the show.

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_10123705_83_27-03-2013_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/drivetime/programmes/2013/0327/378709-drivetime-wednesday-27-march-2013/

Here is a part of the interview, relevant to the issue of the salaries, and audience figures helping to attract advertising and sponsorship.

Mary Wilson asked: "So, a figure of €630,000, of €495,00 or €300,000, that’s the figure to fix on today? And is that a good deal for RTÉ?”

Mairead Ni Nuadhain RTE head of external relations replied: "Well, who’s to say that that is the ultimate figure. These are our top presenters. They are very important to RTÉ. RTÉ is unusual among national broadcasters in that we’re dual funded: we’ve a licence fee and we’ve commercial income. The licence fee is not enough to run RTÉ. We absolutely have to make the commercial income. The top presenters. The big audiences that they get on radio and television, they’re integral to that. And we’ve to achieve a balance between reducing fees and maintaining our commercial income.”

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/28/rte-on-rtes-top-ten-earners/

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_20179331_83_27-03-2013_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/drivetime/programmes/2013/0327/378709-drivetime-wednesday-27-march-2013/[/QUOTE]

oh Ray you never fail to annoy me , you are thick and are giving out cause a professional tradesman calls to your house and charges you 60 quid.

the fact that he brought this up shows that he genuinely thinks he is good value to us tax payers

when there was a backlash from electricians he hadn't the balls to stand his ground - started back tracking .
    what a terrible spineless individual

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

In fairness, I think he was just observing, that he felt that what the electrician did, that he might have been able to do himself, but just to be safe, he felt it better to get someone qualified to do it. I think the comment he made about the cost of the repair, was more about how quickly the repair was done. He mentioned that it took just over two minutes to repair.

It seems to me that it isn't certain that his salary is paid through the licence fee.

There are a number of items that suggest that he gets paid through money from advertising and sponsorship.

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/ray-d-arcy-s-salary-covered-by-sponsorship-rt%C3%A9-chair-says-1.2082698

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-refuses-to-reveal-details-of-darcys-salary-before-2017-30947136.html

It is stated in this article, that it is sponsorship money, that covers Ray D'Arcy's salary, rather than money from the licence fee.

http://www.thejournal.ie/rte-presenter-salaries-2088827-May2015/

In this item below, from 2013, it sounds like the salaries of the various radio presenters, are covered by the money from advertising and sponsorship, rather than from the licence fee. It also seems to be the case, that the more people who listen in, including people who don't like the presenters or the shows, the longer the shows can attract sponsorship and advertising, enabling the particular presenters to command such salaries.

Below is a transcript on the Broadsheet website - and the link to the audio - of an interview by Mary Wilson on the RTE Radio 1 Drivetime programme, with Mairead Ni Nuadhain RTE head of external relations, that was broadcast on Wednesday 27th March 2013.

Fergal Keane spoke on the show, discussing an item about the salaries of the various radio and TV presenters, and later in the show the interview with Mairead Ni Nuadhain, took place. The report by Fergal Keane occurs at the 1 hour 12 minute mark in the show, and the interview with Mairead Ni Nuadhain, is at the 1 hour 41 minute mark in the show.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/drivetime/programmes/2013/0327/378709-drivetime-wednesday-27-march-2013/

Here is a part of the interview, relevant to the issue of the salaries, and audience figures helping to attract advertising and sponsorship.

Mary Wilson asked: "So, a figure of €630,000, of €495,00 or €300,000, that’s the figure to fix on today? And is that a good deal for RTÉ?”

Mairead Ni Nuadhain RTE head of external relations replied: "Well, who’s to say that that is the ultimate figure. These are our top presenters. They are very important to RTÉ. RTÉ is unusual among national broadcasters in that we’re dual funded: we’ve a licence fee and we’ve commercial income. The licence fee is not enough to run RTÉ. We absolutely have to make the commercial income. The top presenters. The big audiences that they get on radio and television, they’re integral to that. And we’ve to achieve a balance between reducing fees and maintaining our commercial income.”

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/28/rte-on-rtes-top-ten-earners/

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_20179331_83_27-03-2013_

[/QUOTE]

DO NOT for one second believe the quoted sponsorship figures - these are not the real figures. The real figures are much lower than that. It is for reasons of "commercial sensitivity" (a phrase much-loved in RTE) that the actual figures are not published. The advertised figures (suggested cost/value) v. the realised figures (amount paid) are very different.

I've posted on this frequently in the Liveline Thread. For reference I have in a former life been in a position where I negotiated/bought sponsorships on RTE TV & Radio (amongst others).