Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 19,487 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What, in your view, should the programme makers have had on, instead of that item?

You claim that he is "a boring boring man", as if you seem to think, that Ray D'Arcy, and Ray D'Arcy alone, decides, what is featured on the show, each day.

What's wrong with making porridge?

Jamie Oliver doesn't consider it boring:

Nothing wrong with making porridge, I’m partial myself to the odd bowl.

However as a subject for discussion on national radio it could be considered boring, just like trying in new shoes, outdoor coats for dogs, or varnishing curtain poles might be.

No doubt there are some out there who would gladly debate the merits of ‘Matelot Marine Varnish’ on their poles, your good self even, or ‘K9 WaxJackets’ for dogs, but generally I feel folk would not find those subjects too interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

Nothing wrong with making porridge, I’m partial myself to the odd bowl.

However as a subject for discussion on national radio it could be considered boring, just like trying in new shoes, outdoor coats for dogs, or varnishing curtain poles might be.

No doubt there are some out there who would gladly debate the merits of ‘Matelot Marine Varnish’ on their poles, your good self even, or ‘K9 WaxJackets’ for dogs, but generally I feel folk would not find those subjects too interesting.

Nothing wrong with discussing outdoor coats for dogs. They aren't immune from feeling the cold.

https://blog.ruffwear.com/2015/12/15/what-dog-coat-is-best-for-my-dog/

http://blog.crosspeakproducts.com/hurtta-dog-coats-winter/

People who like dogs, would be interested in such a topic, just as much as the readers of this blog, would find a topic on varnish, of interest.

http://thecraftsmanblog.com/spar-varnish-vs-regular-varnish/

http://www.feastwatson.com.au/consumer/products/exterior/product-details/1562

What would you like them to have discussed, instead of the porridge?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

That’s impressive....four times as many links as there is sentences in your post.

sightband wrote: »
    That’s impressive....four times as many links as there is sentences in your post.

Thanks for your kind words.

Did you have a listen to any of the interviews. I thought the Mavericks were great.

I thought that was a very important and insightful observation that Brian Kennedy made, where he was speaking about witnessing the shooting dead of a person, near his home in Belfast in the 1970s.

He spoke of the fear that was felt by people, who experienced such situations, and also of an incident where, after a shooting, fear and panic was felt by someone, where it was initially thought, that the person shot, might have been a family member.

I'm sure he would not have wanted to mention the specific shooting, live on air, in case the people would be identified.

If he had mentioned the date of the shooting, it might be possible to find out which shooting he referenced, because the Conflict Archive on the Internet website includes a chronological listing of all who lost their lives during the conflict.

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/sutton/chron/index.html

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Nothing wrong with discussing outdoor coats for dogs. They aren't immune from feeling the cold.

People who like dogs, would be interested in such a topic, just as much as the readers of this blog, would find a topic on varnish, of interest.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Dont feed the trolls everyone.
    Straw poll in work yesterday. All ages , 13 people. 12 cannot stand him and 1 would listen to him possibly once a week.

versitas miracle cure patches. apparently you could cut your leg off and stick it back on with one of these patches and you’ll be as good as new. riveting stuff. unfortunately some other talentless gombeen was covering this...for a week.

i think the point is porridge may be a worthy topic of discussion sometime, and sometime only, the frequency that d’arcy discusses has me thinking he lubes himself up with the stuff before he gets jiggy with whatever his sidekick wife’s name is

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭jelutong

How often does Ray get his oats I wonder?

Well, public lavatories, social welfare abuse, salaries in RTE, dogs sh::::ing in public places, reality tv and radio, fat women in Supermarkets, and stuff like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    So he's more or less equal to what he was bringing in on Today FM (I believe he left on 212,000) and is up a nice bit on Mooney (I believe Mooney left on 170,000).

Figures off the top of my head, open to correction obviously. But I think he's been a moderate success in the slot if those are anyway close to accurate.

Radio 1 automatically gets about 150,000 who will listen to literally anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

goose2005 wrote: »
    Radio 1 automatically gets about 150,000 who will listen to literally anything.

Good to see they're spending our hard earned taxes well. All those overpaid presenters...

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

I think too much is made of the pay that Tubs & Ray get every year

In the UK that is small money

And in the USA its chicken feed

Talk show hosts over there get about $15-$20 million a year

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭superdog

gamecube wrote: »

This is not America!

gamecube wrote: »

just to pick one top earner that springs to mind, Jay Leno...according to this, he earns $15 million a year https://www.therichest.com/celebnetworth/celeb/comedian/jay-leno-net-worth/

Thats with a population of 323 million in the US...that's less than €0.04c per potential audience member in the country.

Ray, with a population 4.7 million here earning €400,000...that's €0.09 rounded per audience member here...so looks like porridge man is worth over twice as much as aul Jay Leno, relative to all of the above.

But whats most interesting about all this is that he is completely devoid of any talent...not mention an absolute ****

Ray, should realise his potential annual salary could balloon to over €30,000,000 should he give it a go in the US

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

OK, so since I'm such a cool person, with a thriving social life and many, many friends, I spent the last two hours or so on this fine Saturday evening going back through the JNLR figures as far back as 2013 Q1 and putting this together, for both the 15:00-16:30 slot on Radio 1 and the 09:00-12:00 slot on Today FM.

This gives us a picture of the trend Derek Mooney was on before being replaced by Ray, and also an idea of Ray's trend on Today FM before leaving.

I won't lie. I initially began looking into this because I wanted to make the argument that Ray has actually been a "moderate success" in the slot as I said in a previous post. However... no.

So, because everyone loves a good graph, here's two graphs!

441283.png
    Here, you can see that Ray began 2013 with a peak of 243,000 listeners. He then steadily declined to around 215,000 when he departed in autumn 2014, barring a blip upwards in early 2014.

Then everything just pretty much collapses.

441284.png
    Here, you can see Derek Mooney was pretty stable during 2013, and then as rumours of his imminent departure from the station began to grow, his figures tanked to a low of 183,000 when he finally left. Ray, to his credit, made some immediate gains, and climbed up to a peak of 226,000, which is higher than Mooney had in the period examined.

For those of you who, like me, prefer a sexy table, here's a sexy table with the figures!
    441285.png

So, what have we learned from this?

Well, IMO, from a solely Radio 1 perspective, Ray's been a bit of a flop. At this point, he's 24,000 listeners ahead of where he took over which, in itself, is laudable. However, I would argue that Derek Mooney would have been well capable of achieving similar figures had RTE backed him as opposed to letting his show sort of fizzle out as they prepared for the arrival of Ray D'Arcy.

Consider also that, as it stands, a massive 167,000 people switch off Radio 1 when Ray D'Arcy comes on air. As many people as listen to most of Today FM's shows just switch away from Radio 1 when Ray starts talking. That's... troubling.

Now, from a broader RTE perspective, you could argue that yes, bringing Ray D'Arcy in has been a success. In doing so, they've effectively crippled Today FM. Today FM had been dominating the commercial market up until Ray's departure, and with the chaos that's ensued in the aftermath, 2FM have been capitalising. So, any assessment of his success has to take that into account.

So, ultimately, I don't know how to sum this up. From a station specific point of view, I don't think he's added anything to Radio 1. From an RTE perspective, maybe he's benefited them in that their main opposition has been neutered? And maybe when you take that into account alongside the TV show (not sure how that's doing figures wise) and the marginal stabilising of the Radio 1 slot it's all been worthwhile?

The majority of the figures for this post were taken from the wonderful ilevel.ie. The rest were taken from various sources including thejournal.ie, radiotoday.com and a thread here on the forum.

Thanks for putting the time into making the graph & going through the figures

I don't know was RTE's plan to cripple Today fm to help 2fm or that they really wanted Ray on RTE radio, I guess we'll never know the answer to that question

But it's fair to say that Today fm have not recovered from losing Ray from his 9am slot, even Ray on a downward slide is 55,000 listeners ahead of Dermot & Dave

But if it was me making the decision i would be delighted that i got Today FM's top man

Should he be doing better on Radio 1? Yes but was he ever the correct fit for the listeners to that station in the first place?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Mcloone would be a step in the right direction at the 9am slot. The slot works well with a mature host and good guests. A good example of perfect radio was Anton Savage interviewing Billy idol. It's all gone wrong now

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Fair play WN. That's very interesting. I knew Mooney was losing listeners but I didn't realise He was dive bombing that much.

Well, public lavatories, social welfare abuse, salaries in RTE, dogs sh::::ing in public places, reality tv and radio, fat women in Supermarkets, and stuff like that.

Would you really be inclined to watch it, if you knew that "fat women in supermarkets", and toilets, were the topics for discussion?

Would you not watch a discussion about fat men in supermarkets?

If you were the interviewer, what angle would you take on the issue of "dogs sh::::ing in public places"?

Who would you like to interview to ponder this particular issue?

On social welfare fraud, would you discuss Leo Varadkar telling lies about that issue, exaggerating the numbers of incidences of fraud, as part of his leadership campaign?

Bernadette Gorman, former Inspector at the Department of Social Protection, states in this Sean O'Rourke show discussion, that Varadkar exaggerated this issue.

She said:

"Fraud would come up from time to time, but I have to say, it was always very, very miniscule". She used the phrase "The fraud I came across was so miniscule, it never required a sledge hammer to crack a nut. It was always very small".

She expressed concern about Varadkar's approach on this issue. She said "This is a hate campaign and the statistics are incorrect".

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21173446_15036_15-05-2017_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/today-with-sean-o-rourke/programmes/2017/0515/875224-today-with-sean-o-rourke-monday-15-may-2017/

http://www.thejournal.ie/fact-check-leo-varadkar-welfare-cheats-3404165-Jun2017/

Dont feed the trolls everyone.
    Straw poll in work yesterday. All ages , 13 people. 12 cannot stand him and 1 would listen to him possibly once a week.

"Everyone", that's very scientific research there.

Would you really be inclined to watch it, if you knew that "fat women in supermarkets", and toilets, were the topics for discussion?

If you were the interviewer, what angle would you take on the issue of "dogs sh::::ing in public places"?

On social welfare fraud, would you discuss Leo Varadkar telling lies about that issue, exaggerating the numbers of incidences of fraud, as part of his leadership campaign?

Bernadette Gorman, former Inspector at the Department of Social Protection, states in this Sean O'Rourke show discussion, that Varadkar exaggerated this issue.

She said:

"Fraud would come up from time to time, but I have to say, it was always very, very miniscule". She used the phrase "The fraud I came across was so miniscule, it never required a sledge hammer to crack a nut. It was always very small".

She expressed concern about Varadkar's approach on this issue. She said "This is a hate campaign and the statistics are incorrect".

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/today-with-sean-o-rourke/programmes/2017/0515/875224-today-with-sean-o-rourke-monday-15-may-2017/

http://www.thejournal.ie/fact-check-leo-varadkar-welfare-cheats-3404165-Jun2017/

You see my friend, she was indeed telling the truth.
    The fraud "she came across" was minescule.
    That's a bí it different to saying "fraud is miniscule".

All you have to do is actually look for it in a proactive way, and it's there,my friend, it's there.

Maybe an outdoor camera in Marley Park would highlight the dog issue, or are you going to produce six or seven spurious links to suggest the dog spatther in parks is NOT an issue.

We have to get real here

Well done Dubya Nolan for those graphs.

Very well put together

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Well done Dubya Nolan for those graphs.

Very well put together

Let's hope Horse doesn't find any issues with them...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

sligojoek wrote: »
    Fair play WN. That's very interesting. I knew Mooney was losing listeners but I didn't realise He was dive bombing that much.

See, I think Mooney's figures aren't really representative of his performance in that slot. His big loss (down to 198,000) came in Q3. The Irish Mirror began reporting that he was due to leave in September, which is basically the same time.
    He announced he was leaving in December, and Ray took over early next year, so you can also discount the 183,000 figure as being an abnormally high loss due to the uncertainty and the month of fill-in shows.

Mooney was definitely trending downward. It's possible that had he stayed, he'd have continued to trend downward. But, based on the figures we have, his lowest meaningful figures (Q2 2014) were 213,000, which is 6,000 ahead of where Ray D'Arcy is after 3 years in the slot.

If RTE had backed Mooney in the slot, ran a few ad campaigns, maybe done a slight shake up of the format, I genuinely think he could have bounced back. I mean, it's not as if he even dropped that many listeners before Q3 2014, he'd gone from 225,000 to 213,000.

It's interesting, I would have bought into the narrative that Mooney was tanking the slot before I looked into the figures. But having looked at them, I think Mooney's "legacy" in the slot is unfairly summed up as his last two books which were, as I already said, released in an atmosphere where it was pretty clear he was leaving the station.

Was there any other time slot they could have put Darcy into than the 3pm one on Radio 1?

If they put him on 2fm at 9am he would be competing directly with Tubridy on Radio 1

Put Ray on Radio 1 at 9am he competes with Tubs on 2fm at the same time also

Even though he's on at 3pm since the past 3 years I still find it weird hearing him at that time instead of 9am

You see my friend, she was indeed telling the truth.
    The fraud "she came across" was minescule.
    That's a bí it different to saying "fraud is miniscule".

All you have to do is actually look for it in a proactive way, and it's there,my friend, it's there.

Maybe an outdoor camera in Marley Park would highlight the dog issue, or are you going to produce six or seven spurious links to suggest the dog spatther in parks is NOT an issue.

We have to get real here

She was correct in saying that Varadkar was exaggerating the numbers of cases of fraud.

http://www.newstalk.com/Former-social-welfare-inspector-hits-out-at-antifraud-campaign

Bernadette Gorman, is quoted in this Newstalk item:

"The former inspector argued that staff have been extremely effective at stamping out fraud.
    She said: "You would imagine - by listening to Leo Varadkar and Regina Doherty - that Leo Varadkar magicked the notion into the social welfare code of anti-fraud activities. The reality is there has always been very, very highly efficient anti-fraud activities within the department structure and statutes.
    "Are you saying to me, or is Regina Doherty saying to me, that the methods whereby the fraud was policed for all those years was inefficient? I can tell you it wasn't".

http://www.newstalk.com/Former-social-welfare-inspector-hits-out-at-antifraud-campaign

You haven't answered my question as to whether you would be inclined to tune in, if you knew the particular topics, that you mentioned, were going to be discussed.

The point is, that no matter what is discussed on the show, there is a risk that someone, somewhere will not find it interesting.

For example, someone, somewhere will think that someone isn't a big enough celebrity, to be interviewed.

Someone, somewhere, might even think that the presenter shouldn't interview a guest in a particular way, depending on whatever celebrity media profile that guest has, at the time of the interview.

Someone, somewhere might even suggest that the presenter shouldn't interview a guest in a certain a way, because that guest might not have "full limelight" status.

Someone else will consider that a guest is "a complete nobody" just because they haven't heard of the guest before. One person posting in this forum who thinks someone they haven't heard of before is "a complete nobody", doesn't mean, that the person referred to, is "a complete nobody".

If you enjoy Ray D'Arcy just enjoy him Horseburger

Don't take the jabs against him personally!

I don't, and I've been listening to him since he started on Today fm October 2000

Is he the perfect presenter? I would have to say no but I think that's why I like him

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

She said:

i have to say i strongly disagree concerning welfare fraud . abuse of the system is rampant and has become a way of life in most areas. The course of my work has me regularly in so called deprived areas, and i would believe that there is no story concerning fraud that is not potentially true. If you know how to play the system then there seems to be no end of money. No one asks too many questions , or wants to rock the boat . Its far easier to milk the poor fools who play by the rules and dont dare confront the crazy situation where people make a lifestyle choice to scam the system for every penny they can

Why would you think that I would?

Why didn't you address that question to the poster, who wrote the item, to which you refer, rather than Brendan Bendar?

Clearly the poster, wnolan1992, in the post to which you refer, is not just insulting people for the sake of smart assed-ness. The poster has taken the time to write a detailed post, with useful information.