Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 7,228 ✭✭✭plodder

No they wouldn't let a blind runner have a male running with her. They had to change their mind after a big back lash.
    Oh, there's been plenty of cases where lads who wanted to dress in drag were refused entry, or entered falsely as women, or just ran anyway, and were refused a medal and goody bag, and then kicked up a stink afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

plodder wrote: »
    Oh, there's been plenty of cases where lads who wanted to dress in drag were refused entry, or entered falsely as women, or just ran anyway, and were refused a medal and goody bag, and then kicked up a stink afterwards.

Indeed but this was slightly different, it was a blind runner with a male guide runner who she ran with at all events.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

goochy wrote: »
    womens marathon makes me sick - imagine if we had a mens marathon - some feminazis actually have a problem with men dressed as women running for charity . All double standards - we want equality but only when it suits us and we can discriminate against men not other way round down. Not surprised Jenny does it.

Avoid watching the Olympics goochy. The outdated despicable segregation of genders in that relic of a "sporting" event is vomit-inducing.

:pac: :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Avoid watching the Olympics goochy. The outdated despicable segregation of genders in that relic of a "sporting" event is vomit-inducing.

the winter olympics is ok, they had mixed doubles in the ice brushing competition

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

neris wrote: »
    the winter olympics is ok, they had mixed doubles in the ice brushing competition

Ya but the women are so much better at the brushing with all the pratice at home and all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Sterling_One

The Ray D'arcy of today is, in my opinion, an even worse presenter than Ryan Tubridy. Uninspiring, sanctimonious and inert, he is not worth a quarter of his ludicrous salary. I enjoyed his show on Today FM in the early to mid 00's, it was fun, irreverent and inspired. He's now become cynical, jaded and ennui inducing. I take great issue with the amount of days he is missing each year(same with Joe Duffy, considering his(their) outrageous salary(ies).

I know that a lot of people didn't think much of him either, but you could never accuse Gerry Ryan of being boring. He had that unique quality to relax and excite in equal measure. This is a fantastic interview he did with Anthony Daniels of Star Wars fame. The likes of D'arcy could learn a thing or two from it... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UuWyFn5u54

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

The Ray D'Arcy of today is a lot different to the Ray D'Arcy of 12/13 years ago

But to be honest he had Jenny, Mairead & Will bantering with him throughout his best years

They helped make the show great too

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

The prize for a mammy today was very funny

Best segment Ray has done for a while, it will make anybody smile to listen back to it later

• Registered Users Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭goochy

Ray said to the woman ' you don't sound like you cry much ' - so tactile.

could being around his annoying other half be making Ray the person he is ? never listened to him b4 he joined radio 1

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

gamecube wrote: »
    The Ray D'Arcy of today is a lot different to the Ray D'Arcy of 12/13 years ago

But to be honest he had Jenny, Mairead & Will bantering with him throughout his best years

They helped make the show great too

Not forgetting the unseen staff inc Siobhan who booked the guests, who went to work later on the RDS!
    plodder wrote: »

I've seen plenty of charity runs with fellas with large appendages/knockers running around :D
    I don't know the problem with people not allowing it?

No doubt Jenny will make sure wannabe woman Ray spends todays show all on Womens day - cant wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he is such a little aul one

Philip Boucher hayes nice contrast to Ray. not surprised Ray has hung out with vegans - its very middle class and liberal like

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Why do men die younger? Ray has it all worked out. Because they take more risks and because they are more likely to be involved in violence. Can you tell me any other demographic that he would be allowed get away with this stereotype. Would Ray have ever said that about Traveller men?

His "embarrassment for simply being a man" really gets on my wick. I think it's just a populist construct to appeal to the liberals that run the media. I'm sure he got a lot of slaps on the back from all the Twitter echo chambers yesterday, but I think the guy is just an insidious, cowardly, populist influence. I think it is actually dangerous that this man is allowed to influence the next generation as they sit in the car on the way home from school.

The show is meant to be light entertainment, but D'Arcy uses it every day as a vehicle to subtly ram his opinions down our throats. He can f**k right off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Only old fogies listen to the radio. Kids are too busy looking up porn on their phones to be bothered about radio.

sorry but remember who he is married to ! obviously being brain washed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

His "embarrassment for simply being a man" really gets on my wick. I think it's just a populist construct to appeal to the liberals that run the media.

so do I, but I also think it’s a technique used by broadcasters to mask their shortcomings or lack of talent, chris donoghue was a champion of this. they are desperate to be liked or approved of by listeners because deep down they realise that they are absolutely shįte at what they are supposed to be doing. i seriously doubt if d’arcy believes in half the tripe he comes out with as its so extreme. he’s an arsehole.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

The show is meant to be light entertainment, but D'Arcy uses it every day as a vehicle to subtly ram his opinions down our throats. He can f**k right off.

I agree wholeheartedly with your post except for one thing: Ray is anything but subtle in the way he rams his politically correct opinions down our throats. He does it clearly and deliberately. RTE must be aware that he is not even-handed in any way yet they continue to pay his outrageous salary out of my pocket (and yours) without a whisper of criticism. Drives me demented.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,037 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Jaysus - Darcy has managed to get 3 of the most annoying people in the country on his show today. Louise O Neill, Nathan Carter and Conor Pope.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

D'arcy brushes his teeth 3 times a day for anyone hat missed it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

ray has the research and reading skills of alan partridge i.e none

Fair play to this girl able to buy a house sez D'Arcy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

what an utter bufoon both of them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

I don't think that even ray takes this one seriously

No time for her but at least she told Ray off - bet he didn't like that !
    As a Dub living in Cork - I bet they were glad to see the back of her down this way as shes more suited to Dublin - remember her saying her farmer father didn't know what to make of her. Probably says to the missus ' that daughter of ours talks some ****e '

How does that gob****e Conor Pope get to sit on the main stand on Paddys day ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

His Ken Dodd tribute was very moving, I loved the bit where he chuckled uncontrollably at Ken’s absolute belter of a gag “My act is very educational. I heard a man leaving the other night, saying: 'Well, that taught me a lesson”...all very genuine of course by D’Arcy.

He sounded like he was about to f*ck the mic on the ground and ask how much his pension pot was worth if he left there and then. I’ve never heard anyone so disinterested in what they do.

Ray got excited when he thought Nathan was a pioneer - got it wrong again - great research - should have given out to him like Louise did.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Des Cahill: "Two of the big races today on Ray D'Arcy".
    So there we have clarification there that Ray's protest against horse racing / Cheltenham/ gambling is finished, and he's now fully on board. The only thing consistent about Ray D'Arcy is his inconsistency.

Des Cahill: "Two of the big races today on Ray D'Arcy".
    So there we have clarification there that Ray's protest against horse racing / Cheltenham/ gambling is finished, and he's now fully on board. The only thing consistent about Ray D'Arcy is his inconsistency.

hopefully he will be doing an indepth interview and will go late to the race like he does Nuacht

Tommy Turnip