Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

More soft soaping

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Load of bolix. They want to do as they please....and expect us to tolerate their attitude,lifestyle lack of responsibility....let's face facts ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Deedsie wrote: »
    This week every year reminds what a self righteous whine he really is. He wont even acknowledge cheltenham is on I guarantee it.

But give it a week when he is interviewing a successful trainer or jockey. Its like the lotto gives out about it but is the first to ring the winning shop

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

When talking about the low life expectancy rate for travellers he didn't mention anything about reckless behaviour or risk taking. Or does that only apply to settled men?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭goochy

never thought I would see the day when I would be glad to hear Brendas voice on radio - that's what Ray does to you !

as a lover of good looking full figured women - might not love Brendas voice but shes easy on the eye.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,632 ✭✭✭giveitholly

And contrast the change over to Cheltenham for the racing,great to see a bit of general chit chat between Brenda and the racing commentators

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

BPKS wrote: »
    Jaysus - Darcy has managed to get 3 of the most annoying people in the country on his show today. Louise O Neill, Nathan Carter and Conor Pope.

Why do you consider Nathan Carter to be annoying?

Any time I've heard him interviewed, I thought he came across very sound.

I thought in a previous interview that he came across sound, and very appreciate of the support he gets, from all that attend his shows.

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_10639009_19148_26-10-2016_

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21078428_19148_26-10-2016_

He also spoke on the show on 30th March 2017.

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21152734_19148_30-03-2017_

On the show, I thought he gave an interesting perspective, in an interview with Ray D'Arcy, on the planning of live concert shows, when he spoke to Ray D'Arcy, about the planning that went into his first show in the 3 Arena on 1st April 2017, a show which was promoted by Aiken Promotions.

He said that it was intended to have a layout to cater for 5000 capacity but it sold out within three weeks. He said they then got confirmation that they could sell more tickets, so they then used the layout with a capacity of 9000.

Nathan Carter said Peter Aiken approached him with the idea of doing arena shows, and Nathan Carter's initial response was that he wasn't sure that it'd work, as he had not done venues of the size of the SSE Arena in Belfast, or the 3 Arena, before.

He underestimated himself, in thinking it wouldn't work.

Here's the performance he did, on the show, of his then new single Livin' The Dream:

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/1335547423169624/

He performed another song on the show, but unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a facebook video of it, on the RTE page.

He was also interviewed in July 2017:

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21203117_19148_14-07-2017_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/programmes/2017/0714/890236-ray-darcy-friday-14-july-2017/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Why do you consider Nathan Carter to be annoying?....followed by blah blah blah and heaps of links

I see your ban has been lifted. F*ck, and he's out of the traps like a demented mole digging with the same muck.

Crying shame, the thread had gotten some momentum going in discussion which was mostly to do with radio and not Ray D'arcy deflection spam which you specialise in.

C'mere, did you catch D'arcy's performance today? He's some serious waste of tax paying money isn't he?

***{INSERT COPIOUS AMOUNTS OF IRRELEVANT USELESS LINKS HERE IN RESPONSE}***

• Registered Users Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭goochy

cant remember what he said exactly but he took the piss out of Ray too- would love to go on Rays show and make a show of him - Dustin does it and Vincent Browne did it too - priceless -

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Mod: People, back and forth personal bickering is not something that is going to be allowed here. Some posts deleted. Cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,037 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Thanks for those links Horse.

After taking the time to read and view them all I am now a huge fan of Nathan Carter.

I have also spent €300 ordering oversized jeans, desert boots, a check shirt and a cowboy hat. I hope I dont regret it.

Thanks for those links Horse.

After taking the time to read and view them all I am now a huge fan of Nathan Carter.

I have also spent €300 ordering oversized jeans, desert boots, a check shirt and a cowboy hat. I hope I dont regret it.

I didn't question whether or not you were a fan of his music. I questioned why you said he was annoying.

He seems to be a pretty sound person.

I thought the comment he made, discussing how he didn't expect to sell enough tickets, to merit playing a venue as big as the 3 Arena, was interesting.

He mentioned that when Aiken Promotions proposed playing there, he said he wasn't sure it'd work out, but when they sold 5000 tickets, it meant that they could then open other seated blocks of the venue, for ticket sales.

In the 3 Arena, often the upper balcony blocks H to P, are partitioned off with the screen that looks like a brick wall, but it sounds like that was not the case, with the show Nathan Carter played on 1st April 2017.

He contrasted playing venues like the 3 Arena Dublin, and the SSE Arena (Odyssey Arena) Belfast, with having played in smaller venues over a 10 year period. For example he said he was due to play a show in a hotel in Slane some years earlier, where nine people turned up.

He said the people who turned up to the show got tickets to a next show.

Next week he'll have Ruby Walsh on discussing his broken leg . How emotional it was and what was going through his head.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Just to agree with horseburger for once, I think Nathan Carter is a decent guy. Good enough singer too, but he's gonna be forever singing Wagon Wheel by the look of it, as none of his other songs are as good. But he seems like a genuine guy, if not a bit of a cartoon like The Monkees.

What was the whole nonsense about Ruby Walsh and his broken leg. Everybody was saying "Oh how unfortunate and it was the same leg again". Was I the only one thinking that "he came back too soon" ?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Why do you consider Nathan Carter to be annoying?

Any time I've heard him interviewed, I thought he came across very sound.

I thought in a previous interview that he came across sound, and very appreciate of the support he gets, from all that attend his shows.

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_10639009_19148_26-10-2016_

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21078428_19148_26-10-2016_

He also spoke on the show on 30th March 2017.

On the show, I thought he gave an interesting perspective, in an interview with Ray D'Arcy, on the planning of live concert shows, when he spoke to Ray D'Arcy, about the planning that went into his first show in the 3 Arena on 1st April 2017, a show which was promoted by Aiken Promotions.

He said that it was intended to have a layout to cater for 5000 capacity but it sold out within three weeks. He said they then got confirmation that they could sell more tickets, so they then used the layout with a capacity of 9000.

Nathan Carter said Peter Aiken approached him with the idea of doing arena shows, and Nathan Carter's initial response was that he wasn't sure that it'd work, as he had not done venues of the size of the SSE Arena in Belfast, or the 3 Arena, before.

He underestimated himself, in thinking it wouldn't work.

Here's the performance he did, on the show, of his then new single Livin' The Dream:

https://www.facebook.com/rteradio1/videos/1335547423169624/

He performed another song on the show, but unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a facebook video of it, on the RTE page.

He was also interviewed in July 2017:

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21203117_19148_14-07-2017_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/programmes/2017/0714/890236-ray-darcy-friday-14-july-2017/

Have you ever heard his "music"? He should be executed

His style of music may well be described as the lighter end of country, but that wasn't the point of my post.

I was countering the contention, that Nathan Carter is annoying, which is what was stated by the poster, to whom I responded.

Nathan Carter seems pretty sound and likeable, in any of the interviews, in which I've heard him participate.

I think an execution - as a penalty for playing a style of music which results in him being popular enough to be able to play concerts in venues as large as the SSE Arena Belfast, The 3 Arena Dublin, and the Marquee in Cork - might be a somewhat extreme punishment.

Just to agree with horseburger for once, I think Nathan Carter is a decent guy. Good enough singer too, but he's gonna be forever singing Wagon Wheel by the look of it, as none of his other songs are as good. But he seems like a genuine guy, if not a bit of a cartoon like The Monkees.

What was the whole nonsense about Ruby Walsh and his broken leg. Everybody was saying "Oh how unfortunate and it was the same leg again". Was I the only one thinking that "he came back too soon" ?

Nathan Carter is grand if you're into that sort of thing. I wouldn't pay money to see him in my local, let alone the Point. He's had a good enough leg up from RTE at this stage. Let him stand on his own two feet now and pay for his own advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Ray was giving it his usual, populist "guilt for having a penis" routine today... "This is your life. Many Irish men have been on the show. But not Irish women. No.... Irish..... women..." followed by the usual Ray D'Arcy pause (and sigh) for reflection and guilt.

A few minutes later - "A text in saying that Maureen O'Hara was on the show" quickly followed by "A text in saying that Christina Noble was also on the show. How did we miss that?" I'm guessing because it's because you put being populist ahead of proper research, and that neither you nor your researchers could find a haystack in a haystack.

Amazing how Ray, the self appointed custodian of morality for the Irish people, has completely relented on his first season boycott of anything related to Cheltenham or gambling. I'm guessing that was probably "somebody else's idea" as well, Ray.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

I'm a huge fan of Damo and Ivor, can't wait to see the film.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

D'Arcy to Roisin O yesterday: "so you're O'Reilly...and your mother is black!" :pac:

What a tool!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

D'Arcy to Roisin O yesterday: "so you're O'Reilly...and your mother is black!" :pac:

What a tool!

The illusion of saying something controversial on radio must be some buzz.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,037 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Tubridy was talking about eating sugar sandwiches yesterday (I think while he was at the visit of the Pope?) which resulted in loads of people texting in saying they used to enjoy that as a treat in the 60's and 70's.

I'd say Ray must have been absolutely fuming. Imagine it - white bread and sugar. Together. Its akin to having a cocktail of coke and Ecstasy on Planet Ray.

Tubridy was talking about eating sugar sandwiches yesterday (I think while he was at the visit of the Pope?) which resulted in loads of people texting in saying they used to enjoy that as a treat in the 60's and 70's.

I'd say Ray must have been absolutely fuming. Imagine it - white bread and sugar. Together. Its akin to having a cocktail of coke and Ecstasy on Planet Ray.

"Absolutely fuming" that Ryan Tubridy was talking about sugar sandwiches?

Are you being serious?

Do you not think that Ray D'Arcy is just highlighting that sugar is contained in food and drinks, and that people, may not be considering the problems that can arise from consuming those items on a regular basis, for example fizzy drinks and alcohol.

http://andykennyfitness.ie/sugar-calories-in-beer-stout-cider/

I don't think he is saying sugar should not used at all. I think he is reasoning that it should be used in moderation.

On Thursday 1st March 2018, Louise Lennox was on the show, giving tips for baking scones, with ingredients including sugar.

The recipe is on the website.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/programmes/2018/0301/944440-ray-darcy-thursday-1-march-2018/

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_10843081_19148_01-03-2018_

http://foodoppi.com/about-foodoppi/

Donal O'Shea was recently interviewed on the show, discussing the sugar content in food and drinks.

He was interviewed on 10th October 2017 and Monday 19th February 2018

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21250075_19148_10-10-2017_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/programmes/2017/1010/911298-ray-darcy-tuesday-10-october-2017/

https://rte.ie/r.html?rii=b9_21320641_19148_19-02-2018_

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/ray/programmes/2018/0219/941879-ray-darcy-monday-19-february-2018/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/budget18-sugar-tax-introduced-on-fizzy-drinks-809269.html

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

this thread is like Ray himself. used to be fun.

Calling Ray D'Arcy a "tool" is great fun?
    D'Arcy to Róisin O yesterday: "so you're O'Reilly...and your mother is black!"

What a tool!

All he was saying was that there might be people listening, who may not realise, that Róisin O, is Mary Black's daughter, and that Danny O'Reilly of The Coronas is Róisin O's brother, and Mary Black's son.

That doesn't merit Ray D'Arcy being called a "tool".

Mary Black's surname is Black, not "black".

Why was artvanderlay, trying to smart assed-ly suggest, that Ray D'Arcy was trying to say something other, than mention that Róisin O, is a member of the Black family of musicians and singers. Ray D'Arcy went on to mention Mary and Frances Black. Ray D'Arcy wasn't suggesting anything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Happy days, sugar sandwiches, lol. And salad cream sandwiches. The 70s rocked!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Dermot is in love with the number 19.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Ray could have said "you're O'Reilly, and your mother is Mary Black...not your mother is black, which is how it sounded. And fyi horse, you can't tell if Ray's capitalising the letter b from listening to him. There is a difference between hearing something, and reading something. It sounded stupid the way Ray said it, ignorant and uninformed, but that's his thing isn't it? I'd say about 10 people know that Roisin O is actually Mary Black's daughter, so yes it would have been better if Ray had given a more informative introduction rather than his casual approach. I actually laughed out loud at how Alan Partridge-like this sounded, but then remembered Ray is getting paid fairly well for his amateurism.

Naturally I turned it off after 5 mins...listening to Roisin O and her brother talking about getting their band name from meeting Peter Dinklage from Game of Thrones. What horse****! Nepotism rules in RTE, and the Blacks are right at home :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

He ran his interview with Dermot Bannon up to 4 o'clock, then took the ad break.

I've a theory that it's a cunning plan. People tune in to hear the news and they are subjected to ads.

Ray could have said "you're O'Reilly, and your mother is Mary Black...not your mother is black, which is how it sounded. And fyi horse, you can't tell if Ray's capitalising the letter b from listening to him. There is a difference between hearing something, and reading something. It sounded stupid the way Ray said it, ignorant and uninformed, but that's his thing isn't it? I'd say about 10 people know that Roisin O is actually Mary Black's daughter, so yes it would have been better if Ray had given a more informative introduction rather than his casual approach. I actually laughed out loud at how Alan Partridge-like this sounded, but then remembered Ray is getting paid fairly well for his amateurism.

Naturally I turned it off after 5 mins...listening to Roisin O and her brother talking about getting their band name from meeting Peter Dinklage from Game of Thrones. What horse****! Nepotism rules in RTE, and the Blacks are right at home :)

You know full well that when Ray D'Arcy said Black, that he was referring to Mary Black's surname, and nothing else.

You were trying to suggest something else, when, in your post, you wrote Black, with a small b.

You wrote O'Reilly with a capital O and R, but you wrote Black, with a small b.

If I wanted to be smart assed with you, and accuse you of something, for which I have no evidence, I could just as easily suggest that you are being racist, considering the negative way you wrote that "the Blacks are right at home" in RTE.

You wrote, with a negative tone, that "the Blacks are right at home" in RTE.

You did not write "the Black's are right at home" in RTE.

It is not clear, by the way you wrote that sentence, and the way that you omitted the apostrophe, whether or not you are referring to black people, or to the Black family.