Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

sleeveen digs at Kenny

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Does mrs doyle get the kit off in eastenders like she did in Shameless?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Eastenders - English scrotes shouting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Decent choice of music :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,343 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Decent choice of music :eek:

He probably hit the wrong button again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I could listen to Paul McGrath for the day.

He seems like such an interesting character.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

If Mooney was still on we'd be listening to Eanna around now, or maybe Alan Hughes, aren't they interesting enough for ya??

I got goose bumps listening to the commentary clips from Ireland Italy and I don't even like soccer

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If ever a man deserves to have a statue erected in his honour or a bridge named after him its Paul McGrath

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

'' Do loads of people offer ya drink'' Ehm no Ray hes a recovering alcoholic which pretty much everyone knows.

Ray can't understand that he still takes a drink

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Ray can't understand that he still takes a drink

Thus the reason he can't understand 50 shades of grey...........to him there's only black or white.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

It hardly matters that he is interesting: he has a wonderful speaking voice, lovely to listen to. The fact that he has things to say is a bonus. It's a further bonus that he can string his words together into properly-constructed sentences.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭neris

Poor ray. The rugbys got a bit rough and physical for him to watch. Maybe he should go watch the ballet.

But then knowing ray he,ll be giving out that the ballerina has to be on her toes for the whole show

Poor Ray, he feels there's no place for small men in modern rugby and he seems upset about his theory.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Oh dear,Asking Nigel Owens who will win the 6 nations

my friend wrote: »
    Poor Ray, he feels there's no place for small men in modern rugby and he seems upset about his theory.

Id say rays had that theory since the days he "played a bit of rugby" and found out that it was a bit rough

• Registered Users Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I see that mailbag rubbish has moved with him

That's 3 snipes at Enda Kenny so far on today's show
    1 x Ray
    1 x stupid tea bag from Fr. Ted
    1 x ball bag Arthur

But of a theme form Ireland's former number 1 Bertie fanboy Ray.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

lertsnim wrote: »
    I see that mailbag rubbish has moved with him

Yes. Really lazy I think.

lazygal wrote: »
    Yes. Really lazy I think.

The whole thing is lazy. Like a carbon copy of today fm

neris wrote: »

squeezed into half the time

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

The lad from rte archives on now...next Friday the Rte postman will be on

well hey why not hes already covered the lady who works in the canteen selling cheap slop

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭johnire

OMG. It riles me to think that this person is being paid by me through my licence fee to the tune of around €500,000.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

johnire wrote: »
    OMG. It riles me to think that this person is being paid by me through my licence fee to the tune of around €500,000.

Have you actual proof of that figure or just make it up?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

He actually rubbished that amount in his RTE Guide interview. He said that it was nowhere near that figure and that he actually took a pay cut. He also said that RTE had been tapping him up for ages, so maybe Jenny leaving the show was all staged.

With regards to his actual wages, won't the figures be released in a couple of years anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭nc6000

BaZmO* wrote: »
    He also said that RTE had been tapping him up for ages, so maybe Jenny leaving the show was all staged.

I think you can lose the maybe. It seems pretty obvious that Jenny "leaving to spend more time with the kids" was very much staged.

It's for things like this that the phrase cute hoor was invented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Oh dear,Asking Nigel Owens who will win the 6 nations

You know if he'd asked Craig Joubert who was gonna win the 2011 RWC final, you couldnt have blamed him..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

y. Like a carbon copy of today fm

Honestly, what were you expecting?

Using rugby as an example, ulster brought ruan pienaar over as a 9 or a 10. Why would you bring him over and ask him to play hooker or prop?

Darcy has been doing his thing for over a decade. I think it's fairly safe to assume rte knew what he was about..warts and all! They weren't bringing him to play country and western music or discuss the news. They have other shows for this. He's light entertainment, human interest etc....

There actually seems to be a cohort of idiots here who seem to think rte brought him on a reportedly large but unconfirmed salary and told him to make his show conform to one of their set formats but he just goes off with will and Jenny and belts away and does his own thing.

Once again, I've heard very little of his show. From the little I've heard I wouldn't go outa my way to catch it.