Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Good stuff - those tunes :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

This! After that Liveline???

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

poor young lad..... but more misery from RTE!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

poor young lad..... but more misery from RTE!!

The national pastime , misery and overly emotive claptrap

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

I'm not ashamed to admit that i am in tears listening to that father:(

make sure and pull over the lorry

• Registered Users Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

my friend wrote: »
    The national pastime , misery and overly emotive claptrap

Your some representative of the nation so, have you ever posted anything positive?
    make sure and pull over the lorry

That's original

• Registered Users Posts: 19,405 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Have to say that lady living in New York is doing my head in.

That accent is .... Pure vile.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,524 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Puppeh!

Maeve Higgins? she had a weekly slot on the todayfm show about 7-8 years back

I'm sure she's a lovely person but that accent would make me want to stab a fork in my eyes.

New Yauerrk.

Nah !

like, like, like, like.........................

• Registered Users Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

I'm sure she's a lovely person but that accent would make me want to stab a fork in my eyes.

New Yauerrk.

Nah !

Not as annoying as eveyone's friend who talks so much sense(?) Michael Harding. Can't stand him.

He heh heh , I see where you are coming from, I am " on the fence" regarding Michael, says some sensible stuff,but maybe after a bad night on the beer he might irritate me.

Jury is out:D

He heh heh , I see where you are coming from, I am " on the fence" regarding Michael, says some sensible stuff,but maybe after a bad night on the beer he might irritate me.

Jury is out:D

The stage Irishman accent.

Nah, genuine Leitrim accent it seems to me.

Pronounce 's' as 'sssh' as in ' did you see Molly pulling up her drawerrrsh'

Cue Colm O'Rourke....

Nah, genuine Leitrim accent it seems to me.

Pronounce 's' as 'sssh' as in ' did you see Molly pulling up her drawerrrsh'

Cue Colm O'Rourke....

Don't know bout that, I had a big Leitrim man working for me and he doesn't talk like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Rosie Gardens

Ahhh, a little lad offering his communion money for Sebastian.

That's one of the sweetest things I've heard in a while!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

The Nuacht newsreader didn't seem to impressed with Ray today.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,742 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Don't know bout that, I had a big Leitrim man working for me and he doesn't talk like him.

I always thought it was more of a Sligo thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Ray needs to have someone in the studio with him.

I thought he was grand on Today FM but when I tuned in yesterday and today, it just sounds like he's talking to himself...

He needs someone to bounce off and to challenge some of the things he says particularly in the opening minutes of the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Ray needs to have someone in the studio with him.

I thought he was grand on Today FM but when I tuned in yesterday and today, it just sounds like he's talking to himself...

He needs someone to bounce off and to challenge some of the things he says particularly in the opening minutes of the show.

Maybe.. but there was too much 'Jenny & Will' butting in when he started out in this slot. Maybe RTE should make it a proper two hander show, for variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

BarryD wrote: »
    Maybe.. but there was too much 'Jenny & Will' butting in when he started out in this slot. Maybe RTE should make it a proper two hander show, for variety.

"The Ray and John Murray Show".

evilivor wrote: »
    "The Ray and John Murray Show".

Poor John has suffered from enough depression without putting in a studio with him:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Nice intro to the nuacht by Ray today:

"Unfortunately we've to go to the studios of RnaG for nuacht"

To give him his due Ray has dealt very well and with appropriate sensitivity and empathy in the Sebastian story. It would bring tears to a stone and fair play to him for bringing it to the publics attention.
    When he played the little drummer boy I was a bit of a wreck for a few seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭johnire

He really is an incredibly rude little man.

Red Fred wrote: »
    Nice intro to the nuacht by Ray today:

"Unfortunately we've to go to the studios of RnaG for nuacht"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

To give him his due Ray has dealt very well and with appropriate sensitivity and empathy in the Sebastian story. It would bring tears to a stone and fair play to him for bringing it to the publics attention.
    When he played the little drummer boy I was a bit of a wreck for a few seconds.

Do you drive articulated or fixed body?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Ha ha. Oliver callan just nailed ray with a brilliant one liner on the Saturday night show!

Oliver asked "what are you doing with the sofa, by the way"

Brendan replies " I presume they'll be re upholstering for the next fellow"

Oliver "ya, this is too cheerful for Ray"

my friend wrote: »
    Do you drive articulated or fixed body?

Ha ha, that one cracks me up every time. A few times every week on this thread it seems.
    I don't think it's all that appropriate to look for cheap laughs or thanks from that particular story though.