Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

tafkach wrote: »
    What exactly are they meant to do... I still dont understand, their contributions are so infrequent that you could get the milkman to fill in for them when they are on holidays... And I dont get the whole Will Leahy in-joke.. I dont find him quirky, I dont find him interesting, and I dont find him funny.. but I get the feeling that I'm somehow meant to..

You could get a milkman to step in for the 3 of them full stop and it would be an improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭tafkach

Sorry, do you think that Will and Jenny are employed to be co-presenters, ie: they are paid for their on-air contributions?
    I haven't come across this Will Leahy in-joke, what is the jist of it? Or are you talking about Will Hannifan from the D'arcy show, either way what is the in joke??

tbh, I'm a bit confused... I never used to listen to D'Arcy on TodayFM, but his show is sort of forced on me now where I work... I thought Will was the guy that was a bit nerdish but everybody thought was hilarious?

I guess my real confusion is to what it was about the previous show that would have encouraged RTE to spend over half a million to bring them to the station.. Cos I just dont see it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Thought mooney was bad but Darcy is actually way worse. Have to turn him off, not taking to his show or style of broadcasting at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭John Joe Jones

I guess my real confusion is to what it was about the previous show that would have encouraged RTE to spend over half a million to bring them to the station.. Cos I just dont see it..

Two members of the RTÉ Executive Board are close pals of d'arcy.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,204 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Those first few minutes of him going through the stories of the gossip columns has to be done away with. Reading through the stories in that stupid mock bog accent of his... It's like it's his first time in front of the mic and he doesnt know what to say...
    Himself and John Mooney clearly went to the same school of radio-show intros.

Or not.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Himself and John Mooney clearly went to the same school of radio-show intros. Or not.

That John Mooney fella.. :pac:
    Yeah, as I heard D'Arcy stumbling through the awkward monologue at the beginning of the show, it certainly had that "first time presenting a radio show ever" feel to it, similar to John Murray's show..

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

will he mention watching a DVD or keep fit in the first 3 minutes?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Feckin soup again

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

the soup is 1.02 which he explained at length I think on his first ever show on RTE1

13 minutes of total nonsense

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

I enjoyed Rays sneering at the 'zoolanderesqe' male model quote from yesterday's Sunday Times...

Wonder was it trending elsewhere or was it spotlighted by Ray?

13 minutes of total nonsense

Never has a man with such uninteresting opinions had such a large audience... Well done again RTE..

• Registered Users Posts: 72,524 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ah, the Scottish...a great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

my friend wrote: »
    I enjoyed Rays sneering at the 'zoolanderesqe' male model quote from yesterday's Sunday Times...

Wonder was it trending elsewhere or was it spotlighted by Ray?

Not a chance. It's been all over the web since, including the Zoolander references.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Will is a barrister and Ray studied Psychology shocker alert

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

There's a prostitute on Darcy at the moment :eek:
    He's very uncomfortable with this prostitute lawyer

Ray does not approve

snubbleste wrote: »
    There's a prostitute on Darcy at the moment :eek:

Excuse me: I'm a sex worker

The sheep offer sex services in the Highlands

"I don't really discuss my personal life"
    after saying she has a 14 yr old daughter, wears a onesie, eats coco pops, lived in the Highlands...

right right

Excuse me: I'm a sex worker
    You're excused.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

Ray does not approve

Ray is an illiberal 'liberal'.

What business of her's is what laws Ireland has if she lives in Glasgow

Ask her if she pays tax on her earnings!

You are less likely to get a dose of a hooker than a woman you meet for a one night stand, .....I have heard... they make you put the johnnies on straight away

this lady speaks the truth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

Ray would have made a good parish priest.

Jeez, Darcy really is talking down to her

he is being so rude to her:mad: