Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

well jaysus the guardian is giving out about us !

well ray - begorrah - i'll start pulling the forelock and begging forgiveness in case any o me betters are offended.

WTF has happend to our media?

it seems to be exclusively made up of self loathing servile PC numpties now who seem to be one step away from actively HATING ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

What is "The Grauniad" saying about us?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Paddy Monoghan. I think he was the bloke that made bits of David Quinn on the radio one morning

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

[/SIZE]

But Ray doesnt believe in religon hes an atheist ;)(bet he,ll have no issues wandering down to the local cahtolic school to get the kids names down though)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

neris wrote: »
    [/SIZE]

But Ray doesnt believe in religon hes an atheist ;)(bet he,ll have no issues wandering down to the local cahtolic school to get the kids names down though)

His daughter goes to an educate together school.

You know, I could care less what school his kid goes to. But he needs to keep his opinion and church bashing to himself.
    If theres one more 'story' of some hindu, muslim, atheist or whatever 'demanding' that their kid gets a place in the Catholic School down the road....

Foe the record, I am not very religious and my kids attended an educate together school. BUT I fully recognise the rights of Catholic parents who have baptised their kids and want them educated with a religious theme, to have first dibs on the local Catholic school.

That Indian guy on this week really really annoyed me with his claims of discrimination. Coming from an Indian, whose caste system discriminates against so much of his own society, My blood was boiling listening to him and his march to the Dept of Education. But Darcy tolerates and even encourages characters like him and the other wan whose little 'Ruben' similarly couldn't get a place in the school.

I really love when Dustin comes in to studio... He says what everbody is texting in to the show but RTE are not brave enough to read out.

"I heard that the only reason that they hired Will was so that Ryan Tubridy would no longer be the most boring person working in RTE". Had a good few craics at him about the half million that RTE are wasting on him as well.

I

Yes, best part of darcys show since he started in the slot was Dustins visit this week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

Yes, best part of darcys show since he started in the slot was Dustins visit this week.
    Dustin kept ''losing'' the accent and talking normally until he pulled himself back with ''Go on ya good thing'' Happened a few times too

Cheering? Not running?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Cheering? Not running?

Yeah and i heard he got some abuse as well:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

A de-fibUlaher.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Serious question.

How many people suffer heart attacks and the likes during marathons, half marathons, 10k etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

BPKS wrote: »
    Serious question.

How many people suffer heart attacks and the likes during marathons, half marathons, 10k etc.

A few do, i know of a few who sadly have.

I like Rachel...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I wonder will Ray "I Ask The Hard Questions" D'Arcy ask her about that man that they keep down the dungeon.

Another ad for an RTE programme.

Keith Floyd was doing that 30 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,061 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I left Radio 1 on after Liveline. I haven't really tuned into D'Arcy since he left Today FM but so far today he has had a running story and now Rachel Ullen talking about her new book, Cooost.

The big salary increase obviously wasn't for original ideas anyway.

sligojoek wrote: »

And wine was always involved..

They've obviously got Ray in a padded studio

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

sligojoek wrote: »

I said the exact same thing when I accidentally flicked onto her show the other night and saw her throwing things into a pot by the sea

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

I wonder will Ray "I Ask The Hard Questions" D'Arcy ask her about that man that they keep down the dungeon.

According to sources 'that man' is closer to home than we are led to believe, word is the elder took the hit for the grasshopper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Does Ray not realise there's enough misery on the programme that precedes him - bad judgment call imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

BarryD wrote: »
    Does Ray not realise there's enough misery on the programme that precedes him - bad judgment call imho.

Needs to be heard, fair play to Ray.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,679 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

No education can stop selfish idiots drink driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,679 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

No education can stop selfish idiots drink driving.

Education comes in many forms.

Giving your mate a swift kick up the hole the next time he comes in saying "Ah yeah, just had a few pints with the lads, thankfully no shades out tonight, wha?"

Unless those people who would never drink and drive make it socially unacceptable for those that would to do so, it'll continue. I'll fully admit I'm part of the problem. I know people who'll have a few pints and drive home, but I say nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Everyone hates drink drivers till they are someone they know. Then it becomes a stupid mistake and they have to live with it if someone gets hurt. I just wish there was a constant prosecution of drunk drivers. How many celebrities/sports stars have had "poor judgement calls" and are then allowed back on air after a period when people forget. Few RTE stars have been done for drink driving too but it will never be mentioned again. We ar very selective with who we punish in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭nc6000

Why are you tip-toeing around this? The man (Tim Allen) pleaded guilty in court to possession of child pornography and got away with a fine. It's not like he can do anything about it if we say that on here.

It is a 100% true actual fact and it's a disgrace that he wasn't jailed.