Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

spending money for vegas? ufc

• 19-01-2015 8:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 40

Hi guys im thinking of going to vegas in may for the ufc for 3 nights just roughly how spending money would I be looking at I not a gambler so just food and drink it it expensive

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

Without trying to sound smart, it's as expensive or as cheap as you want it to be.

If you've gotten your hotel sorted you can do all you can eat buffets for about $20-$30 or you can just eat fast food etc.

If you wanted to enjoy the few nights there have a few beers, a few nice meals etc $600 ish would be loads, especially if you're not gambling. But that's just food and drink. You're hardly going to sit in your room the whole time...

Maybe a few more details on what you'd like to do could help folks put a more accurate guesstimate on how much you'd need.

BTW are you considering the McGregor title fight?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Define "drink"?

I agree with the $600, And thats a few beers.

Honestly though... I'd double it. Its Las Vegas after all.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Define "drink"?

I agree with the $600, And thats a few beers.

Honestly though... I'd double it. Its Las Vegas after all.

I'd agree with this, double it, enjoy the 3 nights, especially if it's a big fight weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

600 dollars sounds about right for 3 days. If this doesn't include the ticket to the fight, it should be a comfortable amount for 3 days for 1 person including the attractions etc.
    To go to the Grand Canyon (which I highly reccommend) costs about 120 dollars. The deuce (bus that brings you up and down the strip) costs, if I remember correctly, 20 dollars per day. A beer is about 8 or 9 dollars I think. I didn't tend to pay for beer as I just did that auld trick of sitting at a bar and playing a hand of poker when the bar tender was near by. It would then cost about 3 dollars for whatever you wanted plus you would get a bit of craic out of the poker although I know you said that you don't really gamble so this bit probably isn't for you. Buffets are about 25 dollars. You can buy a pass which costs about 50 dollars and gets you 24 hour buffet access in about 5 or 6 different places.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

8 or 9 bucks for a beer? Fuçk that shįt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

J Mysterio wrote: »
    8 or 9 bucks for a beer? Fuçk that shįt.

not including tip...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's actually cheaper to drink in Vegas when you're gambling then when you're not, as long as you keep your head and play the game right. Whatever you would normally allow yourself for a night drinking at home, allow that for gambling instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 flynn29

Thanks for all the replies guys. Ya Im considering the mcgregor fight I would hope to have everything paid for before going. Ya would realistically drinking a nice amount as I would be going with a group of lads. I prob would do a small vit of gambling to. I say a fight weekend over there would be class

If you have the flights and hotel sorted then that's the main bit done.

If it was me going to the fight with the lads I'd budget about €1000 for booze and party money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Its legal to drink on the streets in las vegas isnt it? So just stock up in an off license and carry it in a back pack would be one option

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

You can spend $8 on a beer, or $1 or just get it for free at the slots.

$100 a day would be a lot for me, for others they might have that spent by noon so it's not really a question that has a definite answer.

If you want to make it cheap then go to Fat Tuesday and get their 151 proof frozen slushy cocktail and when you're done go back for a second. Chances are that you won't need a third one :)

• Registered Users Posts: 48 NYC2013

I went down to Fremont Street one night the last time I was there, got 3 corona's and 3 margaritas for $9 plus tip in a casino and I wasn't even gambling, I was in Blondie's in Planet Hollywood another day and got a bucket of beers for $20 during some college football game. I spent $600 in 3 days, that been said the time I went before that I spent $800 on a Saturday night.