Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Claire Byrne Live (RTE1)

Does this great nation only contain one historian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,321 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Real déjà vu here, did he have a similar talk 4 or 5 years ago?

M

Bikes have been robbed since forever, no lock exists that can sustain an angle grinder attack. If they put the sentence of handling a stolen bike the same as handling 1kg of cocaine it might stop.

They're getting more brazen because even when you've got the video but you cannot show their faces. :pac:

M

Why are they shifting blame to the bike owner?

M

Why not put on 100 locks and have a trailer behind your bike to carry all the locks?

M

Why won't the show the angle grinder on a 'good' lock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

Why not put on 100 locks and have a trailer behind your bike to carry all the locks?

Weld a big steel safe into the trailer, so you can put the bike inside it, then use a good €80 lock to secure the trailer to a bike stand so they don't steal the safe.

The state are pushing up the prices of all these properties and competing with FTB...please bring it up

A guy in my office was bidding on a house. The government brought in a tax relief programme for first time buyers worth 20k. Overnight the house he was bidding on went up by 20k.

Everytime the government tries to medal in a so-called free market, the consumer pays for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,442 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

sure who'd want to live in high density urban developments?

sure tis grand selling all them off

people only buy 3 bed semis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭quinnd6

They expect you to buy 2 80 euro bike locks then have some
    scumbag come along in broad delight
    and chop them both up with an angle grinder while no
    passers by on the street pass any remarks and couldn't care less.
    That's really going to stop them allright.

quinnd6 wrote: »
    and chop them both up with an angle grinder while no
    passers by on the street pass any remarks and couldn't care less.
    That's really going to stop them allright.

Do you seriously think the passersby want to be next for the angle grinder treatment?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Sums it all up that they showed the video of lads robbing a bike and they blurred their faces out.

Wonder what props Claire will have tonight?

Maybe a laptop and hard drive for the cyber attack segment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,276 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Bastards these people who do this ransomware. It happened to my father and fecking paid them. We were all raging when we heard and said he should not have done it. He sold the business after that as he had had enough of this ****.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭sully123

This guy must be raking it in from people using his negotiating services, against his advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,825 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Wonder what props Claire will have tonight?

Maybe a laptop and hard drive for the cyber attack segment?

A “burglar” with a black and white costume tapping at a computer

M

Attacking a health system is the lowest of the low, they should be carpet bombed off the face of the earth along with anyone remotely connected to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,825 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This Pat Leahy is a champion spoofer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭sully123

Pat pines for the days when people were simply tied up in sheds

So are these guys not getting caught because the Russian police don't care or what?

M

Is the issue piss poor security or good cyber criminals or a mix of both?

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

This dude is green, need better lighting

Normal One wrote: »
    This dude is green, need better lighting

Shrek

M

Those CSI shows educate the criminal.

We'll end up paying the ransom, no way we don't. Won't be announced publicly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

Pussyhands wrote: »
    So are these guys not getting caught because the Russian police don't care or what?

I'm sure the Russians will say they are flat out trying to catch them etc etc etc.
    But behind the scenes, disruption in the West is a win for them.

Some minor, low level members of these org's will no doubt be rounded up as proof the Russian state is serious about this type of crime. But the kickbacks from the ransoms are no doubt oiling the police and political systems over there

Claire is looking class tonight. Wish she didn't scrunch her forehead though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

jay0109 wrote: »
    I'm sure the Russians will say they are flat out trying to catch them etc etc etc.
    But behind the scenes, disruption in the West is a win for them.

Some minor, low level members of these org's will no doubt be rounded up as proof the Russian state is serious about this type of crime. But the kickbacks from the ransoms are no doubt oiling the police and political systems over there
    I've read that the way these groups operate is that they are tolerated as long as the state can use those "talents" on occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Oops!

"we wouldn't dream of shaking someones hand"..... Ahhhhh yes we would.