Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Areas of the gardai?

• 21-01-2015 12:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭

I'm consider a career in the gardai in years to come (I'm 17).. Problem is I don't know of the different areas within the gardai.. I know of Traffic Corp and the lads at the local station but other then that I'm in the dark..
    Any chance you could inform me?

I also heard of SRU but just that they carry weapons ..

How would you go about getting into those areas?
    What degree (if any would be of use? And any other training they would favor?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Seanf999 wrote: »
    I'm consider a career in the gardai in years to come (I'm 17).. Problem is I don't know of the different areas within the gardai.. I know of Traffic Corp and the lads at the local station but other then that I'm in the dark..
    Any chance you could inform me?

I also heard of SRU but just that they carry weapons ..

How would you go about getting into those areas?
    What degree (if any would be of use? And any other training they would favor?)

Hi Sean

This question has been asked hundreds of times before and the answer is always the same. People should concentrate on getting into the Gardai first before thinking about the specialist units. It takes a few years of being in the regular unit before a Garda is even considered for a position in the specialist units.

You are still young so concentrate on third level education and gain some life experience. I would not recommend anyone join AGS until they are at least 23 yrs old. Maybe in the mean time while in education you consider joining the Reserves. It would give you a great insight into the life of a Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Seanf999

TheNog wrote: »
    Hi Sean

This question has been asked hundreds of times before and the answer is always the same. People should concentrate on getting into the Gardai first before thinking about the specialist units. It takes a few years of being in the regular unit before a Garda is even considered for a position in the specialist units.

You are still young so concentrate on third level education and gain some life experience. I would not recommend anyone join AGS until they are at least 23 yrs old. Maybe in the mean time while in education you consider joining the Reserves. It would give you a great insight into the life of a Garda

Thanks for the answer, apologies for re-asking a already answered question..

Any suggestion on degrees that would give me the best chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭kahmen

budd do somting you in joy im plaing on doing a corrs in frensics sicnes as i injoy that not for any reson so just finde somting you want to do and make sure you dont put all youer egs in the one baskeet as i was doing that up untill 3 years a go in ty now im looking at soundengring as a job but all the cors ar exspencsv but i have frends in it just finde somting you in joy and doit wory for the mean time youer only 17 so id say youer in 5 year crocte me if im rong so ovver the sumer look in to cores and go to open days if you can

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

kahmen wrote: »
    budd do somting you in joy im plaing on doing a corrs in frensics sicnes as i injoy that not for any reson so just finde somting you want to do and make sure you dont put all youer egs in the one baskeet as i was doing that up untill 3 years a go in ty now im looking at soundengring as a job but all the cors ar exspencsv but i have frends in it just finde somting you in joy and doit wory for the mean time youer only 17 so id say youer in 5 year crocte me if im rong so ovver the sumer look in to cores and go to open days if you can

I'd suggest you study English first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I'd suggest you study English first

This poster has posted here before and has indicated he suffers from dyslexia, not a huge amount he can do about it

So cop on to yourself