Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saddest moment on TV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Lads I was just joking about the littlest hobo getting run over by an 18 wheeler. He went off into the sunset in the last episode for more adventures :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

The Animals of farthing wood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Lads I was just joking about the littlest hobo getting run over by an 18 wheeler. He went off into the sunset in the last episode for more adventures :D

Alls well with the world again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Alls well with the world again.

In his last episode Hobo finds an undetonated World War II bomb.

The episode descriptions are on his wikipedia page - some of them are hilarious:D
    Hobo joins forces with inept private eye Rex Badger, who perfected his style watching old movies. As Badger plods through a series of comic clues, Hobo keeps several steps ahead of him and enables him to finally put the pieces together and wind up with the credit.

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

The end of The Deer Hunter. Poor Nick. :(

Also, the end of Valkyrie, when all of the main players are executed for their roles in the July 20 Plot. Heartbreaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Mrs Fox

In Grey's Anatomy season 5, the scene where the lift opened and George O'Malley appeared dapper in a military uniform. Just knew straight away. Crushed my heart that entire week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Redser87 wrote: »
    When Amy Pond
    leaves the Doctor so that she can be with Rory ... Raggedy Man... Goodbye.... And the gravestones
    :(

Feck ya all for having me in tears. Doctor Who has made me cry a few times but this was the real heartbreaker.

Also in this season when Clara talks to Matt on the phone....bawled my eyes out.

Another big tear jerker for me this year was the 2nd last episode of The Newsroom when
    Charlie dies
    . Then I cried again when I heard it was not being renewed for the next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Oyva bigwan

Adam & Paul ending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

A little part of my childhood died with that joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

The end of the original Lassie when the exhausted and battered dog drags itself from the house and limps to the school to see the kid. I have to leave the room...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

According to wiki, in the last episode he found an undetonated WWII bomb. In Canada....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

Jhrs funeral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Dinosaurs :( Too sad and so much to much to take at such a young age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Michael and Dukie's last scene together in the wire.

The ending of breaking bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Citroen2cv

The Blackadder cast going "over the top", in the final episode of Blackader IV.

The Final scene of "Godfather III", michaels daughter getting shot, and then himself dying a lonely man a few years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Grissom in CSI talking about Warrick in the Funeral episode.

Also the Kids in Dungeons and Dragons never getting home :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

efb wrote: »
    The Animals of farthing wood

Game of Thrones has nothing on that for deaths.
    Like this animal? Dead! This one? Dead! This group? Dead dead dead!
    DEAD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Game of Thrones has nothing on that for deaths.
    Like this animal? Dead! This one? Dead! This group? Dead dead dead!
    DEAD!

Hated that show. I still remember the scene where a bird (shrike) had impaled a rake of baby mice on a blackthorn bush.

The road with Viggo Mortensen is wall to wall depressing. Felt like cutting myself after.

Haven't heard much from him lately....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

The end of Band of Brothers where Major Winters talks about the letter Mike Ranney sent him;

"I cherish the memories of a question my grandson asked me the other day when he said, 'Grandpa, were you a hero in the war?' Grandpa said 'No... but I served in a company of heroes.'"

I get a lump in my throat every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

FS OP, I had that scene well out of my memory... eventually, and now you've just made me sad all over again! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

The Royle family where grandma dies.......powerful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

3rdDegree wrote: »
    The end of the original Lassie when the exhausted and battered dog drags itself from the house and limps to the school to see the kid. I have to leave the room...

There was some show on years ago that had a dog trainer on it and he was extremely dubious as to the methods used to get the dog to limp so convincingly given those were the days before Animal Welfare representatives were on set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

The Late Late Show the Friday after 9/11 - When Pat Kenny spoke to the family of an Irish victim and Brian Kennedy sang (can't for the life of me remember the song but it the lyrics were similar to "But You Didn't" the Merrill Glass poem) I sobbed then at the end Paul Brady sang The Island really softly and the last poignant word "FREEDOM" Goosebumps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Apologies if said already, but the first 10 minutes of UP.

FLOODS, every time.

And the end of Gallipoli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Citroen2cv wrote: »
    The Final scene of "Godfather III", michaels daughter getting shot, and then himself dying a lonely man a few years later.

SPOILER ALERT!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Tommy getting killed by Falconeti (?) in Rich Man Poor Man (Long Time ago)

Bruce Willis dying in Armageddon.(Admittedly I was going through an emotional time in my life)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

When they announced Steve Irwin's death . Such a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The Michael Buerk report on the Ethiopian famine in 1984.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭chewed

Does anyone remember when John Noakes (ex Blue Peter) was being interviewed in the late 80s and was asked how his dog Shep was doing. He then broke down crying and said that Shep had passed away a few days before hand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

DubiousV wrote: »
    I have a message. Lieutenant Colonel... Henry Blake's plane... was shot down over the Sea of Japan. It spun in. There were no survivors.

M.A.S.H.

I can't take that show seriously since Family Guy parodied the scene where Hawkeye remembers telling that woman to make the chicken (baby) be quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭skylight1987

the bridges of Madison county , when she doesn't get out of the truck . he wants her to go to him, he puts the chain she gave him on his mirror where she can see it, the lights are green , he is waiting . her hand is on the door to go , still she doesn't go to him. he waits , she cries , he goes, out of her life forever, she is heartbroken . i cry every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

For anyone who ever had a dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

The Anime: Wolf's Rain...
    They all die!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Saddest 'fictional' moment was when Mark Harmon was shot dead in West Wing and they played Jeff Buckley's 'Hallelujah'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

A lot of the ones I'd have listed have already been mention but +1 to this one...
    Adamantium wrote: »
    Battlestar Galactica.
    Laura's last few minutes on the grass plains of Africa watching the wildlife, Adama burying her, and the last shot of him sitting next to her grave talking to her on the hillside as the music soars.

"I laid out the cabin today. It's gonna have an easterly view. You should see the light that we get here, when the sun comes from behind those mountains. It's almost heavenly. It reminds me of you."

That scene made my wife - who only 2 months earlier I had convince to sit down and watch the BSG mini-series - cry her eyes out... at which point I did a little dance and said "told you you'd cry at the end, boom!" :p Sci-fi can be wonderful.

Only Fools and Horses had some fantastic moments too...
    - Del with his new born son looking out the window talking to his dead Mum. Another baby related one is Cassandra losing the baby.
    - Del taking the beating from the money-leaders rather than let Rodney down.
    - When Granddad died

So many moments in Gevais's show, Derek too
    - Putting the dog down
    - The scene where he at first ignores his Dad who abandoned him and then chases after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

im amazed nobody threw this in yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Only up to page 6, but can I suggest more spoiler tags please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

That's a really good scene: the way Carlton hasn't a clue about racism and thinks the cops were just having a bad day.

I only saw it for the first time recently. It's a very powerful scene. Carlton's dad is a lawyer, they have a butler and they're obviously solidly upper middle class. But then the cops can cut them right down to size. It really struck me how relevant that still is today, given the racial tension still ongoing in America. Its not something I expected to be hit with in a show like that. Its a scene that really stayed with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭connollys

Sons of Anarchy - when Opie died.

And we have a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

lazygal wrote: »
    I only saw it for the first time recently. It's a very powerful scene. Carlton's dad is a lawyer, they have a butler and they're obviously solidly upper middle class. But then the cops can cut them right down to size. It really struck me how relevant that still is today, given the racial tension still ongoing in America. Its not something I expected to be hit with in a show like that. Its a scene that really stayed with me.

Also the episode where Will's Dad walks out on him and Will cockily brushing it off to Uncle Phil, then breaking down.

Powerful stuff for a light hearted show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Michael and Dukie's last scene together in the wire.

The ending of breaking bad.

Yes. Incredible stuff. The Wire is a work of art, I can't wait for when it has to be studied in schools. It transcends TV drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The ending of Pilgrim Hill, film about rural isolation and a lonely farmer, it just ruined me.

The Mission
    when Fr Gabriel (Jeremy Irons) was gunned down :(

The death of Ayrton Senna, taking into consideration how uneasy he was about getting into the car with the death of Roland Ratzenberger the previous day.

Band of Brothers ending has gotten a few mentions but the penultimate (I think?) episode where
    they discover the concentration camp....Christ :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

im amazed nobody threw this in yet

I hated the show for half my childhood actually because one of the first scenes i saw was that and Mr. Bean standing there crying. Took me quite a long time to like the show after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Might be an idea for everyone to spoiler tag from here on in. Already got quite a bit more ruined on me than i'd planned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Also, the 1963 episode of Reeling In The Years. It was on not so long ago and it showed JFK arriving in Dallas. The music being played over the scenes of that fateful day was "You'll Never Walk Alone" by Gerry and the Pacemakers. Heart-wrenching.

Made all the worse by the fact that my mother and her family basically worshipped the Kennedy family, and part of it rubbed off on me. It was such a sad and awful time in history and probably altered the course of mankind for the worse when Kennedy was assassinated.

When those scenes came up on the screen, I'm not going to lie, I got all teary and upset at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Also, the 1963 episode of Reeling In The Years. It was on not so long ago and it showed JFK arriving in Dallas. The music being played over the scenes of that fateful day was "You'll Never Walk Alone" by Gerry and the Pacemakers. Heart-wrenching.

Made all the worse by the fact that my mother and her family basically worshipped the Kennedy family, and part of it rubbed off on me. It was such a sad and awful time in history and probably altered the course of mankind for the worse when Kennedy was assassinated.

When those scenes came up on the screen, I'm not going to lie, I got all teary and upset at it.

You should read Stephen King's 22./11/1963!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

Feck yis anyway. I've just rewatched the Queen of Sheba and now I have a tear-stained face, puffy red eyes and no housework done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭arcticmonkeys

Twink pleading for the return of her beloved dog Teddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Fiction:
    Ending of Blackadder is right up there.

Non-fiction:
    some of the footage of Hillsborough and the aftermath was just devastating.