Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New Garda fleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

billie1b wrote: »
    This is not allowed, if the Garda are involved in a chase and crash or get rammed etc it can cause things to shoot forward that are not secured with the parcel shelf causing harm to the Gardaí and or damage to the car. Thats why on the jeeps they have the steel cage to block things shifting forward, dunno if they will add that to the Hyundai fleet of cars

i've seen that in quite a few of them. Common sense to fit them really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

billie1b wrote: »
    This is not allowed, if the Garda are involved in a chase and crash or get rammed etc it can cause things to shoot forward that are not secured with the parcel shelf causing harm to the Gardaí and or damage to the car. Thats why on the jeeps they have the steel cage to block things shifting forward, dunno if they will add that to the Hyundai fleet of cars

All estate cars such as i30/i40 have these cages even the unmarked and do not have parcel shelves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭thadg

but that's exactly my point, an i30 estate holds more and has a more practical access door than a mondeo saloon.

the mondeo saloons boot with a space saver spare is 540 liters, the i30 tourers boot is 530 liters below the parcel shelf, so with the parcel shelf removed, it can be stacked to the roof, nearly doubling the cargo space.

perhaps the latest mondeo seats are nicer, i havn't been in one, but in the 3rd gen mondeo (07-14) seats aren't anything to write home about, they are spectacularly flat.

i dont know what your beef is with Hyundai but you seem to be crazy for them. could you really say they are as good as a ford?
    I presume the equivalent of an i30 is a focus estate which would still be far better than the i30 but are too small a general purpose garda car. going by what the gardai are saying themselves they are scrap and not fit for purpose , they are falling apart are showing there true colours before they even hit the 100k mark. Hyundai are grand for dropping children to school put to expect people to spend 8 hour days in them is a bit sad when they could have a better car for the same money or close to the same money.

no wonder vw didn't even tender for it, they knew they would go for the cheap scrap at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

thadg wrote: »
    i dont know what your beef is with Hyundai but you seem to be crazy for them. could you really say they are as good as a ford?
    I presume the equivalent of an i30 is a focus estate which would still be far better than the i30 but are too small a general purpose garda car. going by what the gardai are saying themselves they are scrap and not fit for purpose , they are falling apart are showing there true colours before they even hit the 100k mark. Hyundai are grand for dropping children to school put to expect people to spend 8 hour days in them is a bit sad when they could have a better car for the same money or close to the same money.

no wonder vw didn't even tender for it, they knew they would go for the cheap scrap at the end of the day.

you really sum up the Irish mentality when it comes to badge snobbery. All hail the king of cars, VW.

my "beef" with hyundai, is nothing to do with hyundai as such. i would always try to remain open minded and to be honest the cars are worth a shot. every established brand name out there had to start somewhere and on paper, for the time being, they seem suitable.

would the garda fleet manager really buy a fleet of cars not fit for purpose? would he/ she have no experience in the field? wold they not have gotten opinions from gardai in the field and viewed demonstrator cars from various manufacturers before they came to a conclusion.

i'm just saying, the gards didn't buy these blind and they didn't buy them having done no research and i reckon the gards know better what they need than the man on boards.ie who says they should have bought mondeos. yes, maybe they were bought to fit a budget, but what item in 2015 isn't?

i also wouldn't value the opinion of the garda who says they are scrap. he probably isn't qualified to speak on the matter, that's why he's a garda, not a mechanic. the same way that i wouldn't let my mehcanic arrest me, he'd probably be wrong.

just look at driver power 2014, probably the biggest car ownership survey in the UK.

in terms of reliability and ownership satisfaction, the top 150 cars were ranked in order. i've just taken a few samples of other cars mentioned in this thread for perspective.

i40 mk1 - 42nd
    i30 mk1 - 58th
    mondeo mk4 - 84th
    golf mk6 - 89th
    insignia mk1 - 112th
    astra j - 124th
    avensis mk3 - 125th
    focus mk2 - 133th
    golf mk5 - 145th

Hyundai ranked 17th in the overall manufacturer rankings, ahead of VW (18th) and Ford (24th). Their dealer network came 13th, ahead of VW's (31st) and Ford (27th).

i don't know why i'm even replying to your post, you couldn't possibly have fitted in any more conjecture or sweeping generalisations. i'm sure your next reply will have something to do with the quality of the interior plastics.

what better car could they have gotten for similar money and why? i'm just looking at the facts, the cars on offer, vs the price they go for and the day to day garda requirements. so far, the only half logical thing posted in this thread that the i30 isn't great at is rear legroom for squashing unruly dickheads into the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

...just look at driver power 2014, probably the biggest car ownership survey in the UK...

Interesting survey. Had a look...the issue, it's self reported - so not immune to the classic stereotypes. Let's say the part where a Skoda Yeti is supposed to handle better than MX-5s, Alfas, Jaguars and BMWs had me chuckling quite a bit :D

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Interesting survey. Had a look...the issue, it's self reported - so not immune to the classic stereotypes. Let's say the part where a Skoda Yeti is supposed to handle better than MX-5s, Alfas, Jaguars and BMWs had me chuckling quite a bit :D

Yes, absolutely. But it's golden in terms of owner satisfaction in terms of how happy they are with the car and how goid the car has been to them and the hyundai owners seem to have good things to say. Now again, i know it's all price relative but the points still stand... i think :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

but that's exactly my point, an i30 estate holds more and has a more practical access door than a mondeo saloon.

the mondeo saloons boot with a space saver spare is 540 liters, the i30 tourers boot is 530 liters below the parcel shelf, so with the parcel shelf removed, it can be stacked to the roof, nearly doubling the cargo space.

But is not suitable for all policing roles. I'm not suggesting that every Garda car be a Mondeo 1.6 saloon, rather that every Garda car be a Mondeo, or similar, and the spec, engine, body style, gearbox etc be altered to the role.

If Hyundai do a high performance i40 as well as a 4x4 then I'd have no objection to an i40. But I think that a single model of car would bring great benefits.

my "beef" with hyundai, is nothing to do with hyundai as such. i would always try to remain open minded and to be honest the cars are worth a shot. every established brand name out there had to start somewhere and on paper, for the time being, they seem suitable.

would the garda fleet manager really buy a fleet of cars not fit for purpose? would he/ she have no experience in the field? wold they not have gotten opinions from gardai in the field and viewed demonstrator cars from various manufacturers before they came to a conclusion.

i'm just saying, the gards didn't buy these blind and they didn't buy them having done no research and i reckon the gards know better what they need than the man on boards.ie who says they should have bought mondeos. yes, maybe they were bought to fit a budget, but what item in 2015 isn't?

i also wouldn't value the opinion of the garda who says they are scrap. he probably isn't qualified to speak on the matter, that's why he's a garda, not a mechanic. the same way that i wouldn't let my mehcanic arrest me, he'd probably be wrong.

just look at driver power 2014, probably the biggest car ownership survey in the UK.

in terms of reliability and ownership satisfaction, the top 150 cars were ranked in order. i've just taken a few samples of other cars mentioned in this thread for perspective.

i40 mk1 - 42nd
    i30 mk1 - 58th
    mondeo mk4 - 84th
    golf mk6 - 89th
    insignia mk1 - 112th
    astra j - 124th
    avensis mk3 - 125th
    focus mk2 - 133th
    golf mk5 - 145th

Hyundai ranked 17th in the overall manufacturer rankings, ahead of VW (18th) and Ford (24th). Their dealer network came 13th, ahead of VW's (31st) and Ford (27th).

i don't know why i'm even replying to your post, you couldn't possibly have fitted in any more conjecture or sweeping generalisations. i'm sure your next reply will have something to do with the quality of the interior plastics.

what better car could they have gotten for similar money and why? i'm just looking at the facts, the cars on offer, vs the price they go for and the day to day garda requirements. so far, the only half logical thing posted in this thread that the i30 isn't great at is rear legroom for squashing unruly dickheads into the back seat.

well if bmw were matching there prices probably bmw, or vw, skoda, or ford , Toyota or opel. there is a few manufacturers I would put in front of Hyundai.

them surveys are not the be all and end all either, any car that made car of the year back over the years never lasted the test of time either.
    you are obviously a Hyundai fan which is fair enough but that ranking 42nd and 58 means zilch when it comes to patrol cars, different uses for cars altogether.

if they are so good why aren't the uk filling up there stations with them??

do you really think the they put research into buying these yokes? all they saw was the bottom line figure.

Hyundai give there fair share of trouble too, they are not as trouble free as the 1.3 petrols were years ago.

well if bmw were matching there prices probably bmw, or vw, skoda, or ford , Toyota or opel. there is a few manufacturers I would put in front of Hyundai.

them surveys are not the be all and end all either, any car that made car of the year back over the years never lasted the test of time either.
    you are obviously a Hyundai fan which is fair enough but that ranking 42nd and 58 means zilch when it comes to patrol cars, different uses for cars altogether.

if they are so good why aren't the uk filling up there stations with them??

do you really think the they put research into buying these yokes? all they saw was the bottom line figure.

Hyundai give there fair share of trouble too, they are not as trouble free as the 1.3 petrols were years ago.

but that's just stupid. a "premium" brand are never going to price match a mid-range brand for any number of reasons, i don't know why you're even suggesting it. you do have a point though, if lexus price matched a new RCF to what i paid for my 15 year old celica, you're right, i'd probably buy it. of course there are manufacturers i would rank above hyundai, but when on a tight budget (as i'd assume the gardai were) hyundai are well worth a look.

i'd imagine the UK are still mainly working with Vauxhall due to the perception of them being a homegrown british brand and the powers that be probably have to be seen to be supporting british industry where ever possible, that and they probably have a very long standing and reasonable customer loyalty system going at this stage. that said, i know nothing of the UK police fleet and for all i know, they could have a few hyundais on board.

the driver power rankings have a somewhat direct relationship to their garda usage. most people on thread were saying that they were unreliable and ****, but they ranked much higher than the perceived "long established" brands in terms of reliability and this was decided by the owners themselves of the respective brands.

but that's just stupid. a "premium" brand are never going to price match a mid-range brand for any number of reasons, i don't know why you're even suggesting it. you do have a point though, if lexus price matched a new RCF to what i paid for my 15 year old celica, you're right, i'd probably buy it. of course there are manufacturers i would rank above hyundai, but when on a tight budget (as i'd assume the gardai were) hyundai are well worth a look.

i'd imagine the UK are still mainly working with Vauxhall due to the perception of them being a homegrown british brand and the powers that be probably have to be seen to be supporting british industry where ever possible, that and they probably have a very long standing and reasonable customer loyalty system going at this stage. that said, i know nothing of the UK police fleet and for all i know, they could have a few hyundais on board.

the driver power rankings have a somewhat direct relationship to their garda usage. most people on thread were saying that they were unreliable and ****, but they ranked much higher than the perceived "long established" brands in terms of reliability and this was decided by the owners themselves of the respective brands.

bmw are supposed to have a very good police car package that matches a lot of cheaper car brands in prices.
    it would balance itself out at the end too as the the sale value would be better.

this Hyundai crack is typical Ireland, there is a shot of fiat doblos on the way too and a few ducatos

bmw are supposed to have a very good police car package that matches a lot of cheaper car brands in prices.
    it would balance itself out at the end too as the the sale value would be better.

this Hyundai crack is typical Ireland, there is a shot of fiat doblos on the way too and a few ducatos

Do we resell our garda vehicles here? I always thought they were driven until they were dead or an uneconomical repair.

I'l tell you whats typical Ireland, this 'hyundai aren't fit to keep chickens, should have bought a VW' craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Entire fleet in for timing chain repairs... no thanks.

Countdown to "Koreans, dog meat, deutchland uber alles" in 2 pages or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

listermint wrote:
    Why you would put 18s or 19s on a police vehicle is beyond me ... ..

Maybe not 19's, but 17's at least. Look at all the high powered cars in the uk police force, bmws evos etc, they're not sitting on 16's. I'm aware that they are used on motorways and good roads, but so will this latest fleet of (insignia) garda cars. It took me to Galway city to see one. These cars arent going to be going down little boreens.

I'd be a little surprised if they weren't 17's for bigger brakes if nothing else. What are they- about 1800kg kitted out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

but
    There are dozens of police forces and they each have different cars.

The largest, the Metropolitan Police, seems to be in the process of changing their i30s for Focus estates. That's for the standard patrol car.

Anything specialised seems to be either 5 series estates or x5s.

Traffic police have V70s and Shoguns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭Old diesel

what would make the saloon better handling?

i would imagine so. we can argue it until the cows come home, but it's basic motoring knowledge that an estate has a larger, easier to access boot area than a similar saloon.

what makes the mondeo the pinnacle vehicle for law enforcement though? the basic mondeo new costs €5k more than an i30 touring, which makes a fair difference (almost €2 million) when you are buying 370 of them. that's probably saving equivalent to the wages budget of an average town sized garda station for a year. i know you probably get a deal when you buy 370 of them, bud i'd say the price gap remains firm. i know they are giving away the old shape mondeo now, but as good as the gards are, they don't have a crystal ball, so they wouldn't have known this when they signed a (3 year?) contract with hyundai.

i have no idea what engines the gardai went with but hyundai offer the 1.6td engine with 125bhp whereas the fatter mondeo only offers 115, which is worth noting for the "get there faster" crew.

Mondeo has 178 ps options on the diesel - plus - I believe theres a 140/150 ps option as well.

Im not sure whats the top rating on the new Mondeo - if its the 178 ps diesel - or if theres another higher power option. 240 ps was available in the Uk on the old Mondeo - via the 2.0 ecoboost turbo petrol

You could also say of course - oh a base Octavia only has 105 ps 1.6 tdi - but again - theres 150 ps diesel and 184 ps diesels - the latter offered as VRs and Scout options available.

Its not just about power either - is the handling up to scratch on the Hyundais for hard driving for example.

You frequently find that (for example) something like an Octavia VRs will have upgraded brakes/suspension vs a normal 1.6 tdi Octavia.

Do we resell our garda vehicles here? I always thought they were driven until they were dead or an uneconomical repair.

I'l tell you whats typical Ireland, this 'hyundai aren't fit to keep chickens, should have bought a VW' craic.

ya old garda cars were sold off in auctions even up to last year unless they changed it and rightly so, if they can be nct'd and roadworthy.

you know yourself and argue all you want but a focus would be a better all round car (handling, wear and tear etc) than an i30.

Entire fleet in for timing chain repairs... no thanks.

Countdown to "Koreans, dog meat, deutchland uber alles" in 2 pages or less.

they were giving a warranty the same as every other car company that tendered for it.

I don't know what you are talking about with the dog meat etc??

they were giving a warranty the same as every other car company that tendered for it.

I don't know what you are talking about with the dog meat etc??

mistook you for a re reg or an alt of a foaming at the mouth anti Korean car poster whose weapon of last resort is "shur them lads eat dogs joe, buy german"

na couldn't give a sh1t really about any of that mallarky I was only going by what has been tried and tested in Ireland and uk.

noting wrong with Hyundai but having them as patrol cars??

they went down this road aswell when they tried the laguna 12 years ago or so, not too many made the 300k mark and costing more money in the long run, gardai using there private car for call out etc.

na couldn't give a sh1t really about any of that mallarky I was only going by what has been tried and tested in Ireland and uk.

noting wrong with Hyundai but having them as patrol cars??

they went down this road aswell when they tried the laguna 12 years ago or so, not too many made the 300k mark and costing more money in the long run, gardai using there private car for call out etc.

Did they actually run many Lagunas - I only remember seeing ONE Laguna II garda car. Im sure there was a few around as normally you buy more then one.

I imagine Lagunas were picked at the time - because I recall the issue of accidents was on the agenda - with Gardaí using old/crap cars - and the Laguna II had a 5 star rating for crash safety.

Even as a car enthusiast I can't remember how common 5 star safety ratings were in 03/04 - BUT the Laguna was the first car to achieve a 5 star safety rating in 2001

I seem to recall they tried a Saab 9 3 and a Volvo S40 for the same reason - but im open to correction.

Anyway - half the country tried Laguna IIs thinking Renault reliability issues wwere in the past - only to then discover when the cars were on he road - that Laguna II added a new chapter of its own - in epic style to the book of true stories of poor Renault reliability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

perhaps the latest mondeo seats are nicer, i havn't been in one, but in the 3rd gen mondeo (07-14) seats aren't anything to write home about, they are spectacularly flat.

Alot of the UK police cars beyond general patrol cars have sports seats, bi-xenon headlamps etc, as these are part of the police pack.

Wonder why manufacturers include them?
    If according to the Gardai they are not necessary. We must be ahead of everyone else in regards to patrol cars.

Theanswers wrote: »
    Alot of the UK police cars beyond general patrol cars have sports seats, bi-xenon headlamps etc, as these are part of the police pack.

Wonder why manufacturers include them?
    If according to the Gardai they are not necessary. We must be ahead of everyone else in regards to patrol cars.
    I can see nothing in your post that is relevant to the post you quoted.

There's two separate discussions going on in this thread - the high power insignias, and the common or garden general patrol cars.

You yourself are differentiating between the general patrol cars and the up specced ones - so I guess the question is - do you think the insignias should have uprated lights/brakes/seats etc? Or is it the i30s (general patrol cars) you think should have these?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

I seen on the news they released a new batch of vehicles with the new detection system into the Garda fleet for the Xmas period.

They look like Hyundai Tucsons.

I seen on the news they released a new batch of vehicles with the new detection system into the Garda fleet for the Xmas period.

Yes I saw that too and was actually wondering where to ask what engine is in them.

They are definitely Tucsons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes spotted them today, 182's. They seemed to be all driving with the blue lights on the roof permanently on, not flashing, just on, looked odd, not sure if it's a feature or a fault.

1.7L or 2.0L diesel? Is there much difference?

Garda fleet on flickr (I don't know if its a proper official Garda account or not) is implying the Tucsons are 188 bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

This isn’t the first Tucson’s they got, they got some last year too. 2.0 4WD diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Old diesel wrote: »
    Garda fleet on flickr (I don't know if its a proper official Garda account or not) is implying the Tucsons are 188 bhp

The Tuscon's could be 300 hp and still wouldn't be worth a crap at speed and cornering.
    If I was any guard getting into those I'd be asking the driver "have you done the advanced course?"
    If yes..good
    if not---gtfo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

colm_mcm wrote: »
    This isn’t the first Tucson’s they got, they got some last year too. 2.0 4WD diesel

The 2.0 diesel. The absolute zenith of performance motoring in Ireland.
    I bet they couldn't get insurance on anything bigger and the tax was far too dear for something like that.

Blazer wrote: »
    The Tuscon's could be 300 hp and still wouldn't be worth a crap at speed and cornering.

They'd be okay at speed with 300 nags :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Fordcspri23

4wd essential for icy drive throughs.

And blue lights to clear the Krispy Kreme queues :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I loathe Hyundai’s and the whole Garda fleet appears headed that way now. Some Insignias and X5 on the fleet but more the exception. Very boring indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They can’t win. If like 99% of the Tucsons out there, they went with the FWD 1.7 model, they’d be laughed out of it because it’s an oversteery underpowered mammymobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

road_high wrote: »
    I loathe Hyundai’s and the whole Garda fleet appears headed that way now. Some Insignias and X5 on the fleet but more the exception. Very boring indeed

Some of the police forces here in Australia use them. The Santa Fe and the new Sonata which in fairness is 2.0 turbo petrol. I've also seen i40s and Tuscons or ix35s as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Yes spotted them today, 182's. They seemed to be all driving with the blue lights on the roof permanently on, not flashing, just on, looked odd, not sure if it's a feature or a fault.

Yes one appeared behind me the other day.

I felt like I was in an episode of Brit cops or one of those pieces of tripe.

They're a bit loutish looking with the boy racer lights on all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

I keep seeing Q7s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

The 2.0 diesel. The absolute zenith of performance motoring in Ireland.
    I bet they couldn't get insurance on anything bigger and the tax was far too dear for something like that.

If we ever change our flag then there needs to be some reference to 2.0D on the new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

The Tucsons are 1.6 diesels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

tedpan wrote: »
    I keep seeing Q7s

Q7's are the Armed Response Unit? No?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I keep seeing Q7s

Maybe they're keeping an eye on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I keep seeing Q7s

goodfellas-copter.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Vicxas wrote: »
    Q7's are the Armed Response Unit? No?

they are, water unit have a discovery as well

• Registered Users Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I thought they were ditching Hyundai because of their clutch issues and servicing costs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Patww79 wrote: »
    If we ever change our flag then there needs to be some reference to 2.0D on the new one.

:D hats off, that gave me a right good laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

The Tucsons are 1.6 diesels

Show as 2.0 on reg check sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

DaveyDave wrote: »
    I thought they were ditching Hyundai because of their clutch issues and servicing costs?

I reckon Hyundai must be giving them for half nothing to promote the brand here- people think if the Gardaí are using them then they must be very tough and robust. Because I don't know why you’d willingly pick an I30 over and above so many talented alternatives unless it was a lot cheaper