Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v5] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭maurv1

What would Rachel and your man know about the running of a hostel anyway? Apart from the actual day to day running, would there not be all sorts of regualations, Health and safety stuff etc. to be sorted out? And yet, as someone pointed out up thread, it was all done and dusted in five minutes. Come on FC, give us a break sometimes.

I wonder did The Don set up that with the couple not booked in? Anyway, I'd say not the type of "uncool" people Rachel was looking for in her new venture rolleyes.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

maurv1 wrote: »
    What would Rachel and your man know about the running of a hostel anyway? Apart from the actual day to day running, would there not be all sorts of regualations, Health and safety stuff etc. to be sorted out? And yet, as someone pointed out up thread, it was all done and dusted in five minutes. Come on FC, give us a break sometimes.

I wonder did The Don set up that with the couple not booked in? Anyway, I'd say not the type of "uncool" people Rachel was looking for in her new venture rolleyes.png

Two scammers, me thinks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,349 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I feel sorry for Jo and Dermot - they don't have kids of their own as they don't want to run the risk of Huntingtons and then the child they adopt has a rare illness.

Yer one Deirdre is some bint - surely as Ken's next of kin, Dermot should have some entitlement to money from his estate as would Owen (Eoin) his son? If her and Ken were separated she would he entitled to Sweet Fanny Adams

Was Ken and Deirdre married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭betonit

tommy should come back nab orla and wayne should skoot of to cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,207 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

betonit wrote: »
    tommy should come back nab orla and wayne should skoot of to cork

Only if its a gratuitous sex scene.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭jos28

I'm totally perplexed about Rachel's new 'business'. WTF is it ? A hostel :confused:
    Is that not Barry O'Hanlon's 2 bedroomed house ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Pretzill

I was trying to come up with a new name for McCoys as it's a while since it was actually run by anyone called McCoy - (And as someone else pointed out has seen its fair share of licencees)

How about; 'Hughie's, Louis' and the Booze'

And also seeing as Rachel came up with such a crap name for her new venture (Dolphin Pod?) and none of us really know what it is - how about;
    'Barry's Tea Roomz' with the strapline
    'Making your trip as big as Sarahs!'

Not a renaming issue but was it deliberate that the mural in the children's ward had a load of characters with bulging eyes and raised eyebrows? It was like they were agreeing with Jo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

"Don't be giving away rooms on the cheep" says the biatch who has her rent paid for it. She'd want some dig in the face.

and isn't Orla like family to her?? The amount of times Orla has comforted her down through the years and now she couldn't give two f**ks if she's out on the street with her baby? wtf is that about??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,349 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

jos28 wrote: »
    I'm totally perplexed about Rachel's new 'business'. WTF is it ? A hostel :confused:

I thought Barchanic Mikey's family were living in Barry's house

I assume Rachel's new business is a hostel or flats called Dolphin Pod in Paul and Niamh's old house

Paul's flat where Caoimhe and Louise lived in is vacant so Paul offered it to Wayne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

I assume Rachel's new business is a hostel or flats called Dolphin Pod in Paul and Niamh's old house

Paul's flat where Caoimhe and Louise lived in is vacant so Paul offered it to Wayne
    I can't keep up any more

she's a sneaky biatch that Deirdra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

sligojoek wrote: »
    I reckon Ben is going to need a blood transplant or an organ donation and the only person that can give it to him is Deirdre.
    I was kinda right.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

If Dolphin Pod involves letting rooms in a hostel, then why would a couple book a room, and ''we've prepaid''!
    Any hostel I've ever known rents rooms, usually to students or single people, on a nightly basis for a reasonable amount
    Would a mature husband and (presumably) his wife book and prepay for a small room in a hostel?
    And Paul offers to put them up in a hotel of their choice for what they would have paid for two dormitory beds? About 35 euro. If it was me, I'd be booking myself into the Gresham.
    It makes you wonder what kind of sheltered life the FC 'writers' have led.

Mind you. that fella in the green jumper struck me as someone who wouldn't know a hotel/hostel bed from a bed of nettles.

I really feel for Wayne and Orla. Hughie didnt have to do that, he could have kept them on as Managers as if he couldn't see that making Jane the manager would cause tension like what experience does she have as a manager. I think what he did was quite nasty.

coolhull wrote: »
    If Dolphin Pod involves letting rooms in a hostel, then why would a couple book a room, and ''we've prepaid''!
    Any hostel I've ever known rents rooms, usually to students or single people, on a nightly basis for a reasonable amount
    Would a mature husband and (presumably) his wife book and prepay for a small room in a hostel?
    And Paul offers to put them up in a hotel of their choice for what they would have paid for two dormitory beds? About 35 euro. If it was me, I'd be booking myself into the Gresham.
    It makes you wonder what kind of sheltered life the FC 'writers' have led.

Mind you. that fella in the green jumper struck me as someone who wouldn't know a hotel/hostel bed from a bed of nettles.

Why wouldn't a mature husband and wife stay in a hostel. They could be really tight with their money and what the cheapest place possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭jos28

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Ahhh, it's all coming back to me now. Stripey and Gripey live in Bazza's old house. Thanks Liz ! BTW Where are the gruesome twosome ? He hasn't been heard griping for ages

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

fin12 wrote: »
    Why wouldn't a mature husband and wife stay in a hostel. They could be really tight with their money and what the cheapest place possible.
    No, of course a couple could stay in a hostel, fin, I'm just saying that it wouldn't be typical.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭hearmehearye

No, of course a couple could stay in a hostel, fin, I'm just saying that it wouldn't be typical.

Especially if it's a magical hostel that opens up overnight, with no apparent promotion or advertising...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,126 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

jos28 wrote: »

I'm confused by this too, there's been no discussion of this before now. It seems to be "rooms" for rent.....is it in that house where they held the party tonight? Doesn't strike me as something that would be a huge money spinner.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't know where this whole dolphin pod franchise came from! Sure I read the spoilers, but it just seems like Rachel woke up one day and developed a business plan & website complete with dodgy booking system for this fabulous THREE bed hostel at most....

Perhaps scenes where this idea came into plan was lost among the mountains last weeks basketball footage? Remember , that dragged out storyline that abruptly ended when Sally's fiancé turned up, in a car, rudely demanding parking [rolleyes\] Tut 'No one in carrigstown drives Sally. It's way to dangerous - look at Dermots poor face'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,608 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Have you tasted the tomatoes across the road in the Bistro? People are flocking to Carrigstown from all over to get a taste. The hostel is the best way to accommodate them all. Ingenious plan by Sourpuss and lacky, Don Brennan!

The dude in the green jumper was the fooking grumpiest man in Ireland. Why did they have to make him so abrasive right off the bat?

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

McCoys also strikes me as being a dull boring bland pub with not a hell of a lot going on. Come to think of it the place changed owners loads of times which is not a good sign. Kay & Malachy traditionally had it and then it went to Christy, Bob, Louis, Carol, Yvonne, Wayne and Orla. Am I forgetting anyone??

Mccoys is gonna be the new porndog. It's gonna be all craft beer pickles and smoked meats so if bunion Kelly wants a toasted special he can feck off back to the 80's.

squadro wrote: »
    Ah jaysus yerman in the green jumper. Give it the eyes man.

I know what the hell

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

walshb wrote: »
    The dude in the green jumper was the fooking grumpiest man in Ireland. Why did they have to make him so abrasive right off the bat?

I think they were playing the part of tired frazzled travelers. And pierce with the toons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

"POD" WARNING PLEASE DO NOT ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT RACHEL'S NEW BUSINESS. ESSENTIALLY THERE ARE NO ANSWERS

I think they were playing the part of tired frazzled travelers. And pierce with the toons!

Maybe Sourpuss's business was set up/created after advice from Caddle. Sure, Caddle's cabs is global now. And all run from a bic biro (borrowed off Nina) and a mobile phone. All this nonsense about set up costs and insurance and legal documents and staff and hours and rates and red tape is so exaggerated in the world of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,126 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't know where this whole dolphin pod franchise came from! Sure I read the spoilers, but it just seems like Rachel woke up one day and developed a business plan & website complete with dodgy booking system for this fabulous THREE bed hostel at most....

Perhaps scenes where this idea came into plan was lost among the mountains last weeks basketball footage? Remember , that dragged out storyline that abruptly ended when Sally's fiancé turned up, in a car, rudely demanding parking [rolleyes\] Tut 'No one in carrigstown drives Sally. It's way to dangerous - look at Dermots poor face'

They're making a big deal about it being a new business venture, but it's just a house with a couple of rooms to rent? Dublin is full of houses like that. This has to be one of the daftest FC storylines ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Seriously though, why can't they give ray a story. He is actually a decent actor, a believable character and a very likeable character. Sick of the likes of Moany Dan and Not Jennifer Aniston hogging the screen.

Also nice to see when the sh1t hits the fan with the Fahy's and Binjumin, Chas f'ks off and doesn't even visit him. Yet he is all one with Binjumin when he is in the park every other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Wait until Mad Tommy hears Jennifer Anniston and Wayne The Pain are jobless and homeless. Then also that Jennifer has turned to the drink and will probably need treatment I wonder will he look for custody of "The Youngfella".