Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v5] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

fin12 wrote: »
    Are Tommy and Charlotte going to start going out with each other?....

I got that vibe too! But I thought I was just being innappropriate!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Rose016

I got that vibe too! But I thought I was just being innappropriate!

Another baby junior junior ... the ram strikes again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Has poor Ama ever been in a relationship where she wasn't cheated on?

Damian cheated on her with Caoimhe. Now Dr Shane is about to do the same thing. That Zambian guy who came over did not look the greatest either. That leaves Doug who she seemed to reject and who seems the most decent.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I cannot see why anyone would fall for Heather. She is the most horrible person currently/recently in Fair City. Jane is a saint compared to her. Heather is devious, insincere, manipulative, scheming, selfish, and potentially very dangerous. She may well be the most evil female character in it since that rich garage owner Paul met up with years back. Plus she is more evil than Thomas Flynn, Cathal Spillane, Sylvester Garrigan and Anthony Foley put together with plenty change.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,747 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope not

Fair city just keep doing the same formula over & over: affair starts, one party gets cold feet for a few days, affair resumes, they go off screen for a week, when they return the affair gets found out yadda yadda yadda. In fact I believe they just did that formula exactly with 'Oh Maaaaxxxxx!!'

Affairs are done to death on soaps at this stage and it's a problem with all soaps not just Fair City. What you wrote above is the classic soap affair scenario. It appears in all soaps often because it is easy to write. The template is already there. They are the most forgettable stories usually. I prefer Fair City storylines dealing with criminals and deranged individuals. Heather is deranged and there will be interesting storylines with her but this affair is just distracting attention away from the evil characteristics this incarnation of Heather has (I do not remember the old Heather being as nasty and remember her as a nice enough person).

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Carrie Crowley looks like she wants to run a mile every time Bob kisses her.

I thought Heather would have got Hughie back on the sauce and Farrah back on drugs (I think Max hinted when he first meet Farrah she was in bad way on drugs)

Shane is driving me nuts. I used to think he was a fairly likeable character but Heather is making me hate him!

Also I found it hilarious that himself and Ama came into the pub separately and neither of them bought anything. Shane talks to some randomers and Ama uses the bathroom. Does she not have a bathroom in her own house? Come to think of it, does she still live in MIA Sean's house or did she move into Shane's? Why would they need to use the pub as a meeting place? Carrigstown isn't that big! And Shane announced that the car was outside meaning Ama hadn't seen it so where was her bag of clothes for the weekend? I was waiting for her to turn around and tell him "I get my bag".

Sorry, I'm sick with a dose of the flu at the moment and watching FC directly before going to sleep probably wasn't the best idea!

Shane must be loaded all the money Heather pays for her visits to the clinic and his call out charges :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

Affairs are done to death on soaps at this stage and it's a problem with all soaps not just Fair City.

Done to death is right. I'm sure we all know people who have had affairs but seriously, are there any straightforward relationships in soapland ? I'd never be able to go to work or go for a pint if affairs were so rampant in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Shane must be loaded all the money Heather pays for her visits to the clinic and his call out charges :rolleyes:
    If my doctor is anything to go by, she must owe him at least a grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Then again, if my doctor is anything to go by, he won't come out of hours unless a child is very seriously sick. Not knocking him but evey time he told me, on the phone, to go to A&E, he was right.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It did cross my mind when I saw them together and getting on well. She must be 19 or so, so it would be above board but I reckon they'd have to keep it a secret otherwise Caoimhe and Decco would hit the roof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Damian cheated on her with Caoimhe. Now Dr Shane is about to do the same thing. That Zambian guy who came over did not look the greatest either. That leaves Doug who she seemed to reject and who seems the most decent.

her and sean will end up together or sean and me daaaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

youwould wrote: »
    Shane is driving me nuts. I used to think he was a fairly likeable character but Heather is making me hate him!

Also I found it hilarious that himself and Ama came into the pub separately and neither of them bought anything. Shane talks to some randomers and Ama uses the bathroom. Does she not have a bathroom in her own house? Come to think of it, does she still live in MIA Sean's house or did she move into Shane's? Why would they need to use the pub as a meeting place? Carrigstown isn't that big! And Shane announced that the car was outside meaning Ama hadn't seen it so where was her bag of clothes for the weekend? I was waiting for her to turn around and tell him "I get my bag".

Sorry, I'm sick with a dose of the flu at the moment and watching FC directly before going to sleep probably wasn't the best idea!

LOL I was thinking the same thing.

Heather is all of a sudden friends with Carol (since when? They are absolute opposites!) but wears her "pulling" dress out just on the off chance that the Dr might drop into the station (think this was the first time I've seen him in there, he's normally a McCoys man)

Dr drops and after checking out her cleavage goes off to chat with some extras, one of whom has actually been allowed to speak.

The Ama drops in and announces she's off to the jacks! Assuming they had organised to meet there (as you would when you work together and one of you has to drive to Wexford) Why would you not go before you left the house or surgery knowing you're heading on a 2 hour car drive? Are the pub jacks cleaner?

Suddenly Bella has become a Station regular where he stalks Caoimhe,

He's now going to sack Dean, the only chef that works in the restaurant and replace him with a drop out medical student.....I'm sure all those days practicing slicing bodies in college will come in handy for chopping the tomatoes

her and sean will end up together or sean and me daaaaaaaaaa

I hope not - I was kinda hoping MIA Sean would remain MIA. He's surely the worst actor in the thing along with Leo Shouting Big Hands

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

The Bould Leo has another string to his bow though when he breaks out the auld geeetaar. On raggllaann roooad. All together now.

squadro wrote: »
    The Bould Leo has another string to his bow though when he breaks out the auld geeetaar. On raggllaann roooad. All together now.

In years to come there will be tribunal to uncover how people like this were actually paid money for YEARS by a state body for their "acting"

Coat22 wrote: »
    In years to come there will be tribunal to uncover how people like this were actually paid money for YEARS by a state body for their "acting"

Sorry but if you want to insult Leo, or Dave Duffy, can you do it on some other thread. ............... ; )

He can do what he wants, acting wise. The man is a legend!

Show should be called The Extraordinary Life of The Blonde Elvis in The Brown Jacket.

Any sign of Gripey. I imagine they acknowledged the fact that his acting was great during Mumbles' Brush (against the Counter) with Death and fired him.
    Can't have good actors in FC.

Sorry but if you want to insult Leo, or Dave Duffy, can you do it on some other thread. ............... ; )

He can do what he wants, acting wise. The man is a legend!

Show should be called The Extraordinary Life of The Blonde Elvis in The Brown Jacket.

Any sign of Gripey. I imagine they acknowledged the fact that his acting was great during Mumbles' Brush (against the Counter) with Death and fired him.
    Can't have good actors in FC.

Did you know that Dave Duffy was in a relationship with the late Aine O'Connor before she died? She took up with Leo after her romance to Gabriel Byrne "ended amicably"

Imagine Gabriel Byrne to Leo - one went on to win a Golden Globe and the other eh worked in Fair City

It's unlikely too that Shane would be drinking in the two pubs a few yards away from his practise, it would send out the wrong signal to his patients. He doesn't seem the type that would be a drinker at all either, very health conscious and serious about his job.

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Strazdas wrote:
    It's unlikely too that Shane would be drinking in the two pubs a few yards away from his practise, it would send out the wrong signal to his patients. He doesn't seem the type that would be a drinker at all either, very health conscious and serious about his job.

Very unlikely and yet constantly happens in Carrickstown. Remember Dr Judy swigging glass after glass of red wine in McCoy's and breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hungry pig or vinos!

laylag wrote: »
    Very unlikely and yet constantly happens in Carrickstown. Remember Dr Judy swigging glass after glass of red wine in McCoy's and breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hungry pig or vinos!

As did Dr Jim! I don't think Shane even lives in Carrigstown? In which case he would be socialising in his own area, definitely not in the pub straight across from his practise.

Strazdas wrote: »
    As did Dr Jim! I don't think Shane even lives in Carrigstown? In which case he would be socialising in his own area, definitely not in the pub straight across from his practise.

I think he's still renting Charlie and Esther's old house. And yes, he is more health conscious than Dr Hiya and Dr Deep Voice Jim but he still spends a lot of time in both pubs!

Oh yes, he moved in there, didn't he? But he seems diligent about his work and extremely health conscious....people like that wouldn't normally be knocking back pints of beer in their local (it would be a bit like seeing a dietician hanging out regularly in fast food joints and chip shops).

Coat22 wrote: »
    Did you know that Dave Duffy was in a relationship with the late Aine O'Connor before she died? She took up with Leo after her romance to Gabriel Byrne "ended amicably"

Imagine Gabriel Byrne to Leo - one went on to win a Golden Globe and the other eh worked in Fair City

well in fairness we don't talk about Gabriel Byrne on this thread and we talk about Leo D. That tells you everything about his legendary status. I would love to see Gabriel try to pull Niamhlana, Sandylana and Svetlana. Man is a legend. :D

94aaa8bcac42361f179d0308fc08996b.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Tommy taking the moral high ground about Charlotte taking the money from vinos and only a month ago he walked out of the ballintine with a suitcase full of cash

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

A couple of months ago, you couldn't throw a stone in Carringstown without hitting a qualified chef.Now there's a massive shortage of chefs, so much so that Jackie has to get the local chip shop owner to provide burger and chips for even the most salubrious of parties. Of course, Jackie reports back to Bob that "They went down a treat. Everyone was impressed." I'm sure they were. Anybody who asks for Lobster Thermidor is happy enough to settle for a horseburger and fries.

Tommy taking the moral high ground about Charlotte taking the money from vinos and only a month ago he walked out of the ballintine with a suitcase full of cash

Though in fairness, he did back down by the end of the episode and decided to give her another chance (perhaps realising he had been too harsh on her).