Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v5] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 18,841 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Coat22 wrote: »
    ...plus her connection to Brendan - a doctor who is on the run for suspicion of murder of something like that for helping his brother in law kill himself. The same brother in law who was riding his own sister.

Anybody with a brain would run a mile from that woman, he might give her one if it was on offer but nobody with a brain would get into a relationship with her (Especially not another doctor for Gods sake)

Yes indeed, if I was in Shane's position, my gut instinct would be that this woman sounds like trouble with a capital T even if there was a strong physical attraction there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

We'll agree to disagree on that.

you are disagreeing on referring to someone as a missing link. Sound. If you can't make humour without insulting someones appearance you are a class act.

Enlighten us as to why that's so offensive to you ? :)

He is essentially calling the guy a half ape because of his appearance. I find that a tad offensive , derogatory and needless. Each to their own though. Looks like many agree with him so no point derailing the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

you are disagreeing on referring to someone as a missing link. Sound. If you can't make humour without insulting someones appearance you are a class act.

The humour in this entire thread revolves around people denigrating actors/writers/directors "professional" abilities and you don't seem to have an issue with this (as I don't). I for one would be much more upset if someone questioned my abilities rather than my looks.

Hedder is regularly called Smiler or Joker. I'm not the only one who calls Doug "Turkey" and we have other various comments on peoples appearance. Someone put up a picture of Terry Phelan last week as Hughie and nobody made a fuss about it (maybe Terry Phelan did)

I've obviously hit a nerve with you but really think you need to chill out and realise this is a chat board on the internet and not the school yard.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I think Coates made some good points, but like TB, I find it unnecessary to comment on an actor's appearance. I always get a kick out of slagging off the 'characters' in FC, but every man is some mother's son.
    Probably even young Binjimin!

Anyway, we'll leave it there.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Strazdas wrote: »
    Yes indeed, if I was in Shane's position, my gut instinct would be that this woman sounds like trouble with a capital T even if there was a strong physical attraction there.

Dr love should make the affair public ASAP, that way Heather can't go accusing him of all-sorts when he does finally dump her.

The humour in this entire thread revolves around people denigrating actors/writers/directors "professional" abilities and you don't seem to have an issue with this (as I don't). I for one would be much more upset if someone questioned my abilities rather than my looks.

Hedder is regularly called Smiler or Joker. I'm not the only one who calls Doug "Turkey" and we have other various comments on peoples appearance. Someone put up a picture of Terry Phelan last week as Hughie and nobody made a fuss about it (maybe Terry Phelan did)

I've obviously hit a nerve with you but really think you need to chill out and realise this is a chat board on the internet and not the school yard.

ok touche. I see your point. I just thought that comment was very excessive.

i put up the Terry Phelan photo because I think he looks like him?? Hardly an insult to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Dr love should make the affair public ASAP, that way Heather can't go accusing him of all-sorts when he does finally dump her.

Was Dr Love even in the hospital when they brought Ellie in the other night? It seemed like just about everyone else in Carrigstown was (and all had something to say to the doctor to which was quite funny)

It must have been the first time ever Dr Love wasn't around when she felt "poorly"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

He is essentially calling the guy a half ape because of his appearance. I find that a tad offensive , derogatory and needless. Each to their own though. Looks like many agree with him so no point derailing the thread.

what about Doug being called a turkey then??????? is that not offensive..

Was Dr Love even in the hospital when they brought Ellie in the other night? It seemed like just about everyone else in Carrigstown was (and all had something to say to the doctor to which was quite funny)

It must have been the first time ever Dr Love wasn't around when she felt "poorly"

No sign of Dr Love at the hospital.. I don't know why Orla had to rush off to the hospital, I don't think she's ever had a scene with Heather.

fin12 wrote: »
    what about Doug being called a turkey then??????? is that not offensive..

Pigeon would be more apt. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Coat22 wrote:

You're right with all this and the dude does resemble the stereotypical image of the link between man and ape possibly early evolution, if he looked like Tom Cruise we would be calling him Tom but he doesn't. No need for anyone to get offended

well I certainly would be offended if someone referred to me as that!!! Its hardly endearing is it to call some one a neanderthal, well not to me anyway. As I said each to their own taste and offending limits though. I've previously referred to Doug as a pigeon by the way his head jerks constantly so I guess I'm guilty also and maybe some people are offended by that, thats my perogative.

Anyway, apologies for my part in derailing the thread.

lets PLEASE leave it at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

We NEED Brendan to turn up. Can't understand why Farrah hasn't tracked him down

• Registered Users Posts: 12,179 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

jos28 wrote: »
    We NEED Brendan to turn up. Can't understand why Farrah hasn't tracked him down

It would help somewhat, but knowing FC, if he showed up he'd be off his head on coke, an alco, a completely different actor with no resemblence to the original character and a specialist in enabling the character known as Heather. It may even become a battle of the Doctors as both eejits attempt to "keep" her, while Ellie gets hooked on painkillers and ends up in rehab before secondary school.

is this the fourth episode in a row FC has started with Pierce walking out of a doorway with his beany hat on on the phone giving out where he bumps into Sourpuss and Katie or Doug?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,179 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

is this the fourth episode in a row FC has started with Pierce walking out of a doorway with his beany hat on on the phone giving out where he bumps into Sourpuss and Katie or Doug?

Same set same week. The FC way. Makes low budget filmmaking look good. Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭dogcat

After Nina the investigative journalist we have Ama the investigative nurse.

god i love Doug!!!

katie and Pierce methinks..............

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

dogcat wrote: »
    After Nina the investigative journalist we have Ama the investigative nurse.

And katey the blaise journalist

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

Grandeeod wrote: »
    It would help somewhat, but knowing FC, if he showed up he'd be off his head on coke, an alco, a completely different actor with no resemblence to the original character and a specialist in enabling the character known as Heather. It may even become a battle of the Doctors as both eejits attempt to "keep" her, while Ellie gets hooked on painkillers and ends up in rehab before secondary school.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

So....do we think the penny has dropped with Shane?? The eyes were open extra wide at the end of tonight's episode

• Registered Users Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭Pretzill

So....do we think the penny has dropped with Shane?? The eyes were open extra wide at the end of tonight's episode

I was just about to post the exact same thing - Penny dropping and big eyes wider too! :)

Sure it's only 500 euro to upgrade to the villa

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Was thinking the exact same thing. I just caught up on last night's episode on Player immediately before tonight's episode and had an instant deja vu feeling. It's like as if as soon as Pearce puts the phone to his ear,the others are ejected out of some set across the street.

Does Katie call around to the Brennans first thing every morning to see if Rachel wants to come out to play??

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Art Deko

Heather speaking about Ama/Alma to Shane, "She's cunning and manipulative"

Heather = Pot
    Cunning = Kettle
    Manipulative = Black

• Registered Users Posts: 18,841 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

katie and Pierce methinks..............

I thought that myself tonight when they looked so cosy but isn't she meant to be lesbian these days? Then again, she doesn't seem very experienced on the relationship front (and neither does Rachel).

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

That stuff annoys me the hell out of me. Whoever is involved in a main storyline, the characters always happen to meet outside Spar or Vino's at the start of each episode. It was Robbie Carol Dan and the basketball coach one for a while. Before that it was Tommy and Debbie and eventually Cathal.