Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v5] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 55,525 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Strazdas wrote: »
    It seems to be that he knows she's a Bishop, hence the dig at her but it's totally unclear how he would actually know this.

I suppose it ties in with the whole story. Everyone recognising Oisin even though it's been 15 years sinece he was last seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

It seems to be that he knows she's a Bishop, hence the dig at her but it's totally unclear how he would actually know this.

Maybe Sourpuss told him on one of her visits to Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

One of the most shocking lines in Fair City history took place last night......

For those of you who tend to mute oisins scenes

SOURPUSS: A COMMENT BERATING Oisin FOR THE WAY HE IS TAKING ADVANTAGE OF PAUL AND NIAMH

OISIN: WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU RACHEL , YOU USED TO BE SO MUCH FUN.

MUST BE SOME CRAIC IN MALLOW IF OISIN'S MEASURE OF FUN IS BASED ON SOURPUSS.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I'm not buying that an immigrant from Zambia like Ama would have a load of white Irish guys fighting over her or would be interested in them in return. From my observance, women in that situation in Ireland would probably stick to dating men from their own continent, maybe for cultural reasons as much as anything else (where are her African friends?).

And what's with Oisin calling Charlotte a skanger? She has a middle class accent! :D

I'm sure Ama will end up choosing Doug in the end. Then Shane will come back and she will still have feeling for him. She seems to have rejected Emmett so far?

Oisin is sort of added in as a replacement for Callum. As well as of course setting up a Blue Dolphin-style Niamh v Nicola feud and it carried on through Rachel v Oisin.

Ama's character like most soap characters is not 100% realistic. A real life version of her would have friends from her own area (Zambia, Zimbabwe) and possibly other parts of Africa too. If Martha Udenze was still in it, she would be her friend. Ama's role is to fit into the soap's storylines and at present is the only foreigner in it. Ten years ago, Fair City had more foreigners and had the Nigerian Udenzes along with 2 Russians, an Iranian family, an African social worker, an Israeli builder, etc.

At the moment, Fair City does not have a really interesting story like the Flynn one or the Shane/Heather one. The Ama/Doug/Emmett thing is the most interesting. I hope they bring back Cathal and have another gangland storyline as soon as possible. I cannot see why this basketball/bootcamp storyline is even there and it seems to be merely to give characters with no current storyline like Laura, Dan, Sally, Carol and so on screentime.

OISIN: WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU RACHEL , YOU USED TO BE SO MUCH FUN.

MUST BE SOME CRAIC IN MALLOW IF OISIN'S MEASURE OF FUN IS BASED ON SOURPUSS.......

I was wondering what he meant by that. They haven't fcuking seen each other in donkies years! When was Sourpuss ever fun? The sarkiest character in the soap's history!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,546 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'm sure Ama will end up choosing Doug in the end. Then Shane will come back and she will still have feeling for him. She seems to have rejected Emmett so far?

Oisin is sort of added in as a replacement for Callum. As well as of course setting up a Blue Dolphin-style Niamh v Nicola feud and it carried on through Rachel v Oisin.

Ama's character like most soap characters is not 100% realistic. A real life version of her would have friends from her own area (Zambia, Zimbabwe) and possibly other parts of Africa too. If Martha Udenze was still in it, she would be her friend. Ama's role is to fit into the soap's storylines and at present is the only foreigner in it. Ten years ago, Fair City had more foreigners and had the Nigerian Udenzes along with 2 Russians, an Iranian family, an African social worker, an Israeli builder, etc.

At the moment, Fair City does not have a really interesting story like the Flynn one or the Shane/Heather one. The Ama/Doug/Emmett thing is the most interesting. I hope they bring back Cathal and have another gangland storyline as soon as possible. I cannot see why this basketball/bootcamp storyline is even there and it seems to be merely to give characters with no current storyline like Laura, Dan, Sally, Carol and so on screentime.

Yes, it's not very plausible that Ama would have only white Irish friends and even less plausible that she would date only white Irish men. Her roots are in the African continent and you would imagine she would socialise with people from her own country or neighbouring ones.

FC are not doing very well on the immigrant front. Around 15% of people in Dublin are non nationals but this is not reflected at all in the current cast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Yes, it's not very plausible that Ama would have only white Irish friends and even less plausible that she would date only white Irish men. Her roots are in the African continent and you would imagine she would socialise with people from her own country or neighbouring ones.

FC are not doing very well on the immigrant front. Around 15% of people in Dublin are non nationals but this is not reflected at all in the current cast.

At the risk of stereotyping here......why would Ama/Alma go for a fellow immigrant when she has a doctor and Damo the self employed hardware man competing for her - if you can attract the money then go for it love.....now when the options are Doug the mechanic who can't afford a week in Ibiza or Emmet the whatever he is who can't afford any clothes apart from one cardigan then you might start to think about your fellow immigrants being a more viable option......

Coat22 wrote: »
    At the risk of stereotyping here......why would Ama/Alma go for a fellow immigrant when she has a doctor and Damo the self employed hardware man competing for her - if you can attract the money then go for it love.....now when the options are Doug the mechanic who can't afford a week in Ibiza or Emmet the whatever he is who can't afford any clothes apart from one cardigan then you might start to think about your fellow immigrants being a more viable option......

I could definitely buy her relationship with Shane, a fellow medical professional, someone that she would look up to and it would also represent climbing the social ladder.

Damien, Emmett and Doug would be no sort of option for her though, I think she would rebuff all three, even Damien with his own business.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,544 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I could see Doug having an accident like Jim in the film American Pie if a bit of action with Ama was on the cards.

Don't think she is interested in him anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,243 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

When did Ama and Caoimhe become good mates :confused: thought Farrah was her mate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Oisin and Charlotte.... Cringe. I have a feeling they are about to become fair city's pinky and the brain.
    My favourite quote of the past 2 weeks was a little gem out of bella last week, it had so much promise. While sat casting in the community centre bella actually said "where's our heroine" .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    When did Ama and Caoimhe become good mates :confused: thought Farrah was her mate

Farrah is on her 6 week break so Caoimhe had to step in, so unrealistic!

As far as I know, Ama is the only non national in it at present? It was much more reflective of the different peoples that were in Dublin 10 or 12 years ago. Ama's friends seem to be Farrah and now Caoimhe. Her love interest to date has been Damien, Doug and Shane, possibly Emmett too. The only African person she had dealings with was her ex boyfriend who came to visit her. Doug's friends then are Ama, Charlotte, Rachel, and Katie.

I could definitely buy her relationship with Shane, a fellow medical professional, someone that she would look up to and it would also represent climbing the social ladder.

Damien, Emmett and Doug would be no sort of option for her though, I think she would rebuff all three, even Damien with his own business.

Ama and Damien did not get on too well and fought over religious issues when they were together. Ama's character has changed somewhat in recent times. I think in many ways she looks down on Doug, likes to string Emmett along and would still run back to Shane if he came back. Ama seems a bit of a snob and does not come across as the nice person she pretends to be.

I would agree here. She refused to sleep with Damien for supposed religious reasons and yet hopped into bed with the nice middle class and well spoken doctor at the first opportunity (even making the first move on him).

It's a bit unbelievable she would hang out with white Irish people only and not have any friends who are immigrants to the country or from Africa. It would be a bit like me or you moving to Zambia and only hanging out with and dating the locals and refusing to have anything to do with any Irish or English people living there.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I would agree here. She refused to sleep with Damien for supposed religious reasons and yet hopped into bed with the nice middle class and well spoken doctor at the first opportunity (even making the first move on him).

It's a bit unbelievable she would hang out with white Irish people only and not have any friends who are immigrants to the country or from Africa. It would be a bit like me or you moving to Zambia and only hanging out with and dating the locals and refusing to have anything to do with any Irish or English people living there.

Ya but also you would think as well after how the doctor cheated on her that she would revert back again and vow to never sleep with someone until marriage again. I don't get her character at all and her and caoimhe being friends is so unrealistic.

Oh come on. RTE are hardly just going to employ a bunch of Africans just to hang around with Ama. Who knows. Maybe she does have African friends.

We never see any soap characters hanging around with other than the fellow cast.

This is far far far one of the least serious issues with FC writing!

Amas character has more or less grown into the Irish lifestyle. Her and Caoimhe (new caoimhe.......remember 2 years ago she was one of the most vile haracters going) are normal girls the same age working and living closeby. Just because she isnt African doesnt make it unrealistic. Lots of soap friendships just suddenly commence.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Ive more than one friend...........

Oh come on. RTE are hardly just going to employ a bunch of Africans just to hang around with Ama. Who knows. Maybe she does have African friends.

We never see any soap characters hanging around with other than the fellow cast.

This is far far far one of the least serious issues with FC writing!

Amas character has more or less grown into the Irish lifestyle. Her and Caoimhe (new caoimhe.......remember 2 years ago she was one of the most vile haracters going) are normal girls the same age working and living closeby. Just because she isnt African doesnt make it unrealistic. Lots of soap friendships just suddenly commence.

Yes, there is of course artistic licence here but the current plot of two white Irish guys vying for Ama's affections is stretching things a bit (having recently had two other white Irish boyfriends). The problem is of course that with no other black or mixed race or immigrant characters, they've no choice but to pair her off with the locals and regulars.

fin12 wrote: »
    Ya but also you would think as well after how the doctor cheated on her that she would revert back again and vow to never sleep with someone until marriage again. I don't get her character at all and her and caoimhe being friends is so unrealistic.

She seemed to crack a joke recently that she would be up for some "action" in the bedroom : looks like she has changed a lot :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Wasn't Ama engagned to Damien as well??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

I'd definitely go drinking with and take advise on men from the woman that was hopping my man behind my back, good call ama

Yes, there is of course artistic licence here but the current plot of two white Irish guys vying for Ama's affections is stretching things a bit (having recently had two other white Irish boyfriends). The problem is of course that with no other black or mixed race or immigrant characters, they've no choice but to pair her off with the locals and regulars.

Two white guys fighting over a coloured girl............well I never! She is a good looking friendly local girl who is very much part of the community, lived with one of the lads, worked with her previous boyfriend.

Not to sound so politically correct but apart from her accent, Ama may as well be Irish at this stage such is her settling into the community. Ireland isn't a hotbed for Zambians anyway and Africa isn't one big community of people!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Two white guys fighting over a coloured girl............well I never! She is a good looking friendly local girl who is very much part of the community, lived with one of the lads, worked with her previous boyfriend.

Not to sound so politically correct but apart from her accent, Ama may as well be Irish at this stage such is her settling into the community. Ireland isn't a hotbed for Zambians anyway and Africa isn't one big community of people!

She's still implausibly integrated into the local community. My next door neighbours in Dublin are from Swaziland, a mum, two teenage girls and a teenage boy and they are really friendly and outgoing and have been here for a good few years but they all have black friends of all ages coming and going.

That's true ... from what I can see she is not as genuine as she thinks she is. She has in my view treated Doug very poorly despite he being a genuine friend to her. Dr Shane was perfect for her and he seems to have terrible taste in insincere girlfriends as he moves from Ama to the even more insincere and downright dangerous (new incarnation of) Heather.

Regarding the lack of African friends, we all know they are not there because they are not on the soap. True they are not just going to be employed to show Ama has African friends. I suppose we can presume they are there off-screen? Perhaps a few extras seen with Ama from time to time would make it more realistic? Or the Martha Udenze character could be revived and a storyline created?

That's true ... from what I can see she is not as genuine as she thinks she is. She has in my view treated Doug very poorly despite he being a genuine friend to her. Dr Shane was perfect for her and he seems to have terrible taste in insincere girlfriends as he moves from Ama to the even more insincere and downright dangerous (new incarnation of) Heather.

Regarding the lack of African friends, we all know they are not there because they are not on the soap. True they are not just going to be employed to show Ama has African friends. I suppose we can presume they are there off-screen? Perhaps a few extras seen with Ama from time to time would make it more realistic? Or the Martha Udenze character could be revived and a storyline created?

That lad from Zambia who came over from London and was staying with her for a while was a much more realistic portrayal of what her life would be like as in immigrant.

We definitely seem to be seeing a different side to Ama. She was quite formal and reserved initially, but ever since she got it on with Dr. Shane she appears to be changing, and not necessarily for the better.

Speaking of Ama, did she ever find her bag?

walshb wrote: »
    Speaking of Ama, did she ever find her bag?

Her bag was a Fair City character in itself when she first arrived :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

What bag is this???