Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setting up a bookmakers?

Options
  • 31-01-2015 12:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

looking into opening up a bookmakers. There is a unit that has come up that would be ideal situation and we feel there would be a big demand for one. In my local area there is no bookmakers for 30miles each direction. There was one at one stage but closed down. We feel it closed as the owners were not really to bothered. They lost the respect of the customer and weren't even opened for some of the race meetings. I have no previous experience of the job, I heard there is a course you can take? It's only early days so please go easy on me if I seem naive on the subject. Looking for some sound advice from a bookmaker if possible. Thanks.

Also wondering
    Cost of having channels such as sky, turf TV, racing uk, at the races.
    Would we need to buy a license if so how much?
    Is there a software used by bookmakers to take/pay out bets?
    Size of a float needed to get started?
    Plan is 1 person working in the bookies full-time.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/excise/excise-licensing/bookmakers-licences.html