Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Appreticeships

Options
  • 05-02-2015 8:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hi,

I'm 31 and looking to start an apprenticeship in electrical installation, would anybody know of a contractor looking to employ at the minute? I'm based in the north 5 mins from Castleblayney, I can travel if needed no problem as I have a van and tools.

I have been working for the last three years with single and three phase motors, pumps, compressors and control panels etc in the wastewater treatment industry. I have decided I want to go and learn the electrical trade fully now and am looking for an employer. Previously I have completed an apprenticeship in fabrication and welding and studied a HNC in Mechanical Engineering at college, so I'm not a complete beginner and have a good working experience in industry.

Thanks
    Michael

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,745 ✭✭✭meercat

Sorry I can't help you but I wish you the best of luck.knew a lad in his thirties who started his apprentiship and he never looked back. I'm sure their are companies out there looking for someone like you whose not green and would be a great asset as a first year(when most apprentices don't make money for the company )
    I currently employ an apprentice who picked up the phone and rang every electrical contractor in the county. I initially turned him down but he replied with a txt message thanking me for taking the time to talk to him and would I consider him in the future. My point is direct contact is best.
    Good luck in your search

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Tom44

meercat wrote: »