Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Limerick school apologises for Charlie Hebdo

• 06-02-2015 9:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭

A school has apologised to a Muslim pupil who took offence when a copy of the controversial French magazine 'Charlie Hebdo' was produced during a class.

The mother of the 11-year-old boy, who is in fifth class, has said that she was outraged after learning about the incident at Limerick School Project on O'Connell Avenue in Limerick city.

The magazine was produced by a student during a discussion on the French Revolution and freedom of speech.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/school-apologises-to-muslim-pupil-over-charlie-hebdo-in-class-30968831.html

Je suis Charlie indeed. Can someone tell me where I can purchase one of these "offence" cards? They sound like a great way of bullying the public into doing what I say.

What are your opinions on the actions of the school? Do you think they were right or wrong in their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

One of their cartoonists was busted for Anti-Semitism in the past. Stupid publication for morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/school-apologises-to-muslim-pupil-over-charlie-hebdo-in-class-30968831.html

Je suis Charlie indeed. Can someone tell me where I can purchase one of these "offence" cards? They sound like a great way of bullying the public into doing what I say.

What are your opinions on the actions of the school? Do you think they were right or wrong in their actions.

Teacher is a gob****e and should have known, saying that the childs mother overreacted and i don't think the school should have apologized.

Love this bit
    Nonetheless, he said the multi-denominational school, which has more than 200 pupils, believes in the right to freedom of speech.

Mr Allen said they can't control everything that children bring into the school, "nor do we want to".

I wonder what his position would be if the child had bought in a porno mag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Teacher is a gob****e and should have known, saying that the childs mother overreacted and i don't think the school should have apologized.

Love this bit

I wonder what his position would be if the child had bought in a porno mag.

Worst "what if"ever.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Vomit wrote: »
    One of their cartoonists was busted for Anti-Semitism in the past. Stupid publication for morons.

The magazine went after every major religion, Muslim, Catholics, Jewish etc. They are all fair game.

A religious belief is only an idea and no idea deserves special protection or rights,

assigning special protection and exemptions to religious ideas is what causes the likes of Catholic ethos schools in Ireland to basically have the right to sack teachers for being gay or lesbian people as they (the schools) are exempt from certain parts of legislation .... Cause it goes against their Catholic ethos

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

Cabaal wrote: »
    The magazine went after every major religion, Muslim, Catholics, Jewish etc. They are all fair game.

A religious belief is only an idea and no idea deserves special protection or rights,

assigning special protection and exemptions to religious ideas is what causes the likes of Catholic ethos schools in Ireland to basically have the right to sack teachers for being gay or lesbian people as they (the schools) are exempt from certain parts of legislation .... Cause it goes against their Catholic ethos

From 2009:
    French cartoonist Sine on trial on charges of anti-Semitism over Sarkozy jibe

A Left-wing cartoonist is to go on trial on Tuesday on charges of anti-Semitism for suggesting Jean Sarkozy, the son of the French president, was converting to Judaism for financial reasons.

You think they were wrong to fire him and for him to face trial? All bigotry is disgusting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Free speech is a current topic that is rightly of interest to educators. I see nothing wrong with examining that magazine during class. It should spark debate and critical thinking in students, skills we need in our population. Muslim students can debate too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Do all the kids there sit around in 5th class chuckling about the religious foibles of others?

They'll be a shoo-in for boards membership the minute they can grow their own neckbeards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

School should have never apologised if anything they should have defended the freedom of speech you get the sense the mother is making it sound worse than it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

They were having a discussion on freedom of speech and the French revolution, in that context don't see how it should cause of fence. School shouldn't have apologized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

They were having a discussion on freedom of speech and the French revolution, in that context don't see how it should cause of fence. School shouldn't have apologized.

The principal would have been figuratively crucified by Islams quislings in the media & online.

No point losing your job over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

If you send your child to an educate together school you should be ready to have them exposed to such radical ideas like free speech, open debate and secular non-religious opinions. If you want the imposition of religious doctrine (be it the angelus or saying a prayer before class or not displaying photos of your prophet) then you should go to a religious school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

kneemos wrote: »
    Worst "what if"ever.

You would be ok with a child bringing a porno mag to school to show your kids? Would you not be offended?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ah yes the problem here in an Educate Together school is of course the Catholic church.

'Even when it was the bears, I knew it was the Catholics!' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Nothing like educating them have a a victim complex early on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

touts wrote: »
    If you send your child to an educate together school you should be ready to have them exposed to such radical ideas like free speech, open debate and secular non-religious opinions. If you want the imposition of religious doctrine (be it the angelus or saying a prayer before class or not displaying photos of your prophet) then you should go to a religious school.

This. Agree completely.

I'm from Limerick and I know this school very well.

Am surprised they veered from their ethos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

What a pathetic pushover of a nation we are, pander to anyone who has a slight problem with our beliefs and values.

I find it interesting the woman chose to stay anonymous

Not enough belief and conviction in your religion to stand public misses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Was the mother not just defending her free speech though.

<hides>

Seriously though, hope the lesson also included our blasphemy law considering the usual content of Charlie Hebdo.

yipeeeee wrote: »
    What a pathetic pushover of a nation we are, pander to anyone who has a slight problem with our beliefs and values.

Well we won't have to worry about it once the Clongriffin ghetto has been built so that they can live, shop and school their children without the contaminating influences of Irish society. I'm sure that will fix everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

You would be ok with a child bringing a porno mag to school to show your kids? Would you not be offended?

That happened loads of times!!

There would be a frenzy around a lads locker as everyone gathered for a gander at a skin mag brought in..... or the class room if the teacher was particularly dozy.

Nobody cried to mommy & we got on with our lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Haha!! I thought this might have been a thread about who gave an 11year old a copy of Charlie Hebdo and what their intentions were for doing it, but, silly me, it's another big bad Muslim thread. Hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

The biggest surprise for me out of all the Charlie Hebdo was that the French have a sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭SeanW

At times like this, don't you just feel so "enriched" by "diversity" and multiculturalism?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

In all seriousness. I have been alive for over 4 decades and I have yet to offended by anything

What am I doing wrong ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Fair play to her.

Charlie Hebdo is offensive crap, I'm an atheist and I wouldn't want someone showing my kids that crap either.

Getting pretty tiresome seeing people bleat about their beloved "freedom of speech" and showing no grasp of the responsibilities that come with it. Also funny how people think the fact that ****-rag was offensive towards every religion somehow makes it acceptable.

SeanW wrote: »
    At times like this, don't you just feel so "enriched" by "diversity" and multiculturalism?

Lets all bang on bin lids to celebrate our diversity

(Hey you at the back, no rhythm please, that's offensive)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

conorhal wrote: »
    Ah yes the problem here in an Educate Together school is of course the Catholic church.

'Even when it was the bears, I knew it was the Catholics!' :rolleyes:

To be fair when I was in school we had religion classes most days. We were told that sex before marriage was wrong, contraception was the equivalent of killing babies, homosexuality is unnatural and an insult to God, the Pope has a direct line to God & the catholic church is the only true church.

Saying anything offensive about the Pope or the catholic church would have resulted in a suspension. So would possessing any form of contraception.

Yes, muslims can be over sensitive about their religion but they hardly have a monopoly on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

RWCNT wrote: »
    Fair play to her.

Charlie Hebdo is offensive crap, I'm an atheist and I wouldn't want someone showing my kids that crap either.

Getting pretty tiresome seeing people bleat about their beloved "freedom of speech" and showing no grasp of the responsibilities that come with it. Also funny how people think the fact that ****-rag was offensive towards every religion somehow makes it acceptable.

It's perfectly acceptable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Fair play to her.

Most people are in favour of freedom of speech until they hear something that they find personally offensive.

Like the pope said about insulting his mother. Yes, freedom of speech allows me to walk up and insult someone's mother. Just because I'm free to do it doesn't mean I'm not being a dick when I do it. And really I have to expect that if I do it often enough someone will eventually punch me in the face.

That's not excusing violence. Violence is wrong. I'm just saying that eventually someone will punch me in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I'm offended by her offence. I await an apology.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

It's clear what has to be done. Tonight, we must move forward, not backward. Upward, not forward. And always twirling, twirling, TWIRLING towards freedom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I don't this crap starting in my city. The one thing I love about Limerick is that you can joke or point fun at anything. It's never intended to be harmful. If this crap starts, especially in a school teaching "free speech", then I'll crack up. You think I got offended when I seen one of the lads wearing a Cradle of filth t shirt saying "Jesus is a c*nt"? F*ck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,211 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

This. Agree completely.

I'm from Limerick and I know this school very well.

Am surprised they veered from their ethos.

They didn't? Their ethos is multi-denominational, not non-denominational? They respect all faiths and none.

bjork wrote: »
    I find it interesting the woman chose to stay anonymous

Not enough belief and conviction in your religion to stand public misses?

The family haven't chosen to remain anonymous? Check the front of the morning papers. The child's father is an Algerian muslim living in Ireland 15 years.

It's the way certain media outlets have chosen to spin the story to create a bit of hysteria that leaves you lacking in the facts.

Ironic, isn't it?

They didn't? Their ethos is multi-denominational, not non-denominational? They respect all faiths and none.

The family haven't chosen to remain anonymous? Check the front of the morning papers. The child's father is an Algerian muslim living in Ireland 15 years.

It's the way certain media outlets have chosen to spin the story to create a bit of hysteria that leaves you lacking in the facts.

Ironic, isn't it?
    the journal, the limerick leader, the times and the independent all say she wishes to remain anonymous

What papers are you reading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Kinda conflicted by the story too, in the same way I'm conflicted by CH handling of the affair generally.

No problem with ET or their education on free speech (I'm an atheist, would love to see secular education being the norm in Ireland, despise religious fundamentalists and support CH right to free speech) but I just have this slightly uncomfortable feeling about sending your kid into a school discussion about free speech (which again, the discussion is great) with something that essentially uses free speech to troll people's faith. There's something of the fart-smelling, circle jerk of boards about it, to be honest.

Not that I give a fcuk about the rights of fundamentalists not to be trolled, but there's every chance the offended kid's parents didn't fall into that bracket.

Again, I think there's a way to lampoon and oppose religion without striving to be across the board offensive to people who have faith, no matter how ridiculous we think that faith is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Fair play to her.

Which is why it should've sparked debate and not offence.

I'm not religionist, I hate all organised religion equally :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I don't this crap starting in my city. The one thing I love about Limerick is that you can joke or point fun at anything. It's never intended to be harmful. If this crap starts, especially in a school teaching "free speech", then I'll crack up. You think I got offended when I seen one of the lads wearing a Cradle of filth t shirt saying "Jesus is a c*nt"? F*ck off

What would you think of someone who dressed their primary school child in a t shirt like that for going to class?

Exercising their right to free speech or exercising their right to insult, abuse, and provoke?

bjork wrote: »
    the journal, the limerick leader, the times and the independent all say she wishes to remain anonymous

What papers are you reading?

Front of the STAR newspaper, caught my eye this morning in Gleesons on Henry St. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Vomit wrote: »
    From 2009:

You think they were wrong to fire him and for him to face trial? All bigotry is disgusting.

I am genuinely a bit confused.. he made a suggestion that a Jew liked money?? A poor stereotype and a bit of an insult but hardly a firing offence..
    They regularly cast Allah as a bomber and other typical stereotypes and that is seen as free speech..
    Why the double standards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

its a school, you wouldn't allow some kid to bring in a paper that denied the holocaust or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I would be surprised if that didn't happen anyway. Happened numerous times when I was in school. If a school contacted me to say my child was being suspended for bringing in a pornographic magazine, I'd warn him/her not to be so stupid, we have the internet now, there's no need to be wasting his/her money. Then I'd probably realise that he/she needs some proper sex ed. sooner rather than later, which has never been done properly in this country anyway.

If anyone thinks porn isn't shown and shared regularly in our schools, then they're fooling themselves.

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I don't this crap starting in my city.

You own the city all to yourself or something?

The one thing I love about Limerick is that you can joke or point fun at anything. It's never intended to be harmful.

This wasn't a joke, it's a school where children are supposed to be sent to be educated, not mocked, by the teachers no less!

The girl who brought the magazine into school apologised to the other child afterwards for any offence caused, y'know, like mature adults should be able to do, instead of bleating on about their "right to free speech" (right to be an inconsiderate arse hole).

If this crap starts, especially in a school teaching "free speech", then I'll crack up.

You may commence cracking up. The school doesn't teach free speech; quite the opposite actually - it teaches respect for all faiths and none.

You think I got offended when I seen one of the lads wearing a Cradle of filth t shirt saying "Jesus is a c*nt"? F*ck off

You didn't, but then you're not an 11 year old child (you're not, right? Just checking!), and it was the 11 year old child who requested that the teacher put the magazine away as it was offensive to his religion. We often praise children around here for standing up for themselves. What's different in this case?

What would you think of someone who dressed their primary school child in a t shirt like that for going to class?

Exercising their right to free speech or exercising their right to insult, abuse, and provoke?

IMO the teacher handled the situation correctly, the school was however wrong to issue an apology to the parents for handling the situation correctly. The undue defference to it displays is the kind of over sensitivity towards offending minorities that lays the seeds for a Rotherham on these shores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Well that's more to do with a child having inappropriate language on the T shirt rather than anything else. They should be wearing uniforms anyway. A kid wearing a Rangers jersey to school in Ireland would probably cause more problems than that!

Also, "The magazine was produced by a student during a discussion on the French Revolution and freedom of speech."

Freedom of speech and respecting all religions just don't go hand in hand I'm afraid.

If I have the right to exercise freedom of speech and I have to apologise for what I say because it offends someones religion, then how the f*ck is that freedom of speech?

You own the city all to yourself or something?

This wasn't a joke, it's a school where children are supposed to be sent to be educated, not mocked, by the teachers no less!

The girl who brought the magazine into school apologised to the other child afterwards for any offence caused, y'know, like mature adults should be able to do, instead of bleating on about their "right to free speech" (right to be an inconsiderate arse hole).

You may commence cracking up. The school doesn't teach free speech; quite the opposite actually - it teaches respect for all faiths and none.

You didn't, but then you're not an 11 year old child (you're not, right? Just checking!), and it was the 11 year old child who requested that the teacher put the magazine away as it was offensive to his religion. We often praise children around here for standing up for themselves. What's different in this case?

Be careful there that you don't fall off your high horse!

I grew up in Limerick, I know the place inside out and the manner in which we joke about is something that I found very unique to the place. You can slag about anything and it's taken as a joke. I don't want that to change to the point where everybody is offended about everything. Those people can f*ck off.

Ok, I've an example :

I was threatened to be kicked out of school because I didn't want to attend religion class as it's full of crap that I didn't believe in. Where is my apology? I got over it. Christ above like.

It's offensive to his religion? Well then tough sh1t! F*ck off somewhere else! You integrate into our culture, not the other way around. You think I went around Canada when I moved there telling everyone they have to go on the lash every weekend all weekend and slagging everyone? No! I learned my limits there and made an effort to integrate. If I wanted to get citizenship there, I have swear allegiance to the queen, I need to do English tests, crap that I think is stupid, but that's their country, not mine.

Unless you are socially retarded, you should know the limits and learn to bite your tongue even if something annoys you. Last time I checked, Ireland wasn't a Muslim state. If you come here to live, then live as we do and don't be expecting special treatment.

Remember the film American History X? He was told to write about a struggle for civil rights and he did it about Mein Kampf? It will offend people but under instruction, these are the topics that may be legitimately discussed!

Pah, Freedom of speech my hole. Next thing you know you'll be bleeped out for every single non PC thing that is said

Just to add, if you moved to an Islamic country, would you try to change all their things? No, you would learn to integrate. You would know not to do certain things like draw pictures of Mohammed and show the soles of your feet etc. Get a grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I largely agree with all that but it's cheap humour. You generally wouldn't want your primary school aged child exposed to humour dealing with abortion, sex or any other heavy issue. Seems fair enough to leave religion out of it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Was in Lidl in Ashbourne a few days ago and some Muslim woman in a hijab was complaining about pork being displayed in the meat section...

WILL THESE ****ERS JUST PISS OFF ALREADY !?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I think Charlie Hebdo are scum, to be perfectly frank. They didn't produce the magazine the week after their colleagues were murdered as some sort of tribute to their colleagues, they did it to cash in. Normally they'd sell 60,000 copies, that week they ordered 3 million to be printed and ended up selling 5 million, nice little cash cow there. Then came the global aftermath of slaughter and rioting by Muslim fanatics in other parts of the world as a result.

Charlie Hebdo is a hateful, low brow rag that caters for bigots and racists, nothing more, so it'll be great when the love fest for them ends. With freedom of speech comes responsibility and people shouldn't support the sh*te that magazine spouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

In all seriousness. I have been alive for over 4 decades and I have yet to offended by anything

What am I doing wrong ?

Monkeys are smelly. Especially after they play tennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

I think Charlie Hebdo are scum, to be perfectly frank. They didn't produce the magazine the week after their colleagues were murdered as some sort of tribute to their colleagues, they did it to cash in. Normally they'd sell 60,000 copies, that week they ordered 3 million to be printed and ended up selling 5 million, nice little cash cow there. Then came the global aftermath of slaughter and rioting by Muslim fanatics in other parts of the world as a result.

Charlie Hebdo is a hateful, low brow rag that caters for bigots and racists, nothing more, so it'll be great when the love fest for them ends. With freedom of speech comes responsibility and people shouldn't support the sh*te that magazine spouts.

It was a total false flag situation, they arranged the whole thing just to improve their circulation

#jesuistruther

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭SeanW

Normally they'd sell 60,000 copies, that week they ordered 3 million to be printed and ended up selling 5 million, nice little cash cow there.
    Yes, a lot of people wanted to read it - oh the horrors. Won't someone think of the (Muslim) children etc.
    Then came the global aftermath of slaughter and rioting by Muslim fanatics in other parts of the world as a result.
    And Charlie Hebdo is to blame for the actions of "fanatics" ... how exactly?