Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children and organised sport

Options
  • 06-02-2015 5:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭

Intro - I'm a qualified soccer coach and am very tired of the constant poor treatment of kids in sport and am actively trying to change things.
    Trying to change the league - the only place in Europe where 9 yr olds play 11v11!

In essence, most organised soccer teams (not all) are run for adults, not kids. This means wins are more important than player development. This means the select 'winners' are favoured over those who 'just aren't good enough'. The facts and statistics are clear and damning!
    Although the club (run by adults) and the coaches (adults) want to win the league, the kids may just want to be with their friends having healthy fun. They may want to play for Ireland. This is far more important than the league win.

Self esteem is for me the single most important aspect of any player. Without it their is no belief. Unfortunately, clubs choose to mistreat 'weaker' kids until they don't come back, making the selection process easier.
    Self Fulfilling Prophecies

The point of this post and what I want to make you aware of is that if your kids are unhappy at sports, make a change. Open your mouth. Make a stand.
    There is a graph based on Relative Age Effect which is a little like this.
    337963.png

Translation - Because teams want to win they pick bigger players. Those born in Jan, Feb , March have an advantage. Those born in Oct, Nov, Dec are told they are not good enough, either directly or by just not getting opportunity.
    Relative Age Effect