Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 7th. February 2015

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

This is why Ray won't get Brendan's gig.

Well It's definately why Ray shouldn't get Brendan's gig. I really hope BOCs job on SNS is safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

NFL is Rugby Light with all the protection and padding they have.

Totally different sport. Playing NFL without padding would be too dangerous.

He played on the Wings

:o

*applauds*

:-D:-D:-D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

NFL is Rugby Light with all the protection and padding they have.

Look at some of the hits they take, if they didn't wear padding/helmets some of these hits possibly could be fatal, there are a few former players who have committed suicide due the affects of concussion, these lads are far from pansies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Yeah and there is enough time wasted for ads without wasting time removing corpses from the pitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Even with padding, the NFL had to pay 765 million dollars to over 4500 ex players to settle a lawsuit ..

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/08/30/sports/football/judge-announces-settlement-in-nfl-concussion-suit.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,221 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

That George Hook interview was one of the best yet most heartbreaking I've ever seen on RTE. The bit about his mother really struck a chord. It's so refreshing to see someone who doesn't give a feck about politically correct nonsense and fair play to him for his new found beliefs.

Oh crap. Only downside of starting to watch sns on plus1 is that I've to sit through operation transformation interview twice! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Hi guys. That was a good show tonight even with these three guys being guests.

I think Popeh said that he will stay while the other two leave. But regardless of that happening for this year. I will miss all the comaderie and the fierce debates between those three guys. I think the 6 Nations is a great tournament for the likes of RTE to be in with McGuirk, Popeh and Hook doing the presenting and analysis. It won't be the same anymore when two of that team will go. :(

I also didn't know that Mc Guirk was a former News presenter in Granada Reports. I've seen that programme on ITV HD the odd time before. It is a good programme and I like the Studio as well, It looks superb.

Best of luck to them in the future. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Hi guys. That was a good show tonight even with these three guys being guests.

I think Popeh said that he will stay while the other two leave. But regardless of that happening for this year. I will miss all the comaderie and the fierce debates between those three guys. I think the 6 Nations is a great tournament for the likes of RTE to be in with McGuirk, Popeh and Hook doing the presenting and analysis. It won't be the same anymore when two of that team will go. :(

I also didn't know that Mc Guirk was a former News presenter in Granada Reports. I've seen that programme on ITV HD the odd time before. It is a good programme and I like the Studio as well, It looks superb.

And now you're on 2,503.......:) xxxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

This is why Ray won't get Brendan's gig.

Fingers and toes crossed!

Even with padding, the NFL had to pay 765 million dollars to over 4500 ex players to settle a lawsuit ..

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/08/30/sports/football/judge-announces-settlement-in-nfl-concussion-suit.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Some of those were concussion. But a lot of that was because of football in the groin.

FOOT-BALL-IN-THE-GROIN!!

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Fingers and toes crossed!

The Boardie's Peasants will be revolting Lynn! :D:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

jebforever wrote: »
    That George Hook interview was one of the best yet most heartbreaking I've ever seen on RTE. The bit about his mother really struck a chord. It's so refreshing to see someone who doesn't give a feck about politically correct nonsense and fair play to him for his new found beliefs.

George was the guest of the night imo, he came across as someone who was genuinely interested in his viewers (unlike another guest who claimed to be), he does not want anyone else to make the same mistake with a family member or to have the same regret has he has. I liked him before, I like him more so now.

Some of those were concussion. But a lot of that was because of football in the groin.FOOT-BALL-IN-THE-GROIN!!

Off The Ball have been talking about that issue a lot, Donie.. I'm sure you've probably heard it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

The Boardie's Peasants will be revolting Lynn! :D:pac:

Are they/we not already revolting? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

See you all next weekend, it's Valentines Day...

The odds are so bad that I wouldn't be here on Sat I was refused a bet at the Bookies today...:D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Dublinman1990, Here is a very short clip of Tom McGurk launching Granada Reports (then) new Studio in Liverpool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

You don't being me flowers, anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

sligojoek wrote: »
    I don't know how Ciara Kelly finds time to do any doctoring.

Have thought that so many times!

sligojoek wrote: »
    I don't know how Ciara Kelly finds time to do any doctoring.

Totally agree with you, I have had a sick child this weekend temp 39.1 on first checking ok it came down only slightly, but a waste of time bringing him to the surgery on the first Friday of the month, in the time we would have been waiting for the diabiates clinic or blood pressure clinic or whatever clinic happened to be on that day (there is always that day). He would have picked up something worse by the time we were seen.

To say that this woman is a GP and has enough time for her family, private life and her patients and still have time left over for a TV Show is very suspicious.

The broader issue? I thought she wasn't going to mention Eilish.

Yep.

Would love to see the parts which were edited out!

The "good doctor" is ubiquitous these days, from radio to TV; I used to love listening to George and company on "The Right Hook" but I'm finding this interloper more and more unbearable with each passing week. Dr Ciara has a public/ media profile that most politicians/ full-time celebrities would envy!

It amazes me how she finds any time for 'real doctoring'.

I just found this clip on youtube... Look at Brendan's face he's like a different person... And it seems he had a sixth sense about D'Arcy, he called it right..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

I just found this clip on youtube... Look at Brendan's face he's like a different person... And it seems he had a sixth sense about D'Arcy, he called it right..

Good mna Brendan!

He knew exactly what he was doing in making D'arcy go through that awkwardness. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Black Menorca

Good man Brendan!

He knew exactly what he was doing in making D'arcy go through that awkwardness. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Tubridy would not have had the balls to ask that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Good find CH.

Guys this is a heartbreaking piece written by BOC in today's indo.
    Well worth a read what ever yiu think of brendan or the indo

http://m.independent.ie/opinion/proudest-day-of-my-little-girls-life-was-ruined-for-us-30973227.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Lisha wrote: »
    Guys this is a heartbreaking piece written by BOC in today's indo.
    Well worth a read what ever yiu think of brendan or the indo

http://m.independent.ie/opinion/proudest-day-of-my-little-girls-life-was-ruined-for-us-30973227.html

Absolutely agree, Lisha. Brendan has written a few times about his Down's Syndrome daughter, always sincerely and movingly....
    It puts into perspective the 'problems' of so-called 'celebrities'.
    And I always buy the Sindo, and always read Brendan's columns.
    When the options are the British rags, or the pathetic Sunday World, there's no contest.

I think people need to cut Brendan some slack... He's no longer the gobsh1te of the Dont Feed The Gondolas / Who's In The House days when he first started with RTE... He's a good writer, and he's an excellent presenter... He's so far ahead of that hat stand that presents the LLS at this stage, if he was at any other station other than RTE he would certainly have been given the big job...

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/brendan-oconnors-saturday-night-show-tops-ryan-tubridys-late-late-show-in-rte-ratings-30978865.html

And who would have thunk it??........Only the Boardies on this thread!!......

That's who!!! :)

Good for Brendan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/brendan-oconnors-saturday-night-show-tops-ryan-tubridys-late-late-show-in-rte-ratings-30978865.html

And who would have thunk it??........Only the Boardies on this thread!!......

That's who!!! :)

Good for Brendan :)

Tis all down to the kittehs and puppehs :)

Absolutely WM!!!.....You're the star of the puppeh's and kitteh's!.....:)

Yes and Yes!

Great news for Brendan, and hopefully this will make RTE realise they would be mad to kill their most popular programme.

I have an idea - Brendan needs to consolidate this good news by having some kittens and puppys roaming wild around the set during the show each week. If you press your Red Button you get to see even more of the pets, and less of Brendan and his guests.

A bit like Blue Peter, but with maybe a dozen of each. Who wouldn't tune in to see that? It gives him a Unique Selling Point and he would probably get sponsorship from Pet Food Companies.

Each Puppeh and Kitteh would have their own Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Bebo/Vine Profiles where fans can get to know more about their favourites.

It's a winner!

Skid X wrote: »
    Yes and Yes!

Great news for Brendan, and hopefully this will make RTE realise they would be mad to kill their most popular programme.

I have an idea - Brendan needs to consolidate this good news by having some kittens and puppys roaming wild around the set during the show each week. If you press your Red Button you get to see even more of the pets, and less of Brendan and his guests.

A bit like Blue Peter, but with maybe a dozen of each. Who wouldn't tune in to see that? It gives him a Unique Selling Point and he would probably get sponsorship from Pet Food Companies.

Each Puppeh and Kitteh would have their own Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Bebo/Vine Profiles where fans can get to know more about their favourites.

It's a winner!

Spoken like the true genius reporter you are Skid!.....:D

I'm signing up grey kitteh this very instance for an audition!!...

0191.jpg

0191.jpg

Ah, grey kitteh (former SNS OP Star) is lovely :)

Thank you Skid, I'll tell her!! :):):)

0191.jpg

Missy could be her chauffeur............. She takes her driving duties very seriously :D

2rz2ux5.jpg

cofy wrote: »
    Missy could be her chauffeur............. She takes her driving duties very seriously :D

2rz2ux5.jpg

:) I'd say Missy would take over Brendan's Chair and present the show herself!

Skid X wrote: »
    :) I'd say Missy would take over Brendan's Chair and present the show herself!

Missy - Our next guest is well known to the SNS...........A Kitteh with a tale to tell........

Grey Kitteh - Oh yeah Brendan, I was a witness to very sad sights in my den for a long time now......

Missy - And whyyyyyyyyyy (Cork twang) is that Grey Kitteh?............

Grey Kitteh - My Mammy has a pain in her ass with listening to sad stories on Friday....she wants a bit of a laugh on Saturdays.....sniffs...That's why she can't cope with Fridays........

Missy - Pause.........I'll ring cofy.........:D;)

Missy rings Skid for advice........cofy calls a meeting with the Boardies...............Brendan calls Missy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I think Grey should start the thread on Saturday...starring Grey Kitteh! :)

In the immortal words of Harry - the most famous Cork Boardie of us all..

I will..............................................................Yeah.......................:p

If you can't be perfect, adore perfection...............

Over to you WM!!...........:) xxx gsw

ps. grey kitteh is snoring like a drunken sailor here....:)

Ah go on Grey, please :)

One of these days cofy...........

Not St. Valentines Day.......:P

I'm shy!! :pac:

Are you not going to share the love on Valentines

sob....sniff...sob sob

Are you not going to share the love on Valentines

sob....sniff...sob sob

I'd frighten the children cofy.....:D:D:D

I'll be present and correct for the designated time and place....;)

Your absence will be noted......:P

I'd frighten the children cofy.....:D:D:D

I'll be present and correct for the designated time and place....;)

Your absence will be noted......:P

Valentines activities will be completed before Brendan is on the telly.:D:D:D However, if valentines were to fall on Friday it maybe a different story altogether.:D

I think you should host the show cofy........;)

50 Shades of cofy??......:P (the grey's are worn out by now!)

Do tell??....:pac: