Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

springer (when to give up )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

I said nothing about firing shots over my dogs... I do it early as well....but I'm not moving dogs on at that age... My previous comment was that I know a few lads that don't fire shots over their dogs At 12 months or older. And that bitch I have is the same bitch in all my videos....getting rid of pups at that age is madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Several discussions on dogs have required mod action recently. There is a danger of getting heated when discussing a topic we are passionate about so this is just a reminder to observe the rules in the charter. A difference of opinion does not open the door for personal insults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

hathcock wrote: »
    To make money.......
    Dont know why lads find this so hard to comprehend .A small bit of time can put 400-500 in your arse pocket.

The question is at 8 months what can the dog do, at at 8 months it should be walking to heel , walking on the lead without pulling,sit stay and be retrieving tennis balls from a staying position on left and right and retrieving blinds from cover at a minimum if it cant do these then the ground work has not been done and you are just wasting your time because even if the penny drops with the dog it will have no manners and just hunt for its self.You only get out what you put in.Just because the land has loads of rabbits on it doesnt mean the dog will start hunting them, some dogs need to be taught more than others and that is where proper dummy work comes into play be teaching the dog how use its nose to find dummys ,cold game etc.But main thing is learn to crawl before you can walk dont try and run because you will just fall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭patton69

is the time and effort really worth 500 dont think so a good well trained hard dog by the looks of it to me would be twice that price so youd think 1 for half that price your hand would be taken off does the video just show the best bits like a trailer for a movie looks deadly in a 3 min vid but dirt in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

patton69 wrote: »
    is the time and effort really worth 500 dont think so a good well trained hard dog by the looks of it to me would be twice that price so youd think 1 for half that price your hand would be taken off does the video just show the best bits like a trailer for a movie looks deadly in a 3 min vid but dirt in reality

First of all you said you didn't watch the video,and by your own admission you wouldn't be able to make a judgement one way or the other anyway.

hathcock are you the guy that went through 30 dogs in 3 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

hathcock are you the guy that went through 30 dogs in 3 years

30 in 3 years? What??
    How does someone go through thirty dogs in 3 years? Eating them or something?

30 in 3 years? What??
    How does someone go through thirty dogs in 3 years? Eating them or something?

They're fair tasty,have you nothing to say about my latest thread?>

so it is you care to explain that 1 what was it none of them would hunt got rid of by six months mostly can you explain this

What are you trying to say,is english not your first language?

so youve resorted to avoiding the question not gonna work do you not realise we all know now youve not denied it ... youve been shown up kid explain 30 dogs in 3 years please im sure everyone would love to read it

like your friend in tallagh said, I ate them.

tell us how you went through 30 springers in 3 years and the state of the irish spaniels

20 -30 minutes an evening for a couple of months is not much effort. It is not that difficult to bring a dog to a respectable standard, lads just think they should be flushing birds and baiting ditches out of it in the first few weeks and spend no time on manners and wonder why the dog gives them the deaf ear when they do get onto a bird

tell us how you went through 30 springers in 3 years and the state of the irish spaniels

Curious that neither you or your friend in tallagh,who have been so critical of me have had nothing to say about my vid uploaded this evening on this forum.It seems you are stuck in a negative vibe,have a look at the vid and give me some constructive criticism,it would be good for you.

I said nothing about firing shots over my dogs... I do it early as well....but I'm not moving dogs on at that age... My previous comment was that I know a few lads that don't fire shots over their dogs At 12 months or older. And that bitch I have is the same bitch in all my videos....getting rid of pups at that age is madness.
    I fairness the majority of the time you just know if a dog has not got it in them at a young age .Best off leaving it off as a pet to a good home if you see they are not suitable instead of wasting time on them

Curious that neither you or your friend in tallagh,who have been so critical of me have had nothing to say about my vid uploaded this evening on this forum.It seems you are stuck in a negative vibe,have a look at the vid and give me some constructive criticism,it would be good for you.

on your training vid keep your hands in your pockets stop pointing the dog will stop getting sticky and looking at you and it will hunt free-er with a nicer pattern and style if you want to know what your dog is really doing keep your hands in your pockets ,,,,not that youll take that on board nice dog by the way

,,,, now expert answer the question you got called out and youve nothing to come back with your shown up

He won't either comical how someone who has never even trained a dog up can criticise methods of someone who has

on your training vid keep your hands in your pockets stop pointing the dog will stop getting sticky and looking at you and it will hunt free-er with a nicer pattern and style if you want to know what your dog is really doing keep your hands in your pockets ,,,,not that youll take that on board nice dog by the way

,,,, now expert answer the question you got called out and youve nothing to come back with your shown up

Thanks for the advice and the idiotic idea of keeping hands in pockets,to discuss the merits or otherwise of spaniels with someone who would suggest such a stupid idea would be an obvious waste of time,I've heard it all now.

He won't either comical how someone who has never even trained a dog up can criticise methods of someone who has
    is he your friend

deduct from it what you will explain

Ha ha classic this place is brilliant .6 days ago you where asking his advice on training a dog,now you're telling him .Priceless

is he your friend

Is who my friend sorry I don't understand what your saying ..that post wasn't about you by the way read back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

is he your friend

I was waiting for u to come back on here under new a name ' lads say hello to patton69 other wise known as rebock clasic. got ya' my good man. :cool:

ya im just a wolf in sheeps clothing ,,, i called him out he had no reply ,,, 30 dogs in 3 years shame shame shame

how come your defending him

hope everyone sees this this is the guy that kicked this off by telling the op to get rid of his dog willy nilly without effort can you all see why now hes not got a clue but claims he knows all things ego overload

Ha ha classic this place is brilliant .6 days ago you where asking his advice on training a dog,now you're telling him .Priceless
    yes but now u know who he is . haha the joker rebock clasic.

so hathcock tell us how the irish spaniel is ruined and you went through 30 dsogs in 3 years ,, snipe49 i mean you know offence believe that

Please don't be expected to be taken seriously when you advise a man to keep his hands in his pockets while training a dog,nobody will respect anything else you'll have to say,and on that note I suggest we leave it there,I wish you well with whatever dog you decide to train,my best advice is to listen to those that have been there done that.

snipe49 wrote: »
    yes but now u know who he is . haha the joker rebock clasic.
    Aka Charlie10

U may mean me no offence so why when i was trying to offer u advice did u through it back in my face. And u were not very nice t me when u were rebock clasic can u explain that please my good friend. ?

Aka Charlie10

He'd want to make up his mind who he is,one minute he's an expert,the next he's a complete idiot,a classic case of split personality I think.

hathcock just stop avoiding the topic ,, lads ye are claiming to be experts when ye clearly are not ye are giving out bad advice to people who sometimes dont know any better and when called on it ye wont give in up or admit that ye are wrong this thread a classic example and for the record im not charlie 10 or rebok classic i was on here before but under a diff name im sorry for being a bollo x but

hathcock youve not denied it so why ill you not explain your own actions?

hathcock just stop avoiding the topic ,, lads ye are claiming to be experts when ye clearly are not ye are giving out bad advice to people who sometimes dont know any better and when called on it ye wont give in up or admit that ye are wrong this thread a classic example and for the record im not charlie 10 or rebok classic i was on here before but under a diff name im sorry for being a bollo x but

I won't be held to account on here by someone who is dishonest and uses different guises to deliberately stir trouble,you are obviously not worthy of any further waste of my time,I will ignore you from now on{assuming I can figure out who you purport to be}

I never claimed to be a expert i only give my advice it up to him to take it or not.But i a'm a expert at finding smeone out and i did with u rebock clasic . My good man . :cool:

snipe49 wrote: »
    I never claimed to be a expert i only give my advice it up to him to take it or not.But i a'm a expert at finding smeone out and i did with u rebock clasic . My good man . :cool:

well theres 1 more thing your bad at cant believe you havent figured me out ,, i know who you are ya see keep guessing i promise ill come clean when you guess right until then ill keep shtump

No it's u all right a few thing's give u away' one been all this. ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

wrong buddy i just found out the other day who you were and realised we know eachother now i feel bads as you are a really nice guy im not really from carlow shtump i thought the shtump would give me away by now keep guessing shtump

Well all this bolloxology is helping the op get his dog trained :pac:

Well if i'm a nice guy pm me and tell me who u are i won;t hold it against u my good fella.:cool:

Well all this bolloxology is helping the op get his dog trained :pac:
    Haha he'll prob get out of shooting when he see's what were like when start talking about it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

What the fück has me being from tallaght got to do with any of this??
    I also In no way offered up any advice but fact it's pretty obvious that something is wrong when a person goes through 30 dogs in 3 years.
    That's not right nor is it fair on them dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Thread closed pending mod review. Further action may follow