Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

peteeeed wrote: »

Very well taken, put him in any team and he will score goals. Massive future ahead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Solanke and Bamford are all but ready for Chelsea.

Next year Remy and Falcao will both be off IMO and one of those lads will be kept and we'll sign another CF.

Id like if both were kept as backup to Costa but I dont think Jose will go with two inexperienced players to a campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

What's with the new contract for Moses anyone know? He's never going to be good enough for Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

What's with the new contract for Moses anyone know? He's never going to be good enough for Chelsea.

i would say they hope he has a good season with west ham and get a decent price for him at the end of the season

Its just been answered, his contract was running down so it seems its just to ensure we get a fee for him at the end of it.

Anything in and around 7-10m would be decent business from us IMO.

Latest on Hector is we could be buying gim and loaning him back to Reading :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Ha ha. Can't believe this Hector talk! Seems like only yesterday when he was making a show of himself in the Dundalk defense. In fairness to him he improved and was a bit of a cult hero by the time he left but if somebody told me he would end up in the Premiership I'd have called them am idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Latest on Hector is we could be buying gim and loaning him back to Reading :o

Ha that'll be sure to rile a few people up! Nothing like stacking up the assets before a big sale next year to build up the war chest... :o

Papy and Happy at the back in the future.

Although as hed played CM for them too, playing him next to Matic may also be an option.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

This has to be the worst deadline day in history.

He was probably our best player in pre season so if ever he deserved a chance it was now but the signing of Pedro ended even a chance on the bench. The new contract is only so we get a decent price on him next year providing he does well for West Ham, he would have had only a year left on his original contract next season.

Feruz has gone on loan to Hibs, loanee number 31.

Ssn reporting bid of 35m turned down by psg for Marquinhos

Would be a great signing but won't happen obviously.

We gave them Luiz at a bargain price, surely they should want to help us. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

This transfer window is nothing short of embarrassing if we are going to pitch in with a huge bid for a player on the last day why not Athletic Bilbao defender Aymeric Laporte. He is an excellent player, would cost about the same as Stone he is only 21 and has a buy out clause so his club cannot refuse the bid.

This is nothing short of pathetic.

This transfer window is nothing short of embarrassing if we are going to pitch in with a huge bid for a player on the last day why not Athletic Bilbao defender Aymeric Laporte. He is an excellent player, would cost about the same as Stone he is only 21 and has a buy out clause so his club cannot refuse the bid.

Could very easily have been sussed out behind the scenes or TSO doesn't rate him... Also doubt there's much in Marquinhos rumours, Sky haven't even managed to bluff an article out of it, no quotes/sources.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

His buyout clause is €50m but if Chelsea meet it, they have to foot the tax bill which could make the final fee in the region of €75m.

United tried to sign him 2 years ago and were put off by his fee potentially rising to £46m in total and that was when his buyout clause was lower.

Buyout clauses in Spain are more of a deterrent then anything else.

hots wrote: »
    Could very easily have been sussed out behind the scenes or TSO doesn't rate him... Also doubt there's much in Marquinhos rumours, Sky haven't even managed to bluff an article out of it, no quotes/sources.

Ah I wouldn't take too much notice of what Sky are saying, more so if it is a slow end to the market they need to keep the hype up.

I am assuming Papy is a stop gap but we can only be worried about our defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Some comparisons against other Ligue 1 defenders

SGL7MP6.jpg

Surely those stats are wrong. One error from Luiz? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,827 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Has Torres signed yet?!

Strange signing, can't see him ever playing for us.

Hector makes a player number 33 out on loan for us :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

That Papa lad playes as a DM two ya? Do ye think it could be an end to Fabregas playing lower down the pitch. Or is it a pure numbers job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

Is this heckar dude irish ?

rottie 11 wrote: »
    Is this heckar dude irish ?

No he's from London, plays for the Jamaican national team.

Johner wrote: »
    No he's from London, plays for the Jamaican national team.

Your being smart ya ? :D

Johner wrote: »

Oh rite lol. Silly signing imo

rottie 11 wrote: »
    Oh rite lol. Silly signing imo

Seems a bit pointless alright. Hasn't played for Reading since being dropped after the first game of the season, seems like he has potential but we have loads of that already at the club and out on loan.

I wouldn't worry about it lads, 80% of our signings will never play for the first team. We started the loan farm system so we could get past FFP but it's turned into an excellent money spinner for us. I don't understand most of the criticism either, because most players end up getting better wages then they did before and if they don't break into our squad we find them a good move and make some profit on the side. It's a win for both the player and the club. We can't just rely on Roman's cash for the stadium and new players. We treat the transfer market like the stock market and I don't see anything wrong with that tbh, football is big business after all.

That Papa lad playes as a DM two ya? Do ye think it could be an end to Fabregas playing lower down the pitch. Or is it a pure numbers job?

Basically just a squad body but that insurance I'm hoping will free up Zouma to play either in with Matic or possibly putting Ivan under pressure. Looking for the good in the Papy deal, at least he comes from a proper defending team, Ligue 1 might be crap but it takes some impressive defending to be the lowest scoring team in the league by a couple of goals and to still finish outside of the relegation fight. Should mean he's actually spent his time doing a lot of decent defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Where are they now?
    2BE3FFA900000578-0-image-a-23_1441149688982.jpg

Those 33 players on loan are going to bring in probably ckose to 40m in loan fees this year. Its great for us really.

Apparently Moses fee is ST£2m so you could be close on there.

Ya its a great source of revenue really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

Our purchases put us in a better position to compete for the league. But we're certainly not going to run away with it. To be frank, our ability to win the EPL is heavily dependent on not losing Costa for too long. And also on Jose being able to refashion his defence. And somehow get sustained performances out of midfield. There are still too many holes, and I really don't fancy us for the Prem this year. Particularly if City keep up the pressure.

As for the UCL, we're well off the pace. With luck, we might make the semis, but if we meet a top team before then, I can't see us progressing.

We need hazard and matic to start performing aswel. Neither of them have had a good game yet this season , they are our 2 main players imo

Papy D has been left out of the 25man UCL squad.

Thats a very strange call by Jose. It does look like he wasnt a Jose sugning and the last time this kinda sh*te happened Jose was gone in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Papy D has been left out of the 25man UCL squad.

Thats a very strange call by Jose. It does look like he wasnt a Jose sugning and the last time this kinda sh*te happened Jose was gone in September.

Maybe he doesn't fit as one of the foreign players ?

Papy D > Sheva

Maybe he doesn't fit as one of the foreign players ?

Papy D > Sheva

Well we have 17 foreigb slots to hand out and weve included Kenedy and Traore at his expense.

No way I believe Jose wanted him anyway, especially if hes willing to put in 2 foreign youngsters at his expense whem weve only got 6 defenders in the squad as it is and plenty of attacking options.

Of the 126 U16 to U21 English youth internationals, Chelsea have the most players in the setup at 17players. Nobody else comes close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Of the 126 U16 to U21 English youth internationals, Chelsea have the most players in the setup at 17players. Nobody else comes close.

Great Stat! I just shared on a Whatsapp thread

new stadium design on show at SB , att 60,000

CN6qMMaW8AEj4kU.jpg

CN6ecUtWsAAn9Q4.jpg

CN6qWjyWIAACx73.jpg

CN6ecUTWcAAlMwR.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

peteeeed wrote: »
    new stadium design on show at SB , att 60,000

Looks very distinctive, very different which is great in my book, hopefully it all comes together and happens now.

very worrying that only 9 people seem to be heading to the game :)