Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AR/tist in the spotlight, this week: Tunguska

• 13-02-2015 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭

So after a bit of a break we are resuming the series. Tunguska has kindly agreed to step up and bare his soul for us all! He will be taking questions for the next week or so so get thinking of anything you want to know about his running background/training.

I'll get us started:

Did you run as a junior?
    You were known for your very high mileage training a few years ago, you seem to have changed from that now, can you tell us a little about that?
    You have had your issues with injuries over the years, have you managed to get on top of these?
    And a bit of fluff....cats or dogs?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hi Tunguska,

PB over 5k?
    Favorite pre race meal/food?
    Favourite post race meal/food?
    Favorite all time sports personality, and why?

Thoughts on Bressie on the cover of Irish Runner.

Okay, that's not serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,534 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best all-time performance?
    Lowest moment in your running history?
    If you got a 'do-over' what would you do different?

As someone who has straddled both the 'high mileage/intensity/commitment' and 'less committed' approaches to running (no offence intended), which do you feel is healthier, in terms of mind and body? (think I know the answer to this one!).

Any regrets that you're no longer pushing yourself to the limit, in a running-specific context?

Between the yoga, healthy eating, and positive mental attitude, you've gone a bit California of late. Any guilty pleasures that don't fit in with the lifestyle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭ASIMON0V

At your most intense, your most committed - what did you feel you had the potential to run a marathon in?

Your training log, whilst shortlived was definitely one of the most memorable, would you consider running the gauntlet again with another one?

What other running / fitness websites do you visit / use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

great choice!

are you still on the maca (I love it, btw!)? any other weird or wonderful foods that you feel us mortals are missing out on?

what are your go to recipes for healthy, tasty recovery grub? any particular sites / books you recommend?

max weekly mileage logged?

do you see yourself running into your 50s, or will yoga or something else take over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

Great to see this back and a great candidate.

What are your favourite races domestically and internationally?
    Any bucket list races or times to achieve?
    What are your favourite and least favourite things about this forum?
    What in your opinion is a good indicator workout for marathon shape 4-5 weeks out, provided of course that all other boxes training wise have been ticked.
    Favourite tipple?

Finally, cheers for volunteering to reignite this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

pconn062 wrote: »

Did you run as a junior?

I played a lot of sports as a kid, football was my main one though. I was a member of Tallaght ac when I was a child but I couldn't make it work timewise, I was spread too thin and football took priority over anything else. But like I said I played a lot of everything, football, swimming, cycling, GAA, golf, rugger and Tae kwon do. And that was normal, all my friends played sports, its all we did from morning to night and summers even more so.

You were known for your very high mileage training a few years ago, you seem to have changed from that now, can you tell us a little about that?

Yeah for me I have to go from one extreme to another in order to find the right balance for myself. When I did my first marathon I was very untrained, I was only running 2 or 3 days a week and the longest run I did was the race series half marathon. I blew up in grand style at around 22 miles and those last few miles were horrendous. I joined a club after that and did some proper training but at the same time I got talking to some of the lads who told me they ran 70 miles a week. This blew my mind as up til that point my weekly mileage was about 20 - 30 miles tops. So literally in the space of a week I went from 20 to 70 miles and then from 70 - 90 and then from 90- 110 or more. I got injured if course and blew myself out with over training so many times. So it was literally one extreme to the other. I learned the lesson eventually though and I became more efficient in what I do. I mean at this stage I'm more concerned with my health than anything else. Some of the **** I did was crazy, like I remember running the rathfarnham 5 k one morning, not feeling right at all, I crossed the finishing line and puked all over the road, thick black stuff at that. And all over some guys shoes who was trying to get me off the road. Now someone with sense would've gone home and lay down but instead I met with my training partner and ran 24 miles. Oh and I had done my Achilles in the 5k race aswell which meant running 24 miles feeling sick and hobbling on what turned out to be a torn Achilles tendon. That was the type of stuff I did all the time and it was silly. So now like I said im more efficient in what I do and im more concerned with my long term health than anything else.

You have had your issues with injuries over the years, have you managed to get on top of these?

This is related a lot to what I said above......I got injured initially because I increased my mileage by over 100% in the space of a week and after that it was a catalogue of errors and bad decisions. I think if you're chasing Miles you'll make bad choices, concerning your health anyway. I got orthotics and everything but in the end I just went back to running in very flat shoes and making good decisions and this seemed to do the trick.

And a bit of fluff....cats or dogs?

Thanks!

Dogs for sure. Cats......man they're just devious. A dog is always happy to see you no matter what but a cat would stroll over your dead body to go slaughter a blue jay or something like that. I haven't had a dog in years though, we had one when I was 8, he was my dog actually he was got for my birthday. He died 14 years later so he had a good innings but I was devastated, we all were so I haven't had the heart to get another one since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

You ran much middle distance? Pbs? Would ya go back to it?

walshb wrote: »
    Hi Tunguska,

PB over 5k?
    Favorite pre race meal/food?
    Favourite post race meal/food?
    Favorite all time sports personality, and why?

My PB for 5k is relatively soft, its 15:30 but I definitely felt I could go under 15 mins. That was 2 yrs ago and I actually got injured in that race but I was on a roll at the time and I reckon had I not got injured I would've gone sub 15.

Pre race I just eat granola bars or whatever, its not something I put a lot of thought into.
    Post race I'd eat anything, so again its no big deal for me.

My sporting hero is David Purely and this is why.....

He's also my hero in life not just sport.

Soft at 15:30. If I could run that I'd retire from this forum..

Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

walshb wrote: »
    Soft at 15:30. If I could run that I'd retire from this forum..

Thanks for the replies.

promise or a threat? We can give you some training guidance if it will help ;)

Threat of course.....

Thoughts on Bressie on the cover of Irish Runner.

Okay, that's not serious

Ok I'll bite.........the truth is I Dont care either way. I can see the argument that having someone on the cover who is recognisable will appeal to a broader audience and maybe get them interested in health and fitness. But I can also see the other side of things where people think the Irish runner has sold its soul to the masses in order to make a buck. I don't care enough to get worked up either way though, the only time I ever got pissed off over something like this was when Linda Byrne won the women's mini marathon and all the coverage was focused on that eejit Rosana what's her name. That to me was a joke, giving attention to someone like that over the actual winner of the race........pathetic.
    By the way I've met Bressie and he's actually a sound bloke so I've no beef with him either way.

Best all-time performance?

It was probably my first race ever. It was the great Ireland run(10k) and I was completely ignorant. I turned up and ran it like a lunatic. I tore off and was fooked after 5k, I got into a group and i spent the second 5k surging, then bring dropped, getting back in touch, surging ahead again, being reeled in, being dropped again. It was torture and I remember getting to 8k thinking I was gonna die. I held on though and when we got inside the last km I kicked like crazy and outsprinted all the others in the group. I was wearing my Liverpool fc jersey that day and all the other boys In that group were club runners wearing singlets so they were pretty disgusted to be beaten by some clown in a football jersey. It was just a pure out and out race, no Garmin, no clue about pacing, no tactics, just ignorance and the will to hang on. It was perfect.

Lowest moment in your running history?

I think the marathon in 2011 was the worst experience I had. I was in great shape that year, me and Phil had really worked hard but 10 days before the race I did my calve on the track, in what was the last rep of the last speed session before the marathon. It was really bad luck, but I got to the start line having not run for 10 days, Hoping the calve would hold up. It did in a way, but I was favoring it and running ass ways and what happened was my hamstring went as a consequence of the altered gait. Had to drop out at hallway and that evening in the boozer surrounded by all the happy people delighted with their races was a low point because for all the work I'd put in it seemed like I got a kick in the balls in return.

If you got a 'do-over' what would you do different?

I'm not joking when I say this but I'd become a downhill skier. That and then ski cross.

As someone who has straddled both the 'high mileage/intensity/commitment' and 'less committed' approaches to running (no offence intended), which do you feel is healthier, in terms of mind and body? (think I know the answer to this one!).

Gary I think you know what I'm gonna say........to be a healthy person overall, the less obsessed, less committed approach is the way to go, in my opinion anyway.
    I'm doing a lot less these days and I can honestly say I'm a lot happier(a lot heavier as well). I just got to the point where I realised in order to go to the next level it was gonna take up even more of my life and it just wasn't worth it, so I made a conscious decision to step away and go live my life a bit more.

Any regrets that you're no longer pushing yourself to the limit, in a running-specific context?

A little bit yeah. I mean I'm registered for Berlin in September and there's a part of me that really wants to give it a good whack and go sub 2:30. And that doesn't sound unreasonable, what's one more training cycle?
    But whatever is going on with me and my life, one more training Cycle isn't an option. I have some things I need to do and it has to be now, not in a few months or a year or whenever. I can't explain it any better than that, there's just this sense that its time to move on and leave the athletics behind (for now anyway).

Between the yoga, healthy eating, and positive mental attitude, you've gone a bit California of late. Any guilty pleasures that don't fit in with the lifestyle?

I've actually always been like that, so its nothing new really. I've always been a bit if a hippy(had long hair and everything) but I try not to turn into one of those new age bores. That's the last thing I want because I hate those guys. I do love yoga and I do meditate, I listen to pink Floyd and I smoked enough dope in my time to probably get myself arrested or at the very least put on some kind of register. So I dunno what all that makes me........guilty pleasures??? Hmmmm I Dont drink and I Dont smoke (not even grass anymore) so there leaves just one thing which I probably shouldn't say on here as it might get me banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi, what advice would you give to a juvenile contemplating a career in running?

What's your current average weekly mileage?

Favourite race?

Ps club or solo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great choice and fantastic questions so far with some very insightful and intriguing answers! Can't believe you haven't been "done" already!

Favourite Olympic athletic moment of all time?
    Where did your name come from?
    What will Mrs. Tunguska get for Valentine's Day? :)
    Favourite Irish athlete of all time?
    What do you put your maca powder on/in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Ososlo wrote: »

Coincidentally, I was watching a documentary on Asteroids on the BBC last night. Normally I'm out doing much cooler stuff of course. I think the name might have its origins somewhere in an asteroid that decelerated so quickly on entering the Earth's atmosphere that it exploded before impacting the ground and knocked down about a million trees.

The more interesting question might be why he chose that name but then naming himself after an object that went so fast that it spontaneously combusted seems quite apt :P. But hey, it left its mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Did you ever drink alcohol?
    Favorite food?
    What makes you laugh out load?
    Apart from Ireland what country would you live in if you had a choice?
    Favorite sport (apart from athletics if that is)?
    Beach or active holiday?

Favourite Pink Floyd album?
    Watters or Gilmour?

ASIMON0V wrote: »
    At your most intense, your most committed - what did you feel you had the potential to run a marathon in?
    Hi Simon
    If I had kept going, and been able to string together back to back training plans, uninjured........ I think I could've run under 2:20 at the very least. I did entertain thoughts of Rio at one stage but I got to a point where everything was clear and I saw exactly what it would take to do that and more importantly, the sacrifices I'd need to make. And for me it just wasn't worth the physical toll but also the toll on my over all well being. I mean at my lightest I was 134lbs and I figured id need to be at least 130 to do it right. Now at 5ft 10 134lbs made me look very thin, so to go even thinner was something that didn't sit well with me so I had to make a choice there and then, did I really want to be that skinny? At 134lbs honestly I couldn't look at myself in the mirror, I was disgusted at my appearance, I looked sick, like I'd escaped from a concentration camp or like christian bale in The machinist. I was also getting bouts of light headiness and I'd get colds a lot more easily than ever. So to go down in weight even further was just something that I think would've been a bad decision. Right now I'm 153lbs which is nearly 20lbs heavier than my lightest, and honestly I feel great, everyone is telling me how healthy I look which is probably the death knell for my athletics career. Its the nature of the beast though, if you wanna do well you gotta be underweight.
    ASIMON0V wrote: »

Your training log, whilst shortlived was definitely one of the most memorable, would you consider running the gauntlet again with another one?

That log was controversial alright. In fairness I should've been more open to input and less militant about things. And I was a bit of a drama queen the way I ended it.
    I wouldn't start another just because there's not a lot of formal work being done at the moment. I'm running a bit, I'm doing lots of yoga, I'm cycling, playing 5 a side football, I'm even dancing. And I Dont think anyone wants read a log of what I do in dance class.

What other running / fitness websites do you visit / use?[/QUOTE]

Nothing really. I used to look at let's run but it all just becomes too argumentitive. I mean there was lads who'd argue with a signpost and I've no time for that crap, it just sucks the life outta you. I did join the runners support page which is, eh, entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

tunguska wrote: »
    And I Dont think anyone wants read a log of what I do in dance class.
    Anyone want to start a poll?

christeb wrote: »
    great choice!

are you still on the maca (I love it, btw!)? any other weird or wonderful foods that you feel us mortals are missing out on?
    Hey Briano
    I do still use it and there are some interesting side effects. Put it this way, if everyone knew about maca then Viagra would be rendered redundant.
    Man I take a lot of stuff but if there was one thing I'd recommend it would be chlorella (powder). Actually if I'd recommend one more thing it would that everyone read " No more heart disease " by Dr. Louis ignarro. Its the real deal, this guy won the Nobel prize for what's in that book and I'm amazed its kind of still a secret.

what are your go to recipes for healthy, tasty recovery grub? any particular sites / books you recommend?
    I eat very simple, like its stuff you could throw together in 5 mins. It'd as basic as vegetables + sweet potatoes + salmon(probably from a can). I really wanna take a course in healthy cooking, that's something I really need to do. Although I got derval o Rourke's book recently and that is exactly what I was looking for. Food you can cook where you Dont need a load of appliances or a degree in the culinary arts to produce.
    max weekly mileage logged?

150 miles. Don't ask me why........

do you see yourself running into your 50s, or will yoga or something else take over?

No I definitely won't be running when I'm in my 50s(or even my 40s). I plan on taking up gymnastics during the summer and I can see myself really getting into that.

Great to see this back and a great candidate.

What are your favourite races domestically and internationally?

Hey overpronator

My favorite race that I've done was ballycotton 10 mile. Amazing. Think raheny 5 mile x 1000. Honourable mentions though have got to go to the bohermeen 5k, which is a race I absolutely love. And the craughwell 10 mile because I have never been so well looked after at a race, it was just a great event. That post race spread was epic.....
    There is one race that I'm absolutely obsessed by and its the Honolulu marathon. I love Hawaii and this is a race I just have to do, for the sheer enjoyment of it.
    Any bucket list races or times to achieve?

Oops I think I might've answered that in the previous question by mistake.......with regards to times, right now that's all on hold and if I do a race its for the enjoyment of it. That doesn't mean I'd be sandbagging though. I love racing, Jesus I love that last mile where you're in bits but you get to go racing regardless...... No matter what speed I'm going at or where I am in the pecking order, I always race it out.

What are your favourite and least favourite things about this forum?

That's a good question....... What I like is that if you need to know something you can ask and someone somewhere on here will have an answer. I like discussing races, before and after. Its great to run a race and then to see what everyone else thought of it as well. So there is a good sense if community. I like how bull**** is called out as well. The runners support page is pretty ridiculous, I mean if there's even a hint if disagreement over there the entire thread is deleted and people are banned for voicing opinions that are contrary to the status quo. Its nuts really and not a healthy environment for growth or development.
    What I Dont like is the us and them thing that can develop on here. There's no slower runners and there's no fast runners its just one thing overall. The petty arguments as well. Jesus, it goes round in circles and goes nowhere and its the same **** over and over. I Dont mind a good debate but its rare you'll get one, more often than not it descends into petty bickering and name calling and when that happens I just switch off. I don't like people with pet projects either, like a point they'll keep bringing up and dragging into unrelated topics all the time. That's really annoying.

What in your opinion is a good indicator workout for marathon shape 4-5 weeks out, provided of course that all other boxes training wise have been ticked.
    Favourite tipple?

Finally, cheers for volunteering to reignite this thread.

There's a session I would do at that stage but it was unique and I'm not sure I'd recommend it. It was the kind of thing that worked for me but I'm not sure about anyone else. It was on the treadmill, I'd jack the incline up to 8% and do 4 x 20 minute intervals at 13.5 km/ hr with 3 mins recovery between. When I could do that I knew I was in good nick. But if I was coaching someone I'd say a marathon paced run of 13 miles with 3 easy, would do the job. I wouldn't go over 16 miles.

I Dont drink anymore but when I did it was jack Daniels, neat. I was partial to the odd white Russian aswell although that was only because it was The Dude's drink of choice.

Timmaay wrote: »
    You ran much middle distance? Pbs? Would ya go back to it?

No I never did anything under 5k so I'm afraid I haven't got much for you there Tim. I did enjoy the track though and I'd like to do the odd track race here and there.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi, what advice would you give to a juvenile contemplating a career in running?

Hi dubgal, thanks for letting me go ahead first by the way........if I was advising a juvenile about a sporting career I'd honestly tell them to do what their passionate about. Not what their parents want them to do, bit what their dad did but what they feel is the right thing g fir them. And often that's gonna take experimentation. Trying a lot of different sports, not just falling into one and doing that even though you don't really love it. I guess the bottom line is, try a lot of things before you put your stick into that one sport.

What's your current average weekly mileage?

At the moment I'm only running every second or third day so its between 20 and 30 miles.....back to where I began.

Favourite race?
    Ballycotton for sure. Amazing experience.

Ps club or solo?

Club. Without a doubt club. Its the kind of thing I could talk about all night but when it comes right down to it you have to find out why for yourself. Put it this way, anyone I know who didn't want to join a club initially, but who then gave it a go invariably said the same thing: I wish I'd joined a club sooner.

Great choice and fantastic questions so far with some very insightful and intriguing answers! Can't believe you haven't been "done" already!

Favourite Olympic athletic moment of all time?

Cheers Aoife, getting "Done" sounds like fun, im up for that, so long as I Dont end up on (another) register.
    Favorite Olympic moment was the 1968 200m final. Some people reckon its the greatest 200 in history and I can't argue with that. I watch that race at least 10 times a week, its just this magnificent spectacle and display of raw speed and courage. I know the two lads took centre stage but peter Norman ran an incredible race, he was a hero. And what came after that race is something special too. Love it, I choke up anytime I watch that clip of the three lads on the podium.
    Domestically its gotta be john Treacys silver in LA in 1984. I was very young at the time but my mam allowed me and my brother to stay up and watch that race(it was on in the middle of the night over here). That was magic and I"ll never forget the moment he came racing into the Olympic stadium with charlie spedding chasing him down. Amazing night.

There was a meteor that crashed in Russia in the 1920s(I think). It was massively powerful and decimated vast stretches of forest land for miles. Only it wasn't a meteor, at least not according to eye witness testimony and conspiracy theorists. They reckon it was a UFO crash landing and the place it crashed was.......Tunguska.
    What will Mrs. Tunguska get for Valentine's Day? :)

Ha ha putting me on the spot, that's a devious and loaded question (as you well know). I will be taking Mrs Tunguska to the local picture house where I'll be treating her to a certain romantic film which has been in the news a lot lately and which I know Mrs T will love......American sniper........ Lucky girl.

Favourite Irish athlete of all time?

John treacy. He was genuinely brilliant.
    What do you put your maca powder on/in?

Its nothing exotic I'm afraid, I just throw it into a pint of water and skull it back. Its ferocious stuff though, I really like the taste. But not everyone does, I have a friend who just couldn't hack the stuff and ended up giving bags of the stuff he'd ordered from Peru. Result.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Did you ever drink alcohol?

My God Ger yes. I was 13 when I first went drinking in a field on halloween night. I had 5 cans of scrumpy jack cider and it blew my head off. I ended up puking in the bath tub when I got home that night. At the height of things I was out boozing friday & saturday nights every week and when it wasnt, it was Thursday, friday and saturday and sometimes it was thursday, friday, saturday & sunday. I drank JD and beer for the most part. Knocked it on the head because I was just done with it, I just didnt feel like drinking anymore thats all it was.

Favorite food?

This is a strange one, but I really love almond butter. I put it on way too many things and overall consume far too much of it to be good for my health.

What makes you laugh out loud?

Im gonna commit sacrilage here and admit I never got Fr. Ted. I was always more of a seinfeld, larry sanders show, kind of person myself. Things that normally crack me up..........mostly unintentional humour, like stuff that was meant to be serious and ends up ridiculous. There was a clip on youtube recently of a road in India which showed some traffic accidents and I was in tears laughing at that. Other people may not have found it funny though

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=588613577922041&pnref=story

And I think The Big Lebowski is the funniest film ever made(that and Robert Altman's MASH)
    Apart from Ireland what country would you live in if you had a choice?

Thats a really good question because I was only talking about this with someone recently. Ive always felt like I belong some place else and not here and for whatever reasons, Im drawn to New york. I think me and New york would get along just fine.

Favorite sport (apart from athletics if that is)?

Thats a hard one to answer. Im a sports fanatic and I watch a lot of of different events. I love football obviously, but a lot of the time I find myself weary at the carry on of footballers, theres a dishonesty that has crept into the game which has almost succeeded in turning me off, which I thought would never happen.......I think Rugby is a more pure game. Someone said that Football was a gentlemans game played by thugs and that rugby was a thugs game played by gentlemen, and that kind of sums it up for me. I came across a game of schools Rugby by accident on setanta last sunday, it was St michaels v Clongowes (I think it was the semi finals of the leinster championships) and it was possibly the greatest game of rugger Id ever seen. And that includes senior internationals. It was not only one of the best games of rugger Ive ever seen but it was one of the best spoting spectacles Ive been fortunate enough to witness. It was an aboslute thriller and those lads were amazing athletes, even at such a young age, not just physically though, they all had serious resolve and mental steel. Brilliant.
    I love winter sports aswell and Im a massive downhill skiing and ski cross fan. Theyre all lunatics, its such a dangerous sport, I admire their courage and total disregard for their own safety. The women are amazing aswell, their such no nonsense characters whos limbs are literally held together by steel pins. Im kind of in love with Half of them (especially Dominique Gisin) partly for their looks but mostly for their courage.......

Beach or active holiday?

Mix of both Id say. I like to go on adventures and explore new places but If its hot and sunny I like to go swimming and chill out on the beach. My dream holiday is Bora Bora in french polynesia. I even have the place I'll stay picked out:

http://www.stregisborabora.com/

Favourite Pink Floyd album?
    Watters or Gilmour?

I go through phases where Darkside is my favorite but then a while later it'll be Wish you were here or even Animals. I love the Wall too, but it just was never my favorite, I mean there are some incredible songs on that album but theres some stuff Im not crazy about too(The Vera lynn stuff never did it for me).
    Right now Im in an Animals phase, cant stop listening to Dogs. The two solos that bookend the song.......Gilmour magic.

I would be on team Gilmour. He's a proper stand up bloke. He sold his gaff a while ago for 3 million and donated all the money to charity. He's a gentleman and I like his style. Even when he donated that money he kept it quiet and didnt try to draw attention to himself. He's just a classy guy who goes about his business with quiet dignity. One of my favorite songs is his live performance of Hushabye mountain.

Im not anti Roger though, like a lot of people are. I think what he did at the time of the Wall was petty though and the way he treated Rick wright was disgraceful. So I guess he kind of has it coming.

Great answer, I'd be of a similar mindset to you. Animals would be my favourite followed closely by WYWH. I have a definite soft spot for Meddle too, I've been known to stick Echoes on 4 times one after another on long runs, such an epic tune. The politics of the whole thing is fascinating, Roger was/is a bully and a weaker personality like Rick Wright couldnt handle him. Like you I wouldn't be anti Roger, I think the two of them are infinitely better together than apart, a great balance when it worked. Seeing the Wall at the Aviva last year was a gig ill never forget either even if it was just himself on his own.

I do have a spot for Meddle myself, Echoes is an amazing tune. Some of Gilmours quitar work in that song is off the chart. Insane stuff really when you think about it. When was the last time any band knocked out a 23 minute song? Not even Radiohead(closest thing to modern Floyd) have done something like that. I also have a soft spot for the live in Pompeii gig. Completely bonkers, a live gig, where theres no actual audience(maybe the dead in the ruins of pompeii???). Man that stuff is top class, Saurcerful of secrets is absolutely nuts, I mean a barking mad song but its also genius and seriously brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Hi Eoin, you say you think The Big Lebowski is the funniest movie of all time like its just your opinion. Your opinion is irrelevant, it IS the funniest movie of all time and maybe the best movie of any genre.
    Questions: Conor McGregor: Genuine top class sports man or hyped up loud mouth nancy boy in a makey up hybrid sport designed for failures at the 17 sports its made up of.(this question maybe loaded with some of my own personal prejudice)
    Would you or did you ever consider ultra distance (if your a conor fan try not to vent your fury on this question cos credit where its due he does look well rolling on the ground in his underpants)
    What is the longest training run you ever done.
    Did you ever do a triathalon if not would you.
    I have taken up a bit of yoga myself, how long does it take to get easier cos its no joke. Im in a class with a hand full of people and its the spiritual chanting green tea hippy kind of yoga but its still hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

When are you running the Disney marathon?

Do you eat or drink anything when you go to the cinema?

How many races have you won?

Do you like Michael Owen?

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Hi Eoin, you say you think The Big Lebowski is the funniest movie of all time like its just your opinion. Your opinion is irrelevant, it IS the funniest movie of all time and maybe the best movie of any genre.

Yeah JB I was being diplomatic, it is without question, the funniest film ever made(MASH is a close second though). I do like O brother where art thou aswell and Raising arizona has moments of pure comic genius too.
    Questions: Conor McGregor: Genuine top class sports man or hyped up loud mouth nancy boy in a makey up hybrid sport designed for failures at the 17 sports its made up of.(this question maybe loaded with some of my own personal prejudice)

This is a hard question for me to answer because, at the risk of name dropping, I know Conor. For his previous fight, with Dustin Poirier, he trained with my mate for a fair bit of his preparation and he was an absolute gentleman. He was such a good guy to be around which I know is hard to believe considering the way he goes on all the time on facebook and before and after his fights. Its to get attention and to keep himself in the spotlight at all times. Personally I dont like it and I think he would still have gotten his shot with Jose aldo without all the carry on.
    He does have genuine class. For his size(145lbs) he hits like you wouldnt believe. He's always saying this, telling all the other welterweights how he hits like a heavy weight and its true, he has dynamite in his fists. I think the fight with Aldo will be amazing though, and even if youre not a fan it'll be something you wont wanna miss.

Would you or did you ever consider ultra distance (if your a conor fan try not to vent your fury on this question cos credit where its due he does look well rolling on the ground in his underpants)

No it never really appealed to me to be honest, even less so now. I wouldnt even run over 13 miles now never mind 30 or even more. Having said that though, I am intrigued by the Donadea 50k, which I think I wouldve had a crack at today had I not being otherwise engaged(being the day that it is and all).
    What is the longest training run you ever done.

Nothing spectacular or ultra long, 28 miles. Although when I finished it was like, why the hell did I just do that?
    Did you ever do a triathalon if not would you.

Ive done a few actually and I really enjoyed them. I wouldnt be adverse to doing another one. My only issue is with the logistics. I hate fuss and doing a triathlon is a lot of fuss, what with the bike, wetsuit, trisuit and all that lark.......indifference and laziness wins out most of the time.
    I have taken up a bit of yoga myself, how long does it take to get easier cos its no joke. Im in a class with a hand full of people and its the spiritual chanting green tea hippy kind of yoga but its still hard.

It doesnt get easy JB, Im sorry to say. I mean you can go in and sandbag it and get no where or you can always push yourself, its a choice. And I know you being you, you'll always push yourself so when you do that you'll progress alright and its very satisfying to get to the next level, but that in itself makes it inherently difficult. It is actually a very tough workout and a lot of people are surprised at how intense it is. Where I do it, theres a beginners class and advanced class. The beginners class always sells out within a few minutes and the first week of an 8 week cycle the class is always jammed packed. However by week 8 there'll only be about 25% of the class still there, the drop rate is massive.
    Stick with it JB, it works like magic.

When are you running the Disney marathon?

Calvin this is something I actually really wanna do. I couldnt believe it when somebody told me that such a thing existed, a marathon around the grounds of Disney land...........thats genius. I have a soft spot for Disney(Saving Mr Banks almost made me cry)so I think It'd be a surreal and tripy experience.

Do you eat or drink anything when you go to the cinema?

Sometimes but more often than not I wouldnt have anything. It depends on a few thngs. If I go with the lads, we wouldnt eat but if it was with Mrs Tunguska Id get popcorn, a hotdog and of course one of those big ass bags of minstrels. If I do eat though I pay close attention to good cinema etiquette, no rustling of bags, slurping of drinks or loud chewing.

How many races have you won?

4........I think. I'll have to double check that though.

Do you like Michael Owen?

Im indifferent to him to be honest. He was never my favorite but I didnt dislike him either. My favorite Pool player of all time was Jan Molby. He was fat, he didnt like to tackle or run or do much of anything, except pass the ball like a God. The 5 a side team I play for once won a tournament up my way and the name of our team.......Jan Molbys 40 yarders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

1) What is your favourite distance, and what do you believe to be your best distance?

2) Do you believe many runners (particularly recreational runners) sell themselves short with regards to what they are truly capable of? Are 4 hour marathons over celebrated?

3) What are your opinions on the Runners Support Page?

4) You mention that your best days over the longer distances are behind you. Have you ever considered taking up middle distance running as a new challenge, a way to remain part of the sport, and to still improve as an athlete, albeit at a different distance?

5) How would you describe your speed? What's your fastest 400m you have run, in a time trial or a rep (assuming you haven't run a 400m race)?

6) What are the fastest sessions you have done to develop speed?

7) You mention your admiration for John Treacy. Are there any sprinters and field event athletes that you have particular admiration for, and why?

8) Do you believe the sub 2 hour marathon barrier can realistically be broken by a clean athlete (or a doped athlete for that matter)? If so, when do you anticipate this happening?

9) What are your opinions of Mo Farah? A fan or not?

10) You get the opportunity to spend an evening over dinner and drinks (alcohol or otherwise) with 5 athletes of your choosing, but they must be from each of the following categories:

- Irish male
    - Irish female
    - International male
    - International female
    - Drug cheat

Who do you invite and why? Do you anticipate everyone getting along?

11) Token, random question: What is your favourite National anthem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Hi Tunguska,
    Thanks for doing this, really interesting insights.

1) you said you considered trying to qualify for Rio... Do you think you'll look back later and regret not going for it, if you have that potential?

2) why do you think you won't continue running into your 40's and 50's? (Asked as a slow oul wan who just started a few years ago).

3) your preview of the DCM 14 course was brilliant, thanks! Did you run around it with a notebook? :)

Chivito550 wrote: »
    1) What is your favourite distance, and what do you believe to be your best distance?

My favorite distance is 10k. I like to start slowly in races and work my way into things, gradually getting up to speed. 5ks are savage races, horrible and so tough because its a flat out sprint from start to finish. But with a 10k the lenght of the distance affords me time to wind things up and not be on the ragged edge from the word go. So I'd say 10k is my best distance, although I do have a liking for 10 milers too(especially Ballycotton).

2) Do you believe many runners (particularly recreational runners) sell themselves short with regards to what they are truly capable of? Are 4 hour marathons over celebrated?

I like it, straight to the controversial topics.......Yes, absolutely. I know so many people who think they cant, before they even try, its No No No, I cant do that. So many times Ive come across people who tell me they'll never break 3 hours for the marathon or whatever and when I ask them why not, the answer is always that they dont possess the natural talent. I shake my head and walk away because its like talking to the wall, they dont listen or they dont want to believe that they themselves get to decide if theyre gonna run a sub 3 or not, that its all in their hands, not in the hands of genetics. But they dont want to face up to that fact because that would mean accepting responsibility for the choices theyve made so far in their lives and the choices they make in regards to training, diet/nutrition. Plus it comes down to a willingness to endure physical pain. Again its a choice, you can endure and grow or you can give up and never progress. Theres one guy I know in particular who gives up as soon as the suffering begins, just like a light switch being turned off, he's stops and gives up. Its very frustrating to see and I think a lot of people are just not willing to endure any kind of pain, which ultimatley will limit what you can do and how far you can go.
    So I think theres a big shortfall in what a lot of runners can achieve and what they think they can achieve. It really it is a choice. If you believe youre slow and you dont possess the "talent" and will never be fast, then so be it, thats exactly what you'll be. But if you believe you can be fast and its all down to the choices you make and the willingness to endure, then thats what you'll get. Its all about your mindet and what you chose to believe.
    3) What are your opinions on the Runners Support Page?

Thats devious............I'll bite though. I think its not a healthy envoirnment for development. Its a cocooned world where everything everybody does is awesome. And you might ask, whats wrong with that? Im not into harsh unconstructive criticism. Any asshole can shout, bitch and complain. But at the same time I think theres an inherent balance in life, where you have to see where you're coming up short as well as when you're doing well. If you ignored your shortcomings and pretended that you did great when you really didnt, then you'll stay put as a person and never grow. And thats the envoironment theyve created in that group. Theres also a disturbing lack of humility aswell. I think its good to be fair with yourself and others. If you did your best then thats all that matters, but if you quit and didnt give your all then you need to take an honest look and answer some questions. Theres just seems to be a distinct lack of any kind of balance in that group.

4) You mention that your best days over the longer distances are behind you. Have you ever considered taking up middle distance running as a new challenge, a way to remain part of the sport, and to still improve as an athlete, albeit at a different distance?

God no, you take me up wrong. Its not that I feel my best days are behind me(quite the opposite actually)its simply a choice Ive made to look after my health and make that a priority. No I wont be staying in the sport, not right now anyway. I have a lot of other things I wanna do with my life, sports wise, and its time to do that.
    5) How would you describe your speed? What's your fastest 400m you have run, in a time trial or a rep (assuming you haven't run a 400m race)?

Id say its definitely slow burning. When we did speed work in football training, sometimes the manager would get us to sprint the length of the pitch. By the centre circle Id be only mid pack but by the end of the pitch Id always be a yard or two clear. And if we had to do a few of those, with only a short recovery then Id be ahead pretty much straight away the more reps we did. So I do tend to work better when I wind into things as opposed to exploding out to the blocks.
    6) What are the fastest sessions you have done to develop speed?

Definitely 400s and 200s. Great for economy.

7) You mention your admiration for John Treacy. Are there any sprinters and field event athletes that you have particular admiration for, and why?

Obviously I think Bolt is great but its a difficult one because theres so much juicing going on its hard to put your faith in anyone really. Im a big Peter Norman fan though

8) Do you believe the sub 2 hour marathon barrier can realistically be broken by a clean athlete (or a doped athlete for that matter)? If so, when do you anticipate this happening?

I think it can be broken, but broken clean? Thats another issue entirely

9) What are your opinions of Mo Farah? A fan or not?

Not a fan. I have my reasons and Im not gonna get myself banned by getting into it, but lets just say I think he's dodgy.
    10) You get the opportunity to spend an evening over dinner and drinks (alcohol or otherwise) with 5 athletes of your choosing, but they must be from each of the following categories:

- Irish male
    - Irish female
    - International male
    - International female
    - Drug cheat

Who do you invite and why? Do you anticipate everyone getting along?

I'll have to get back to you later on to answer this one

11) Token, random question: What is your favourite National anthem?

There was one I heard during the world cup, Costa Rica I think? It was mad but brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

Personally I think this is probably the best one of these threads I have seen to date for so many reasons. Having known you for years I think your responses here have given me such an insight into previous decisions and stances so much more than I could have every envisaged.

Definitely an eye opener on an aspect of the sport that personally I have rarely seen with an open mind so thank you.

Suppose I should get around to some questions

1) You get your hands on a relatively injury free, world class potential, up and coming athlete, how would you go about mentoring them (from a coaching and personal standpoint based on your own insights into the sport)

2) Did you ever seek the advice of a coach as opposed to the Daniels/Hanson approaches?

3) Who do you feel has most potential Mark English or Paul Robinson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,534 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

ECOLII wrote: »
    Personally I think this is probably the best one of these threads I have seen to date for so many reasons.
    Yeah, it's been great. Had to go and dig out my Pink Floyd album collection and give some of them a listen today. Also that David Purley video was incredible.

The running stuff? Meh. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Do you still support Liverpool?

Given you love of sports, do you ever have a sports bet? If so best win?

I know you love watching the masters, ever play yourself? Favourite Golfer?

Given what Ultrapercy has said, why do you love the MMA/UFC so much?

Favourite all-time and current boxer?

Do you think Tyson Fury will make it to world championship level?

What makes you proud of being from Tallaght?

Who is the funniest poster on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I used to see you doing laps around Kilnamanagh when I was younger(thinking who is this mad man)

What took you so long to join a club ans are you glad you did?

annapr wrote: »
    Hi Tunguska,
    Thanks for doing this, really interesting insights.

1) you said you considered trying to qualify for Rio... Do you think you'll look back later and regret not going for it, if you have that potential?
    No I don't think so, otherwise I wouldn't be 100% comfortable with my decision. There'd be nagging doubts but there are none, so I know it was the right choice.
    2) why do you think you won't continue running into your 40's and 50's? (Asked as a slow oul wan who just started a few years ago).

I just want to spread myself out a bit more and do a lot of other things sports wise (and life wise). I'll do the odd race here and there for fun but nothing more than that. I really want to pack on some muscle and get into gymnastics, I also want to go back to martial arts. So there's a good few things I'd like do dedicate my time to and the all consuming nature of athletics just doesn't fit in with that plan.

3) your preview of the DCM 14 course was brilliant, thanks! Did you run around it with a notebook? :)

I actually did.....kind of. I went around on the bike, stopping to take notes and photos. I should've posted the pics aswell but I just never got around to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭paddybarry

Hi Tunguska,
    I read your old training log (great read). In it, you talked about doing long runs up to 30 miles in preparation for a Marathon. The logic being that people run LSRs in excess of target race for shorter distances. I see that in reply to a previous question that your longest training run was 28 miles. Have you deviated away from this approach? How important are LSRs for Marathon and what would you cap them at?

What are you PBs from 5k up?
    Thanks.
    PB

Personally I think this is probably the best one of these threads I have seen to date for so many reasons. Having known you for years I think your responses here have given me such an insight into previous decisions and stances so much more than I could have every envisaged.

Definitely an eye opener on an aspect of the sport that personally I have rarely seen with an open mind so thank you.
    That's a cool thing to say, thanks man.

Suppose I should get around to some questions

1) You get your hands on a relatively injury free, world class potential, up and coming athlete, how would you go about mentoring them (from a coaching and personal standpoint based on your own insights into the sport)

Honestly if I was coaching someone like that I'd go out of my way to make sure his whole life was in good shape. I think if you just focus on training then you're not gonna have a healthy human being. I think a holistic approach to coaching is the best way to go. Not just flogging sessions on the track but looking after the athletes whole being as well. This will be controversial but an example I always think of is Martin fagan. He had all the training and facilities in the world but no regard was given to his mental/emotional well being. He had a meltdown and did stupid things and I believe he just wasn't looked after and maybe had someone helped him out and been there for him in a professional sense, then he might not have gone down the road he did go down. People aren't robots and if you treat as such bad things happen, history is littered with examples of this.

2) Did you ever seek the advice of a coach as opposed to the Daniels/Hanson approaches?

Not formally but I often spoke to Mark Keneally who gave me really good and surprising advice. I Dont know though, I think it was something I needed to do for myself. I'm self motivated, so I Dont need anyone to tell me what to do or to stand over me while I do it. That's not the type of person I am, im a big advocate of listening to your own intuition and I've got to the point where I'm really tuned into what makes me tick and suits me, what doesn't, so like I said, its something that I'm best doing for myself.

3) Who do you feel has most potential Mark English or Paul Robinson?

I'd say mark English. I saw him at the Europeans last year and he is a warrior, I just think he's got it and you can see that he believes it himself, which is half the battle

Yeah, it's been great. Had to go and dig out my Pink Floyd album collection and give some of them a listen today. Also that David Purley video was incredible.

The running stuff? Meh. :)

Thanks KC. Its crazy, I got talking to someone randomly last night and we got into a Gilmour v waters debate......nuts.
    David Purley was just a proper bloke. He was the type of man you'd want watching your back, he was a former paratrooper before he became a race car driver so he was just a ballsy guy. There's a video of him being interviewed the day after that incident in 1973 and it's very revealing. They Dont make people like David purley anymore.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Do you still support Liverpool?

Absolutely and I always will. I became a Liverpool on that magical night in Rome in 1984 when Brucie did the spaghetti legs to poor old grazzini (I think) and that was it, Liverpool where my team.

Given you love of sports, do you ever have a sports bet? If so best win?

No never, I stay away from it, I know too many lads who have gotten themselves into trouble with betting so I just prefer to give it a wide berth. And I know there's no harm in the odd bet like for big events like the grand national, but for me i just prefer to not go down that road.

I know you love watching the masters, ever play yourself? Favourite Golfer?

Yeah I love playing, I played as a kid(community games) and its something I plan on going back to in a big way. My favourite golfer at the moment is Bubba Watson, he's just this jittery, nervous genius, and I like his style and sense of humour. My favorite all time player is Seve of course.
    Given what Ultrapercy has said, why do you love the MMA/UFC so much?

I love it because it's straight forward and honest (in a lot of ways that boxing isn't). There's one champion in each weight division and that's it, no splinter factions, no doubt about who the best is. If you win your fights and work your way up the food chain, you get a shot, no two ways about it. So it is a very fair sport.
    I'm not a fan of the floor grabbling and there are fighters who refuse to go to ground and those are the guys I really admire ( The cowboy is my favorite fighter). Some of those fight nights have been amazing and boxing has a lot to answer for.
    Favourite all-time and current boxer?

Favorite current boxer is Klitschko. He's a classy guy and I really like his style. Favorite all time is Ali. I know everyone says that but he was genuinely amazing.

Do you think Tyson Fury will make it to world championship level?

I'm not sure and to be honest I Dont really care, which says it all about the state of the heavyweight division.

What makes you proud of being from Tallaght?

I'm not sure I am to be honest. I'm not a nationalist so I Dont go all misty eyed when the national anthem is played. I Dont really have a strong affinity or pride to any one place.

Who is the funniest poster on boards?

Its either Beepbeep67 or ultraman.. And Racoon queen, her sense of humour is very deadpan and I like that a lot.

I used to see you doing laps around Kilnamanagh when I was younger(thinking who is this mad man)

What took you so long to join a club ans are you glad you did?

Ha ha. You do realise that I have a twin brother don't you and it was probably him and not me you saw.......

I joined a club in 2009 and the reason it took so long was because I was still playing ball at that stage.

paddybarry wrote: »
    Hi Tunguska,
    I read your old training log (great read). In it, you talked about doing long runs up to 30 miles in preparation for a Marathon. The logic being that people run LSRs in excess of target race for shorter distances. I see that in reply to a previous question that your longest training run was 28 miles. Have you deviated away from this approach? How important are LSRs for Marathon and what would you cap them at?

What are you PBs from 5k up?
    Thanks.
    PB

I think what I said was, the plan would be to run 30 milers but I never did because common sense prevailed. So I have changed my view in this a lot. If I was to train for a marathon now I wouldn't go over 16 miles. I'd do more tempo stuff and take an overall lower mileage approach, I'd make sure to get to the startline fresh and not overcooked.

My pbs are:

5k = 15:30
    10k = 32:30
    10 mile = 54:10
    1/2 marathon = 72:15
    3/4 marathon = 1:54
    Marathon = 2:38

Dont quote me on those exact figures, I'd have to double check the seconds, but I'm pretty sure that's the lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

tunguska wrote: »

I love it because it's straight forward and honest (in a lot of ways that boxing isn't). There's one champion in each weight division and that's it, no splinter factions, no doubt about who the best is. If you win your fights and work your way up the food chain, you get a shot, no two ways about it. So it is a very fair sport.

Seriously? UFC is just one organistation within MMA.
    A quick google reveals there are up to 15 different organisations with 'World Champions' at each of the weights
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_current_mixed_martial_arts_champions
    This is a hell of a lot more than in boxing...

Seriously? UFC is just one organistation within MMA.
    A quick google reveals there are up to 15 different organisations with 'World Champions' at each of the weights
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_current_mixed_martial_arts_champions
    This is a hell of a lot more than in boxing...

How did I know you'd do that....... Ufc is the only one I watch and put any stock in, I Dont bother with the rest.