Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Tracker levy

• 15-02-2015 12:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭

I'm not an expert and just thinking out loud here, whilst I know this is controversial I'd like to see what others think.

We have a situation where thousands of people are benefiting hugely from having cheap tracker rates on their mortgages, due to the ECB .05 interest rate.

This means the banks are losing money on them, and to remain viable have to charge more on variable and fixed rate mortgages.

Normally this would be fine, however many of our banks are state owned, so it basically means the taxpayer is contributing toward the mortgages of those with tracker rates.

Tenants have to pay USC, and first time buyers and those on fixed/variable rates pay USC AND higher interest rates so that AIB and PTSB (both state owned) don't go bust due to losing money to those with tracker rates. Also some state ownership of BOI, though this is a bit different given they are now profitable.

I don't think this is fair, therefore I think the government should consider a tracker levy on those with unprofitable mortgages. When the ECB increase rates to sane levels this would obviously disappear.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier