Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - To A University Lecturer

Options

Comments

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

You are employed based on the quality and quantity and breadth of your research expertise, and only secondarily on the quality of your teaching.

Do you think this is the correct way of doing things? I'm a PhD student myself (In Science) and I reckon you can have fantastic researchers, but that doesn't mean they make great educators.

On that note, is there targets, in terms of grades or otherwise, that your classes are expected meet?

Finding this really interesting, hence all the questions :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've never seen the infographic, and I'm not sure I fully understand what it's measuring.
    Apologies - It's relating to the careers of PhD graduates from Science. Basically just a visual representation that a tiny proportion of PhD graduates within Science ever stay in academia, and only 0.45% ever go on to achieve professorship.
    A lot of both. Loads and loads and loads of both. I never got the IRC as a grad student, but I got an IRC postdoctoral fellowship. I forget the numbers, but it was a tiny percentage of applicants got the fellowship, less than 50 nationwide across ALL disciplines, including STEM. Which is pathetic for a "smart economy" but whatever.
    Did you find other funding or end up doing a different PhD which was already funded?