Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - To A University Lecturer

Options
124»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭I'm A University Lecturer, AMA

Do you think there's an element of elitism among academics? As a student, I often get the sense that there's a great deal of mutual back-patting and communal congratulating among lecturers. One particular manifestation of this is around conferral/graduation periods, when those awful robes and hats come out.

Well, the graduation robes and what have you are usually a bit of a pain in the ar$e actually, because you have to do those grad ceremonies on a rotation. Nobody wants to be there, except to congratulate former students. They are a curse otherwise, it amounts to sitting there pretending to listen to a speech, often multiple times in a day. In the more general sense, though, yes, there is a bit of elitism. But these are people who are elite in their field, so it's inevitable.