Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AR/tist in the spotlight, this week: walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Hi Walshb,

Great answers and insight so far. Really enjoying it.

1) from someone who used to watch a good bit of boxing something that turned me off was the amount of World Champions at each weight division. It didn't sit well with me and I felt it devalues the fighters of the past who were the genuine best in their weight division. Now the best don't have to fight each other but both can be called World Champion. What are your thoughts on this? Is it a money thing or power struggle?

2) Don King :- friend or foe of the sport?

3) Pacman or Mayweather and why?

4) how big a part had Billy Walsh played in the rise of Irish boxing vs natural talent?

5) if we look back at Jamaican & Kenyan athletics in 10 years time will it have been a golden generation or too good to be true?

6) Have you run any Parkruns?

7) Favourite boxing venue?

8) if you were responsible for sports funding which sports would you increase/decrease funding of and why?

9) will we see another track & field Olympic medal in our lifetime?

10) Do you have any kids and are they/ will they be involved in sport?

1> The sport of boxing (jeez, I sound like PBF) has suffered a hell of a lot since the alphabet titles have come into play. I am not sure, but I believe there are close on 70 recognized world champions across about 17 weight classes. I'd gladly go back to having 3 champions of the WBC/WBA and the IBF, but now e have the WBO and interim versions of the WBA and the WBC. It's scandalous.

The title WC means F all at this time. If I could use an analogy to track, say the 100 metres it would be almost similar to Hession (no disrespect-just a comparison) getting a WC tag strapped to him. There are WCs in boxing that would be at his level, or close to it. It's most definitely a money thing. But where there is money power exists. They are linked. It's all about generating revenue for each sanctioning body. The WBC used to be the champion. On his own. Gone are those days. The last real big and legitimate HW unification was Tyson's beating Tony Tucker in 1987. He had all the belts. There are vacant world title fights being arranged between guys who aren't even 1/2 in the division. That stinks.

2> Don King serves a purpose. Brought us some epic matches, but he is also a disease in the sport. IMO he was the main reason that Mike Tyson ever got to 49-0. He has been accused by many boxers of stealing money. He had form coming into the sport. He's not the only one to blame.

3> Mayweather. And we can debate till the cows come home, but he wins because Manny is not big enough in the physical sense. Timing usually beats speed, and Money will offset Manny all night long, bully him in any inside exchanges, and pot shot him from range. Manny has not got the reach and height to win here. Speed alone and intensity and volume aren't enough. Too short and not imposing enough. The fight will be boring, and Floyd will will with clean lead rights and left hooks. Most of Manny's attacks will either go over Mayweather's shoulder, or fall short because Mayweather is out of range.

4> Walsh is to the amateurs what Kevin Rooney was to Tyson. A huge motivational and inspirational coach. That give the lads a sort of confidence/arrogance mix. Essential for top class boxing. They have so much trust in him, plus he himself has been there and achieved so much. He is like a guardian or angel in their corner. You can feel the connection and intensity between him and the lads, just like you can see it with Pete Taylor and Katie.

5> Golden generation with half an asterisk beside Jamaican sprinters. Only half. I prefer to be more positive in watching great athletes. If something is too good to be true then show me it and I'll comment. Not all that sure what the beef/querying is with the Kenyans?

6> I have not run any parkruns. I am aiming for maybe 2 5 k races between now and the end of the year. Jingle bells is on the list. Missed it this year due to not training.

7> Been to several, including MSG and the MGM. Fook that, the National Stadium is the one for me. It's big enough, yet it also is intimate enough. Every seat has a great view. It's packed with nostalgia, and I believe that it is the only purpose built National Boxing Stadium in the world.

8> I would decrease funding for sports that require more money to compete in. Sailing is one. Show Jumping and the horse racing industry is another. That may sound harsh, but it's the working class sports that are likely suffering the most in a financial sense, and IMO these are the sports we should be targeting more. Look at what the boxers have achieved. Yes, historically we have always produced very competitive boxers, but they were working jobs whilst competing. Money and grants has put us on a more level playing field with other countries, and results have been seen. The GAA is a national behemoth. It does not compete on an international basis. Maybe that needs looking at? It's the sports that are competing internationally that need the funding

9> Only a a fool would bet against an Irish person not medaling at future games. In my time we have won 2 medals that I can think of. I may be wrong, but Sonia and Tracey won medals post 1976 games. I can't recall anyone else. That's two. I reckon I'm here another 50 years. Surely we can get one in that time, and more if the Africans declare for us like some have for European countries...:)

10? Son on the way. Can't wait, and a 16 year old daughter, (she's not on the way,just to be clear:)). Daughter plays GAA football occasionally. They will be encouraged to take up sport. T&F and boxing would be two that I hope my son would try. Other sports like Rugby, for example will be discouraged. Too bloody dangerous. Amateur Boxing (KIDS-TEENS) for injuries is a walk in the park compared to soccer and rugby. BTW, I won't be one of those chav parents screaming and shouting from the sidelines. Grates me something fierce. To hear parents shout kill him from outside a ring really is sad.

Hope I have answered to your liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

gerard_65 wrote: »
    I have to apologise for accusing you of that comment on another forum. I've just been told it wasn't you but someone else using a name very similar to yours.
    I think they thought it'd be amusing to troll as you.
    Sorry again. Ger.

Fair play for holding your hand up Ger. I was gonna say something earlier that I thought you had the two usernames mixed up, but Thomas beat me to it. Ive seen that other username in action and if I'm not mistaken our own walshb has engaged him in battle, which in fairness was hilarious, I thought it was the same guy arguing with himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just catching up with this after a weekend away.

Great honest answers. Just want to pick your brains on a few Boxing questions:

1) League style Tournament at Lightweight containing a peak:
    Pernell Whittaker
    Roberto Duran
    Floyd Mayweather
    Sugar Shane Mosely

Who beats who and who comes out on top?

2) Same question at heavyweight
    Tyson
    Ali
    Lennox Lewis
    Wladimir Kiltschko

3) Will Tyson Fury win a heavyweight title. Is his little cousin Hughie better?

4) Finally, just a randon question: What are your views on the global warming/climate change 'crisis'?

menoscemo wrote: »
    Just catching up with this after a weekend away.

Great honest answers. Just want to pick your brains on a few Boxing questions:

1) League style Tournament at Lightweight containing a peak:
    Pernell Whittaker
    Roberto Duran
    Floyd Mayweather
    Sugar Shane Mosely

Who beats who and who comes out on top?

2) Same question at heavyweight
    Tyson
    Ali
    Lennox Lewis
    Wladimir Kiltschko

3) Will Tyson Fury win a heavyweight title. Is his little cousin Hughie better?

4) Finally, just a randon question: What are your views on the global warming/climate change 'crisis'?

You couldn't have picked a tougher LW question....

At LW I feel Duran beats all. He was a demon at the weight. Pea is his trouble opponent but he has just a little too much volume and offense for Pea. Floyd does well, but is mostly defending. No real offense to deter Duran.

Mosely-Pea is the one who suffer here because he is just a little too slow on his feet and a little too predictable. Pea is too slick and too neat and constantly moving. Mosley cannot get set to get his offense off, and Pea's jab really keeps him guessing. All that Mosley has on Pea is power. I don't see him taking Pea out. 8-4 rds win for Pea.

Mosley-PBF: Tighter fight than Pea-Mosley due to Floyd being less busy than Pea. Some scary moments for Floyd if he gets tagged, but ultimately he too figures out the stationary and predictable Mosley. Constantly moving and using angles and switching his offense. Mosley never gets a rhythm, and loses via 7-5 04 8-4 rds. Any inside exchanges are smothered or fought away by Floyd.

Mosley-Duran: This is a bit of a beat down IMO. Duran actually takes it to Mosley and hurts him consistently with singles and combinations. Too much angles and variety and fitness and speed and power and defense. A whirlwind type performance and wins 9-3 0r 1--2 in rds.

PBF-Pea: What a difficult fight. I would have to lean with Pea's workrate and jab as the winner here. It would be an ugly fight with next to nothing landing. Floyd can win if he imposes his body on Pea. I just cannot see him doing this enough. Pea's jab and combinations may miss a lot, but I can't see Floyd countering against them to rack up points. The lead right hand may be key, but a ring genius like Pea is so adaptable that I see him using his feet and low body positions to offset against that. Floyd presses and he faces one of the greatest backfoot boxers ever. Probably the greatest. Very close fight with almost all rds being close. Could be any score. But I will side with Pea

PBF-Duran: Floyd at LW wasn't IMO mature or strong enough to hold off what offense Duran brings. He will make it very awkward for Duran, but he will not have the offense to deter Duran. Duran will swarm him, and the difference here is that Duran will keep up a frenetic offensive pace. So, even when missing with many, enough will land to get a points win. Pot shotting and expecting to beat Duran in the pocket won't work for Floyd. No way. He needs to get Duran's respect with hurtful and penetrating shots. Tye LW Floyd hasn't got that. Had he Mosley power then his chances really increase. Floyd may be very surprised at how effective Durans; own D is. Duran was an excellent defensive/offensive fighter. Could do both at the same time. See SRL-Duran 1 1980 for a fine example.

Duran-Pea: This is Duran's toughest fight. It's the one fight where he finds that his offense and volume is not really working because of Pea's low defense, angles and lateral/backward movement. Pea's jab also keeps Duran uncomfortably at distance. But, similar to Floyd at LW, Pea's lack of offensive power is his downfall. Duran walks through him an bullies a close points win based off effective shots and power shots. He gets to Pea just enough to make this mostly an inside scarp, one that Pea cannot win.

I think I have covered that

Table: Duran 3/0; Pea Whitaker 2/1; PBF 1/2 and Mosley 0/3

Tyson/Ali/LL/Wlad

This is IMO an easier table.

Tyson goes 3/0 here. At peak. If so we use Tyson 1986-1989 when he had Rooney with him. Ali is mid 60s to early 70s. Wlad is anytime over the past 8-10 years and LL is mid to late 90s.

Tyson-Ali: Mike at peak was fit as a fiddle, extremely heavy handed, defensively sound, hell of a chin and an excellent finisher. His swarming and power off both wings is the key here. Ali will be too busy avoiding and blocking and defending. It's Joe Frazier with a lot more variety and more KO power. It's not a good style for Ali, plus Ali's offense won't deter Mile. You have to put an offensive pasting on Mike to deter or slow him. It's a points win or KO for Tyson. Tyosn could box with the best of them when he wasn't knocking them out. Excellent boxer/puncher.

Tyson-Lewis. Mike in 1986 would be all over Lewis. Lewis too slow to stop Tyson advancing, and Lewis's chin IMO lets him down. McCall and Rahman did it, and Tyson is a far better puncher and fighter than those two. I see Tyson slipping in, closing distance with his fast feet and ripping in body and head combos. Tyson has the chin and defense and stamina to withstand any Lewis attacks. It's a KO win for Mike rd 4 or so. I see no way Lewis can avoid taking some real flush shots. If he does then it'sbecause he is defending and spoiling, and this doesn't win fights, hence he still loses via points. Similar to Tucker and Smith in 1987.

Tyson-Wlad. Wlad was a brilliant boxer even years ago when he got dropped and knocked out, but c'mon, can anyone see Wlad holding off a 20-23 year old Tyson? Tyson gets him and hits him and there you have it. Wlad's chin is the shakiest from the bunch. Bad news vs. prime Tyson. LO rds 1-3, or whnever Tyson lands the first clean shot

Wlad-Lewis. Here Wlad meets a man as big, stronger and more aggressive. Lewis walks through Wlad for a KO win in the firts 5 rds. Wlad hasn't the feet to avoid Lewis's attacks, and as soon as Lewis sees that he can hurts Wlad he hunts him down and stops him. Too powerful and heavy handed. And Wlad does not throw the kind of single KO shots to KO Lewis. McCall and Rahman threw whoppers that may have dropped even Tyson.

Wlad-Ali: It's his only win I see. Wlad is 3-4 inches taller and an excellent boxer. Ali cannot KO Wlad. I see this as a frustrating night for Ali who is trying to jab his way to victory against a man who has a longer reach, outweighs him by 20-25 lbs and is 3-4 inches taller. Wlad wins via points. Close win, but his height and reach really bother Ali.

Lewis-Ali. Discussed this one earlier. Same point stands. Lewis via points win.

Table: Tyson 3/0; Lewis 2/1; Wlad 1/2 and Ali 0/3

Will Tyson Fury win a world title? Depends what HW champ he faces. Right now I see Wilder knocking him out ion rd 1 or 2. Fury is too easy to hit, and Wilder is very aggressive/big and fast. He starts very fast and catches Fury early for a KO win.

Hughie has a lovely jab and is a very decent body hitter for such a big guy. It's all there as regards style and punch delivery. Need to see him keep stepping up. Too early now to make an accurate prediction. The fundamentals and coordination are there, plus he is a big man.

Global warming? Has to be a bit sensationalized. The earth has been heating up and cooling down since it first appeared. For me it's a freaking con job, These governments are telling us the normal joe to switch off lights and to use poxy energy saving bulbs, which are crap and way more expensive, yet air travel, and other wastes are up year on year. Save the planet my arse. It's big bloody business. Some of the nonsense solutions make me laugh. It's like a spit in the ocean for all the good it's doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Is Der much hometown decisions in Irish amateur boxing...maybe an example
    Wats sort drug testing goes on at international amateur level world wide and how does Ireland compare..and Wat country is rumoured the be the biggest culprits or is it a more boxers sourcing stuff themselves...

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Is Der much hometown decisions in Irish amateur boxing...maybe an example
    Wats sort drug testing goes on at international amateur level world wide and how does Ireland compare..and Wat country is rumoured the be the biggest culprits or is it a more boxers sourcing stuff themselves...

With boxing being so subjective you will always get some dubious decisions. From my own experience I have to say that the vast majority of fights are fairly judged, even if disagreed on. In official and national contests there is "no such thing" as a hometown decision, as judges are selected from outside of the boxer's county boards. If a Dub meets a Corkman you could get two Dublin judge, but also two Cork judges and a neutral, with a referee from outside Cork and Dublin. It's very fair in that way. On other local shows then the "rules" are lot more flexible.

An example: I can't reacll one that would be of any relevance to you. From all my time at the Senior Championships nothing stands out as a robbery or a homeowner decision, as the officiating is very clear and fair in the sense of the officials selected.

AIBA and the IABA have fairly stringent measures in place. The IABA have some literature here: http://www.iaba.ie/anti-doping/

Amateur boxing is so much purer than pro boxing. AIBA has very strict policies too: http://www.aiba.org/documents/common/AIBA%20Anti-Doping%20Rules%20-%20January%201,%202015.pdf

I am not aware of any specific countries that are more suspect than others. It all depends on the competence and integrity of each national organization. I would palce a lot of faith in the IABA.

I would think that it's the boxers sourcing stuff themselves, and I could be wrong, but diuretics was the most common cheat that boxers used. Not PEDs or direct drugs to build muscle and encourage power. That's more the Balco pro thing.

Thanks for the comprehensive answers on the boxing tournaments.

FWIW I pretty much agree with the lightweight sinopsis. I think Sweet Pea Whittaker is one of the most criminally under-rated boxers of the modern era (and he was screwed by the judges so many times) but yeah Duran is the GOAT lightweight no doubt.

In the heavies I do think you overrate Tyson a touch but then again while his peak was very shortlived compared to the others; for those few years he seemed indestructible.

Thanks again for the answers, an interesting read!!

Thanks for the comprehensive answers on the boxing tournaments.

FWIW I pretty much agree with the lightweight sinopsis. I think Sweet Pea Whittaker is one of the most criminally under-rated boxers of the modern era (and he was screwed by the judges so many times) but yeah Duran is the GOAT lightweight no doubt.

In the heavies I do think you overrate Tyson a touch but then again while his peak was very shortlived compared to the others; for those few years he seemed indestructible.

Thanks again for the answers, an interesting read!!

I think genuine fight fans really appreciate and rate Pea. If you look across the forums he seems to be held in high esteem. He is a marvel to watch. So frustratingly (as in how does he do it) and deceptively neat and slick. Very small guy with the most exceptional feet and movement. Excellent stamina and workrate and very underrated body puncher.

His two notable screw jobs were JLR and JCC. Ramirez loss was early enough in bis career. He did legitimately lose to Oscar in a horrible fight. I thought he won 8-4 vs. Chavez.

I possibly do overrate Tyson, but at peak he did what he did and dominated many men. Not just beat them, dominated them in all areas of combat. It's fine in hindsight for some people and folks criticizing his opposition. But at the time they were the best on earth. When Givens and King got in that is when it went down. His 1990 loss to Douglas, who for that night was seriously prepared, and a very competent and big HW with a terrific jab and a heavy right hand, was down to Douglas being well prepared and Tyson clearly being under-prepared. The first rd you could see the sharpness wasn't there.

I have no issues with folks criticizing Tyson, but slating him for post prison losses in 1996 and past 1996 is ridiculous. He was finished when he went to prison. Was still capable, but never going to be near his 80s heyday.

In judging one off fights it has to be best vs. best, and IMO the 1986-1989 Tyson, particularly late 1986, and 1987 Tyson was hell for any man.

My alltime favorite and most awe inspiring boxing moment (and high on all time sports moment) was Tyson's 1986 destruction of Berbick. That was mind blowing. Everything about it. He arrived on the global sports scene that day.

I think I know the answer here, but I'll aske the question anyway.......

In a previous question on this thread you said that Ali is the greatest athlete/sportsman of all time, yet in the mythical tournament above he loses all 3 fights.
    How can you then stand over your statement of him being the greatest?

I think I know the answer here, but I'll aske the question anyway.......

In a previous question on this thread you said that Ali is the greatest athlete/sportsman of all time, yet in the mythical tournament above he loses all 3 fights.
    How can you then stand over your statement of him being the greatest?

Because I never claimed that he beats any man that ever fought. That is boxing. In a p4p sense, which I am not a fan of, I believe he is top 5 ever. Lewis is not top 10.

His arrival on the scene transcended sport as a whole. Nobody had ever seen a HW to move like him and punch like him. He was that brilliant. He was far from the perfect fighter. Very little inside game and no body attack, but still he had beautiful skills, and utter belief and confidence.

I posted a HW tournament a while ago on my top 10 HW men. I think he came out either number 1 or 2. It's on the boxing forum somewhere. It's compiled off a 10 fight basis, and I may have even given him the edge vs. Lewis. I have changed my mind since. I lean with Lewis over him. I will try and get that post.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056525181&page=6: Post 85

walshb wrote: »
    Because I never claimed that he beats any man that ever fought. That is boxing. In a p4p sense, which I am not a fan of, I believe he is top 5 ever. Lewis is not top 10.

His arrival on the scene transcended sport as a whole. Nobody had ever seen a HW to move like him and punch like him. He was that brilliant. He was far from the perfect fighter. Very little inside game and no body attack, but still he had beautiful skills, and utter belief and confidence.

I posted a HW tournament a while ago on my top 10 HW men. I think he came out either number 1 or 2. It's on the boxing forum somewhere. It's compiled off a 10 fight basis, and I may have even given him the edge vs. Lewis. I have changed my mind since. I lean with Lewis over him. I will try and get that post.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056525181&page=6: Post 85

FYP
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76718966&postcount=85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

So no obesity crisis, global warming overstated... Is there any scientific consensus that you concur with?

annapr wrote: »
    So no obesity crisis, global warming overstated... Is there any scientific consensus that you concur with?

Key word, crisis!

BTW, the earth is a sphere, not flat. There's one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Key word, crisis!

BTW, the earth is a sphere, not flat. There's one.

:) ok, my question was too broad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

A night out on the town. Who do you pick to go with. Tunguska or menoscemo?

Have you enjoyed your week in the spotlight and was it better or worse than you envisaged beforehand?

What's your favourite forum on Boards?

Who would you like to see in the spotlight in coming weeks?

Ososlo wrote: »
    A night out on the town. Who do you pick to go with. Tunguska or menoscemo?

Have you enjoyed your week in the spotlight and was it better or worse than you envisaged beforehand?

What's your favourite forum on Boards?

Who would you like to see in the spotlight in coming weeks?

1> Tunguska. Probably less chance for squabbling. menoscemo is likely a more fiery chap. I could be so wrong there. Going with my gut! Myself and menoscemo have crossed swords many times here, usually him calling me a troll or thanking a post calling me a troll. But he has that great quality of not holding grudges. One of the good guys no doubt.

2> Yes, enjoyed it. Some damn tough questions.

3> Has to be the boxing forum. It can be very slow at times but it always has excellent and cordial debate. No real heirs and graces over there. The odd knob here and there, but I probably invited that....:pac:

4> Aren't you due in the spotlight? There you have it. I reckon that could be very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

1> Tunguska. Probably less chance for squabbling.
    menoscemo is likely a more fiery chap. I could be so wrong there. Going with my
    gut! Myself and menoscemo have crossed swords many times here, usually him
    calling me a troll or thanking a post calling me a troll. But he has that great
    quality of not holding grudges. One of the good guys no doubt.

ha ha. Plus tunguska doesn't drink so less likely for things to get out of hand. Unless he brings the maca with him!
    4> Aren't you due in the spotlight? There you have it. I reckon that
    could be very interesting.
    No I'm not due anywhere. it'd likely end up like an episode of Dr. Phil! Plus the thread is usually for folks who've actually achieved something in their running 'career'!

Enjoyed the week. Thanks:) and to Chivito for putting you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

1> Tunguska. Probably less chance for squabbling. menoscemo is likely a more fiery chap. I could be so wrong there. Going with my gut! Myself and menoscemo have crossed swords many times here, usually him calling me a troll or thanking a post calling me a troll. But he has that great quality of not holding grudges. One of the good guys no doubt.

Comedy Gold lads. That'd be like being in a boozer with those two boys who sit up on the balcony and Heckle everyone on the Muppet show

Ososlo wrote: »
    ha ha. Plus tunguska doesn't drink so less likely for things to get out of hand. Unless he brings the maca with him!
    No I'm not due anywhere. it'd likely end up like an episode of Dr. Phil!

Im a little disturbed by that to be honest. Considering the effect that maca has on the Libido and all, Im not sure how you imagined that night with me and walshy finishing up??
    Im a big fan of Dr Phil by the way so I'd be interested to see how you get on there. I could say things like, Hows that working for you? or My Daddy used to tell me, "Son dont ever miss a good chance to shut up" or my personal favorite........This ain't my first Rodeo son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Of all the boxers in the pro game, which ones do you feel would make the best sprinter, and the best miler? And why?

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Of all the boxers in the pro game, which ones do you feel would make the best sprinter, and the best miler? And why?

Best sprinter I would think Andre Ward or Adonis Stevenson. They have a look of explosiveness about them, and athleticism. Plus they're black!:pac:

Milers? Mayweather has to be up there. Mayweather is well used to putting in running sessions. Khan as well. Khan is a fan of track sessions. Very good over 1 lap. He has a lot of natural cardio stamina me thinks. Carl Froch has strength and endurance, and as mentioned by yourself I think, trains a lot on the road.

Of the smaller lads I think Frampton would post a good mile time. Has the heart and lungs for it. Excellent cardio stamina in the amateurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Best Irish Pro Boxer of all time?

Best Irish Am of all time (male) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Mcgreggor...clown or real(ish) deal
    wud he make it in the ring.
    wen wud he be found out in the boxing ring
    Will he be found out in cage

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Best Irish Pro Boxer of all time?

Best Irish Am of all time (male) ?

1> I would have selected without doubt Jimmy McClarnin, but he was as much associated with Canada as Ireland. Tough question as you may have to really go back in time. I am going to go with Barry McGuigan. Heart of a lion, great puncher, fantastic stamina, great chin and won a real world belt off a real world champion, Pedroza. To this day I have yet to see a more courageous sports effort by any person ever as what I saw in Las Vegas in 1986. Barry put on the gutsiest and most intense and inspiring sporting performance of all time.

2> Best Irish male amateur of all time probably is Paddy Barnes. He has such consistency and longevity, and has been at the top on the world stage for several years now. He is also one of the most aesthetically pleasing boxers that we have ever produced. Carruth ranks in the top 5 no doubt. The gold in Barcelona is the greatest prize ever won by an Irish male amateur. I just feel that it was sort of a 'fluke'. Carruth was world class, but not the same way that Barnes was world class. Kenneth Egan has to get a nod. His longevity and dedication and titles are off the charts. And Wayne McCullough is also up there. Amazing amateur who won many titles, and a tough 1990 Commonwealth games gold. His performance in that tournament is a must watch for any Irish boxer. Pure class and dedication

Other mentions are Mick Dowling; Billy Walsh, Wexford, current Irish senior coach; Neil Gough, Waterford; Fred Teidt, 1956 Silver medalist, Melbourne Olympics

As for overall Irish amateur boxer then Katie Taylor has to be number 1. There is no debate. No need to list her records.

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Mcgreggor...clown or real(ish) deal
    wud he make it in the ring.
    wen wud he be found out in the boxing ring
    Will he be found out in cage

Conor is for me very tough viewing. Cringe material is that Notorious show. He needs to be a little more natural. In front of the cameras he is forcing it far too much. It's up to his management and media advisers to sort that.

He comes from a boxing background. Crumlin was his club, and from what I hear he was pretty decent. I don't think he would have made it to elite senior championship level. Possibly intermediate level he could have achieved. You can see from his style that upright striking and fists is his best trait. He is athletically fantastic, and has great physical advantages it seems. Difficult to keep down when you get him down. Has a great knack of bouncing back up

Is he the real deal? Up until now I have not been overly excited with his UFC journey. Only a few fights there, and many more at MMA cage level. I am not seeing anything major. To date Conor has met supposed world beaters in the UFC. If so, they weren't up to much on the day. Rankings don't tell the full story, but do have to be respected. Aldo is number 2 p4p and I am not of the opinion that he is any way superior to Conor. He is smaller, has not got the reach, and can be tagged. It's McGregor's to lose IMO. If Aldo can smother and close distance and make this a tight ground and pound then I go with him. Don't be surprised with a Conor KO win via strikes

I found this old link. It was a Q&A with Katie.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2009/1013/256011-katietaylor_answers/

Just to even it up a bit as regards Ireland's greatest ever athlete debate. Some of you here might like it:)

Bren Walsh: As Ireland's greatest ever athlete - and I do sincerely think this - greater than any I have ever read about or seen, I would like to know who you would rate as Ireland's greatest athlete, either past or present?

KT: I’ve always looked up to Sonia O’Sullivan. I think she’s one of the greatest athletes we’ve ever had really. Winning a World Championships and coming back to win a silver at the Olympics, I think she showed great character to come back from a hard few years before that.

Bren Walsh: Also, of all the boxers, amateur or pro, you have ever seen from the past and present, which fighter do you think was the best all-round fighter?

KT: I always thought Sugar Ray Leonard was the best. I think he can do everything: fight, box. I think he’s one of the best fighters ever to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Walshb is going to finish up today so if you have any last minute burning questions, get them in now!

You have mentioned your admiration for the decathlon, and that you believe they are the best athletes on earth. Why do you believe this to be the case? What do you admire most about decathletes? Who are your all time top 3 favourite decathletes, and top 3 heptathletes?

Decathletes are the best athletes on earth. What defines an athlete? It can be subjective? To me it's fairly straightforward. The ability and talent of a person relating to a physical sport or exercise. The decathletes IMO encompass more of the talent than any other track and field competitor, or any other sports star. Their bodies are overall the most talented for sporting exercise.

What they do across ten disciplines, some relatively easy (running), but some very difficult, like the pole vault and high hurdles, is very impressive. They do it over two days. Their energy levels and coordination and rhythm and ability to perform difficult sporting exercises trumps anything I have ever seen.

Seriously, talent and skill wise how can anyone compare the likes of Seb Coe to Daley Thompson? One runs, the other does it all, and does it to a level that the general fan or person can be wowed when watching it.

I rate Thompson as the best overall T&F athlete in my time, maybe all time. His fierce rival, Hingson would have been a global star had he not competed in Daley's era. I rate those two, along with the great Dan O'Brien as the best decathletes I have seen.

As for the women, JJK is a top 5 all time athlete across any discipline. I loved watching Kluft. Amazing athlete, and a favourite of mine was Drechsler. Jessica Ennis is aesthetically beautiful to watch, and over 800 meters I could watch her all day. Beautiful and fluid runner.

Just to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the banter and questions. Very interesting and rewarding exercise. My main aim was to dispel the horrendous myth that I am an argumentative, persistent, annoying, pedantic, exasperating trolling old c u next Tuesday!

Thanks to tunguska for the nomination.

Be strong. 9 minutes is in us all!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the banter and questions. Very interesting and rewarding exercise. My main aim was to dispel the horrendous myth that I am an argumentative, persistent, annoying, pedantic, exasperating trolling old c u next Tuesday!

Thanks to tunguska for the nomination.

Be strong. 9 minutes is in us all!:p
    Thanks walshb, now we just think that you are an "argumentative, persistent, annoying, pedantic, exasperating old" softie :D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Thanks walshb, now we just think that you are an "argumentative, persistent, annoying, pedantic, exasperating old" softie :D

Quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Quality!
    ;) now get logging...

Have enjoyed this thread a lot. Also didn't realise you competed to such a high level in boxing. Probably at a higher level than anyone else on the AR forum in their chosen sport (though open to correction).

Final question from me: Dangers of boxing - Real or exaggerated?

Have enjoyed this thread a lot. Also didn't realise you competed to such a high level in boxing. Probably at a higher level than anyone else on the AR forum in their chosen sport (though open to correction).

Final question from me: Dangers of boxing - Real or exaggerated?

Pro boxing is the most dangerous sport on earth. Very good article in The Mail on Saturday, the Irish mail. Per 1000 minutes of participation pro boxing results in more concussions than any other sport. Horse racing is second and Rugby is 3rd. I might try and find the link, because I believe they could have mentioned amateur boxing being number 1 for amateur sport.

When the primary aim of a sport is to inflict trauma to a a person's head, where the brain sits, then the dangers can't ever be exaggerated, no matter what the statistical results are for injuries and deaths etc. You don't need hard statistics to realize how dangerous pro boxing is. Just because boxers get out of the ring without having been dropped or stopped or knocked out doesn't mean that they had an ok night, or that they suffered less than the boxer who was dropped/stopped or knocked out. Who has suffered more? The boxer who took a steady beating for 12 rds or the boxer who was knocked out clean and early?

Amateur boxing is far safer. At least the amateur boxing I grew up with. The referees give counts and stopped fights fairly quickly, sometimes it is too quickly. Headgears in place do cushion blows, and the rds are less in duration. Also, the intent in amateur boxing isn't near as lethal as pro boxing. They have more a skilled and fencing type approach. The health and safety guidelines in amateur boxing are very stringent, and well monitored. Now, we have the headgears removed and amateur boxing is becoming closer to pro boxing inn its makeup. Power punching and the 10-9 scoring system has changed the way boxers approach a bout. Power and aggression marks more heavily now. I disagree with headgear removal, as an amateur does not get paid, so why should they be faced with more danger? Headgear removal for me presents more danger. As regards amatuer sport, yes, it is the most obviously dangerous sports on earth.

MMA comes close, but with MMA fights are stopped quickly once someone is hurt. Boxing is tougher. MMA is rougher.

Edit: When I say most dangerous I am speaking more in the head trauma sense. As for injuries, then the likes of soccer and GAA and rugby would probably result in more injuries, minor and above. But for pure danger then pro boxing and amateur boxing is more worrying and dangerous.